How bad can things possibly get here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

Confab wrote: »
    We're apathetic as a country.
    :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Pauleta wrote: »
    Worst case scenario is the garda, army, social welfare and all civil servants will go unpaid. The people will get out onto the streets and riot and with no garda or army around, carnage will ensue, feeding into the hands of loons like Joe Higgin and Sinn Fein to start an unelected socialist country.

Sure Germany would never allow that :rolleyes:

Confab wrote: »
    Put it like this... three months ago 100 of us were hired and now we're told our jobs can easily be transferred to Manila.

Trust me when I say you'll have a better lifestyle on the dole in Ireland than being the Filipino working your call centre job in Manila.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Trust me when I say you'll have a better lifestyle on the dole in Ireland than being the Filipino working your call centre job in Manila.

Yeah but that doesn't help the people here that lose their jobs. 11850 directory enquiries let off most of their Irish staff a few years ago and transferred all their jobs over to Manila...11890 on the other-hand are committed to keeping jobs in Ireland.

Just shows what you can do when your company cares about it's workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 molequidgallus

Anarchy, the state will plunder into anarchy. The people will govern themselves, as there wont be enough numbers of gardai to patrol everywhere & keep a lid on the crime[there aren't at the moment]. They're not gonna listen to the cops & politicians if it comes to anarchy. I'd say if what you typed regarding the banks going bust, social being cut off altogether, people wont just sit back & wait for Kenny & company to sort it out. They'll go out and get their bread and butter by whatever means necessary. It will be inevitable, you wouldn't sit around and watch your children starve or be deprived of the simple necessities of life, would you? I know I wouldn't & I'd do whatever it takes to provide for my daughter if it became that bad. The ordinary honest decent civilian will be forced to a crime if everything went bust.

But with Mary Harney as Minster for Sex.

Priceless:D She'd have some job at that. Her poor husband:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Priceless:D She'd have some job at that. Her poor husband:eek:

Sure there's plenty of her to go around ;)

Solnskaya wrote: »
    we can just do what the govt has done for the last ten years, and burn money to keep them warm(at least I think they were burning it, sure how else could you get rid of so much in so short a time?)-

Not really a problem if you've got bertie ahern & charlie haughey at the helm of the ship. They take it for themselves & families to maintain their high life style. Wouldn't surprise me if bertie ran away to nigeria, I cannot believe the nigerians are turning to him for advice on how to run a country. I would soil myself with laughter if history repeated itself over there. Only the wouldn't let him away with it, he would be exterminated over there for what he did here.

robtri wrote: »
    why the NCT doesnt Ban older cars.....

You mean ban s#1t heaps. Not older cars, we couldn't forget about old cars, the Model T, Porsche 924 turbo, Chrysler Turbine, E- type Jag. It would be crazy to get rid of 'older cars' we'd have no classics, vintage's to look back at. An the closest thing our kids would every see would be pictures. Ban unroad worthy sh#1t heap junkers yes, but not all the good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

WONT SOMEBODY PLEASE THINK THE CHILDREN:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

I came across some visionaries and their visions for the future of Ireland is grim indeed. I dare you to watch.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AaqZJANa0Jk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Go pick up a book on the famine during the 1840s.

People need (myself included at times) a sense of historical perpective.

This country will fall futher but we will still have it much better than previous generations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

Anarchy, the state will plunder into anarchy. The people will govern themselves, as there wont be enough numbers of gardai to patrol everywhere & keep a lid on the crime[there aren't at the moment]. They're not gonna listen to the cops & politicians if it comes to anarchy. I'd say if what you typed regarding the banks going bust, social being cut off altogether, people wont just sit back & wait for Kenny & company to sort it out. They'll go out and get their bread and butter by whatever means necessary. It will be inevitable, you wouldn't sit around and watch your children starve or be deprived of the simple necessities of life, would you? I know I wouldn't & I'd do whatever it takes to provide for my daughter if it became that bad. The ordinary honest decent civilian will be forced to a crime if everything went bust.
    it will be like mad max
    only with turnips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

WONT SOMEBODY PLEASE THINK THE CHILDREN:eek:

Things are bad enough without bringing the Church into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

paulieeye wrote: »
    Hi folks...

