David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Seems like a lot of people are using words like integrity and intellect about Norris because its what the perception of him is. People will vote for him because its 'cool' to vote for him, despite the fact that he is nowhere near as competent a politician or as good a man as Deputy Higgins, and I have met both men before. The thing with people like Stephen Fry and David Norris is that their classical education gives off an air of immense intellect while neither man in reality can be considered to be a 'genius' or anything close. A Joycean scholar? that has to be one of the most irrelevant things to be on planet earth.

The 'quotes' scandal is perpetrated by the Christian right in this country who are vehemently anti-homosexual. Yes he has said so stupid things, well all have but that shouldn't be why you don't vote for him. Having an openly gay president may seem progressive but it is impractical for conducting foreign relations in a world that is still very much anti-gay. His sexuality will be a big issue in the election but the fact remains he's not the best choice anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

This
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland-should-rejoin-commonwealth-says-senator-14814353.html#ixzz0obUSziME
    is why I'm not voting for him. He's seems to love so much about England that he should consider running for public office over there.

Did you even read that link?
    he said that although joining the Commonwealth is unlikely to be top of the Irish political agenda, "should it be demonstrated that this is what the Irish people wish I believe that it could be accomplished with a minimum of fuss"
    So, you're against democracy then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Sure why not vote for him, let's sweep child sex tourism under the rug while we're at it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭alexjk

While she's very welcome for an auld visit every now and then, lest not get carried away. Its still a commonwealth with an unelected hereditary leader. I really don't see any benefits to it either, economically. We have enough of our own quangos without getting involved in an international one.

The office of the president should be above personal political agendas like this. I think our previous presidents (too young to remember the others) have fulfilled their duties very well in this regard. What we don't need is someone who wants to "do" something as president. Or go for sly stunts like Norris and say they will do it for free. A stunt like that cheapens the office and disrespects previous holders of the office.

It wouldn't make the Queen of the United Kingdom head of state in the Republic of Ireland which is what you seem to be implying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

rontals wrote: »
    He would probably be more visible than Mary McAleese. I really wonder how she spends her time. Does the Aras need constant hoovering or what!

I read she does a lot of foreign junkets eg she has made something like 7 official visits to the Vatican alone....presumably with her hangers on.
    I'd say has gets more holidays in a month that most of us get in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

flash1080 wrote: »
    Sure why not vote for him, let's sweep child sex tourism under the rug while we're at it too.

HUH???? What's the connection? Is there a connection? Or is there something I'm missing in your post? Don't get it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Dub.

flash1080 wrote: »

Kind of sickening that you would want to sweep child sex tourism under the rug.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I think our previous presidents (too young to remember the others) have fulfilled their duties very well in this regard. What we don't need is someone who wants to "do" something as president.

I'd suggest you have a look at both the Robinson / McAleese presidencies.

Robinson used the office to reflect and legitimise the public appetite for a shift away from a repressive and pervasive conservatism, which had stunted the cultural, social and economic progress of the State. She performed her duties with skill, intelligence and courage, she ruffled feathers, broke new ground and redefined the role for the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

dizzywizlw wrote: »
    Having an openly gay president may seem progressive but it is impractical for conducting foreign relations in a world that is still very much anti-gay. His sexuality will be a big issue in the election but the fact remains he's not the best choice anyway.

I really could not see the vast majority of world leaders having an issue with dealing with a gay president. Really don't see why the sexual orientation of a politician/president should be still considered an issue amongst the international community. Unless Berlusconi comes onto him or something...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Deckof52

dizzywizlw wrote: »
    The 'quotes' scandal is perpetrated by the Christian right in this country who are vehemently anti-homosexual. Yes he has said so stupid things, well all have but that shouldn't be why you don't vote for him. Having an openly gay president may seem progressive but it is impractical for conducting foreign relations in a world that is still very much anti-gay. His sexuality will be a big issue in the election but the fact remains he's not the best choice anyway.

