Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the Attorney General doing at Bilderberg this year?.

• 06-06-2010 05:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Paul Gallagher, the man that advises the government on all matters legal was an attendee at this years Bilderberg meeting in Sitges, Spain. No coverage whatsoever in the Irish media, I think the people of Ireland deserve an explanation as to why the chief law officer of the state is attending a private meeting where democracy is subverted and policy is made by a handful of elites.

Peter Sutherland was also in attendance, intrestingly he is a former Attorney General ( Now chairman of Goldman Sachs International). The Irish media would tell us about the evils of headshops 1000 times a day if they could get away with it but won't say boo when the Trilateral Commission meets in Dublin or the Attorney General attends Bilderberg.

http://www.bilderbergmeetings.org/meeting_2010_2.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Conspiracy Theories -> That a way.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Corkfeen wrote: »

A predictable response. Don't you want to know why the Attorney General attended a meeting where a handfull of plutocrats decide policy on a global level?. The fact that the Attorney General attended this meeting is not a theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Paul Gallagher, the man that advises the government on all matters legal was an attendee at this years Bilderberg meeting in Sitges, Spain. No coverage whatsoever in the Irish media, I think the people of Ireland deserve an explanation as to why the chief law officer of the state is attending a private meeting where democracy is subverted and policy is made by a handful of elites.

Peter Sutherland was also in attendance, intrestingly he is a former Attorney General ( Now chairman of Goldman Sachs International). The Irish media would tell us about the evils of headshops 1000 times a day if they could get away with it but won't say boo when the Trilateral Commission meets in Dublin or the Attorney General attends Bilderberg.

Policy is not formed by the AG. Should every citizen have to declare where they go on holiday from now on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Paul Gallagher was their for the big question of whether the euro will survive. Bilderberg are afraid that the countries in trouble will leave and the euro and will fall apart.

They are worried for "PIGS" Portugal, Ireland, Greece and Spain

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As it was held in Ireland, I'd say it was as an honorary guest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Biggins wrote: »

Its in Spain.
    Bilderberg wrote:
    Bilderberg's only activity is its annual Conference. At the meetings, no resolutions are proposed, no votes taken, and no policy statements issued. Since 1954, fifty-seven conferences have been held. The names of the participants are made available to the press. Participants are chosen for their experience, their knowledge, and their standing; all participants attend Bilderberg in a private and not an official capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just the opening decription of these guys on Wiki is enough to set my imagination off!
    The Bilderberg Group, Bilderberg conference, or Bilderberg Club is an annual, unofficial, invitation-only conference of around 130 guests, most of whom are people of influence in the fields of politics, banking, business, the military and media. Each conference is closed to the public and the press.

I really don't see how people can be so blasé about it and claim that they don't care about what is being discussed at the conferences.. I doubt they're talking about anything menial or unimportant, or of little relevance to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Bilderberg's only activity is its annual Conference. At the meetings, no resolutions are proposed, no votes taken, and no policy statements issued. Since 1954, fifty-seven conferences have been held. The names of the participants are made available to the press. Participants are chosen for their experience, their knowledge, and their standing; all participants attend Bilderberg in a private and not an official capacity.

http://www.bilderbergmeetings.org/meeting2010.html

Explain again how democracy is subverted, policy is made and why Paul Gallagher has to explain what he was doing as a private individual at a private meeting? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Winty wrote: »
    Paul Gallagher was their for the big question of whether the euro will survive. Bilderberg are afraid that the countries in trouble will leave and the euro and will fall apart.

They are worried for "PIGS" Portugal, Ireland, Greece and Spain
    I'm worried for pigs too, poor little fellas get such a hard time, and they're really intelligent:(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Plotting to take over the world obviously. As attorney general of a tiny Western European island, he surely plays an important role in deciding these kind of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

A predictable response. Don't you want to know why the Attorney General attended a meeting where a handfull of plutocrats decide policy on a global level?. The fact that the Attorney General attended this meeting is not a theory.
    But what you are insinuating is a theory... ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Its in Spain.
    Cheers, I thought for some stupid reason, it was in Ireland. Doh! :o

In that case I'd say he was putting Ireland's position in regarding economy (present and future hopeful progression), where we are heading socially, legally and other characteristic's of our make-up that the group might be interested in.

