Not only has this country got a drinking problem,

• 27-04-2011 07:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

it has a gambling problem too.

Anyone see the bit on the news about the poker champion?

How is that national news? And worse still ...why can't this be dealt with (if it has to be dealt with at all) in a short one liner instead of a full feature involving the daddy and the gambling granny?

Seriously people ...take a long hard look at your so called "culture".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I like poker, and drinking. They are fun. Go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

6/1 winner yesterday, hic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I hate poker because when people play it they speak exclusively in letters and numbers. 9H B3 you sunk my poker chip.

Weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Gambling is like breathing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

kfallon wrote: »
    Gambling is like breathing

I both suck and blow at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

I had a problem with drink once. Then I found a tenner behind the couch and bought myself another naggin. Problem solved. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

Poker isn't really gambling though, it's very heavily based on statistics. If you work out your chances, you'll always win in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I read about that on the front page of the Examiner today. I play a lot of poker myself recreationally, but I thought glorifying the sequence of gambles that ultimately led him winning was probably not the best bit of journalism.

Some balls on him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I both suck and blow at it?

He's explaining how he gets money to fund his gambling habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

Why can't we gave a special forum for people who want to stop everyone having fun? Like the Christianity forum, only more judgmental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

stimpson wrote: »
    Why can't we gave a special forum for people who want to stop everyone having fun? Like the Christian forum, only more judgmental.

The Christian forum, now with 10% more judgement.

I like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

In Ireland, 25% of people don't drink at all and 71% don't binge drink. Most people will never see the inside of a bookies except for the Grand Nationals and Cheltenham. We're going grand. Thanks for your concern though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭cson

"In gambling the many must lose in order that the few may win" George Bernard Shaw

I am the few! Muhahahahaha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

There is no drinking problem in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

the only monster around here is the gambling monster who has enslaved your mother! I call him Gamblor! now lets go save your mother from his neon claws!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Some balls on him though

Did they have a picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

When they said he worked in a hospital, then they interviewed his boss who is also his mother, and her name was Goretti, only one word came to mind - Kilinaskully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

The Irish open is the oldest tourney in Europe and one of the biggest aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

The Irish open is the oldest tourney in Europe and one of the biggest aswell

what have we opened?

ah i'll have 2 anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

cson wrote: »
    "In gambling the many must lose in order that the few may win" George Bernard Shaw

I am the few! Muhahahahaha :D

By "the few" they mean the crowd running the casino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

peasant wrote: »

How is that national news? And worse still ...why can't this be dealt with (if it has to be dealt with at all) in a short one liner instead of a full feature involving the daddy and the gambling granny?

Don't be so bitter.

Winning a poker tournament is news, fair play to him.

That young fella did really well for himself and deserves congratulations.

It's national news because he people from every county in the land I heard that there were many players from outside Ireland playing there too. Gives a real international flavor to the competition.

'Young lad does well', I'm glad that it wasn't just a one liner story, ya can't beat good news....

....unless your a newspaper editor.......are you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Daegerty wrote: »
    By "the few" they mean the crowd running the casino.

You don't understand how a poker tourney works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I love hash/weed. Its my culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Can you describe to me exactly in 50 words or less what its like to be a dry shîte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Now I didnt see the news article,but a lad wins a poker tournament and that means the rest of the country has a problem because it makes the news!?

Hmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

I like a pint and a punt, enjoy it and don,t do anyone any harm. otherwise id sit at home thinking of killjoy threads. just because you don,t like or understand it, don,t knock it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

You got to know when to hold em , know when to fold em , know when to walk away , know when to run ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

You only have a gambling problem when your losing!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Gillington wrote: »
    Now I didnt see the news article,but a lad wins a poker tournament and that means the rest of the country has a problem because it makes the news!?
    Hmmmmm

Racing results daily, features about poker wins ...you don't necessarily see those things on the main news in other countries.

I've got no issue with drink or gambling as such, as with everything, in moderation it can be quite fun.

The moderation would be questionable though when it makes the daily national news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

blockedPaT wrote: »
    There is no drinking problem in this country

yes there is.....the pubs and offos still close on good friday