#1. Norris v. Anti-Homophobic Foreign States

- I think the idea of progression is two sided if Norris becomes President. It will be a watershed moment for gay human rights and the normative advancement of gay people into Irish Society. But the other side is the argument that it will tear our diplomatic relations apart because he is gay, and I believe this is absurd. In the past five years LGBT politicians have had a strong part in many countries governments. In Britain under the previous Labour Government you saw Peter Mandelson as Deputy-Prime Minister, being side-by-side with the Prime Minister at international talks around the world including some sub-Saharan African and middle-eastern countries; in America you saw Barney Frank as Chair of the House Financial Services Committee, one of the leading economic positions in America that has global implications; in Germany you could see Guido Westerwelle as Vice-Chancellor and Foreign Affairs Minister traveling around the world to many unfriendly nations representing his nation; in Iceland you see Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir as Prime Minister representing her country in Europe & the World in helping Iceland's financial situation. These are all openly gay politicians and at the point they were in some of the highest offices in the world and dealing with global problems. When doing their job no country ever stopped them, as far as I can find, because of their sexuality. The world has come a long way because they could not face down the countries of the world. Diplomacy is diplomacy and we shouldn't allow the fears of some countries having a bad reaction when this concept has been tried and tested and proven not to be rule with many countries around the world.

#2 A Brief Reflection on Irish History
    - The two issues now arising are that of the 1916 Eater Rising and calling them 'terrorists' and the call to join the Commonwealth of Nations.

-If we look at the case of the 1916 Eater Rising and calling them terrorists. This is not outside the multitude of academic opinion, notably Kevin Myers articles on the issue come to mind. If we even take a look at W.B. Yeats's account of the issue in his poem 'Easter 1916' he put it aptly but also had foresight in the context of the Irish Civil War & the Northern Irish Troubles, that a "terrible beauty was born", and I think we need to be more educated on this idea. Looking at the 1916 Easter Rising these were seen as rebels by all the people on the street but also they were undermining the work of the Irish Parliamentary Party that would have achieved 'dominion status' and would have been able to disassociate itself with the Statute of Westminster in 1931; which was what we eventually done in the end, but suffered a bloody civil war and a destroying troubled period in Northern Ireland. We would condemn any country in the world for stopping peaceful action to achieving peace but we never stop to analyze our own history and how we look at our ancestors and founders actions.

-We became a republic in 1949 when Taoiseach John. A Costello, declared a republic on a diplomatic trip to Canada. This was not a planned idea; this was not a priority of that government. However Ireland became a republic, ironically, when Costello got drunk and had a spat with a Canadian/British Diplomat that had been rude about the Irish Presidency. So history will show that technically our country has a foundation linked to being drunk! :P
    But besides the point we need to take a look at how we were born into context with a 'join the commonwealth' argument'. As far as I can tell we would be holding onto old pains to not look into something that would have cultural as well as economic gains. And to be honest I think that only in historical irony would an Irish presidential candidate suggest joining an organization which because of a dispute about the Irish Presidency had began the Irish Republic with which the President sits as Head of State.

#3 Norris as the Controversial Leader
    - There is no doubt that Norris is controversial. But why do people look on controversy as bad? So far Norris, just as a candidate, has raised debate about Easter 1916; the Commonwealth; Gay Rights and Pedophilia. I've never seen so much of a debate on these issues to date. I think this is what the presidency should be, a stimulus for debating our issues and ideas. Ireland is submerged in history that has us psychologically frozen, we need to look at all these issues to assess where we want to be and what type of nation we want to become, and we cannot do that before we put these issues at rest. But I come back to the question, Is controversy bad? I really don't think it is, I cant understand how challenging ideas and criticizing some essential and important topics can be a bad thing. Controversy leads to interest; interest leads to debate; debate leads to challenging the status-quo; and in challenging the status-quo we mature our values; changing them where needed and re-enforcing what are our real values. This is well over-due and no leader has ever done such a good job of helping achieve this goal. If we want a leader who will help us, we need that leader to challenge us and Norris fits the Bill 110%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

This
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland-should-rejoin-commonwealth-says-senator-14814353.html#ixzz0obUSziME
    is why I'm not voting for him. He's seems to love so much about England that he should consider running for public office over there.

Did you read the quotes from him or just the headline? He never said he wanted Ireland to rejoin the commonwealth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Would I vote for him? Not fcuking likely. His idiotic accent would be the laughing stock in any Embassy .......... especially in Blighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Would I vote for him - no, probably not.

But then again, most of the candidates that have been mentioned don't particularly inspire me to vote for any of them.

Maybe Michael D. Higgins - maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Deckof52 wrote: »

#1. Norris v. Anti-Homophobic Foreign States

[/B]

You listed 4 out 196 sovereign states, which are very progressive, Germany being a good model for acceptance, when discounting the Turkish minority ;).

As a sample of heads of state (I'm not sure any of those you listed are heads of state, function versus political form is important for this role I think) its not particularly great. Barely any notable number of states have given the LGBT community the fundamental right to civil partnership whilst roughly a third of countries still have homosexuality as a crime on their statue books. My main point is and always will be, that to vote for Norris because of his sexuality is misguided, to vote against him because of it is ignorant.

He'd be a useless President; irreverant, elitist, euro-skeptic. He has never held political office of note (yes I count the seanad as useless) and he is very much the stereotype of comsmopolitian elitism. The man studied literature for Christs sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Its that type of view that creates elitism, not the perceived elite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'd suggest you have a look at both the Robinson / McAleese presidencies.

Robinson used the office to reflect and legitimise the public appetite for a shift away from a repressive and pervasive conservatism, which had stunted the cultural, social and economic progress of the State. She performed her duties with skill, intelligence and courage, she ruffled feathers, broke new ground and redefined the role for the better.

She really didnt, it was more of a congratulatory backslapping exercise for people who wrote opinion pieces in the oirish toimes, she soon carpet bagged her way into the UN on the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Bambi wrote: »
    She really didnt, it was more of a congratulatory backslapping exercise for people who wrote opinion pieces in the oirish toimes, she soon carpet bagged her way into the UN on the back of it.

WHAT? Mary Robinson was a great president, and a great woman. I had the honour of attending a dinner with her, it was highlighting womens equality. There were disabled women in our party, who couldn't actually get into the venue, and she refused point blank to go in, until ramp access was set up. Her view was that equality for women included disabled women. It was freezing cold and she had not coat or jacket, and it took over an hour for access to be arranged.

She stood by her principles and is a role model for Irish women all over the world. Due to her press conference in Africa where she lambasted the international community because the death of thousands was going unrecognised because there was no money to be gained by helping them. THAT is how she got the UN job, and she felt it was the best place for her to help people. Problem being, is that she was very critical of the US and that was why the wanted her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Mary Robinson sullied the office of the Presidency by resigning to take up a job offer in the UN.

McAleese has been self-promoting since Day 1. If one reads about how she secured the nomination, she was an FF nominee and colluded with Bertie to get the nomination, helping Bertie shaft Albert Reynolds in the process.

The current campaign against Norris is reminiscent of the similar dirty-tricks which scuppered Adi Roche's campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Ill be voting for Bertie - deserves something for all the good work he done over the years.

Norris is just annoying with his constant nagging on about James Joyce etc.

Micheal D is too old and is annoying too with his constant nagging on about the Irish Language and he inflicted TG4 on us too.

Jackie Healy Rae is off the radar in terms of annoyance - typical gombeen politician which has this country ruined.

I agree though that whoever gets it will be basically a puppet for the Government as it is a pointless role that should be abolished along with the seanad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

norris is on the PK show now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sounds like the resturant critic has stitched Norris up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

he's as expected, not very happy with this food critic.
    norris says he can't wait for her to get the tape and people can make up their own minds...academic discussion, ideas tossed about

You can see why Norris got into bother, whatever about HLB and her editorialising he needs to cut out the "freeform musing" as thats whats gets him in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Ms.Odgeynist

Freeform musing?

Have you never mused freeform style? Nearly guarenteed to get you into bother.

Isn't musing freeform by definition?

Its like musing Xtreme! Its the Miles Davis of musing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,452 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Either way his campaign is in trouble. His interview and back-tracking on P.K. will not get him out of trouble. He need to debate the issue face to face with H.L.B. on t.v. and then people will make up their minds.

Its hard to debate an issue with a woman like that. She will imply and insinuate all day long while Norris is forced to defend himself against unfounded allegations.
    It seems like its going to boil down to her word vs his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It seems like its going to boil down to her word vs his.

If she can find the tapes and they are released, we can make up our own minds