He's probably there to advise those at the meeting on all matters legal in Ireland..

Your "handful of elites" includes:

INT Almunia, Joaquín Commissioner; European Commission
    USA Arrison, Sonia; Author and policy analyst
    PRT Balsemão, Francisco Pinto; Former Prime Minister
    SWE Bildt, Carl Minister of Foreign Affairs
    FIN Blåfield, Antti Senior Editorial Writer, Helsingin Sanomat
    AUT Bronner, Oscar Publisher and Editor, Der Standard
    TUR Çakir, Ruşen Journalist
    USA Feldstein, Martin S. George F. Baker; Professor of Economics, Harvard University
    USA Ferguson, Niall Laurence A. Tisch; Professor of History, Harvard University
    AUT Fischer, Heinz; Federal President
    IRL Gallagher, Paul Attorney General
    USA Gates, William H. Co-chair, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and Chairman, Microsoft Corporation
    USA Gordon, Philip H. Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs
    INT Gucht, Karel de; Commissioner, European Commission
    TUR Gürel, Z. Damla; Special Adviser to the President on EU Affairs
    NLD Halberstadt, Victor; Professor of Economics, Leiden University
    USA Holbrooke, Richard C.; Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan
    USA Hormats, Robert D.; Under Secretary for Economic, Energy and Agricultural Affairs
    FIN Katainen, Jyrki; Minister of Finance

I got bored so I didn't finish off but that's hardly they're hardly the billionaire rulers of the world that conspiracy theorists like to believe attend.. I was sucked into it for a while there ages ago until I looked at who goes. Like Heinz.. They make beans. They must be part of the NWO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

prinz wrote: »

Explain again how democracy is subverted, policy is made and why Paul Gallagher has to explain what he was doing as a private individual at a private meeting? :confused:

it's a secret meeting of "elites" sure what else could they be doing other than furthering the cause of the NWO and plotting to take over the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

It is hardly conductive to democracy now is it?. Meeting conducted under layers of security (always paid for by the taxpayer of whatever country Bilderberg is held in). Media blackout. Decisions that affect us all being made by people who have no mandate. Bilderberg is far from being just a holiday camp.
    Paul Gallagher is a constitutional office-holder, the public that pays his wages has a right to know what he gets up to at meetings like Bilderberg.
    Do you think he went there just for the wine and caviar?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

What was the Attorney General doing at Bilderberg this year?.

The aliens can't take over his body remotely, they need to lay their eggs in his ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

It is hardly conductive to democracy now is it?

What's it got to do with democracy? they're not elected officials or acting in a public capacity?
    Decisions that affect us all being made by people who have no mandate.

What should of decisions do you think are made there? what exactly are you worried about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

If you expect any serious answers you have definitely started this topic in the wrong forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

I think the boys go to these events to prove they are cool. up in the pecking order , etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

He was conspiring to take over the world. Mu ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭autonomy

It is against the law in America for officials to meet officials from other countries without notifying congress, so any American official (robert gates) attending these bilderburg meetings should be held accountable if they don't tell congress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Corkfeen wrote: »

Ah bless, it's nice to see the wannabe Mods about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

It's good to get the brains together for a little think-tank and knowledge sharing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

their prepareing for the new world order we are all doomed then

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

He went for the cheep fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Policy is not formed by the AG. Should every citizen have to declare where they go on holiday from now on?

Don't be so naive. He just happened to choose to go there on a private holiday did he? And as to policy being formed by the AG, of course it isn't; it's formed by former Attorneys-general as soon as they move into the private (mainly banking) sector. Even the dogs on the street know that. He's being groomed. Peter Sutherland can't live forever.

See above. Or did the bank-bailout not happen? Did the Irish government not turn tens of billions of Euros of private corporate debt into sovereign debt to cover the gambling debts of senior bondholders, on the advice (instructions) of men like Peter Sutherland and Dermot Gleeson (both former AGs;)) and now incredibly well-connected international bankers? I must have imagined it. Maybe the tinfoil is affecting my brain.

Democracy is subverted when senior government officials use their office to further their own careers (and line their own pockets) by being bought off by a clique of high powered rich private interests at the expense of the people they are supposed to serve. You should look at the definition of a "banana republic".
    andrew wrote: »
    Plotting to take over the world obviously. As attorney general of a tiny Western European island, he surely plays an important role in deciding these kind of things.

Smug, superior condescending sarcasm? Well I'd never expect that from a pro-establishment spindoctor. I'd love to know who you work for. Haven't you been trying to sell the pro-nuclear,pro-TEPCO, pro-profiteering "company line" over in the Nuclear disaster thread aswell?

Isn't Peter Sutherland, Chairman of BP, Chairman of Goldman Sachs International, Director of Royal Bank of Scotland etc.,etc. also a former attorney general of a tiny western European island?

How about Dermot Gleeson? Architect of the collapse of AIB. I'd say he's in the poorhouse now too. Chairman of AIB, Board member of Independent News and Media, ombudsman for DeBeers, etc. etc., Isn't he also a former attorney general of a tiny western European island?
    it's a secret meeting of "elites" sure what else could they be doing other than furthering the cause of the NWO and plotting to take over the world!

See above. All three, former (or current) AGs of a tiny western European island and all coincidentally alumni of the same secret society that does it's business behind closed doors.

But of course ye're right lads, they just happened to go on a private holiday in the same place as Bilderberg and when they meet behind closed doors they're just knocking back a couple of beers, having a game of Scrabble and talking about wimminz parts. Nothing to do with putting the interests of billionaires and elites ahead of the interests of the world's population at all.

I'll get my tinfoil hat. Conspiracy forum ..>> thataway y'said?:D

Seriously, go to the Conspiracies forum... That post hurts my head to read. Was it necessary to say "tiny western european island" so many times?

As for "private corporate debt into sovereign debt".. If you have a pension, you're most likely one of the senior bond holders you hate so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Seriously, go to the Conspiracies forum... That post hurts my head to read. Was it necessary to say "tiny western european island" so many times?

As for "private corporate debt into sovereign debt".. If you have a pension, you're most likely one of the senior bond holders you hate so much.

A well reasoned,well thought out and finely articulated rebuttal sir... up there with, "Yeah, well so's your face".:pac:

With regard to the "tiny Western European island" I felt I should mention it a few times (in response to one of your mates' arguments) as I wasn't sure you'd be able to join the dots. I obviously didn't mention it enough times. I'll PM you a drawing.

I don't hate the bondholders and I am perfectly well aware that private pension funds constitute a large percentage of these. I feel very sorry for those people. They shouldn't have entrusted their savings to the likes of Peter Sutherland. A bumper year for Goldman Sachs' executives this year I believe. No more nor less than organised crime.

However, I still fail to see, how you reckon the Irish State is responsible for the losses of private individuals. It certainly wasn't entitled to the profits.

Btw, my position is one espoused by nearly every independent internationally regarded economist in the world including a couple of Nobel Laureates. It is also the position of the ECB now after we've been fcuked royally, but no doubt you consider these people tinfoil hat merchants too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Why drag up a thread discussing something that happened last year? Slow night in AH, it must've been!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Well, this years event has just concluded in Switzerland with Gallagher, McDowell (ooh! another former AG of tiny W Europe island) and Sutherland flying the flag (not for Ireland I bet) so, I think thread = valid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

absolutely valid! Can't believe theres not uproar over this. Yes, they do make palns for the future, that future includes you and you have no input in these plans or they way they are played out. Many of the regulars can best be discribed as bleedin' wierdos. Attending Bilderburg in summer and later on attending Bohemian grove. Mad yokes.

B7, anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Then maybe use this year's thread... More valid, wouldn't you say?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72658268

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

No, the more threads about this lot, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 The Real KCG

I have to say, that's it's just refreshing to see people discussing this in the open finally. Chocolate it's good to have such well articulated responses discussing this as well. We need to keep spreading awareness to the common joe soap, who is blinded by one sided media coverage. By gaining the many different perspectives of a situation are we able to see the bigger picture as a whole.
    Fair play people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Ah so, Paul Gallagher paid for his own flight, accomodation, meals and taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Do government ministers sit out on the street pitching ideas to passers-by? Or do they sit in closed off rooms, discuss the various ideas and come out with these plans to the people?

Isn't that exactly what the Bilderberg group does? It's a think tank that isn't constrained by local politics. They want to be able to talk freely without having to explain every single word they say to the world at large because their just spit-balling ideas, and there's many who are more than willing to take everything they say as some sort of diabolical scheme to enslave humanity.

