Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matching outfits at a debs/grad?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Poll needs an Atari Jaguar option.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

Id love for the lad im going with to wear a dickie bow but im pretty sure he wouldnt be caught dead in one.. He's a gas cnut!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭LilMissCiara

RHunce wrote: »
    Ballinasloe no??

Nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

I wanna go in the dumb and dumber tuxes top hats and pimp canes and all. just need to get one of the lads to wear the other tux. the girl I'm bringing don't mind as long as my tie matches her dress. I can't find them anywhere though. It would be gas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

I think it's mostly a case of what you like/feel comfortable with, yourself. At my own debs, the guy I was going with rang me when he went to get his tux and asked if I wanted him to match (he'd seen my dress), and I didn't care either way, so I told him to do whatever he wanted. He ended up wearing a hot pink tie, to match my dress. I'd never force him to wear a bright pink tie, though.

The second debs I went to, the guy specified he would not, under any circumstances, be wearing a tie to match my dress. He just wore a black bow-tie, and it looked nice too.

Iunno, they were two very different guys. I can't imagine the guy from my debs in just a black bow, and the guy from the other in a bright pink tie. Their choices suited them :) Then again, I didn't care much about the whole debs thing and had to be dragged dress shopping and chose the first dress I found, so I was never going to be the type who demanded we look picture perfect or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

Cawcheen wrote: »
    Id love for the lad im going with to wear a dickie bow but im pretty sure he wouldnt be caught dead in one.. He's a gas cnut!

One of my friends wore a dickie bow and he was kind of sickened because his hot date really insisted on it and being ever obliging he did it. We slagged the absolute shiiiiiit out of him in the run up to the debs saying he'd be the only one to wear one etc and he didn't want to himself. Truth be told it looked extremely well and classy. I wish I had worn one :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

I wish I had worn one :o
    Well of course; bow ties are cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

last year no one wore ties at ours twas all dickie bows.

You know when James Bond wears them that they're cool!

casino_royale_empire-lo_starstore.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

I went to the debs the year before my own one and 4 or 5 girls decided to wear different colours of something similiar to this dress. They looked ridiculous (they were even more poofy than that) but the best moment was when, no joke, they couldn't fit through the doors of the hotel to get out to the smoking area. We lol'd :D

The second debs I went to, the guy specified he would not, under any circumstances, be wearing a tie to match my dress. He just wore a black bow-tie, and it looked nice too.

If that was his grad that's ok but if it was your's I'd consider that rude!
    One of my friends wore a dickie bow and he was kind of sickened because his hot date really insisted on it and being ever obliging he did it. We slagged the absolute shiiiiiit out of him in the run up to the debs saying he'd be the only one to wear one etc and he didn't want to himself. Truth be told it looked extremely well and classy. I wish I had worn one :o

That's taking things too far!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Hard to believe this was all the way back in 2007! :eek:

165881.jpg

I went to the debs the year before my own one and 4 or 5 girls decided to wear different colours of something similiar to this dress. They looked ridiculous (they were even more poofy than that) but the best moment was when, no joke, they couldn't fit through the doors of the hotel to get out to the smoking area. We lol'd :D

Not my debs but one in our county. :pac:

29d92lz.jpg

That's taking things too far!

She was hot, he wanted her. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

So sad my debs is over, that would just have been...ideal :pac:

Sucks to be the people in her class photo though, they'd have looked like an unusually big crowd of bridesmaids.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

It was his debs, yes :) But I think he'd gathered I didn't care either way, so he could say that without being worried I'd take offence or whatever :)

She was hot, he wanted her. :rolleyes:

Whipped! :D :P

29d92lz.jpg

And you slag the county I'm not even from! :eek:

Whipped! :D :P

And you slag the county I'm not even from! :eek:

I reckon she was smuggling drink anyway :pac:

In or out?! ;) :P

Can we even call that a dress? :confused:

In or out?! ;) :P

Can we even call that a dress? :confused:

In!

It's a small hut! People live in there.

In!

It's a small hut! People live in there.

It's worse than you see on My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding.. Like holy god!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

You know when James Bond wears them that they're cool!

casino_royale_empire-lo_starstore.jpg

This is on my bedroom wall, thoughtt hat should be mentioned.

Yeah and about twelve mexicans across the border :pac::pac::pac::pac:

There's a school in Limerick where in September just gone, two girls had to sit at a table on their own, away from their dates, due to the size of their dresses.

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Yeah and about twelve mexicans across the border :pac::pac::pac::pac:

There's a school in Limerick where in September just gone, two girls had to sit at a table on their own, away from their dates, due to the size of their dresses.

Why? Like why would you want to wear a dress of that size? Just why?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Why? Like why would you want to wear a dress of that size? Just why?

It's a dominance thing. Like the hoopy earrings.

Biggest hoops=Alpha Knacker

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    It's a dominance thing. Like the hoopy earrings.

Biggest hoops=Alpha Knacker

But it's not sexy/pretty/classy/glamorous.. I don't how anybody can look at that and think it looks good!

That doesn't stop plenty of women slapping on fake tan either, when it always looks bad.

Ah now, fake tan cannot be compared to a dress with a skirt of a 2m diameter! Fake tan is easy to get wrong, but looks stunning if done right!

Well I've never seen it done right, but prove me wrong!

http://uamodels.net/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/orange3_fn.jpg :P

Jokes..
    http://www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/victoria-beckham-before-and-after-plastic-surgery.jpg ignoring the pout, hair etc. the tan on the right is pretty good!

Hard to tell if there'd really be a big difference due to the tan since she looks like a different person in every way, but the tan looks nice and subtle. I was wrong.:pac: