Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Delighted for Michael D...We have a good campaign ahead methinks...
    Christ, did you see him rabbit on the TV last week on The Frontline?
    It was seriously dire!

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1100819

Corresponding thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056297232

As I said in that thread:
    Higgins came off the worst in my opinion!
    What the hell was he on about most of the time! Away with the hypotheticals and what sounded like non-achievable building plans for Utopia!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Biggins wrote: »
    It was seriously dire!

:

No but I did see David Norris rabbit for about two weeks in various interviews about pederasty and his weird views on child sex abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

sesna wrote: »
    No but I did see David Norris rabbit for about two weeks in various interviews about pederasty and his weird views on child sex abuse.

.......back with the low level trolling again, I see.

You never did explain to me your version of the events on liveline concerning the tape. According to you, if I recall, they couldn't play it because it was "too explicit", but in fact there was no tape at all, at all......

Nodin wrote: »
    .......back with the low level trolling again, I see.

You never did explain to me your version of the events on liveline concerning the tape. According to you, if I recall, they couldn't play it because it was "too explicit", but in fact there was no tape at all, at all......

That was offered as a possible explanation in a subsequent post, along with several others. In any case, Norris repeated all the damaging quotes himself in various subsequent interviews so the tape you were so worried about became totally irrelevant.

In that case you should have heard the journalistic bag that did the interview that started the whole crap off!
    Find her notes (which she couldn't ...surprise? No.) She could barely explain herself and how she was justified in digging it up for the sake of self-promotion!

...And you wouldn't have had to be subjected to it if she hadn't started off on her aged article agenda again, to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Delighted for Michael D...We have a good campaign ahead methinks...

I'd prefer to see David Norris elected, but Michael D, whom I greatly respect, would be the next best thing.

I'm no great admirer of the Blueshirts, either, but just can't accept that they are so devoid of talent that they would need to draft in a carpetbagger candidate who only joined the party a few wet days ago. The guy has moulted politically nearly as many times as Owen Arrse of Official Sinn Fein, the Worker's Party, FG, FF, Monster Raving Looney's ---

What a slap in the face for those in FG who are dedicated in their own misled way and have worked hard for the party for years and decades and might now reasonably expect its support if they have a run for the Aras!

In that case you should have heard the journalistic bag that did the interview that started the whole crap off!

Calling her a journalist is quite a stretch!

Your choice of the word "bag" I can live with, though. :):pac:

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    I'd prefer to see David Norris elected, but Michael D, whom I greatly respect, would be the next best thing.

I'm no great admirer of the Blueshirts, either, but just can't accept that they are so devoid of talent that they would need to draft in a carpetbagger candidate who only joined the party a few wet days ago. The guy has moulted politically nearly as many times as Owen Arrse of Official Sinn Fein, the Worker's Party, FG, FF, Monster Raving Looney's ---

What a slap in the face for those in FG who are dedicated in their own misled way and have worked hard for the party for years and decades and might now reasonably expect its support if they have a run for the Aras!

Did you see Cathal lurking around during your time in Kathmandu?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It was seriously dire!

Did you see his final Dáil speech?

I don't think it's very fair to single out one television appearance like that. Particularly when it's so easy to find evidence of Higgins' excellent oratory skills. By singling out one media 'performance', you're engaging in the very same type of nonsense as those who attempt to smear David Norris.

I'll be delighted if either Higgins or Norris are elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Find her notes (which she couldn't ...suprise? No.) She could barely explain herself and how she was justified in digging t up for the sake of self-promotion!

...And you wouldn't have had to be subjected to it if she hadn't started off on her aged article agenda again, to boot!

Haven't been at this thread in over a week and we're back to the same circles. This is why I just love that ignore button, I don't have to read the posts that keep on with the same ol bo11ox arguements (stole your sig, thanks ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,406 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Higgins and Norris are too old. We need a bright younger person instead of old doddery lads. Preferably a good looking articulate young one of about 36 years. Anyone know a suitable candidate ?

That was offered as a possible explanation in a subsequent post, along with several others. In any case, Norris repeated all the damaging quotes himself in various subsequent interviews so the tape you were so worried about became totally irrelevant.

Its seems the original post has been edited.....However, what you originally posted was
    Liveline would not play the tape as they said it was too explicit for the time of the day

"as they said"?

How could they have said that when they didn't have a tape?

You stated later.....
    They have the tape and were looking for the correct dictaphone to play it.

They couldn't have had the tape, because its 'lost'.

They didnt' play it then because of the obscenity.

They had no tape, therefore had no idea of the content.

Or maybe they need to consult their lawyers due to previously unreleased content.

...but there was no tape.
    It was announcted on the preview to liveline today, then it wasn't mentioned
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72521343&postcount=524

...you've evidence they announced they had a tape that they did not in fact have?

Did you see Cathal lurking around during your time in Kathmandu?

What do you mean by that remark?

RayM wrote: »
    ...By singling out one media 'performance', you're engaging in the very same type of nonsense as those who attempt to smear David Norris.

I'll be delighted if either Higgins or Norris are elected.
    Its a fair comment.
    Just one thing, he might have had time to write that speech in advance.
    When it comes to talking on the fly or to the ordinary electorate about matters close to todays harsh times and realities, he seriously starting to struggle.
    That said, I'd still choose him over self-opportunist Cox any day of the week.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72696856

Did you see Cathal lurking around while you were there?

You had me baffled there for a while, until I checked the link.

The answer is no, I never came across him then, at the time of the royal massacre in 2001, or in the six or seven times that I have been there since then. I saw the TV documentary and it seemed to be the Thamel area, where I also stay at the Red Planet Hotel when in Kathmandu, but no one there ever mentioned any well-known Irish person to me. I hope to go back there after Christmas and will ask some of my well-connected Newari friends for some of the low-down on Cathal, if there is any.

I feel the person who made the TV documentary should perhaps have spent a longer time in Nepal and gained a better understanding of circumstances in that country. I personally have never noticed any open gay activity, but it is certainly easy to have sex with young women (something I have never felt like doing) quite inexpensively and at a moment's notice. In such an awesomely poor country, however, any Westerner of even modest means instantly attracts hangers-on of both sexes, young people who are drawn to what they see as affluence and perhaps exoticism - and Nepalis are mostly very friendly and nice people, and it is quite possible that they could include young men who have gay or bisexual tendencies. The borderline between exploitation and non-exploitation may not be nearly as clear-cut as we are accustomed to having here in the west.

Higgins and Norris are too old. We need a bright younger person instead of old doddery lads. Preferably a good looking articulate young one of about 36 years. Anyone know a suitable candidate ?

Huh! David Norris is younger than me, and I think I can still cut it. Enough with the ageism, already!:rolleyes:

Maybe you'd like Jedward, probably on your own intellectual level and certainly good-looking, although I don't know about the "articulate".

And you'd get two for the price of one. I know the candidate has to be over 35, but maybe we could bend a rule and accept their aggregate age. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sesna, You have already been banned for flaming in this thread. Continue, even once, and you will get a very long ban.

Fair warning.

There is something to be said for years.
    They have lived long enough to have experiences of the previous bad Irish times.
    With that experience and knowledge of many aspects of it, going further onto the world stage, talking to others, can help discuss such matters deeper, possibly greater seek assistance, drum up investments and bring back business.
    Its not just about sending out a younger chap with a sales pitch and a witty tongue alone.

Huh! David Norris is younger than me, and I think I can still cut it. Enough with the ageism, already!:rolleyes:

Maybe you'd like Jedward, probably on your own intellectual level and certainly good-looking, although I don't know about the "articulate".

And you'd get two for the price of one. I know the candidate has to be over 35, but maybe we could bend a rule and accept their aggregate age. :D

Maybe he's better looking than you too seeing that you like to insult posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Pretty strong contender for non sequitur of the year right there.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Pretty strong contender for non sequitur of the year right there.

Here's another one. Bet you are voting for Norris.

Here's another one.
    Another one what?
    Supporter? The more the merrier! :D :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Luke Ming Flanagan.
    If only to see the Holy joes puke bile into their Special K before they head off to the golf course.

mikom wrote: »
    Luke Ming Flanagan.
    If only to see the Holy joes puke bile into their Special K before they head off to the golf course.

That would be fun.

Only really stupid posters :D:D You are probably right, though, that David certainly does look more presidential than I. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Here's another one. Bet you are voting for Norris.
    I don't particularly give a crap about who's in the Áras aat any given time so I probably won't even vote. If I were inclined to do so I'd probably apply different criteria in determining the merits of the contenders than I would were I judging a beauty pageant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Age shouldn't be an issue. Someone's ability to speak to, or for, people across generations should be. Norris has that down to a tee, Higgins should do but he needs to exercise it more.

If age does not matter then should we have the 35 year-old rule ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭DERICKOO

Well I think the poll is an indication on where our society has progressed in the last decade we should be thankful for this even in our troubled times it is clearly a reference point to gauge our balance in this world.

Yes I would vote for him he has clearly been a champion of many.

Only really stupid posters :D:D You are probably right, though, that David certainly does look more presidential than I. :)

I thought so.