GAA Jersies ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

It's a pity the soccer and rugger fans haven't evolved since then.
    Yes, because all GAA fans are the epitome of good behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Just heard a D4 type on RTE (where else) going on about GAA jersies.

And indeed the people who wear them.

Sarah McInerney she was ..an her to be a "journalist" with the Sunday Times.

Jist of what she was getting at...and she made several references to it...was that folks wearing GAA jersies were soooo uncool.

MMMM .......says I why GAA jersies ?

Why not soccer or Rugby or basketball jersies....

What the freek has this D4 princess againt GAA jersies ...

The Crown is puzzled.....

I bet she's a "rugby fan"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Who said anything about good behaviour.:rolleyes:

Was that not what you were referring to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭DCUlad

Quick Question; Why are jerseys (gaelic/soccer/whatever) not allowed in the majority of nightclubs?

Consider that and now maybe you see where this D4 one is implying.

Also, you can make fairly accurate judgements about any person based on what they wear. For example, someone wearing oversized, dirty, black clothes, with purple hair dye is without doubt a grunger/self abuser.

Someone wearing a low cut top and skirt up her arse is in the majority of cases a hooker. Etc, etc, etc

DCUlad wrote: »
    Quick Question; Why are jerseys (gaelic/soccer/whatever) not allowed in the majority of nightclubs?

Also, you can make fairly accurate judgements about any person based on what they wear. For example, someone wearing oversized, dirty, black clothes, with purple hair dye is without doubt a grunger/self abuser.

Someone wearing a low cut top and skirt up her arse is in the majority of cases a hooker. Etc, etc, etc
    Good grief!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's a pity the soccer and rugger fans haven't evolved since then.

It's called football.

Not the diddly-aye rugby rip-off, I mean the real football.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If someone had said the same about soccer or rugby jerseys would there have been half as much uproar. Why do the GAA lads always have such a massive inferiority complex?

stovelid wrote: »
    It's called football.

Not the diddly-aye rugby rip-off, I mean the real football.
    Like I said, time to evolve. Most Irish people call it soccer, time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

i have never had a jersey, therefore uncool.

My Startrek dress uniform on the other hand brings all the girls to the yard :D

eeeeeeejjjjjjjiiiiittttttttttt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

It's called football.

If you want to be exact it is called Association Football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

el tonto wrote: »
    If someone had said the same about soccer or rugby jerseys would there have been half as much uproar. Why do the GAA lads always have such a massive inferiority complex?

It's probably based on inferiority.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

el tonto wrote: »

Start a thread on it and find out!

So GAA lads have an inferiority complex = LOL. I have a chuckle when I hear crap like that. Everyone knows that the AMATEUR association is infinately better than the PROFESSIONAL ones in this country. But for some reason the 'Professional' fans think the amateur fans have an inferiority complex - you goota laugh, really.

As a sports fan in Ireland, I feel no inferiority! But the fact of the matter is the GAA have the Best and Biggest stadium in Ireland. Add to that the fanastic stadiums they have in EVERY province. Some of the club grounds and facilities are remarkable. The FAI and IRFU had to rent from the GAA and had to ask to train in a club grounds ( Nemo) fantastic facilities not to long ago because they had no where of their own to go and train. They are simply miles behind the GAA in so many ways.

So I am surprised to read that GAA fans have an inferiority complex.....I cannot for the life of me think of where it comes from.....must be the jerseys:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

yammycat wrote: »
    GAA is an invented sport, we can't play the crown games so lets just make something up, it's not part of Irish history, it's just a daft snub your nose at the enemies games.

Not part of Irish history eh? Do some research!! Hurling is far older than soccer, rugby, cricket etc...it also happens to be the fastest field game in the world.
    El Weirdo wrote: »

Fans of any sport are never going to considered the epitome of good behaviour.
    DCUlad wrote: »

What kind of judgements would you make about a person wearing a GAA jersey so? I'll compare them to my brother, my boyfriend, my uncles...and I guarantee you'll be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Thinly veiled Dubs vs Culchies thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

evil_seed wrote: »

Culchies being anyone who lives outside the Pale?:pac:

So only culchies like GAA and all culchies are GAA fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Very argumentative this morning El Weirdo. You're putting words in my mouth. I'm only saying it's what the op's issue is IMO. I have no problem with gaa jerseys or any jersey for that matter. I just happen to own about every kind of jersey you could get, gaa, football, basketball, nfl, baseball. Just sayin..

That's funny because the most common GAA jersey I've seen abroad is the Dublin one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

El Siglo wrote: »
    GAA jerseys are ridiculous, especially when some arse hole you went to school with puts pics of himself on facebook wearing one on Bondi Beach or in San Diego. I live in Belfast and the GAA jersey brigade is always out in full swing, you're nothing unless you have a number on the back as well, guaranteed to get your hole then in the Hatfield.
    Beats trying to look like Steed out of the Avengers wearing an orange sash and bowler hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

That's funny because the most common GAA jersey I've seen abroad is the Dublin one.

Usually starting fights in the Irish bars or annoying locals on the beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

GAA jerseys tend to be more vile than other sports jerseys: just the design or something. Almost psychedelic.

It's almost like an self-consciously down-home design approach, to wit: the more minimal and relatively tasteful that foreign (read: Brit) sports jerseys get, we self-consciously keep ours manky.

Kinda like a Calvita/Red Lemonade/Erin soup thing where the inherent crapness of the product is not hidden but actually foregrounded in the advertising as a subcultural nod to the retro tastes of nostalgic culchies living under duress in The Smoke.

Like an arch, knowing protest against taste, if you will.

I had to smile at the irony of a League of Ireland fan sneering at the inherent crapness of an Irish product.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Proud Dublin Gaelic football fan here and this is our year!

I have a jersey from a few years back and I love how they made our jersey that bit more...Dub. You can lift the collar D4 Rugby jersey style and on the collar is says, "The Dubs". :cool: I love it. I feel as cool as The Fonz wearing it (when I go to see them play).

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

I have a jersey from a few years back and I love how they made our jersey that bit more...Dub. You can lift the collar D4 Rugby jersey style and on the collar is says, "The Dubs". :cool: I love it. I feel as cool as The Fonz wearing it (when I go to see them play).
    Well you look as cool as Ralph Malph!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Agree with everything here...Except the first line :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

any grown person walking around town wearing a jersey is ''uncool''.

Well you look as cool as Ralph Malph!

Haha.

I wish it actually said, "Jackeen Pride"...taking the word back and making it our own like African Americans with the N word and gays with the F word.

major bill wrote: »
    any grown person walking around town wearing a jersey is ''uncool''.

Is uncool not the new cool though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Is uncool not the new cool though?

is it? il get the dublin retro top out so;)

Haha.

I wish it actually said, "Jackeen Pride"...taking the word back and making it our own like African Americans with the N word and gays with the F word.
    Sorry, the people of Cork have appropriated the term "Jackeen". The citizens of Dublin behaved with complete disinterest in the Queens visit, meanwhile in the royalist snakepit that is Cork.....