Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA Jersies ...

• 03-06-2011 9:12pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭

Just heard a D4 type on RTE (where else) going on about GAA jersies.

And indeed the people who wear them.

Sarah McInerney she was ..an her to be a "journalist" with the Sunday Times.

Jist of what she was getting at...and she made several references to it...was that folks wearing GAA jersies were soooo uncool.

MMMM .......says I why GAA jersies ?

Why not soccer or Rugby or basketball jersies....

What the freek has this D4 princess againt GAA jersies ...

The Crown is puzzled.....
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

They are uncool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder about GAA jersey's. I think its just a form of snobbery as they view Gaelic Football and Hurling as 'bogger' sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You're not cool enough to pull off posting in the third person , sorry OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I will bate the woman with Hurley so I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

The Crown is puzzled.....

As am I.

By this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

They're like 1981 in nylon form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Your gimmick slipped OP.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

El Weirdo wrote: »
    They are uncool.

Incorrect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I had my Waterford hurling jersey on today, because it was hot and the top felt great in the heat,who really cares what a person wears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

i have never had a jersey, therefore uncool.

My Startrek dress uniform on the other hand brings all the girls to the yard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

mikemac wrote: »

To be fair all the gimmick posts are pretty retarded....bar the citizen...he was good for a laugh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

i have never had a jersey, therefore uncool.

My Startrek dress uniform on the other hand brings all the girls to the yard :D

LOL I laughed when I read that.
    I got a Star Trek one too! :D

No way was I getting the red one though! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

She's right you know, Ted

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

mikemac wrote: »

Your opinion bothers me not a whit pal.

So...don't be sorry...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

I remember as a schoolboy my chums and I playing cricket in the quadrangle, when all of a sudden some uncouth louts, ruffians of the lowest order, wandered in wearing GAA jerseys and began berating us with the most frightfully common utterances. Their vulgarity was such that it took the grounds keeper days to remove the shards of shattered monocles from the quad. Thus I wholeheartedly concur with the aforementioned journalist's sentiments viz a viz GAA jerseys,

Rgds,

Rt. Hon. Gordon Gecko Esq.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Your opinion bothers me not a whit pal.

So...don't be sorry...:D

Howya bantam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Look, Munster beat Leinster. Get over it D4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Some people just like looking down their noses at others and being able to pigeon hole them into easily identifiable groups makes this task easier on their miniscule minds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

GAA jerseys tend to be more vile than other sports jerseys: just the design or something. Almost psychedelic.

It's almost like an self-consciously down-home design approach, to wit: the more minimal and relatively tasteful that foreign (read: Brit) sports jerseys get, we self-consciously keep ours manky.

Kinda like a Calvita/Red Lemonade/Erin soup thing where the inherent crapness of the product is not hidden but actually foregrounded in the advertising as a subcultural nod to the retro tastes of nostalgic culchies living under duress in The Smoke.

Like an arch, knowing protest against taste, if you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Plenty of 'boggers' in Dublin wearing GAA tops as well. Probably will get a few more given how well they're doing in the hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder about GAA jersey's. I think its just a form of snobbery as they view Gaelic Football and Hurling as 'bogger' sports.

Can't stand this particular form of snobbery. People who wear GAA jerseys aren't trying to look cool, or make a fashion statement. Generally speaking, most people who get dressed in any sort of clothes are not doing so keeping "I must make a fashion statement" or "I must look cool" in their heads.

I find that people who wear the jerseys have some sort of pride in their county, in hurling and football, and want to be comfortable while they're out and about.

Probably the reason why so many wear GAA jerseys abroad too; they're loose fitting and comfortable in warm weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

I remember as a schoolboy my chums and I playing cricket in the quadrangle, when all of a sudden some uncouth louts, ruffians of the lowest order, wandered in wearing GAA jerseys and began berating us with the most frightfully common utterances. Their vulgarity was such that it took the grounds keeper days to remove the shards of shattered monocles from the quad. Thus I wholeheartedly concur with the aforementioned journalist's sentiments viz a viz GAA jerseys,

Rgds,

Rt. Hon. Gordon Gecko Esq.

Similar happened me down the polo club. only it was them cricket louts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

What's her opinion of Leinster Rugby jerseys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm in favour of them. They're a great way of knowing who to avoid when abroad in colonial cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

has anyone mentioned irish people in australia wearing them yet?? apparently roysh, that's, loike, a total mare or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Biggins wrote: »
    LOL I laughed when I read that.
    I got a Star Trek one too! :D

No way was I getting the red one though! :pac:

I think that's cool.

But I'm not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

GAA jerseys are ridiculous, especially when some arse hole you went to school with puts pics of himself on facebook wearing one on Bondi Beach or in San Diego. I live in Belfast and the GAA jersey brigade is always out in full swing, you're nothing unless you have a number on the back as well, guaranteed to get your hole then in the Hatfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I always like people who make arguments about why they shouldn't wear jerseys. I don't wear jerseys a lot but when I do I really don't care if you think it's childish. Tell that to the hundreds of thousands that go to matches in the summer for GAA and the millions that attend football matches throughout the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

El Siglo wrote: »
    GAA jerseys are ridiculous, especially when some arse hole you went to school with puts pics of himself on facebook wearing one on Bondi Beach or in San Diego. I live in Belfast and the GAA jersey brigade is always out in full swing, you're nothing unless you have a number on the back as well, guaranteed to get your hole then in the Hatfield.

But what do people have against them? Where's the difference in wearing a soccer jersey or a rugby jersey?

It seems, people think that the "GAA jersey brigade" have some sort of notions about themselves. But what sort of notions could they possibly have?

Not picking on you specifically, btw, just your post was the last one to object to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

_meehan_ wrote: »
    But what do people have against them? Where's the difference in wearing a soccer jersey or a rugby jersey?

It seems, people think that the "GAA jersey brigade" have some sort of notions about themselves. But what sort of notions could they possibly have?

Not picking on you specifically, btw, just your post was the last one to object to them.

No, they're like any other group, I could say the same about rugger buggers or soccer jerseys. However, the former and the latter are professional sports played around the world and you'd have to go to the jungles of Papua New Guinea for someone not to recognise a Man Utd jersey or Barcelona jersey or All Blacks jersey, but wearing a GAA jersey just always appears to me (i.e. me, not all people) as someone saying "look at me, I'm super Irish even though I barely go to training and now live in Perth". I'm sure I'm a little jaded by the fact that I spent most of my school life watching these lads getting better treatment for playing Gaelic football, while the rest of us were treated like shit because we had no interest etc... It's very subjective, this is just an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

I wouldn't agree that GAA jerseys in particular shout out "look at me, I'm super Irish"; an Irish soccer or rugby jersey would do the same. Possibly more so as it may not be immediately apparent to foreigners unfamiliar with our culture that GAA jerseys are "Irish", whereas with the National soccer/rugby jersey it is apparent. Even for non-hardcore GAA people the jersey allows one to subtly express a sense of local (as opposed to national) identity based on their county team, nothing wrong with that in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Whats wrong with wearing your county colours.

Id rather buy a gaa jersey support lads who go out give it there all for nothing more then then the love of the game then give the money to some Russian owned English football club which is just about the Money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

There are only 4 occasions where it is ok to wear a gaa/soccer/rugby jersey:

1) while playing the sport
    2) while attending a match
    3) while watching a match on tv in the pub or wherever
    4) as pyjamas

It's never ok to wear as a "fashion statement" - it's not a fashion statement. If that desparate to let everyone know where your from or who you support invest in the polo shirt version - slightly less skangery looking.

Oh and this is from someone who owns about 10 different jersies between GAA, soccer, rugby - Country, Club, Province, County all adds up

There are only 4 occasions where it is ok to wear a gaa/soccer/rugby jersey:

1) while playing the sport
    2) while attending a match
    3) while watching a match on tv in the pub or wherever
    4) as pyjamas

It's never ok to wear as a "fashion statement" - it's not a fashion statement. If that desparate to let everyone know where your from or who you support invest in the polo shirt version - slightly less skangery looking.

Oh and this is from someone who owns about 10 different jersies between GAA, soccer, rugby - Country, Club, Province, County all adds up

what about when you just want to wear something comfortable?

Whats wrong with wearing your county colours.

Nothing. Fair balls to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

what about when you just want to wear something comfortable?

Covered under pjs for round the house. If want to go outside then t-shirt is comfy.

Thems the rules. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Jerseys of any kind are just another piece of clothing. Its retarded to assume people are trying to prove something or make a statement solely on the basis that they are wearing a jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

dublin keeper jerseys slick and always liked cork jersey

the sligo jersey is pretty good, probably the nicest. carlows is, well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

btw ppl who say 'dnt wear jerseys in daily life' wud u ever go and fck off back 2 topman u absolute geebags...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

ah lads, the Kildare jersey is by far the nicest

http://www.oneills.com/productdetails/2223/kildare-personalised-occasion-jersey.aspx?expandable=-1c

Get the number on the back and your away in a hack :P
    I would never look at a person in a GAA jersey and assume they are trying to make some sort of a fashion statement. For me, i'm training 5 nights a week with my club and then matches on the weekend, so i'm constantly wearing a jersey of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

OPENROAD wrote: »

Nice.

In my opinion any jersey with a major sponsor on it is a major no-no and you're a fool for wearing it. If a company wants me to walk around advertising their name across my chest then they should pay me to do it, not the other way round.

The only exception of course is ....
    http://www.onionbag.com/images/copa/COCCCHSS1970.jpg
    Now there's a product you can believe in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

It looks stupid when people wear any form of jersey, except when playing sport or maybe going to the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

ColHol wrote: »
    Jerseys of any kind are just another piece of clothing. Its retarded to assume people are trying to prove something or make a statement solely on the basis that they are wearing a jersey.

True. Maybe they would make more of a statement if they went around naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

I have no issue with them.. its just when people wear them out on nights out that they bother me.

El Siglo wrote: »
    in the Hatfield.

In fairness, the usefulness of this venue for getting illegally late cans for taigs in south Belfast can still not be discounted, :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

GAA is an invented sport, we can't play the crown games so lets just make something up, it's not part of Irish history, it's just a daft snub your nose at the enemies games.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I'm puzzled too. :confused:

Can you post in English?

What's with the personals horse ?

All the other posters seemed to have no trouble understanding.. I can recommend a good special needs person if you require a little help.

Was in OZ a couple of months ago and the place was alive with GAA jersies...even some Aussies were wearing them !

No leinster jersies..but did see a lot of them on a recent visit to Kildare Vill.

The egg ball game mut be popular down there......:confused: