What was the Attorney General doing at Bilderberg this year?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

absolutely valid! Can't believe theres not uproar over this. Yes, they do make palns for the future, that future includes you and you have no input in these plans or they way they are played out. Many of the regulars can best be discribed as bleedin' wierdos. Attending Bilderburg in summer and later on attending Bohemian grove. Mad yokes.

B7, anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Then maybe use this year's thread... More valid, wouldn't you say?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72658268

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

No, the more threads about this lot, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 The Real KCG

I have to say, that's it's just refreshing to see people discussing this in the open finally. Chocolate it's good to have such well articulated responses discussing this as well. We need to keep spreading awareness to the common joe soap, who is blinded by one sided media coverage. By gaining the many different perspectives of a situation are we able to see the bigger picture as a whole.
    Fair play people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

prinz wrote: »
    http://www.bilderbergmeetings.org/meeting2010.html

Explain again how democracy is subverted, policy is made and why Paul Gallagher has to explain what he was doing as a private individual at a private meeting? :confused:

Ah so, Paul Gallagher paid for his own flight, accomodation, meals and taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Do government ministers sit out on the street pitching ideas to passers-by? Or do they sit in closed off rooms, discuss the various ideas and come out with these plans to the people?

Isn't that exactly what the Bilderberg group does? It's a think tank that isn't constrained by local politics. They want to be able to talk freely without having to explain every single word they say to the world at large because their just spit-balling ideas, and there's many who are more than willing to take everything they say as some sort of diabolical scheme to enslave humanity.

They get people who are considered top of their game and ask them their opinions on various topics that concern the world. Yes, there's the possibility that they're a James Bond Villain-esque cabal, but there's also the possibility that they're genuinely trying to stop humanity f*cking itself up further. Why it must be assumed that it can only be the former as a result of them not wanting their private meeting to be public, is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd love to be a fly on that wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Our AG probably went along to be advised of the constitutionality of anything that may be coming down the pipeline. Obviously he'd never work it out for himself.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Biggins wrote: »
    As it was held in Ireland, I'd say it was as an honorary guest.

It was in Spain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,870 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Queen of the Netherlands anyone? She seems to have attended more meetings than anyone else over the years and none of the new world order conspiracy theorists ever mention her......unless she controls the anti-Bilderberg group!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Lads relax, I was there as well, all we did was snort coke and bang hookers for the few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Do people not think there should be some degree of transparency in these meetings? Perhaps the lack of that is the reason why people jump to outrageous conclusions.

When the Trilateral Commission met behind closed doors in Dublin in May of last year, people were also fairly flippant of it all, despite Brian Cowen attending it in an official capacity as the head of our government. Peter Sutherland is also the European chairman of that group incidentally.

Of course no shadowy groups are planning on taking over control of the world. Why would they when they already overtly shape how most of it works? Are people really naive enough to believe that these guys are discussing how to make your life better, for you? They're discussing ways to improve how globalism and capitalism work in a changing world. And many of the people attending stand to gain from it more than you or I.

There's only one thing more absurd than assuming that this is the NWO in action, and that's assuming that nothing of importance to you is being discussed at these meetings. So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Peter Sutherland can't live forever.

The thoughts of it!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Do people not think there should be some degree of transparency in these meetings? Perhaps the lack of that is the reason why people jump to outrageous conclusions.

Transparency like publishing where the event is taking place so others can go protest at it, when it's taking place, who is taking part and what they are going to discuss?

If they all stayed at home and held the same discussions over skype would you be still demanding it be 'more transparent'?
    So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

Even if it wasn't held in camera (like many, many meetings right here at home btw Cabinet meetings/Council of State meetings etc) there'd still be conspiracy theories and it would all be written off as a sham to hide the real discussions. If you want to imagine a conspiracy no matter how transparent it is, the same conspiracy will exist. It's beyond childish to imagine that opinions and ideas that would be floated in private would be just as forthcoming in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Spread wrote: »
    Ah so, Paul Gallagher paid for his own flight, accomodation, meals and taxi

Any evidence to the contrary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

There's only one thing more absurd than assuming that this is the NWO in action, and that's assuming that nothing of importance to you is being discussed at these meetings. So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

Perhaps for the meeting to not be effected by local politics for the respective politicians that may be attending? It would be a very effective meeting if every politician had to choose their words carefully, or not say anything at all, out of fear of the effect it may have on their political career.

Same reason why many top-level government meetings are held in private. It's not a place for cameras, it's a place for ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mark200 wrote: »
    Perhaps for the meeting to not be effected by local politics for the respective politicians that may be attending? It would be a very effective meeting if every politician had to choose their words carefully, or not say anything at all, out of fear of the effect it may have on their political career.

Same reason why many top-level government meetings are held in private. It's not a place for cameras, it's a place for ideas.

I get that, but it doesn't sit well with me. Politicians are elected on the back of what they make known, not what they keep secret. If a politician was afraid to say something publicly for fear that it might ruin his career then it's fair to assume that what is said would not be supported by the people at large.. the people that put said politician into power in the first place. I don't think that meeting in private and sharing ideas secretly is any better than sparking controversy by being open and forthright with the opinions and ideas you hold.

I think that government meetings are a different matter as they deal mostly with internal affairs, not global ones.

Last year, one of the topics was "can we feed the world", obviously a global issue, and most likely including discussion on policy. I'd love to know what Kissinger had to say about that topic in particular considering his history in drawing up policies and plans relating to the issue of population growth and how to curb it by allowing famine to sweep through less developed countries. (see NSSM 200).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm worried for pigs too, poor little fellas get such a hard time, and they're really intelligent:(

If the pigs were really that intelligent, they wouldn't be up to their necks in sh................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

If a politician was afraid to say something publicly for fear that it might ruin his career then it's fair to assume that what is said would not be supported by the people at large.. the people that put said politician into power in the first place.

Or it would just not be understood by the people at large.

The whole point of brainstorming is that you talk first and think later. Politicians wouldn't be able to do that in an open meeting.