I stopped reading at that. For some reason I hate when people use that phrase/opener and for the life of me I just cannot take them serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

The next year or so will show us how bad things are going to get. I remain somewhat confident that a normal person can eek out a frugal existence while keeping the odd small luxury.

Now when I say luxury I mean going for a few pints on a Saturday not skiing in The Alps. People will just have to get used to living with less money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

jakdelad wrote: »
    start digging the pit fill it with water n beans
    start watching bear grylls
    lock n load buy a good skinning knife
    get some flares a radio lots of coffe [not the aldi sh1te]
    loo rolls condoms[well you never know]
    a buy n sell
    sit tight suck a sweet and watch for movement
    this is gonna get ugly ......

You forgot the truckload of alcohol you will need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What will happen is that most people between the age of 15 and 30 will go back to a lifestyle befitting a small country like ours - like everybody else had to before the mid 90s.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Yeah but that doesn't help the people here that lose their jobs. 11850 directory enquiries let off most of their Irish staff a few years ago and transferred all their jobs over to Manila...11890 on the other-hand are committed to keeping jobs in Ireland.

Just shows what you can do when your company cares about it's workers.

It's nothing personal against anyone but I'm still happy for the jobs to goto Manila or Cebu.. It's not patriotic but the job means infinitely more to them and their families than it does to anyone in Ireland.

And people in Ireland shouldn't worry.. It will never get as bad there as it is in the lowest 9/10's of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

It will level out when the big boys get whatever it is they're after..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

iamstop wrote: »
    Bread rations,
    Telescreens,
    Big Brother,
    Gin rations
    Ministry for Educ?ation
    Ministry for Sex
    Double Speak
    The bells of St. Clement's

Will Celebrity Big Brother still be on aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

stovelid wrote: »
    What will happen is that most people between the age of 15 and 30 will go back to a lifestyle befitting a small country like ours - like everybody else had to before the mid 90s.

A bit of an optimistic outlook at the moment when you take into account, for example, the massive levels of debt in this country bank debt/mortgage debt/personal debt & the high cost of raw materials.

So while our incomes will go down, our expenditure will remain very high (if not keep increasing) for basic commodities. I've have no problem going back to the early/mid-90's but cost of living was cheaper & the debt burden was a lot lower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Shulgin wrote: »
    Most people are still living pretty comfortably, Still living on the last remaining illusions of the 'celtic tiger', when that illusion fades away enough then so will the apathy. It is a ticking timebomb.
    Plenty of those comfy people are in the semi-states. There's no recession for those lads tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

This is a big part of the problem. Why work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Just wait until cannabalism sets in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

There is no recession. It's just that the economy has returned to the way it was before the boom of the 90's.
    TheZohan wrote: »
    There are a couple of things wrong with that statement.

My attempt at humour. A recession, by definition is an economy shrinking back to a weaker state (i.e, before the 90's). So my statement was a contradiction. But at the same time it recognises that we are no worse off now than we were before that boom period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

the culchies will be selling skinned rabbits n turnips to the dublin d4 crowd
    no more of your foie gras
    it will be boar bacon n duck eggs.
    all the dubs will have to come and work for the new rich
    the farmers [they are keeping their heads down at the minute]
    thats hoping brussell s dont go ar5e up
    then we all shagged
    butlins will be reopened just like the old days
    your sunday outing will be to drogheda
    just think of it
    trapsing around drogheda sucking a sweet and gawking at oliver plunketts
    decomposed skull in a glass case, wonderfull
    no more golfing trips to thailand
    just like dev said little homely fires dancing at the crossroads
    they might even bring back the riordans
    back to the good old days
    when we hadent a pot to piss in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

jakdelad wrote: »
    the culchies will be selling skinned rabbits n
    There'll be nobody feckin' skinning this rabbit!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop