Padre Pio stickers on cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Biggins wrote: »
    ...And thats why I say, live and let live.
    (I was joking above but I'm guessing you know that.) :)
    Of course Biggins, I think I know some of your quirky ways by now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

You still see a reasonable number of these around. Often accompanied by a small icon of Mary (I mean, Our Lady...) or perhaps rosary beads wrapped around the mirror.

Anything is better than those wooden beaded car seats, though. I think they must have come free with the Toyota Corolla or something, hardly ever got in to a Toyota Corolla in my youth which did not one of those in the driver's seat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Has anyone mentioned those big furry dice yet? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Biggins wrote: »
    Has anyone mentioned those big furry dice yet? :D

Big furry dice. Done. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Big furry dice. Done. :p

Kool! :D

Bring 'em back I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I heard the man used carbonic acid to make the holes in his hands:confused:

Reminds me I must top up the car battery with sulphuric.

When I bought the car off one of my friends from college there was a Padre Pio Relic in the glove box and a virgin Mary medal on the visor over the wheel. Also loads of palm fronds in the glove box too. Had no idea the man was so religious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I was in a cab in London a couple of weeks ago and along with the usual pics of grand kids etc. the driver had a picture of Margaret Thatcher up on one of the sun visors :eek:

I'd say that'd do more to protect the car than Padre Pio, who would want to hit a car displaying a picture of Pure Evil (tm) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

I've have one in the back window and one in the front window. Was there when I got the car. Not religious, but I couldn't give a sh*t about them.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Both the parents have holy Medal things in their cars.

Me Ma has a pair of rosary beads blessed by the man himself too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Both the parents have holy Medal things in their cars.

Me Ma has a pair of rosary beads blessed by the man himself too.

Jesus came back and you dident say anything till now?

ffs.:mad::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭alejandro1977

that's odd alright.

what's even stranger I keep seeing Liverpool FC and Manchester United stickers on cars of people who don't even live in Liverpool/Manchester.

I also saw a guy with a sticker that said "My other car's a Batmobile" when I know for a fact that his other car is a Toyota.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

that's odd alright.

what's even stranger I keep seeing Liverpool FC and Manchester United stickers on cars of people who don't even live in Liverpool/Manchester.

I also saw a guy with a sticker that said "My other car's a Batmobile" when I know for a fact that his other car is a Toyota.

You see so many of them in the States. It never occured to me when driving behind some piece of sh1t PRNDLer "Jaysus lad I wonder what this fellas other car is like?" never. In fact I never wonder if the person infront of me owns any more cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

I actually have a Padre Pio sticker on my car
    It was the first thing put up on the inside of the windscreen when i got it and it will be the first thing that will go up on the windscreen of any new car I get in the future
    I have personal family related reasons for believing in the power & protection of this particular saint and there is NOTHING any AH'ers can do to change my mind!

I heard the man used carbonic acid to make the holes in his hands:confused:

Reminds me I must top up the car battery with sulphuric.

When I bought the car off one of my friends from college there was a Padre Pio Relic in the glove box and a virgin Mary medal on the visor over the wheel. Also loads of palm fronds in the glove box too. Had no idea the man was so religious.

He was accused of it because he bought some once and asked the pharmacist not to say anything. I don't believe that he was a fraud.

It was actually to sterilize needles, the monks were giving out shots against the Spanish flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

Angelfire9
    I actually have a Padre Pio sticker on my car
    It was the first thing put up on the inside of the windscreen when i got it and it will be the first thing that will go up on the windscreen of any new car I get in the future
    I have personal family related reasons for believing in the power & protection of this particular saint and there is NOTHING any AH'ers can do to change my mind!

Whatever get's y'off! What does AH stand for, btw?

I have a poster of Comrade Prachanda (aka Pushpa Kamal Dahal) stuck up on the wall of my study. He's no saint by any stretch of the imagination, and doesn't claim to be, but I bet he'll give me as much protection as any dead Italian charlatan. In other words: none. But he looks like a guy who can get things done here on earth - and his track record proves it.

I often wonder why the RCC church doesn't send all those bleeding stigmatists (I think that's what they're called) to a good specialist for proper treatment - or failing that to Lourdes, where they say all kinds of cures are effected.

saatana wrote: »
    I often wonder why the RCC church doesn't send all those bleeding stigmatists (I think that's what they're called) to a good specialist for proper treatment - or failing that to Lourdes, where they say all kinds of cures are effected.

Sure it would do feck all good now, they're all dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

AH = After Hours... the section of boards.ie where you are posting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I have a poster of Comrade Prachanda (aka Pushpa Kamal Dahal) stuck up on the wall of my study. He's no saint by any stretch of the imagination, and doesn't claim to be, but I bet he'll give me as much protection as any dead Italian charlatan. In other words: none.

Whatever get's you off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Because we've always been a bit pagan before anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

123balltv wrote: »
    My Brothers girlfriend got him rosary beads/a holy sticker and a
    motorists prayer their the same age 18 they dont give a **** who laughs at them.

it's a bit of hope they have lost family/friends in car crashes

Maybe if they focused more on practical road safety, careful driving, appropriate speeds, wearing seatbelts, anticipating other drivers actions, being aware of tiredness/alcohol intake, etc. instead of believing in a stupid f**king sticker - they might still be alive today.

Tehachapi wrote: »
    Maybe if they focused more on practical road safety, careful driving, appropriate speeds, wearing seatbelts, anticipating other drivers actions, being aware of tiredness/alcohol intake, etc. instead of believing in a stupid f**king sticker - they might still be alive today.

Jaysus thats a bit presumptuous and insensitive to be saying, you don't know if the accident was their fault or if they were leaving the 'work' up to the sticker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

This is timed very well.
    Ahh we bought a car about a week ago and the f*cking thing was loaded with pictures of him. Y'know where the tax and insurance are on the windscreen? Well that whole edging of the windscreen was littered with pictures of him top to bottom.

I thought it was very odd...:confused:

"one crazy owner" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If you're a roight on atheist then you could get a ruari quinn sticker instead, looks the same at a horses gallop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

philstar wrote: »
    anyway the guy was a con artist

Absolutely he was. Mick Mulcahy of 96FM got very irate one day when he was filling in for Mr Prenderville's morning show and announced that no one would speak ill of the con artist, PIO, as long as he [Mulcahy] was in the seat ~ that was pretty much the last time he was on 96FM too [surprisingly].

I've a problem with people believing in religion in general anyway, but Pio believers, I'd cross the road to avoid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

Angelfire9
    AH = After Hours... the section of boards.ie where you are posting!

Thanks! Sometimes you just can't see the wood for the trees (or at least I can't).

(Trying my best to kick myself on the arse for not getting it).

BTW, has anyone wondered what "saatana" might mean?

Its obviously a sports channel I don't watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Millions of em in Kerry, in cars driven by coffin-dodgers.

So the stickers must work then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

know a girl who had a fairly big Fianna Fa'il sticker on her windscreen
    also had a keyring with a picture of Charlie Haughey on it.
    any link to Padre Pio?? :confused:

she works in the bank now by the way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    He was accused of it because he bought some once and asked the pharmacist not to say anything. I don't believe that he was a fraud.

It was actually to sterilize needles, the monks were giving out shots against the Spanish flu.

medical practitioners were asked by the Vatican to examine his hands to see if the stigmata was genuine but Padre Pio refused to be examined....but why refuse if you got nothing to hide:cool: hmmmm

fryup wrote: »
    medical practitioners were asked by the Vatican to examine his hands to see if the stigmata was genuine but Padre Pio refused to be examined....but why refuse if you got nothing to hide:cool: hmmmm
    He was examined by a number of doctors.