Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Copy and paste ?

Can't allow that. They have their forum private for a reason and Boards isn't a platform to make comments from other forums more public.

Not that it would matter anyway, Davy has gone nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Daysha wrote: »
    Can't allow that. They have their forum private for a reason and Boards isn't a platform to make comments from other forums more public.

Thank God for that as Galway man i would be more nervous if he left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Daysha wrote: »

I was just about to ask, fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

I'd be happy enough to put Lawlor FB for the Galway game, at this stage it's too late in the summer to do anything else and too early to give up.

The only problem I see is what must be going through Lawlor's head. The fact that Davy & Co. chose to put in a player who had no experience or business playing in the position ahead of him must surely have his confidence in bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

I was just about to ask, fair enough.

will except cliff notes as to why they think hes gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

We like Davy so much we made him his own fb page.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sack-davy-fitzgerald/126589294096137?sk=wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Don't think Maurice can play in the corner and I think a two man full forward line would only cause more problems. Brian O' Sullivan could take the Galway corner backs if he is given fast ball. He hardlyh got anything yesterday, it was a typical case of take off the corner forward because the team is playing bad.

Maybe the one reason I might start Power ahead of Clinton is the distance of his puckouts. He can hit it very far, and it would maybe give you the option of dropping the half forward line deep. Now if they drop deep there men will either have to follow, or leave them win possesion and take scores from further out the field. If they mark them, then maybe the ball could be sent in behind them and the full forward line will have more space, but not sure if his puckout is quite as long as that.

Think Moran has to start in midfield. He started there two years ago against Galway and made a big impact.

Cake Man wrote: »
    I'd be happy enough to put Lawlor FB for the Galway game, at this stage it's too late in the summer to do anything else and too early to give up.

The only problem I see is what must be going through Lawlor's head. The fact that Davy & Co. chose to put in a player who had no experience or business playing in the position ahead of him must surely have his confidence in bits.

Possibly. I suppose from another point of view he might think Davy got it so badly wrong that it might give him the assurance that Davy was making a mistake not starting him. When he played full back Tipp scored 3, when he didn't Tipp scored 7. One thing is he hasn't had much game time this year, but he is hurling well for his club so hopefully he'll slot in. Big task marking Canning though, who appears to be coming good for Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Mike_Eile

Davy Fits should be sacked immediately. Beaten out the gate in Cork yesterday and then he had them out training at 6am this morning in Dungarvan. 6am? What the hell is he trying to prove? That's a disgrace. Could you imagine Tony Browne getting up at 5.15am this morning for training after been beaten by 21 points in a Munster Final yesterday.

Source: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/back-to-training-160716.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

Is he gone yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Mike_Eile wrote: »
    Davy Fits should be sacked immediately. Beaten out the gate in Cork yesterday and then he had them out training at 6am this morning in Dungarvan. 6am? What the hell is he trying to prove? That's a disgrace. Could you imagine Tony Browne getting up at 5.15am this morning for training after been beaten by 21 points in a Munster Final yesterday.

More proof he doesnt have a fcukin clue what he's doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jarjohn

blogga wrote: »
    Is he gone yet?

Please say its true mommy...make the bad man go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭Speak Now

All Ireland Minor Q.F

Waterford V Kilkenny

Saturday July 23rd
    7 P.M Walsh Park

Suprised there was an open draw this year, I didn't think there ever was before that. No bad thing I suppose, that Kilkenny team isn't at it's best at the moment, but they are still from Kilkenny so it won't be an easy game.

Fitzgerald won't be going til we're out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Give him another term please!! in case he gets the Clare job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Rumours on another GAA forum from 2 fairly reliable posters that Davy is gone.

Unfortunatly, Davy still seems to have the backing of one or two that will keep him in the job, but it is a very safe thing to say that the majority of people in Waterford no longer want him to have any hand act or parcel to do with the team any longer. I for one am glad that i have not jumped on the anti Davy band wagon lately, as i have said since the evening after the 2008 All-Ireland when he showed absolutely no committement to Waterford on his return to Waterford that he should have been got rid of there and then.

Don't think Maurice can play in the corner and I think a two man full forward line would only cause more problems. Brian O' Sullivan could take the Galway corner backs if he is given fast ball. He hardlyh got anything yesterday, it was a typical case of take off the corner forward because the team is playing bad.

Maybe the one reason I might start Power ahead of Clinton is the distance of his puckouts. He can hit it very far, and it would maybe give you the option of dropping the half forward line deep. Now if they drop deep there men will either have to follow, or leave them win possesion and take scores from further out the field. If they mark them, then maybe the ball could be sent in behind them and the full forward line will have more space, but not sure if his puckout is quite as long as that.

Think Moran has to start in midfield. He started there two years ago against Galway and made a big impact.

To be honest i dont think it would make a difference who has the better puck out, because Davy has this crazy idea in his head and nothing will take it out of it that all puck outs must be short. I have seen Clinton as well as Adrian hit some very good puck outs lenghth-wise over the last few years. Maybe the way around it is to defy Davy and any of the rest of the management that insist that a short puck out is taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,517 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It was Cork who started that short puck out crap.

Mike_Eile wrote: »

The 6am thing is wrong lads. It was 9am that they were training. He asked for 6 but think he was told where to go. Should have been told many moons ago.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0712/1224300557666.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,517 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Deise Tom wrote: »
    The 6am thing is wrong lads. It was 9am that they were training. He asked for 6 but think he was told where to go. Should have been told many moons ago.

so id imagine there was no piss up after the final then. i think the players should of been allowed a few drinks to try and clear there heads

Were you at the county board meeting last night Tom?

Was tempted to go, but didnt. Heard a report or two from reliable sources.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    so id imagine there was no piss up after the final then. i think the players should of been allowed a few drinks to try and clear there heads

I never associated alcohol with that ability but maybe they should have been allowed, though it could have made things worse.

Hear anything about the cost of physios? Heard it was enormous. When that kind of thing is being brought up at this stage you can tell that whoever said it is against the management

There is (or was at least) an embargo on finicial details been revelaled outside of county board meetings, and especially in any media source. Did not hear any. Main thing i heard was that there was anger and quite rightly so about calling off the second round of senior football games. last year we played the games and won. Maybe it might not have been any harm in doing so as well this year. At least the players would have been playing something with their clubs, and not playing a mickey mouse challenge game.

Yeah it could have been nonsense to be honest. I didn't actually hear it from someone at the meeting, they cited a 'reliable source', but sure whos reliable these days?

Yeah after Sundays outcome there was always going to be fierce criticism of calling off those games. They should have scheduled the hurling games for the past two weekends and the football when the hurling was on. Tipp were playing club hurling games in the build up to the match, Waterford should have done the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

PTH2009 wrote: »
    It was Cork who started that short puck out crap.

There's nothing wrong with the sh0rt puck out if its done well and is part of an overall team strategy. Cork did it briliantly and Cusack's accuracy is unbelieveable - they had a specific tactic of playing the running game with short passing that led to them being the best team in the land for a few years. We on the other hand are useless at it and it doesn't seem to be part of any wider strategy as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭egpower

Short puck outs, long puck outs, man-marking, tactcial strategies - all baloney and all totally irrelevant last Sunday. Tipp came in at the top of their game and with great confidence and self-belief (did you see Corbett backing himself from 40 yards out to run - that the ball would break into his hand which it did and he scored) and our guys failed to match that. That is 51% (at least) the manager's fault. If 1 or 2 players fail to show, shame on them. When all collectively fail - blame the manager. Did they believe that they could compete with Tipp ? Me thinks not. We were beaten before the first whistle. The only issue was by how much.

Our lads were like players that forgot their glasses - clearly constrained by a lack of confidence and reacting too late after the Tipp guys had started to move to the ball. No amount of running the sh1t out of them or shouting and roaring will prepare a team if they are not mentally right. Look how simply Tipp did it - a bit like an U10 street league - all looking for the ball. Mullane said it recently in an interview - the fun is gone out of training. Just annoyed that we put faith in a man that although he brought some good things - had no idea what he was doing.

egpower wrote: »
    Short puck outs, long puck outs, man-marking, tactcial strategies - all baloney and all totally irrelevant last Sunday. Tipp came in at the top of their game and with great confidence and self-belief (did you see Corbett backing himself from 40 yards out to run - that the ball would break into his hand which it did and he scored) and our guys failed to match that. That is 51% (at least) the manager's fault. If 1 or 2 players fail to show, shame on them. When all collectively fail - blame the manager. Did they believe that they could compete with Tipp ? Me thinks not. We were beaten before the first whistle. The only issue was by how much.

Our lads were like players that forgot their glasses - clearly constrained by a lack of confidence and reacting too late after the Tipp guys had started to move to the ball. No amount of running the sh1t out of them or shouting and roaring will prepare a team if they are not mentally right. Look how simply Tipp did it - a bit like an U10 street league - all looking for the ball. Mullane said it recently in an interview - the fun is gone out of training. Just annoyed that we put faith in a man that although he brought some good things - had no idea what he was doing.

Did he say that?

Cork used the short puckout to compliment there possesion game. Waterford don't/can't play a possesion game. It makes no sense. I have never been to Waterford's training but you'd wonder with thr boxing coach they have in and the fact they do be punching each other and stuff that they're more primed for boxing rather than hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭egpower

Did he say that?

Cork used the short puckout to compliment there possesion game. Waterford don't/can't play a possesion game. It makes no sense. I have never been to Waterford's training but you'd wonder with thr boxing coach they have in and the fact they do be punching each other and stuff that they're more primed for boxing rather than hurling?

Yes, he said it in the context of Davy's methods being different and the bar being raised each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Someone mentioned that Mullane looked like he was giving up, I think he did and we never see him like that. I actually think the whole bloody team must have felt bad going into this game, knowing the tactics they would use. Following the Tipp forwards was stupid, the players must have been thinking what the fcuk is Davy having us do, and that reflected in their performance which showed little confidence.
    deisedude wrote: »
    As for the backs, they were exposed by Davy's tactical inadequacy. Tipp's forwards thrive on space so what does Davy do, he tells the backs to follow their men all around the field creating enough space you could drive a bus through it and ensuring there is no Waterford defender facing the Tipp forward as he runs goalward. That might work for Davy when he is training his 4 or 5 mickey mouse teams but sweet jaysus this is Intercounty! The backs should have been told hold the line and leave their men off, sure Tipp may have scored a load of points but would we have conceded 7 goals? No fecking way
    Much has been made of the Brick playing at full back yet he barely played there at all, he was out in the corner and wing more often. Tony out on the left wing, Connors was at full back a few times.... We have this problem in the full back position and what does Davy do, tell them to follow their markers. From the terraces you could perfectly see the way the shape our full back line was constanlty all over the place.
    Possibly. I suppose from another point of view he might think Davy got it so badly wrong that it might give him the assurance that Davy was making a mistake not starting him. When he played full back Tipp scored 3, when he didn't Tipp scored 7. One thing is he hasn't had much game time this year, but he is hurling well for his club so hopefully he'll slot in. Big task marking Canning though, who appears to be coming good for Galway.
    Good few people talking about the players' confidence being destroyed - I hope that those players realise that it was Davy's stupid tactics and not their ability was the real problem.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0712/1224300557666.html
    6am or 9am, stupid to be dragging them off training the morning after that. Leave them have a lie-in and recover physically and mentally.