Amir Khan v Paul McCloskey - Manchester, April 16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

corny wrote: »
    So you're saying the referee was sent signals during the fight because GB were getting worried or he was told prior if Paul is still there after 6 do your best? I find either hard hard to swallow tbh especially given how the fight panned out.

Why would it have to be during the fight?

I said earlier that this kinda' situation may have been discussed prior to the first bell. There is a lot of money riding on a Khan win. Boxing has a history of
    this kind of behaviour, where promoters and those involved can appoint certain officials and can sway a fight. It happens.

Anyone who has seen what happened and seen the cut has to think that
    something went on, and think that it's MORE than just incompetency on the ref and doctors part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Dusty87 wrote: »
    But it was pure brains when ali did it.

Ali was dishing out hard and swift counters all the way through that fight, probably landed more actual clean head shot's, so to compare Ali v the most fierce opponent ever is ridonkulis!! Ali=McCloskey haha

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

walshb wrote: »
    The only thing I can think of is that Golden Boy was getting worried, why, who knows, but worried maybe that Paul was still there, unhurt and with a miracle chance to score the KO. Me personally and others, think Paul had next to no chance, but if we had so much money on the outcome, how sure would we be? anyway, if they rematch I would expect a Khan victory, and without too much bother.

If how that was panning out is enough to get them worried then they would have been far too worried to put him against maidana (a fighter with a reputation of having a poor chin against a guy with a reputation for knocking people out)

colly10 wrote: »
    If how that was panning out is enough to get them worried then they would have been far too worried to put him against maidana (a fighter with a reputation of having a poor chin against a guy with a reputation for knocking people out)

Very valid point, and Maidana is a fighter we have used as logic behind Khan
    being able to go 12 rds at a fast pace and taking heavy shots, meaning he should have very very little trouble with Paul from rds 7-12.

So, who knows why the ref and doctor behaved the way they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

cowzerp wrote: »
    Ali was dishing out hard and swift counters all the way through that fight, probably landed more actual clean head shot's, so to compare Ali v the most fierce opponent ever is ridonkulis!! Ali=McCloskey haha

Ali-Foreman, Froch-Taylor I could go on.

To dismiss McCloskeys chances on stopping Khan is folly.

I agree that he McCloskey wasnt showing the fiercist of offences but they say that that was in their gameplan for the first half of the fight.

Most likely is that he wouldnt have been able to turn it around but the shadow of doubt hangs over the decision because of the dubious circumstances of the stoppage.

Which is a good thing for Team McCloskey and has glavinised his support.

McCloskey and Frampton to headline at the Odessey this summer! ;)

Folks aint dismissing, just finding it hard to envisage, and you cannot blame people, especially when you analyse what actually transpired in the first 6 rds.
    Add to it all the other factors presented here by posters, and it is Mt Everest to climb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

I agree that he McCloskey wasnt showing the fiercist of offences but they say that that was in their gameplan for the first half of the fight.

Most likely is that he wouldnt have been able to turn it around but the shadow of doubt hangs over the decision because of the dubious circumstances of the stoppage.

Which is a good thing for Team McCloskey and has glavinised his support.

McCloskey and Frampton to headline at the Odessey this summer!

Agree with this, don't think he would have turned it around but this may actually help him in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

colly10 wrote: »
    And what would the breif be ... in the event that my fighter has won every round, has taken no meaningful shots and his timing is improving and the other guy gets a cut over the eye that may get opened up and obscure his vision then i want you to stop the fight immediately

are you really naive enough to think that this type of thing doesnt go on in boxing...and other sports for that matter.
    cowzerp wrote: »

i hardly think the op was comparing mc closkey to ali. what he was saying was the whole rope a dope thing that ali employed in that fight was similar enough to the tactics employed by mc closkey the other night thats all

are you really naive enough to think that this type of thing doesnt go on in boxing...and other sports for that matter.

i hardly think the op was comparing mc closkey to ali. what he was saying was the whole rope a dope thing that ali employed in that fight was similar enough to the tactics employed by mc closkey the other night thats all

Similar?

I would say McCloskey is more similar to Ali than the tactics (in both fights) being similar...:confused: If that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

Of course it does, do you really think that they'd choose to employ that tactic when their man is up in every round, has not been forced to work hard, has been caught with nothing and has just had his best round? I personally find that naive, the stoppage is much more damaging to Khan than McCloskey, khan was starting to have more success and the stoppage took away his chance to impress, it's more positive for McCloskey cause it allows him to say he was robbed and tell everyone who'll listen that his was just wanting for his opportunity to knock him out
    You talk about using the rope a dope tactic, that involves forcing the other guy to work, I doubt Khan fought the first 6 rounds at a lower pace in a while, i'll check the punch stats in a while and see if he threw less punches than usual, he has also had to run in other fights but never had to in this one.

By the way, saying that was his plan A is laugable. Your basically saying that he went into the fight with zero intention of trying to win on point. So thats plan A, what if it doesn't work, what if Khan doesn't gass, your left with no plan B. Thats not consistent with what McCloskey said before the fight, he said you don't go in with A plan, you have to have a few and if one doesn't work you try something else. So if that was actually plan A what could he have changed to if it wasn't working?
    He also said that Khan's fast but he's good at countering and what matters is whether Khans speed or his counters were more effective. I think it was pretty obvious which one was

Similar?

I would say McCloskey is more similar to Ali than the tactics (in both fights) being similar...:confused: If that makes sense.

no not really but anyway in similar i mean holding back tiring the opponent for the later rounds which i think he was doing just that until the farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

So I was looking through my pictures of the week with McCloskey and came across this one - sure if it isnt Dr. Fraser himself, the very fella, on only from the same county as his mate Amir! Shur isnt dat grand eh!?

216862_161695743891784_100001540776116_380508_6023974_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,628 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

regarding the post fight interview:
    Had McCloskey won in such circumstances and conducted himself the same way in a post fight interview i'd agree. You can be sure had Khan lost in such circumstance he'd have had something to say about it.
    In any case I don't see how Breen's comments justifies Khan's. Khan should have risen above it as the victor.
    Khan, as i've stated, is a brilliant boxer, but I don't see why people feel the need to make excuses for someone whose talent they admire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

makl wrote: »

Would love to see that. Tough fight I'd imagine.

When will Khan rematch Prescott I wonder? Not saying he has to, but I would love to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,628 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I'd give Paul a fair chance in that one. Prescott has shown himself to be quite limited since the Khan fight, where he got lucky in my view. If Khan did rematch Prescott, i think Khan would win inside the distance

Prescott v Vazquez First, Last & Recap
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BfxzXfm7Yw

(cant embed youtube in last while for some reason)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Big Ears

When will Khan rematch Prescott I wonder? Not saying he has to, but I would love to see it.

Never, a fringe contender at Lightweight has no business in with the #1/#2 Light-Welterweight in the World. Despite what happened previously.

McCloskey would do a job on Prescott imo, perfect fight for Paul to gain some positive exposure Worldwide aswell and try and get himself back in World title contention.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Never, a fringe contender at Lightweight has no business in with the #1/#2 Light-Welterweight in the World. Despite what happened previously.

McCloskey would do a job on Prescott imo, perfect fight for Paul to gain some positive exposure Worldwide aswell and try and get himself back in World title contention.

As you know, I always felt that Khan was mismanaged in that fight a few years back; aged only 21 and in against a 24/25 year old who was heavy handed and could punch.

Khan has matured and strengthened since. He is no longer a skinny kid. Still, it would be interesting, and Khan
    would need to be very very careful. Prescott, is still "bigger," I mean, taller and looks the bigger man too.
    140 lbs is more Prescott's natural weight.

i think most fighters would want to have another crack at their conquerors even if its just for their own personal demons, probably be the same for the likes of andy lee too............ be a good fight for mc closkey to take, he should strike while the irons hot and get himself on the world scene. just watching malinaggi on tv last night he was decent enough but at the same time looked very beatable aswell.

Of course, the real champs, and true greats are those who step back into the fire that destroyed them. I know some great fighters never did avenge their defeats, or look to avenge their defeats, but those who did and went looking get an extra seal of approval from me. Lennox is one.

jaysus walshy thats twice now i think we've agreed. we'll be going for pints if this keeps up lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Even Kevin Mitchell boxed the ears off Prescott. Prescott is only good when he connects, he's just not a skilled boxer.

Boooourns wrote: »
    Even Kevin Mitchell boxed the ears off Prescott. Prescott is only good when he connects, he's just not a skilled boxer.

He's crude, wild and while a decent puncher isn't the ironfisted banger he was made out to be to following his destruction of Khan. Having to move up to 140 will eliminate some of his size advantages aswell.

He's just not that good.

Guys, if McCloskey had a good straight left he would be dangerous. We all know he is very good defensively but he needs to step up his offence. His lead right hook usually does the damage, or uppercuts. A good straight left would do wonders for him, a lot of orthodox fighters have no idea how to handle it.

While his right is certainly more potent(I suspect he may be right handed), his left isn't that bad. He heavily floored both Dean Harrison and Daniel Rasilla with craicing straight lefts. The problem is his footwork at times can be a bit poor and a little slow and as such he's not always in position to land the left. This was really highlighted in his fight with Khan, a fighter who possess brilliant footspeed and good footwork. Paul made Khan miss loads, but he just couldn't get in position to make him pay.

Thankfully for Paul's sake, most fighters(actually all at 140) have slower feet than Khan.

While his right is certainly more potent(I suspect he may be right handed), his left isn't that bad. He heavily floored both Dean Harrison and Daniel Rasilla with craicing straight lefts. The problem is his footwork at times can be a bit poor and a little slow and as such he's not always in position to land the left. This was really highlighted in his fight with Khan, a fighter who possess brilliant footspeed and good footwork. Paul made Khan miss loads, but he just couldn't get in position to make him pay.

Thankfully for Paul's sake, most fighters(actually all at 140) have slower feet than Khan.

He is right handed I think.

Khan's footwork is horrible, he has footspeed but his actual footwork is pathetic - all he does is gallop around the ring and lunge in.

I do agree it is Paul's footwork that takes away from his straight left. His stance is so narrow that he needs to turn to throw the straight left. He does this for defence, a lot harder to get hit when you are not squared up at all. This stance suits the lead hook though.

It's all about compromise I suppose.

Khan's footwork is horrible, he has footspeed but his actual footwork is pathetic - all he does is gallop around the ring and lunge in.

I do agree it is Paul's footwork that takes away from his straight left. His stance is so narrow that he needs to turn to throw the straight left. He does this for defence, a lot harder to get hit when you are not squared up at all. This stance suits the lead hook though.

It's all about compromise I suppose.

aye, i remember sayin that before here. same as me :rolleyes: len did make earlier that even with gameplan accounted for, his counter was still disappointing. but he may have still been trying to figure khan out. reminds me of watchin last 6 laps of some race with v rossi on the bikes. he spent the penultimate 4 practising his passing manouevres, edging level with gibernaud (think) at times, working it out to make sure it would succeed when needed, then in second last lap it worked perfectly. mccloskey in similar situation? maybe.

He is prone to coming in, in straight lines alright, and sometimes out in them aswell(but not nearly as often as he used to), but in terms of controlling his distance and range it's quite good. Helped of course by the fact his feet are so fast.

Khan's feet are fast as mentioned, but it's his overall use of his feet and balance on his feet that isn't great.