They get people who are considered top of their game and ask them their opinions on various topics that concern the world. Yes, there's the possibility that they're a James Bond Villain-esque cabal, but there's also the possibility that they're genuinely trying to stop humanity f*cking itself up further. Why it must be assumed that it can only be the former as a result of them not wanting their private meeting to be public, is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd love to be a fly on that wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Our AG probably went along to be advised of the constitutionality of anything that may be coming down the pipeline. Obviously he'd never work it out for himself.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Biggins wrote: »

It was in Spain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Queen of the Netherlands anyone? She seems to have attended more meetings than anyone else over the years and none of the new world order conspiracy theorists ever mention her......unless she controls the anti-Bilderberg group!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Lads relax, I was there as well, all we did was snort coke and bang hookers for the few days.

Do people not think there should be some degree of transparency in these meetings? Perhaps the lack of that is the reason why people jump to outrageous conclusions.

When the Trilateral Commission met behind closed doors in Dublin in May of last year, people were also fairly flippant of it all, despite Brian Cowen attending it in an official capacity as the head of our government. Peter Sutherland is also the European chairman of that group incidentally.

Of course no shadowy groups are planning on taking over control of the world. Why would they when they already overtly shape how most of it works? Are people really naive enough to believe that these guys are discussing how to make your life better, for you? They're discussing ways to improve how globalism and capitalism work in a changing world. And many of the people attending stand to gain from it more than you or I.

There's only one thing more absurd than assuming that this is the NWO in action, and that's assuming that nothing of importance to you is being discussed at these meetings. So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,076 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Peter Sutherland can't live forever.

The thoughts of it!!!! :eek:

Do people not think there should be some degree of transparency in these meetings? Perhaps the lack of that is the reason why people jump to outrageous conclusions.

Transparency like publishing where the event is taking place so others can go protest at it, when it's taking place, who is taking part and what they are going to discuss?

If they all stayed at home and held the same discussions over skype would you be still demanding it be 'more transparent'?
    So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

Even if it wasn't held in camera (like many, many meetings right here at home btw Cabinet meetings/Council of State meetings etc) there'd still be conspiracy theories and it would all be written off as a sham to hide the real discussions. If you want to imagine a conspiracy no matter how transparent it is, the same conspiracy will exist. It's beyond childish to imagine that opinions and ideas that would be floated in private would be just as forthcoming in public.

Spread wrote: »
    Ah so, Paul Gallagher paid for his own flight, accomodation, meals and taxi

Any evidence to the contrary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

There's only one thing more absurd than assuming that this is the NWO in action, and that's assuming that nothing of importance to you is being discussed at these meetings. So why the hell not question it, and ask why it's all done behind sealed doors and with such secrecy.

Perhaps for the meeting to not be effected by local politics for the respective politicians that may be attending? It would be a very effective meeting if every politician had to choose their words carefully, or not say anything at all, out of fear of the effect it may have on their political career.

Same reason why many top-level government meetings are held in private. It's not a place for cameras, it's a place for ideas.

Mark200 wrote: »
    Perhaps for the meeting to not be effected by local politics for the respective politicians that may be attending? It would be a very effective meeting if every politician had to choose their words carefully, or not say anything at all, out of fear of the effect it may have on their political career.

Same reason why many top-level government meetings are held in private. It's not a place for cameras, it's a place for ideas.

I get that, but it doesn't sit well with me. Politicians are elected on the back of what they make known, not what they keep secret. If a politician was afraid to say something publicly for fear that it might ruin his career then it's fair to assume that what is said would not be supported by the people at large.. the people that put said politician into power in the first place. I don't think that meeting in private and sharing ideas secretly is any better than sparking controversy by being open and forthright with the opinions and ideas you hold.

I think that government meetings are a different matter as they deal mostly with internal affairs, not global ones.

Last year, one of the topics was "can we feed the world", obviously a global issue, and most likely including discussion on policy. I'd love to know what Kissinger had to say about that topic in particular considering his history in drawing up policies and plans relating to the issue of population growth and how to curb it by allowing famine to sweep through less developed countries. (see NSSM 200).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm worried for pigs too, poor little fellas get such a hard time, and they're really intelligent:(

If the pigs were really that intelligent, they wouldn't be up to their necks in sh................................