"WE should be prepared to bring this Republic to a complete standstill"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

^

Reminds me of this :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

OP, you offer a rant but no solutions. Making various threats to Union's is not going to help us.

What do you suggest, apart from 'breaking' the unions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

I don;t write this with any pleasure. It is not an opinion you will see in the oppressors propaganda channels of RTE or the suburban rags of the times or the independent - but is is out their in reality and I don;t see it being expressed. I hear this form farmers, tradesmen, technical staff, taximen etc etc it is comming.

RTE is propaganda? The Independent and times are rags? :eek: I can only read nuts or zoo to get my current affairs fix now?! What has the world come to...
    You had no time to listen to us. YOU were to concerns for your privilages. Soon you will be afraid to walk the streets.

Never threaten the people. We want our freedom. We don;t want your departments or regulators. It is our land not yours, our bodies not yours and if you keep insisting in stealing from the Irish people to line your pockets then you will ultimately have to leave Ireland or die, just like the oppressors before you, who also lived in Dublin and cared little for those outside their club.

Yes I want the freedom to run down Grafton Street without bieng attacked from aliens and nutjobs who are my opressers. :rolleyes:

Ireland will be a better place when it is over. Their will be a brief respite from small groups of idiots telling others how to live.

Are you not telling us how to live?
    You can bring this republic to a standstill for a while. Then you must leave it with your friends in the political parties and banks. You are unwanted and hated and so is the oppressive and petty laws and paperwork and taxes that pay for you. You cannot control the countryside or the streets at night and you will not be safe in your homes.

History repeats itself. You don;t have to be a genius to see what is coming.

2012 Prophecy. I will run to merrion square and shelter under the flowerbeds for fear of attacks and uprisings against my fellow countrymen :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Another failed stand up comic who has crawled out of his ET school to look down on the impoverished catholic mob who pay for his whims?

And here was me thinking that their ET school was a sure way to stand-up fame for my lads. :( Considering the majority of children in ET schools are Irish Catholics I don't see how they'd be looking down on the impoverished catholic mob, more like looking up from the impoverished catholic mob. My auld mammy would have said this about you, sure he was talkin' through his arse. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,632 ✭✭✭fliball123

FAILED COMICS JOIN THE CIVIL SERVICE!!!!!!!

Without doubt the post of the year...Bravo Orando...I applaud you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,632 ✭✭✭fliball123

I think the OP is just trying to state that we are in for a preiod of unrest..I dont think he articulated it too well..but he may well be speaking the truth..The fact is that people are losing all sense of self ...The PS will be cut, the welfare will be cut and taxes will increase..That hits 100% of the population..So add in Unions, The other Euro countries not being to happy to bail out other countries..IMO there will be a significante period of unrest over the next decade or so...and something that struck me as I was reading the Opening thread..Does anyone find it strange that the IRA are now active again which they up until recently they were very quiet for near on a decade???Is it because these guys cannot get jobs and idle hands tools of the devils or is it a prelude to the centenury of 1916...Mark my words do there will be blood spilt by the end of this decade..I dont condone it but there is an undercurrent of defiance starting to appear...So the question you have to ask is..Does that unmarked tin in aldi have beans or tuna

fliball123 wrote: »
    So the question you have to ask is..Does that unmarked tin in aldi have beans or tuna

Neither. German sausages imported from Berlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I heart OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

This country needs a national strike with as many people as possible marching in Dublin to demand a referendum on the bailout. The people are bailing out private institutions in foreign countries without even being asked. People will actually die as a result of these measures.

The public sector arent the bad guys in all of this. Something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

Ya, I think the OP has a point, its not well articulated alright, but you know what he's getting at.

@SparkyTech, you don't think that RTE is a propaganda tool? you poor lamb!

@Ulysses Gaze, breaking the unions can be a starting point.

@NTMK, the taxpayer doesn't actually owe a lot of the money you speak of, at all, in any way, shape or form. Sure the taxpayer is footing the bill, it is just been landed with the failed gambling debts of private institutions.

I find it strange (but that's not the best word for it) that 'calls to action' are greeted with such hostility and horror in this isle.

hatz7 wrote: »
    @SparkyTech, you don't think that RTE is a propaganda tool? you poor lamb!

The media is a representation of the people in power. RTE is not exempt form 'propaganda' bias influence from those heads in power who fund it. Neither is the BBC or FOX for that matter. Its up to members of the public to have an open skeptical mind and decide for themselves what constitutes bias and propaganda and to be media savvy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭p28559

I am like many other reaching breaking point with the oppressive and unwanted state and public sector and the oligarchy that preserves them so they may extract wealth from the people.

Ireland has become an extraordinarily petty and oppressive nation on everything to driving. to smoking, cannabis, tax and of course paperwork.

I think in a climate of national strikes by the oppressing that violence will return to Irish politics in a major way.

The sooner that civil 'servants' realise that those who pay for them view comissions, regulators and those who send them post with threats about fines and jail sentences for not filling in forms, that rob from the mouths of the Irish peoples children for their pensions - that they are viewed as no better than the old occupants of dublin castle.

I don;t write this with any pleasure. It is not an opinion you will see in the oppressors propaganda channels of RTE or the suburban rags of the times or the independent - but is is out their in reality and I don;t see it being expressed. I hear this form farmers, tradesmen, technical staff, taximen etc etc it is comming.

You had no time to listen to us. YOU were to concerns for your privilages. Soon you will be afraid to walk the streets.

Never threaten the people. We want our freedom. We don;t want your departments or regulators. It is our land not yours, our bodies not yours and if you keep insisting in stealing from the Irish people to line your pockets then you will ultimately have to leave Ireland or die, just like the oppressors before you, who also lived in Dublin and cared little for those outside their club.

I am not advocating this. It is just a fact. It is as certain to happen as rain.

Ireland will be a better place when it is over. Their will be a brief respite from small groups of idiots telling others how to live.

You can bring this republic to a standstill for a while. Then you must leave it with your friends in the political parties and banks. You are unwanted and hated and so is the oppressive and petty laws and paperwork and taxes that pay for you. You cannot control the countryside or the streets at night and you will not be safe in your homes.

you know I like the fact that you need a licence to drive....:eek:... that you cant sell drugs to my kids and that smoking is banned in certain places( i do love to smoke) and do you know the taxi man who charged me 30 quid to drive for 20 mins was happy to take my money. as for the farmers the auld EU grant scheme is hard going. would the technical staff and tradesmen be the same as the architects and builders.......:confused:
    that petty anti litter law about not throwing your paperwork all over the road is working well most days...........:cool:

there are a few unoccupied islands of the west coast. perhaps you might do a 10 year trial of your new system over there while the rest of us work our way to the future..............;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

I am like many other reaching breaking point with the oppressive and unwanted state and public sector and the oligarchy that preserves them so they may extract wealth from the people.

Ireland has become an extraordinarily petty and oppressive nation on everything to driving. to smoking, cannabis, tax and of course paperwork.

I think in a climate of national strikes by the oppressing that violence will return to Irish politics in a major way.

The sooner that civil 'servants' realise that those who pay for them view comissions, regulators and those who send them post with threats about fines and jail sentences for not filling in forms, that rob from the mouths of the Irish peoples children for their pensions - that they are viewed as no better than the old occupants of dublin castle.

I am not advocating this. It is just a fact. It is as certain to happen as rain.

hahahahaha....good joke mate, great laughs to be had. Raaaaaage against that machine young man. Eventually one of your anonymous posts on the interwebs will kickstart that revolution. Probably when you hit about 10K posts. Only 9994 to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Burn it all down!11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Thread delivers.

Moar insane first posts by angry undergraduates please boards.

I thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

The OP is going way overboard. But in this Republic there does exist some sort apathy amongst the general population. It seems that everyone is willing to go along with things like sheep that affect their life's. I'm talking cuts to wages , the burden of a banking bailout on the population, the decline of society as a whole i.e. tolerating corruption at the highest levels and scumbags roaming the streets and in some cases owning them.

I just read a thread about some poor boardsies brother who was loafed by a scumbag and nothing was done about it by the guards and even if they did nothing would come of it. I seriously wonder why nothing is done about the problems that we face as a whole. Why people are not up in arms for legislation to be brought in. Its as if people are all for it as long as it doesn't involve them. Thats not active citizenship. Instead we have people ringing Joe Duffy and even here (which im doing, ill admit :confused:) complaining.

I'm not sure of the exact quote so ill para-phrase what Garret Fitzgerald said of the moedern Irish populace and their Zeitgeist. 'Extraordinary weak sense of any public interest and extreme passivity of public opinion'

Grassroots movements I think are key to the bettering of our society. But it requires effort and participation which seems to be lacking from our society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

at least michael collins could write. i fear the only rabble you'll rile up will be from a mental health institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

You should start a facebook protest.

I hear they change the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Go for it OP. Do what ever you feel is right. PM me if you're looking for footsoldiers in your protest marches. ( Available most evenings after 6.30 except tues and thurs ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Rodin wrote: »
    What do YOU do?

Post angry ill thought out diatribes?

It's a growth market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Take a breath...wait til you get out of college! These ideas sound great in your head but the world is far more comlicated to place all the corruption on one area or group of bodies!

Don't blow up anything now and take off that eye makeup

By the way maybe i is ignarant but whats an "ET school".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Id say the OP has a bit of a hangover this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

cursai wrote: »

By the way maybe i is ignarant but whats an "ET school".

An educate together school. they're multi-denominational schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

NTMK wrote: »
    An educate together school. they're multi-denominational schools

Ah sure they're a great idea!! Whats the op giving out about them for?

SARCASM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

I would be in favour of some kind of peaceful revolution - a revolution of the mind. An intellectual movement - something lacking in our society today. It won't be done through violence of course, and I wouldn't condone such actions but I accept it will take generations for us to reach a more "enlightened" place among our collective mentalities.

There are a lot of problems in Ireland - essentially, we are extraordinarily conservative and when LP and FG were voted it, it just cemented that status quo. We don't like change, as a people. The people of Dublin are more liberal than the midlands, but that is normal in every nation - the problem with us, is perhaps we've been so isolated as a people on this island.

As I said, it will take a complete overhaul of our attitudes towards life and each other if we are ever going to elect intelligent men to our highest offices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I would be in favour of some kind of peaceful revolution - a revolution of the mind. An intellectual movement - something lacking in our society today. It won't be done through violence of course, and I wouldn't condone such actions but I accept it will take generations for us to reach a more "enlightened" place among our collective mentalities.

There are a lot of problems in Ireland - essentially, we are extraordinarily conservative and when LP and FG were voted it, it just cemented that status quo. We don't like change, as a people. The people of Dublin are more liberal than the midlands, but that is normal in every nation - the problem with us, is perhaps we've been so isolated as a people on this island.

As I said, it will take a complete overhaul of our attitudes towards life and each other if we are ever going to elect intelligent men to our highest offices.

We should go a for a few pints to

A) celebrate this milestone of lateral thinking

and

B) to further elucidate our rationales behind this landmark realisation.

and

C) Sure a few pints are grand.

WHO'S WITH ME????!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

IM SO MAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LET DO NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Never threaten the people. We want our freedom.

Take a leaf from the book of William Wallace.
    Paint your face half blue, don a kilt and stand on the O'Connell Street monument spreading the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

What exactly do you think Irelands nominally RC rural and non state urban populations political culture is when presented with poverty and a bunch of idiots that right down to titles like commisioner are apeing that which which was set up to extract and export wealth from India?

Least comprehensible sentence I have read this month. Bravo, sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

We should go a for a few pints to

A) celebrate this milestone of lateral thinking

and

B) to further elucidate our rationales behind this landmark realisation.

and

C) Sure a few pints are grand.

WHO'S WITH ME????!!!

I'll come along.

But the fact remains that nobody has the drive to really change anything. A lot of my friends in University wanted to sign petitions for new parties, organise events with speakers to facilitate the right. Others, some Rothbardians, some not - just wanted to create different options for those disenchanted voters.

Many people say they want to get involved, they'll talk the talk, but no one and I mean, no one - wants to walk the walk. It's fine saying that you want a change - but unless you are willing to give up a significant amount of personal time to hit the streets, donate money to advertising campaigns and canvas for trustworthy individuals, then what is the point?

When the electorate hit the ballot boxes, they're more concerned with who is going to send them more freebies, more entitlements and higher wages. In general, the population know less about economics, political science and whatever philosophy or ideology they would most likely agree with having little motivation in the running of the country. People think FG are going to bring back the glory days - most don't understand that those glory days were imaginary...it was imaginary money that created the invisible castle. That is not life.

Nobody is interested in a government that will balance the books. That's why Libertarians are pretty much laughed at - as a people, we love the nanny-state, we need government to take care of us from cradle to grave. It would be such a kick up the arse for most in this country having lived on welfare all their life to wake up in a world where they need to be responsible for themselves. They've been molly-coddled and wouldn't last a month.