Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Now the cat is out the bag I think we're naturally obliged to demand photos!

You didn't go and get one of these for your Apple I did you?!

I'm considering keeping my wrapped games here although I don't have Sapphire, Sylphia, Rendering Ranger R2, Stadium Events or Kizuna Encounter yet to justify the cost. o1s1n might consider it for Radiant Silvergun though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭blag

:eek: Someday I'll start looking after my games better , *looks at copy of radiant silvergun casually sitting amongst a bunch of CD's :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang wrote: »

I'm considering keeping my wrapped games here although I don't have Sapphire, Sylphia, Rendering Ranger R2, Stadium Events or Kizuna Encounter yet to justify the cost. o1s1n might consider it for Radiant Silvergun though. :D

Ok, I'll sort out a few pics next time I'm in my parents house as I don't keep it up here in Dublin.
    Unfortunately it's not worth as much as some of the Apple 1's you see up for auction as it's not as complete as most of those, so I wont be retiring on it :)

Although I only paid 300 dollars for it in 1997 so it's a decent investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Steve SI wrote: »
    You think that's bad. You should see how I have my Apple 1 stored :D

My girlfriend would probably faint if she knew how much I spent just storing the bloody thing :o

Then again she just wouldn't get how much it's actually worth these days and that the packaging is an investment.

Woahhhhhhh hang on there a minute...you have an Apple 1?!

Ah, Radiant Silvergun is baby stuff. That's currently sitting out on top of a pile of games. :D I tend not to be too precious with mass produced games.

It's things like Sonic Crackers and that undumped Zero Tolerance prototype that I worry about! I think at some point I may invest in a fire proof box just for the things that can't be replaced if destroyed.

Games are pretty easy in that regard. I also wanted to fire proof my Akira cel collection, but can't think of a way of doing that as artwork needs air to breathe.

God damn, with things like this comes great responsibility! :(

o1s1n wrote: »
    I also wanted to fire proof my Akira cel collection, but can't think of a way of doing that as artwork needs air to breathe.

May I suggest these folks?

Woahhhhhhh hang on there a minute...you have an Apple 1?!

I am a collector of many things :D

Picked it up in Boston Market many years ago(I was 17 at the time, now 32).
    The guy selling it knew what it was, just not quite how rare it was.

I've come close to selling it many times, especially when money was very tight when I wasn't working etc.

Master of the Universe

May I suggest these folks?

Haha

'Just off to Singapore to have a look at my artwork, brb in the morning'

I've come close to selling it many times, especially when money was very tight when I wasn't working etc.

Fair play to you, that's a pretty amazing thing to own. Can only see the value of it going up and up. Didn't one of them sell for something like $50,000?

£130,000 according to the BBC News archives. :cool:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11825954

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I was just reading about it there, one sold for 178k in christy apparantly it had the box and invoice though, others have sold for around 14-16k. Nice investement!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_I

Fair play to you, that's a pretty amazing thing to own. Can only see the value of it going up and up. Didn't one of them sell for something like $50,000?

Yeah, It was probably more complete than my one.
    One sold for over 200k a while back but it had a letter from steve jobs about tech support and a return address of his parents house and all that sort of stuff collectors love.

keithgeo wrote: »
    I was just reading about it there, one sold for 178k in christy apparantly it had the box and invoice though, others have sold for around 14-16k. Nice investement!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_I

If the one I have was worth that much it would have sold a long time ago :D

178k, that's like 936 Virtual Boys in nerd money.

New pickups today (I got something else too, but that pic is in the SHMUP thread as it's more appropriate there I think):

i7MGU.jpg

sp9lA.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭batari

Picked this lot up from a dude off Adverts the other day:

http://www.adverts.ie/nintendo/games/678262

Now I was sceptical with the price, but the Mortal Kombat cart intrigued me. I felt I was taking a chance on buying them for €40, but feck it it worked out at a little under four quid a game I think, plus I have a pal buying the Zelda and Tetris off me as I already have them, so there's a tenner back :)

So when I meet the dude he explains he used to work in Game back in the day, and they used to get games but just the bare boards and put them into a bare GB cart to bring home to play. This is the Mortal Kombat cart:

IMG_20110626_214108.jpg

I've posted it up on Nintendoage to see if anyone can shed some light, as I've removed the security screw but it seems to be glued together, and from the replies I've gotten so far, it looks like it's either a Proto or a Review Cart!

So looks like it was worth the risk! Am off on the Holliers at the mo, so can't post pics of the other boards I picked up, but it would be nice to find out they're a bit uncommon as well!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Definitely looks like a review or proto cart. A pirate cart would at least try to look aesthetically pleasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

batari wrote: »
    Picked this lot up from a dude off Adverts the other day:

Nice find. You're a woeful haggler, mind:

"20, yes, 20, no, no, 30, no, no, 40 it is then"

Mr.Saturn wrote: »

Should have kept to the true Adverts spirit though. You should have offered €39 if you were willing to pay the full €40. :rolleyes:

Master of the Universe

Nice find! That's a review cart alright. Be nice if there were some differences from the final version. Should dump it just in case :)

I have a gameboy cart dumper, but it's in storage. Might be able to fish it out for you if you're interested and don't have one yourself.

Did the GB version follow the SNES version in that the blood was replaced with 'grey sweat'?

I'll never forget 'Mortal Monday' when my friend got a copy off his dad (who owned an independent video games store at the time) and we raced home from school to check it out and were 907% disappointed with it.

Again, nice find though, well worth the IMF tokens you paid for it. :)

Master of the Universe

I think the Gameboy's monochrome display was enough to censor out any red blood ;)

Eek! Forgot about that. It's early, I've not had my coffee yet. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

5880521462_c354f57fd3.jpg

Deathsmilies

@safetyboy A fine choice. toff-smiley.gif

Mr.Saturn wrote: »

lol, was desperate to make sure I didn't get sniped by someone, Adverts is woeful for that.
    Nice find! That's a review cart alright. Be nice if there were some differences from the final version. Should dump it just in case :)

I have a gameboy cart dumper, but it's in storage. Might be able to fish it out for you if you're interested and don't have one yourself.

Cool, but it's glued in to the case. Might load up an rom to see if I can notice any major differences.

Master of the Universe

batari wrote: »
    lol, was desperate to make sure I didn't get sniped by someone, Adverts is woeful for that.

Cool, but it's glued in to the case. Might load up an rom to see if I can notice any major differences.

You only need to remove ROM chips for dumping fancy boards...GB carts can be dumped without doing that. The dumping device just has a GB cart slot.

Be interesting to hear if there are any differences alright. Who knows, maybe you have the unreleased super gory GB version with all fatalties intact :D

Cool, we'll have to hook something up so.:)

Had a quick go of it before we left just to see if it was as bad as I remember...it's worse.

Be interesting to hear if there are any differences alright. Who knows, maybe you have the unreleased super gory GB version with all fatalties intact :D

In monochrome of course. ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

City Crisis, a game made on a small budget but with massive potential, a lot of fun it is.
    Feels, at times, like an N64 game for some strange reason....

And hooray! Another copy of the lousy Mortal Kombat is taken out of circulation! Feck me but the games on the GB are particularly poor, I know, I have MK2 for mine and it's pants, it has its casing donation card filled out if ever another game needs it.

Leapt on this with the reflexes of a cat (it's literally been listed about 30 mins and I had notifications set up for when a new one appeared) after I fiddled and farted around deciding if I should buy the last one this guy sold (which was NOT brand new).

Absolutely cannot wait for this one to turn up, been after this exact stick for aeons it'll complement my Duo-R nicely.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-PC-ENGINE-XE-1-PRO-HE-/300572300981

CaPw0.jpg

It's BRAND NEW to boot! Lovely jubbly! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    City Crisis, a game made on a small budget but with massive potential, a lot of fun it is.
    Feels, at times, like an N64 game for some strange reason....

And hooray! Another copy of the lousy Mortal Kombat is taken out of circulation! Feck me but the games on the GB are particularly poor, I know, I have MK2 for mine and it's pants, it has its casing donation card filled out if ever another game needs it.

Ok I'll let you have that one Cidey MK on GB is a lousy game but overall and considering the limitations of the GB hardware most of the games are really good with some standout titles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Well now Mr PDBHP, if that is your real name!
    I have no difficulty with awesome games that work within, or even despite, the limitations of the host hardware to produce some great, timeless gaming experiences, like Super Mario Land 2, Tetris, Lemmings all on the GB, but Mortal Kombat gonna suck in the arcades, on the hardware it's made to run on, what hope is there for it on the GB? ;)