Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Back To My Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

^ Get a room

Fri 29th April, 8 x 400m with 100 secs rest on the track at UL. I had intended on doing 10 of these but i was feeling it a bit after the tempo on Wednesday night. After a mile warm up i ran;

77, 77, 78, 77, 77, 77, 78, 76. Happy with these times and consistency, they're faster than the 2 times i ran this session last November in UCD. 7th rep felt unnaturally tough, due to the blazing sun and strong wind so i called it a day after 8. 10'18 for 2 miles of the fast stuff, only 17 secs faster than my 2 mile pb of 10'35 from 2006. I still have work to do clearly. 1 ml w/d for 4 mls in total.

Good work Brian although i imagine you could knock a good few seconds of those times after a few more of these sessions. Sure i can even do them at 74 secs and you are much faster than me, well so you keep telling me:p

Gotta love a bit of friendly needling in the training logs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

due to the blazing sun and strong wind

hahahaha the what sun? Its april buddy. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Good work Brian although i imagine you could knock a good few seconds of those times after a few more of these sessions. Sure i can even do them at 74 secs and you are much faster than me, well so you keep telling me:p

No one is as fast as Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

mrslow wrote: »
    Was there puking? Apparently it doesn't count unless there's puking.

No i finished the session feeling like i could do another one as you are supposed to. You're trying to train your heart to become a more efficient muscle not give yourself a heart attack!
    Good work Brian although i imagine you could knock a good few seconds of those times after a few more of these sessions. Sure i can even do them at 74 secs and you are much faster than me, well so you keep telling metongue.gif

I did 78 secs per rep for 10 x 400m when i ran 5'00 for a mile in 2006, i guess that means you could run 4'40-4'45 then. hahahahahahahaha! on a bike with a tailwind maybe tongue.gif
    hahahaha the what sun? Its april buddy. :)

21 degrees is fairly warm by irish standards innit? I was covered in salt after the session.
    No one is as fast as Brian.

Good to see somebody sees sense around here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

No i finished the session feeling like i could do another one as you are supposed to. You're trying to train your heart to become a more efficient muscle not give yourself a heart attack!

Have a chat with Meno for me, at his age he should be taking it easy.:)

I did 78 secs per rep for 10 x 400m when i ran 5'00 for a mile in 2006, i guess that means you could run 4'40-4'45 then. hahahahahahahaha! on a bike with a tailwind maybe tongue.gif

21 degrees is fairly warm by irish standards innit? I was covered in salt after the session.

Good to see somebody sees sense around here. :)

5 years ago you ran a 5 minute mile, try run it now or even better when you hit my age:D
    The only way you were covered in salt was stopping off at the chipper on the way home and getting stuck into a bag of salty chips:D

Sat 30th April, 3 mls easy around the roads near home in 26'15 (8'45), lovely day, feel grand for tomorrow. 1'40 half is no bother for me.

Sun 1st May.

Great Limerick Run pacing,

I spent about 10 mins at the meet the pacers stand the day before and after a group dinner with the boardsies and a few pints the saturday I felt surprisingly calm before my first pacing gig in my hometown.

I was pacing the 1'40 half with Daithi BC and we set off a litle slow due to the congestion, we found our rhythm soon enough though and ticked off the miles bang on pace despite some erratic mile markers. I lost a balloon after 2/3 miles when i ran too close to the trees but no big deal. All the while i was targeting a finish of 1'39'30 as i had a bet with Menoscemo about which of us would get closer to our target, at a euro a second for who was closer. I missed out by 4 seconds with a controlled 1'39'34 finish, which I would call perfect pacing. Not perfect enough however as he finished bang on target employing some underhand tactics tongue.gif

I did enjoy it alright but not blown away by the experience. I was a little disappointed with the crowds, there was much more out last year. I'll still do a few of these when i get the chance. 3'30 or 3'45 for the DCM would be good to do.

Hit the pub after for the usual day long session, Meno, Aimman, RQ, Oisin, Kandikane, Xebec, Metamorphosis among others were in attendance. I couldnt go past 1am, i'm beginning to lose my drinking prowess i think.

Heading back to London in an hour, cant believe the 11 days have gone by so fast, but thats always the way. Got some good training done both in Dublin and at home. Leeds half next Sunday (if i can get hold of my number, long story, short version; number was sent out to my old house which now has new owners), no idea of my tactics for that one but i'll have a lash at a PB or a MP run for sub 3.

Week Total, 6 runs and 36 miles. Happy with the week and good to get 2 speed sessions in along with the successful pacing job.

Yearly Mileage, 591 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

[ Not perfect enough however as he finished bang on target employing some underhand tactics tongue.gif

All the tactics employed were perfectly legal :P

Now what's your excuse for losing the Conn Ultra Bet? Is it just that you are a chicken?:pac:

menoscemo wrote: »
    Now what's your excuse for losing the Conn Ultra Bet? Is it just that you are a chicken?:pac:

Not a chicken, its just that ultra's dont carry much weight with me. If i broke 5 for Conn, it would mean very little to me tbh. I'm in my peak years at the moment (which is between 26 and 28 so i hear) and its best to focus on shorter stuff. I'll focus on an ultra when i'm slow and old like yourself and JB :p

Mon 2nd May, too hungover and weary to do anything today (apart from Limerick races) so let it off, had to fly back anyway.

Tues 3rd May, Headed over to Finsbury Park for the track session with the club. Session was 6 x 800m with 2 mins recovery. The standard of runners at this were totally different from the normal Wednesday night crowd. Out of 30 of us i found myself closer to the back than the front.

Times were; 2'44, 2'43, 2'42, 2'42, 2'44, 2'36. This was according to the garmin and i ran wide out in lane 3 a lot of the time so i deffo ran a bit further than 800m. I have to say i was running within myself the first 5 with huge general fatigue from flying in so late Monday night and still a little hungover from Sunday. I let go on the last one a bit, i reckon i should be able for 2'40 for each rep in the future. 1 ml w/d and no warm up bar a fast cycle to get there on time :) Did the session in the nike racers i dropped out of DCM 07 in and stopped using them for years after, and they were full of sand from the UCD long jump pit when i did some long jumps there last September. I've rarely used these so they are ok to use for Donore i'd say.

Great training session and the group is perfect for me, with always someone to draft off and push you on. A lot of them are doing Berlin too and the coach has designed them specific plans to peak for it. I'll keep going Weds nights but i'll take the steady run option i think then.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/83377564

Weds 4th May, 4 mls easy in 34'40 (8'40) wasn't feeling it. Didn't get out till nearly 10pm with punchestown and a driving lesson. Heading to Liverpool/Chester/Leeds after work tomorrow and not back till Sunday night after the Leeds half. Not sure when i'm gonna squeeze runs in between now and then.

Leeds Half Marathon Sun May 8th.

Headed up to Liverpool on Thursday evening for the Chester races Friday and Everton vs Man City yesterday. Plenty of drink and kebabs involved, not ideal prep. Eased off the drink around 6pm yesterday and headed to Leeds. Wasnt sure what i was expecting from this race, part of me said a pb attempt even if i didnt fully believe it. I felt good doing a warm up jog and lined up close enough to the start (about 40m back) in a large field of 4600+ runners.

Away we went a fter a little crowding at first i settled into my rhythm and strated to hit 6'40 pace on the garmin. Second mile was faster still but something was up today. The same happened in Reading and i got through it so i hoped the same would happen again but not to be. The hills hit then and the pace dropped instantly to over 8 min miles and runners flew by me on either side, not good. At this stage my race was pretty much over and i considered pulling out. I reached the top of the first set of hills and started the turbo charge down the hill, passing several others. At this point i said i'd give the race a lash again and do a 1'27-1'28.

