Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

aye, we had the townland in the ad, and he asked is that up near Murphys*. Not near Murphys*, actually Murphys*

we'd gotten a fright a few weeks ago when an auctioneer told us it'd only be worth 120 an acre and we'd spent just shy of 100 on fertilizer.

*all names changed to protect the innocent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had a skinny third calver , i mollycoddled her for a while and she calved ok 3 weeks ago ... let her with cows last night and she was dead this morning, she fell in a ditch:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

did anyone see any 2011 lambs in marts yet. As in the early weaned lambs that were born in january? What prices were they going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

whelan1 wrote: »
    had a skinny third calver , i mollycoddled her for a while and she calved ok 3 weeks ago ... let her with cows last night and she was dead this morning, she fell in a ditch:mad::mad:
    sorry to hear about your cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

sorry to hear about your cow.

+1 May all the bad luck go with her:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Mr.Success wrote: »
    did anyone see any 2011 lambs in marts yet. As in the early weaned lambs that were born in january? What prices were they going.

M8 got 130/140? one of the two sorry. End of Dec/Jan lambs.
    Course then he went and spent it all on a few hoggets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Two slow pokes left to lamb, wish they'd hurry up to... Expect a set of twins and a single. Am hoping for two ewe lambs out of that trio. But, with 28 ram wether lambs out of 43 lambs total so far, I'm not counting my chickens just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Mr.Success wrote: »

According to todays IT, farmers with early lambs are rolling in it:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Had a cow this evening eating stones on the road:mad: hopefully she is the only one. Was tormented by it last year, some were saying phosphorous, but they had enough of that, tested everything. In the end, we reckoned it was acidosis from lush grass:confused:

got a call to say there where cattle out in my silage ground , went up and there where 5 massive deer there :rolleyes:

Few lads over in Hunting would be only delighted to know that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

johngalway wrote: »
    Few lads over in Hunting would be only delighted to know that :)

They hard to shift too once they get a taste of the place:mad: John is it closed Season for hunting them now though?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

time for a bbq;)

Bodacious wrote: »
    They hard to shift too once they get a taste of the place:mad: John is it closed Season for hunting them now though?!

Yes it's closed season now. May be possible to get a section 42 if they're causing a LOT of damage. That'd be for a ranger to assess though.

their was a stag deer on the out farm some years ago he lay beside the cattle and one of the bullocks went down with tb.

does any one know do you need a licence or something to keep poultry , ds has around a dozen hens etc and someone said we should have a licence , its the first i ever heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

does any one know do you need a licence or something to keep poultry , ds has around a dozen hens etc and someone said we should have a licence , its the first i ever heard

You're supposed to have a flock number AFAIK. We have 5 hens and a rooster and don't have one. Don't know how its enforced it or who inspects it, but I'm sure it keeps a couple of hundred people in the Dep of Agriculture in employment across the country.

sold a really good bull today- oji*mcl 181 ebi got what i wanted so happy days

also loaded the last 3milking heifers from this seasons sales-hope next year will be as good

reilig wrote: »
    You're supposed to have a flock number AFAIK. We have 5 hens and a rooster and don't have one. Don't know how its enforced it or who inspects it, but I'm sure it keeps a couple of hundred people in the Dep of Agriculture in employment across the country.
    the dept sent out a form to everyone at the time of the bird flu to fill in if you had hens for eggs for your own use.

afair we had a few ducks at that stage , we got an odd letter about poultry things so we must be registered so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

afair we had a few ducks at that stage , we got an odd letter about poultry things so we must be registered so

We had none at that time.

fantastic weather here today... was very frosty this morning though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Think you have to have one after bird flu epidemic. I dont know the punishments. Probably have to listen to entire Brendan Smith back catalog of ministerial interviews from RTE if you are caught without one:eek:. Get one tomorrow if you know whats good for you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

how much is a litre of milk at the farm gate nowdays

not enough:D

stanflt wrote: »
    not enough:D

It was never enough:D

Round 1985 I think the old fella was getting 95 p a gallon,wondering if it ever went up:D

It was never enough:D

Round 1985 I think the old fella was getting 95 p a gallon,wondering if it ever went up:D

its currently 34cent a litre-which in 1985 prices would be equivalent to 122p a gallon

bet diesel and bag manure have gone up by 150 % since then, running like feck away from the farm was a good move

sure most of us dairy farmers only milk for the craic and the fun of it:D:D:D

I just thought ye was mad:D, seven days a week TB brucellosics testing. caving cowpox

Worst of all Cows what can kick (crosses my legs on that one:p)