Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Padre Pio stickers on cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

and you know this BECAUSE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Where do you live? I've never seen one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

of all the things going on in the world, is this really the thing that bugs you the most??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Because he was very holey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Saints preserve us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

That reminds me I must get one for my car just to annoy the militant atheist crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Because he was very holey

and this is why he is going to jump out from behind the bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

He was a fairly good looking man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Wow, that takes me back: haven't seen a Padre Pio car sticker in years... Listen, OP, will you bring me back a 26p bottle of family value orange - you know, via whatever portal to the 1980s you've stumbled through...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Actually there is a patron saint of cars St Francis of Rome. Thats probably why theres so many accidents. wrong saint sticker

I should probably mail Gay Byrne and let him know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

steve06 wrote: »
    Where do you live? I've never seen one.

Millions of em in Kerry, in cars driven by coffin-dodgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

This is timed very well.
    Ahh we bought a car about a week ago and the f*cking thing was loaded with pictures of him. Y'know where the tax and insurance are on the windscreen? Well that whole edging of the windscreen was littered with pictures of him top to bottom.

I thought it was very odd...:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

This is timed very well.
    Ahh we bought a car about a week ago and the f*cking thing was loaded with pictures of him. Y'know where the tax and insurance are on the windscreen? Well that whole edging of the windscreen was littered with pictures of him top to bottom.

I'd have walked away and bought a different car. That would just freak me out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

They're hilarious.

This is timed very well.

The more Padre Pio stickers, the less chance the Guards will notice that the tax and insurance have run out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

Padre Pedo?

Who on earth is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

The Traveller's Tax Disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

OP have you woken up this morning in 1990's rural Ireland?

I rarely see Padre Pio stickers these days but if I do it's nearly always on a car with a tow bar and a fcuked suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I wonder do fighter pilots lash an oul PadP sticker up on the cockpit bubble of th'oul F15-E and such like?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

This is timed very well.

and they're bloody hard to get off as well:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

philstar wrote: »
    Why do so many people in this country have Padre Pio stickers on their cars?

Because we're all sheep corrupted by the Catholic Church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

In secondary school we had an absolutely psycho of a teacher, fella who genuinely had serious anger and mental problems. When he freaked out he could be heard shouting from the floor above and below. He threatened to hit students, put his fist through his desk and threw desks etc.

Then 1 day he told us about the time he met Padre Pio when he was young. He said that meeting him had a profound impact on his life. I thought that was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Knackered brown Hillman Hunters with flaky red reg plates, no tax, tow bars, rufe-raacks and a bang of wet dog off them FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Me ma put one on my old car and I couldn't be arsed taking it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭cbmonstra

I don't have that sticker, but I do have a miraculous medal that my granny gave my mam in the ashtray. My mam gave it to me when I got the car.

My granny died just before I learned to drive, so I keep it there just to remind me of her. Not for any religous reasons.

My mam does think it will protect me from crashing though, so it's there to humour her aswell... :o

Dan133269 wrote: »
    In secondary school we had an absolutely psycho of a teacher, fella who genuinely had serious anger and mental problems. When he freaked out he could be heard shouting from the floor above and below. He threatened to hit students, put his fist through his desk and threw desks etc.

Then 1 day he told us about the time he met Padre Pio when he was young. He said that meeting him had a profound impact on his life. I thought that was priceless.

Perhaps Padre Pio prevented him from butchering the whole school, but allowed him to scream and smash stuff up to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭aidhan

They are instead of road tax :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    OP have you woken up this morning in 1990's rural Ireland?

no i haven't, ok they are not as prevelant as as in the past..but still there's still quite a few around even on new cars

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Needler wrote: »
    That reminds me I must get one for my car just to annoy the militant atheist crowd

The ones who post on boards or the ones who stand on street corners protesting about stuff and preaching.?
    You could impress folk with your faith by getting a Padre Pio sticker and then deciding that you obviously dont need insurance.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