But the hills hit again and the same sh*t happened, back to jogging pace and the race over for a second time. Kept plugging on but mostly at low 7's. Never able to go any faster, even though much of it was a gentle downhill. I made another go of it with 2 mls to go but that lasted about 400 yards. I just didnt have it today plain and simple. I coasted in, letting runners pass me up the home straight even though i felt fairly fresh. I mean whats the point in turning it on for the last 100m when you have disgraced yourself over the last 13mls, pointless. Finished in just over 1'34'02 (7'11) for my slowest half ever and my worst ever performance in a road race.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/84414164

Post mortem;

So what the chuffing nora was that! My prep was awful but so was Reading and that was over 9 mins faster. Its just too bad to be true, no way i've become a bad runner overnight. One thing is true though, my training has lacked direction over the last few weeks since Barca and Reading. I've also travelled a lot as well as moving house and that has been quite disruptive. I've also drank more than ever and had an appalling diet.

I'll have to see about the Donore 5k, i don't want that to happen again and the Military Hill is set up for a repeat of today. Dunshauglin might be more realistic now. I certainly need to get some structure back into my training. The months leading up to Barca were so disciplined and routine like and that has been missing since. I havent given up on sub 3 in Berlin but today has me a long long way off. Thungs can onlt get better from here i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Leeds Half Marathon Sun May 8th.

Headed up to Liverpool on Thursday evening for the Chester races Friday and Everton vs Man City yesterday. Plenty of drink and kebabs involved, not ideal prep. Eased off the drink around 6pm yesterday and headed to Leeds. Wasnt sure what i was expecting from this race, part of me said a pb attempt even if i didnt fully believe it. I felt good doing a warm up jog and lined up close enough to the start (about 40m back) in a large field of 4600+ runners.

Away we went a fter a little crowding at first i settled into my rhythm and strated to hit 6'40 pace on the garmin. Second mile was faster still but something was up today. The same happened in Reading and i got through it so i hoped the same would happen again but not to be. The hills hit then and the pace dropped instantly to over 8 min miles and runners flew by me on either side, not good. At this stage my race was pretty much over and i considered pulling out. I reached the top of the first set of hills and started the turbo charge down the hill, passing several others. At this point i said i'd give the race a lash again and do a 1'27-1'28.

But the hills hit again and the same sh*t happened, back to jogging pace and the race over for a second time. Kept plugging on but mostly at low 7's. Never able to go any faster, even though much of it was a gentle downhill. I made another go of it with 2 mls to go but that lasted about 400 yards. I just didnt have it today plain and simple. I coasted in, letting runners pass me up the home straight even though i felt fairly fresh. I mean whats the point in turning it on for the last 100m when you have disgraced yourself over the last 13mls, pointless. Finished in just over 1'34'02 (7'11) for my slowest half ever and my worst ever performance in a road race.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/84414164

Post mortem;

So what the chuffing nora was that! My prep was awful but so was Reading and that was over 9 mins faster. Its just too bad to be true, no way i've become a bad runner overnight. One thing is true though, my training has lacked direction over the last few weeks since Barca and Reading. I've also travelled a lot as well as moving house and that has been quite disruptive. I've also drank more than ever and had an appalling diet.

I'll have to see about the Donore 5k, i don't want that to happen again and the Military Hill is set up for a repeat of today. Dunshauglin might be more realistic now. I certainly need to get some structure back into my training. The months leading up to Barca were so disciplined and routine like and that has been missing since. I havent given up on sub 3 in Berlin but today has me a long long way off. Thungs can onlt get better from here i guess.
    Thats only about 40 secs short of half way in barca. Not a pb course though, way to hilly but in saying that 1.34? wtf

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Thats only about 40 secs short of half way in barca. Not a pb course though, way to hilly but in saying that 1.34? wtf

Not quite sure it has me puzzled, especially after the savage session i had last Tuesday :confused:

Just chalk it off to a bad day. I went for 3.10 in portumna last near. Lovely flat course, ****ed after 10 miles and came home in 3.40. Could never explain why it just happened. Sometimes it just doesnt happen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It wasn't THAT hilly to be fair. Lots of fast downhills aswell - it may not be a pb course but it's definitely not a 9 and 13 minutes on your pb course.

Yeah spot on. We can blame the hills for 1 or 2 mins max but it cant cover up both our horrific performances yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Days like that will happen reagrdless, sometimes beyond our own control for whatever reason. It's over either way. Now - onwards to sub 3!

