Not only has this country got a drinking problem,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

peasant wrote: »
    Racing results daily, features about poker wins ...you don't necessarily see those things on the main news in other countries.

I've got no issue with drink or gambling as such, as with everything, in moderation it can be quite fun.

The moderation would be questionable though when it makes the daily national news.

Its only because it local,You would not have anything about the WSOP on rte in july and thats far bigger event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Einhard wrote: »
    I had a problem with drink once. Then I found a tenner behind the couch and bought myself another naggin. Problem solved. Happy days.

A tenner for a naggin? You got screwed.
    You can get good quality stuff for a fiver, or ****e for four euro. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭paddy0090

It's only dawning on you now? Check the figures for winning streak. The daftest gameshow on the planet. Then there's the lotto where the odds of a win don't increase the 'better'/more you play.

Poker's not like that though it takes skill to win consistenly at a tournament so fair play to him. It was a hometown headline, got the lad some free publicity.
    Racing results daily, features about poker wins ...you don't necessarily see those things on the main news in other countries.

I've got no issue with drink or gambling as such, as with everything, in moderation it can be quite fun.

The moderation would be questionable though when it makes the daily national news.

You see it in other countries. In Australia they bet on everything and the odds are included in every other news cast. In Thailand they bet on rumble fish - thats two fish fighting in a bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

don't worry about the drinking and the gambling - it's the sh*t quality of news that's upsetting...

Some farmer in Mayo leaves a gate open - major news. The size of Irish winkles is shrinking - major international news. Some granny almost gets refused entry to the States - we're now switching live to our reporter on location...and don't forget the sh*t soundbites for every cr*p piece of so-called news...here's Maire NiBackward commenting on how this or that or the other is terrible, just terrible (probably the shrinking winkles...)

Seriously...poor lazy journalism is the problem, nevermind the other stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

once we don't invade somewhere or try take over the world I reckon we're grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Tippex

it has a gambling problem too.

Anyone see the bit on the news about the poker champion?

How is that national news? And worse still ...why can't this be dealt with (if it has to be dealt with at all) in a short one liner instead of a full feature involving the daddy and the gambling granny?

Seriously people ...take a long hard look at your so called "culture".

Could be because of the story behind it and a kid coming good from a €20 bet and the fact he was head to head against one of the best poker players in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Bambi wrote: »

post #36 ...you're getting slow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Bambi wrote: »

We're developing the skills to take over Vegas. We'll be happy and stop at that.

Tippex wrote: »
    Could be because of the story behind it and a kid coming good from a €20 bet and the fact he was head to head against one of the best poker players in the UK

Good story, admittedly ...but for the main evening news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭NewApproach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

post #36 ...you're getting slow :D

Busy drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Gambling on line is for crazed mongs. Gambling is bad enough but at least when you win you get to collect tangible sheets of money. Online is madness!! Gambling with a credit card will be seen as being as daft in 100 years time as we see ****ting out the privet window was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Not only did i click on this thread with a can in my hand but i also have my paddy power account on the other tab :pac:

We're developing the skills to take over Vegas. We'll be happy and stop at that.

That's a f*cking fantastic idea!! We could use the massve profits of the casinos to settle our debts in two years!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

How is that national news? And worse still ...why can't this be dealt with (if it has to be dealt with at all) in a short one liner instead of a full feature involving the daddy and the gambling granny?

A feature on moaning is due?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

german,motorhome and caravan mod

need i say more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    That's a f*cking fantastic idea!! We could use the massve profits of the casinos to settle our debts in two years!! :D:D

I am glad you have read my manifesto and support my policies my friend, but you lack vision....we ain't coming back....debts? we won't pay no stinkin' debts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Pauleta wrote: »
    Not only did i click on this thread with a can in my hand but i also have my paddy power account on the other tab :pac:

I'm pretty sure they cancel each other out. Science said so.

I am glad you have read my manifesto and support my policies my friend, but you lack vision....we ain't coming back....debts? we won't pay no stinkin' debts....

I agree with your ideas sir, and would like to subscribe to your newsletter. :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

pmcmahon wrote: »

need i say more?

A caravan holiday in Germany. Now that's fun.

I was at the Irish Open most of the weekend. A couple of thousand people in or around the hotel for the weekend for the flagship poker festival in Ireland, with copious drinking in the bar for those eliminated, taking a break, or just there for drinks. No drinking in the playing area allowed though in case some people think people were enjoying themselves at two of their favourite activities at the same time.

Great weekend, and great to see a young Irish lad win it as well. Nice fella too.

People who talk to themselves have mental problems. *
    People who go to bars have drinking problems. *
    People who go to restaurants have eating problems. *
    People who play sports have athletic problems.*
    People who play poker have gambling problems. *

People who make wild assertions based on fairly normal life situations have reality problems. **

* Not true in most cases
    ** True in most cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

People who talk to themselves have mental problems. *
    People who go to bars have drinking problems. *
    People who go to restaurants have eating problems. *
    People who play sports have athletic problems.*
    People who play poker have gambling problems. *

People who make wild assertions based on fairly normal life situations have reality problems. **

* Not true in most cases
    ** True in most cases

What are you talking about? "Internet Addiction Disorder" for example has a clinically proven pathology:mad: Just look at the sheer lack of lab tests!

Are you a doctor?

/sarcasm

Racing results daily,

What ever about poker, racing is a very popular sport in Ireland. Why would the results not be reported along with soccer, golf etc in the sports news.
    Gambling on line is for crazed mongs. Gambling is bad enough but at least when you win you get to collect tangible sheets of money. Online is madness!! Gambling with a credit card will be seen as being as daft in 100 years time as we see ****ting out the privet window was.

Nonsense, If I want to sit at home and watch the racing and bet online why is it any different to sitting in the bookies and betting on the races.

That reminds me I need to do my golf bet for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Poker isn't really gambling though, it's very heavily based on statistics. If you work out your chances, you'll always win in the long run.
    This is also true of back-flips.

if you keep doing them, you'll eventually make a perfect landing.

of course, you'll most likely be dead or crippled by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I put €30 into an online Paddy Power account in September.

I have won ~1k with ~750 in my bank account so I can't lose it.

Would you consider this a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

jive wrote: »
    I put €30 into an online Paddy Power account in September.

I have won ~1k with ~750 in my bank account so I can't lose it.

Would you consider this a problem?

yes, and the lord didn't die on a fking cross so you could galavant around enjoying yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

RichieC wrote: »
    yes, and the lord didn't die on a fking cross so you could galavant around enjoying yourself!

I drink plenty of the lords blood so I think he contributed to the problem.

Hey OP I'm gonna drink my gambling winnings; you mad?

need i say more?

ahh come on ..you can do better than that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

ahh come on ..you can do better than that

i don't think i need to do better to be honest

You could try a sense of humour :D (or even wit)

But you're right ...as I alledgedly don't have that either it would be lost on me anyway :pac: