Companies calling up telling you to pay the bill

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I don't envy anyone doing credit control these days. I did it about 7 years ago for a while. It was much easier then, you got a nice bonus and the targets were not too unrealistic either. I would hate to be doing that job now in 2011..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gravityisalie

krudler wrote: »
    nope, just regular stupid people. honestly I could (and should) write a book at this stage about dealing with customers and their insane questions.
    We have the regular freaks as well like the heavy breathers who keep ringing until they get someone young and female sounding (regular occurance) the people who ring back over and over again to be told the same answer to the same question by different agents.
    The people of a particular ethnic group who seem hellbent on stealing each others phone numbers constantly and trying to get numbers that dont belong to them put on blank sims to sell them.
    etc.
    etc.
    etc.

I really wish I could sit people down beside me for just a day and see the mind boggling stupidity I have to deal with from people every day. eg:
    I once had a woman ask me if I could charge her phone up over the phone. By charge up I dont mean with topup credit or anything, I mean literally charge it up. with electricity. over the phone.

Have you ever had someone call you and ask for your phone number ? , as in the number they just dialled to talk to you ? happens regularly:pac:

i've given up on humanity:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Have you ever had someone call you and ask for your phone number ? , as in the number they just dialled to talk to you ? happens regularly:pac:

i've given up on humanity:(

A few times, although people who wait on hold expecting to get through to a completely different company then get pissed when you tell them they rang the wrong number make me laugh "I thought this was eircom!" yes this is eircom, thats why the auto system says "welcome to a company that isnt eircom" multiple times and I introduced the call as "Company that isnt eircom, krudler speaking how can I help?"

face, meet palm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Another phone call from Airtricity this morning demanding another €70. The bill we have is paid in full and we have proof of it. However, they want us to pay for the amount owed by the previous tenants i.e. for gas used by other people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Nightwish wrote: »
    Another phone call from Airtricity this morning demanding another €70. The bill we have is paid in full and we have proof of it. However, they want us to pay for the amount owed by the previous tenants i.e. for gas used by other people!

Idiots..:rolleyes:..I know a girl who worked there for a few weeks, You don't get clever staff when you pay a measly €22k per year..:eek::eek: ...pay peanuts and you get monkeys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Well I dont earn much more than that, but there are obviously ridiculous company policies in place that allow this to happen. Not to mention, despite having never had an account with them, they claim they issued our previous bills to an agricultural college. I've never been to, let alone live near an agricultural college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Gotta keep the boot to the neck in these economic times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

DJCR wrote: »
    From my own persnal experience Ulster Bank have been absolute **** in this regard.

I switched jobs where by I stopped being paid on fridays and got switched to being paid on the alst working day of every month.

Naturally, I forgot to change the days which the bank was supposed to take the cash out of the account so I was often left paying a fine "charges" and receiving really ****ty letters to my parents address.. so I didn't cop it for a few months.

By the time I copped it, I had paid about €120 in charges and had been treatened with a summons.
    What's your issue with the above? Fair enough, these things slipped your mind, but the company can only go with the information it has been given - it doesn't know that your payment date has been changed/you don't live at the address you gave them as being yours. You knew your personal circumstances, the company didn't - all it had to go on was a person not paying the money they owed. And they did send repeated reminders before the summons.
    Also they are mad for calling you these days as well.
    And that is of benefit to people who forget to change their direct debit details, address etc. Not being smart - it's a reasonable mistake - but there are complaints about companies not being vigilant enough about reminding people to pay, then there are complaints about companies actually doing this by phone... bit of a damned do, damned don't situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

75 days is kinda taking the piss though, thats almost 3 months. earlier in the year my bank account got obliterated by my rent, car tax, insurance, credit card, phone bill, broadband, bins, gas and esb all coming out within a week of each other (all direct debit) no point whinging, just didnt go out a few weekends that month. I'd rather forego a few luxuries than have to spend months trying to pay back stuff.

It wasn't taking the piss a few years ago but now it is because everyone's mad to get their money. Times are a'changing and not for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Avoid Airtricity anybody, at all costs.

Idiots..:rolleyes:..I know a girl who worked there for a few weeks, You don't get clever staff when you pay a measly €22k per year..:eek::eek: ...pay peanuts and you get monkeys

thats fairly average wage for customer care/retail workers. since when does wage show how intelligent you are? if that was the case our government would be super geniuses, are they? nope.

Daegerty wrote: »
    It wasn't taking the piss a few years ago but now it is because everyone's mad to get their money. Times are a'changing and not for the better.