The ones who post on boards or the ones who stand on street corners protesting about stuff and preaching.?
    You could impress folk with your faith by getting a Padre Pio sticker and then deciding that you obviously dont need insurance.:D

I suppose the real life ones, I don't really use my car to navigate boards so they wouldn't see it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I always give my relic a good rub when i'm driving. Makes me feel very holy. Very holy indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seen them in a few taxi's.
    Each to their own, whatever turns them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

They are probably cheapest car sticker on the market and I bought a few of them last time I was in Knock ( if ye know where that is :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Just bought a new car and it has one on the drivers side. I am not religous and want to take it down. 2 things are stopping me. 1) the horrible gummy / glue stain it will leave (insert innuendo/ joke) and 2) the dark clouds that circle my car when i reach to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Saints Formaldehyde preserve us!

/fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 saatana

I looked up that Padre Pio fellow (at first I thought it was Padre Pedo, guess I'm a bit dyslexic). Weird, you couldn't make stuff like this up.

What's amazing is that one of the biggest figures behind the Padre Pio cult in Ireland was also one of the biggest fundraisers for Taca/Fianna Fail.

http://www.cinews.ie/article.php?artid=7705

Even worse, the woman who was this country's Education Minister (no kidding) until a few months ago actually believes that the dead Italian, who suffered from a very rare disease and lacked the cop-on to have it treated by practitioners of medical science, can solve Ireland's economic problems from beyond the grave.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20071104/ai_n21089512/

This country is well and truly fcuked as long as people like that have any influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

My b/f's mother bought him a Padre Pio tax disk holder. I find it really embarassing but he won't take it down. I actually considered leaving him because of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

annascott wrote: »
    My b/f's mother bought him a Padre Pio tax disk holder. I find it really embarassing but he won't take it down. I actually considered leaving him because of it...

Do, he's a mammys boy and a tool

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

philstar wrote: »
    Why do so many people in this country have Padre Pio stickers on their cars?

Because he was an ace driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

A friend of mine has one on his car, it's well faded now at this stage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

My Brothers girlfriend got him rosary beads/a holy sticker and a
    motorists prayer their the same age 18 they dont give a **** who laughs at them.

it's a bit of hope they have lost family/friends in car crashes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

I have a sticker of Michael Jackson in my car
    Every time i look i see a man in the mirror :P

sorry could'nt help it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Padre Pio ---- RIP a Pedo :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I firmly believe that Padre Pio sticker holders are probably involved in more accidents because they race along willy-nilly thinking "Ah shur I'll be grand, shur isn't Padre Pio looking after me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

There seems to be a bit of a stigmata about these PIO people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

I brought it up with a priest once who had an AA sticker on his windscreen that I thought his gang had Padre Pio stickers instead and the answer was its not much good ringing him when your on the side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Not Padre Pio but my Mam has a prayer hanging from her rear view mirror. She wanted to buy me one :eek: Asked me to put one in my car for her peace of mind, said I wouldn't notice it was there.

Also, she bought me a holy medal to pin to the pram when my son was a baby. Clearly they are thought of as some kind of protection. Against what, I do not know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Boxoffrogs wrote: »
    Not Padre Pio but my Mam has a prayer hanging from her rear view mirror. She wanted to buy me one :eek: Asked me to put one in my car for her peace of mind, said I wouldn't notice it was there.

Also, she bought me a holy medal to pin to the pram when my son was a baby. Clearly they are thought of as some kind of protection. Against what, I do not know.

The irony being that were you sitting with her watching a documentary on TV with an african witch doctor waving a handful of herbs or necklace of animal bones in front of someones face to ward off a curse or evil spirits, she'd likely turn to you and say, "Jaysus Son, did ya ever see such primitive nonsense!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

annascott wrote: »

Why does such a trivial thing upset you so much?
    cowzerp wrote: »
    Do, he's a mammys boy and a tool

If he leave's it up, he's a mammy's boy. If he take's it down, he's whipped. Lose-lose, poor fella.