Duckworth_Luas wrote: » It's a pity the soccer and rugger fans haven't evolved since then.
Fulton Crown wrote: » Just heard a D4 type on RTE (where else) going on about GAA jersies. And indeed the people who wear them. Sarah McInerney she was ..an her to be a "journalist" with the Sunday Times. Jist of what she was getting at...and she made several references to it...was that folks wearing GAA jersies were soooo uncool. MMMM .......says I why GAA jersies ? Why not soccer or Rugby or basketball jersies.... What the freek has this D4 princess againt GAA jersies ... The Crown is puzzled.....
El Weirdo wrote: » Yes, because all GAA fans are the epitome of good behaviour.
Duckworth_Luas wrote: » Who said anything about good behaviour.:rolleyes:
DCUlad wrote: » Quick Question; Why are jerseys (gaelic/soccer/whatever) not allowed in the majority of nightclubs? Consider that and now maybe you see where this D4 one is implying. Also, you can make fairly accurate judgements about any person based on what they wear. For example, someone wearing oversized, dirty, black clothes, with purple hair dye is without doubt a grunger/self abuser. Someone wearing a low cut top and skirt up her arse is in the majority of cases a hooker. Etc, etc, etc
stovelid wrote: » It's called football. Not the diddly-aye rugby rip-off, I mean the real football.
Temptamperu wrote: » i have never had a jersey, therefore uncool. My Startrek dress uniform on the other hand brings all the girls to the yard
stovelid wrote: » It's called football.
el tonto wrote: » If someone had said the same about soccer or rugby jerseys would there have been half as much uproar. Why do the GAA lads always have such a massive inferiority complex?
yammycat wrote: » GAA is an invented sport, we can't play the crown games so lets just make something up, it's not part of Irish history, it's just a daft snub your nose at the enemies games.
DCUlad wrote: » Quick Question; Why are jerseys (gaelic/soccer/whatever) not allowed in the majority of nightclubs? Consider that and now maybe you see where this D4 one is implying.Also, you can make fairly accurate judgements about any person based on what they wear. For example, someone wearing oversized, dirty, black clothes, with purple hair dye is without doubt a grunger/self abuser. Someone wearing a low cut top and skirt up her arse is in the majority of cases a hooker. Etc, etc, etc
evil_seed wrote: » Thinly veiled Dubs vs Culchies thread
El Siglo wrote: » GAA jerseys are ridiculous, especially when some arse hole you went to school with puts pics of himself on facebook wearing one on Bondi Beach or in San Diego. I live in Belfast and the GAA jersey brigade is always out in full swing, you're nothing unless you have a number on the back as well, guaranteed to get your hole then in the Hatfield.
Duckworth_Luas wrote: » That's funny because the most common GAA jersey I've seen abroad is the Dublin one.
stovelid wrote: » GAA jerseys tend to be more vile than other sports jerseys: just the design or something. Almost psychedelic. It's almost like an self-consciously down-home design approach, to wit: the more minimal and relatively tasteful that foreign (read: Brit) sports jerseys get, we self-consciously keep ours manky. Kinda like a Calvita/Red Lemonade/Erin soup thing where the inherent crapness of the product is not hidden but actually foregrounded in the advertising as a subcultural nod to the retro tastes of nostalgic culchies living under duress in The Smoke. Like an arch, knowing protest against taste, if you will.
Eve_Dublin wrote: » Proud Dublin Gaelic football fan here and this is our year! I have a jersey from a few years back and I love how they made our jersey that bit more...Dub. You can lift the collar D4 Rugby jersey style and on the collar is says, "The Dubs". :cool: I love it. I feel as cool as The Fonz wearing it (when I go to see them play).
Duckworth_Luas wrote: » Well you look as cool as Ralph Malph!
major bill wrote: » any grown person walking around town wearing a jersey is ''uncool''.
Eve_Dublin wrote: » Is uncool not the new cool though?
Eve_Dublin wrote: » Haha. I wish it actually said, "Jackeen Pride"...taking the word back and making it our own like African Americans with the N word and gays with the F word.