Yeah its terrible having to pay for something you've used, next thing you know restaurants will want people to bay the bill before they leave the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You don't get clever staff when you pay a measly €22k per year
    Yes you will in this climate - and they could be getting paid considerably less. Customer service is one of the few sectors hiring. If there are regular issues with Airtricity, that appears to be a system problem/poor training. They can't all be idiots. Sure, mistakes are made by individuals, but not to the extent that the company becomes renowned for cock-ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

I got a text today, or yesterday at this stage from the ESB, to say i still had not cleared my current bill. First time i have seen that method of reminder myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

i had the same thing with bord gas. get your land lord onto them straight away.

anyway back on topic, looking through the posts and have seen some people say go for a DD and others say not to. i recommend DD's, i have mine all set up so that they go out on the day i get paid or a day or 2 after. that way i know i have the money in my account.

in regards to companies ringing and ringing you about a bill or non-payment my advice is to actually talk to them instead of putting it off.

went through some trouble with UB a while ago over an account myself and my ex used. about a grand owed on it and i left it off and told them i was setting up the payments. they eventually sent out a solicitors letter and a letter form their debt collector agency. i called them that day and had a nice chat, explained the current situation of cash flow problems and how much i had to spare every month and we sorted it out. easy and simple.

they want the balance paid as much as you want to not have to pay it and the longer you put it off the worse it gets. you dont want to go to court for a €500 bill and get it turned into a €2500 bill because you have to pay their legal expenses too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Yeah its terrible having to pay for something you've used, next thing you know restaurants will want people to bay the bill before they leave the place!

Jaysus lad how many times do I have to tell it to you this has nothing to do with trying to get out of paying for it.

This is more like restaurants landing you the bill while you're still eating and sending their two biggest, blackest security guards to the door looking towards you with an intimidating stare as you start to tuck into your desert if you havn't handed them a credit card by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

There is a bit of a difference between using things like electricity which is reasonably essential now, and is supplied to the home 24 hours a day, than going to a restaurant, when people are in financial difficulty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i pay them a certin amount at a time and i have no problem with them at all once your paying something they dont bother you if your not trying to pay at all you hardly expect to get away with it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Daegerty wrote: »
    Has anyone here noticed they are chasing people up a lot sooner these days?
    Before you could leave an ESB bill laying till the next one came along, maybe even get a third one in. but no more, a few weeks and they're on your house thinking you're going to abscond or go bankrupt.

Eircon are the same and if you're making a habit of letting the bills laying around they suddenly start sending them every month. For some reason when any of these companies call up its on the afternoon after paying it.

"Its paid already."

"Our system shows that it hasn't been paid yet!"

"Your system must be wrong so."

"Our system is infallible now hurry on and pay up before we send the debt collectors 'round. If you don't pay in the next three days you'll be hearing from Intrum Justitia!"
    intrum justita dont deal with the non payment of domestic bills they deal with bank loans or credit card depts that have been sold off to them and they chase you for the amount they are fair tooo and allow you pay an aggreed amount each month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

intrum justita dont deal with the non payment of domestic bills they deal with bank loans or credit card depts that have been sold off to them and they chase you for the amount they are fair tooo and allow you pay an aggreed amount each month

They used to deal with them but that was a few years ago. Another right shower them lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

It's common sense for these companies to start calling you sooner in the month. People have less cash and the person who shouts the loudest is the one who gets paid. Everyone else is put on the long finger.

If you don't want to receive calls then set up a direct debit. If you don't want to pay by direct debit then make sure your bill is paid on time or call them in advance to let them know your having difficulty.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,489 ✭✭✭✭beertons

When I worked in collections for two telecoms companies, my whole day was spent trying to contact people who hadn't paid. And you'd see the same notes written every month, promised to pay. Disconnected 1000 people one thursday, and turned off another 1000 people from using their broadband. If they hadn't rang in by friday at 4pm, they'd have no service for the weekend. They never forgot my name anyway! Twats. Yet they still wouldn't sign up for direct debit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

beertons wrote: »
    When I worked in collections for two telecoms companies, my whole day was spent trying to contact people who hadn't paid. And you'd see the same notes written every month, promised to pay. Disconnected 1000 people one thursday, and turned off another 1000 people from using their broadband. If they hadn't rang in by friday at 4pm, they'd have no service for the weekend. They never forgot my name anyway! Twats. Yet they still wouldn't sign up for direct debit.

Had I signed up for a Vodafone At Home direct debit, they would have grabbed €800+ from my bank account that wasn't due to them, because they screwed up big time and overcharged me since July last year. Even now the brainless feckers haven't resolved the situation, and are still over-charging me. I'd be waiting years to get a refund from the cretins.

As it stands, I pay them what I'm supposed to pay them, and by bank transfer controlled by me, because I wouldn't trust them with a DD as far as I could throw them.:mad:

They're the pits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Had I signed up for a Vodafone At Home direct debit, they would have grabbed €800+ from my bank account that wasn't due to them, because they screwed up big time and overcharged me since July last year. Even now the brainless feckers haven't resolved the situation, and are still over-charging me. I'd be waiting years to get a refund from the cretins.

As it stands, I pay them what I'm supposed to pay them, and by bank transfer controlled by me, because I wouldn't trust them with a DD as far as I could throw them.:mad:

They're the pits!

This is something that bugs the sh*t out of me. Do people not check their invoices? I don't work for VF by the way, but like them, I deal with thousands of customers. We do our best to ensure that everything is correct but occasionally stuff slips through the cracks. If we don't know there's a problem we can't fix it but don't come screaming at me 12months down the line for a problem you didn't even notice yourself.

*not directed specifically at ejmaztec