Bad race for you Brian, maybe it is the kick up the arse you need to get some structured training in.
    I know we both needle each other for the craic but i stand by what i said in London you can and should be performing to a higher standard given your running background. If you get the training spot on then that sub 3 in Berlin is well on.

Ul just chalk it down as a bad day at the office.

Bad race for you Brian, maybe it is the kick up the arse you need to get some structured training in.
    I know we both needle each other for the craic but i stand by what i said in London you can and should be performing to a higher standard given your running background. If you get the training spot on then that sub 3 in Berlin is well on.

Ul just chalk it down as a bad day at the office.

Very true that. I think yesterday could turn out to be a good thing actually. I have been cruising along the last few weeks doing the same old sh*te telling myself that the Berlin training will start soon yet it never does, using my fairly hectic lifestyle as an excuse. As you told me you do 25 hrs training a week with a family so whats my excuse? Also, i've totally neglected strength work and stretching, as well as nutrient timing. All too often i've had no food after runs and gone straight to the pub for the soccer. I never did that before Barca and all that sh*t ends TODAY!

Btw i was mindful of getting under your half time yesterday, i couldnt let you have that one :p

Very true that. I think yesterday could turn out to be a good thing actually. I have been cruising along the last few weeks doing the same old sh*te telling myself that the Berlin training will start soon yet it never does, using my fairly hectic lifestyle as an excuse. As you told me you do 25 hrs training a week with a family so whats my excuse? Also, i've totally neglected strength work and stretching, as well as nutrient timing. All too often i've had no food after runs and gone straight to the pub for the soccer. I never did that before Barca and all that sh*t ends TODAY!

Btw i was mindful of getting under your half time yesterday, i couldnt let you have that one :p

It'll be great when you're working to achieve targets, it's a bit of a pain watching you float through a run that's a heavy session for the rest of us! ;)

mrslow wrote: »
    It'll be great when you're working to achieve targets, it's a bit of a pain watching you float through a run that's a heavy session for the rest of us! ;)

Yes but you running with me is more of a benefit to you than me. Best to train with those just faster than you, brings you on a mile.

Give me time :cool:

You were doing so well in that post up until the last sentence, the needling continues:) Are you starting Conn Ultra training straight after Berlin or will you be taking a break?

You punks would wanna start training now for conn:D

Plenty of time for that:)

I might be down you neck of the woods on Friday evening and will probably be doing an 18 miler, give us a shout if you are about.

Are you starting Conn Ultra training straight after Berlin or will you be taking a break?

I'm gonna keep my log secret after Berlin and keep you and meno guessing, then come out and destroy you 2 in Donadea chinguetti style. I have some revenge to get on someone else after Barca too :p Lets just say i'll wait another mile before dropping him in Conn :D

Funny, i was humble for a day or 2 after my sh*te run yesterday, but the real Brianderunner is back now!

Plenty of time for that:)

I might be down you neck of the woods on Friday evening and will probably be doing an 18 miler, give us a shout if you are about.
    ahh pity i have kildare on sunday i would have done 18 with ya no probs. Im in work friday so no running for me.

I'm gonna keep my log secret after Berlin and keep you and meno guessing, then come out and destroy you 2 in Donadea chinguetti style. I have some revenge to get on someone else after Barca too :p Lets just say i'll wait another mile before dropping him in Conn :D

Funny, i was humble for a day or 2 after my sh*te run yesterday, but the real Brianderunner is back now!
    haha meno said to me in limerick that if we were still together in the finishing straight in conn he was going to try and outsprint me.
    Rookie mistake on his behalf:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

I'm gonna keep my log secret after Berlin and keep you and meno guessing, then come out and destroy you 2 in Donadea chinguetti style.

Ok whats this? My running from behind has now got a name! I aim to do a performance in Donore and follow the brother around as i have the sub 19 done since Saturday.

Brian, don't panic over Sunday. It was a bad day. Go back to a normal life, a couple of weeks of good running and plan a couple of target races. Sub 3 in Berlin is totally possible for you. All that travelling and socialising can't have been any good for you.