Padre Pio stickers on cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I always give my relic a good rub when i'm driving. Makes me feel very holy. Very holy indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seen them in a few taxi's.
    Each to their own, whatever turns them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

They are probably cheapest car sticker on the market and I bought a few of them last time I was in Knock ( if ye know where that is :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Just bought a new car and it has one on the drivers side. I am not religous and want to take it down. 2 things are stopping me. 1) the horrible gummy / glue stain it will leave (insert innuendo/ joke) and 2) the dark clouds that circle my car when i reach to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Saints Formaldehyde preserve us!

/fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

I looked up that Padre Pio fellow (at first I thought it was Padre Pedo, guess I'm a bit dyslexic). Weird, you couldn't make stuff like this up.

What's amazing is that one of the biggest figures behind the Padre Pio cult in Ireland was also one of the biggest fundraisers for Taca/Fianna Fail.

http://www.cinews.ie/article.php?artid=7705

Even worse, the woman who was this country's Education Minister (no kidding) until a few months ago actually believes that the dead Italian, who suffered from a very rare disease and lacked the cop-on to have it treated by practitioners of medical science, can solve Ireland's economic problems from beyond the grave.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20071104/ai_n21089512/

This country is well and truly fcuked as long as people like that have any influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

My b/f's mother bought him a Padre Pio tax disk holder. I find it really embarassing but he won't take it down. I actually considered leaving him because of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

annascott wrote: »
    My b/f's mother bought him a Padre Pio tax disk holder. I find it really embarassing but he won't take it down. I actually considered leaving him because of it...

Do, he's a mammys boy and a tool

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

philstar wrote: »
    Why do so many people in this country have Padre Pio stickers on their cars?

Because he was an ace driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

A friend of mine has one on his car, it's well faded now at this stage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

My Brothers girlfriend got him rosary beads/a holy sticker and a
    motorists prayer their the same age 18 they dont give a **** who laughs at them.

it's a bit of hope they have lost family/friends in car crashes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

I have a sticker of Michael Jackson in my car
    Every time i look i see a man in the mirror :P

sorry could'nt help it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Padre Pio ---- RIP a Pedo :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I firmly believe that Padre Pio sticker holders are probably involved in more accidents because they race along willy-nilly thinking "Ah shur I'll be grand, shur isn't Padre Pio looking after me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

There seems to be a bit of a stigmata about these PIO people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭fastrac

I brought it up with a priest once who had an AA sticker on his windscreen that I thought his gang had Padre Pio stickers instead and the answer was its not much good ringing him when your on the side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Not Padre Pio but my Mam has a prayer hanging from her rear view mirror. She wanted to buy me one :eek: Asked me to put one in my car for her peace of mind, said I wouldn't notice it was there.

Also, she bought me a holy medal to pin to the pram when my son was a baby. Clearly they are thought of as some kind of protection. Against what, I do not know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭Calibos

Boxoffrogs wrote: »
    Not Padre Pio but my Mam has a prayer hanging from her rear view mirror. She wanted to buy me one :eek: Asked me to put one in my car for her peace of mind, said I wouldn't notice it was there.

Also, she bought me a holy medal to pin to the pram when my son was a baby. Clearly they are thought of as some kind of protection. Against what, I do not know.

The irony being that were you sitting with her watching a documentary on TV with an african witch doctor waving a handful of herbs or necklace of animal bones in front of someones face to ward off a curse or evil spirits, she'd likely turn to you and say, "Jaysus Son, did ya ever see such primitive nonsense!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Why does such a trivial thing upset you so much?
    cowzerp wrote: »
    Do, he's a mammys boy and a tool

If he leave's it up, he's a mammy's boy. If he take's it down, he's whipped. Lose-lose, poor fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I was involved in a car crash a few years back and was off work for a year. I was two weeks back at work and someone crashed into me (on both occasions the other drivers were completely in the wrong and one even fled the scene of the accident). Since then every time I change my car, the first thing I do is put a Padre Pio sticker on the car. I'm young and not remotely religious but I feel safer with Saint Pio on board :).

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I was involved in a car crash a few years back and was off work for a year. I was two weeks back at work and someone crashed into me (on both occasions the other drivers were completely in the wrong and one even fled the scene of the accident). Since then every time I change my car, the first thing I do is put a Padre Pio sticker on the car. I'm young and not remotely religious but I feel safer with Saint Pio on boards :).
    At that rate of thinking you should when driving, wear the same clothes, brush your hair the same way and leave home at the same time every day too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

...I feel safer with Saint Pio on boards :).

Whats his username?

You probably should leave him, you sound judgmental, controlling and an all round atrocious girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Biggins wrote: »
    At that rate of thinking you should when driving, wear the same clothes, brush your hair the same way and leave home at the same time every day too! :D
    I know it makes no sense really but it helps me (comfort blanket type of thing) and doesn't do anyone else any harm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Undercover_

Im not a bit religious but I have one!

No idea why, my auntie is a bit of a holy nut and she gave it to me when I got my car

Never thought too much about it until now- Im in a boards shame spiral!

Biggins wrote: »
    No need to be sarcastic, we all have our things which help us make it through the day, its not for you to judge.

I know it makes no sense really but it helps me (comfort blanket type of thing) and doesn't do anyone else any harm
    ...And thats why I say, live and let live.
    (I was joking above but I'm guessing you know that.) :)
    No need to be sarcastic, we all have our things which help us make it through the day, its not for you to judge.
    Indeed not, I have many a quirk too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

I have a air freshner for my car that's a picture of the sacred heart holding a car...then written underneath is "st.auto patron st of cars"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Wondered who that was, I walk past someone's car with one of these stickers every morning on the way to the DART.

Oh well, not as bad as all the religious crap people stick all over their dashboards in Latin America; crucifixes, rosaries, nodding christs, all that stuff, and that's just on the buses (which made me really confident in the drivers...)