Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Bigtoe on my right foot the toenail was discoloured. It has swollen to double its size. I was touching the nail and boom a huge blister behind the nail bursts. Full of blood too. Looks like im in a bit of trouble:(

Ah, its just an Ultra Runner's little war wound, get used to it. Actually, dont get too attached to your toenail, because it wont be attached to you for much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

maith an buachaill oisin. much better report than usual ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Bigtoe on my right foot the toenail was discoloured. It has swollen to double its size. I was touching the nail and boom a huge blister behind the nail bursts. Full of blood too. Looks like im in a bit of trouble:(
    Treat it as a badge of honour. You are not a real Ultra runner until at least one toe-nail falls off. Its not a big deal; I lost one of mine in the week before I ran the Florence marathon and I coped fine without it. It's only painful when you are in a South American prison cell having it pulled out with pincers by the secret police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,530 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

mithril wrote: »
    Treat it as a badge of honour. You are not a real Ultra runner until at least one toe-nail falls off. Its not a big deal; I lost one of mine in the week before I ran the Florence marathon and I coped fine without it. It's only painful when you are in a South American prision cell having it pulled out with pincers by the secret police.
    Damnit. All my toenails cling for their very lives! Have never lost one, but there's always hope.

Great report Oisin. Might see you at the start line next year if you head back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Thanks lads. Actually lost the toenail on my other big toe straight after the race. I think this one will take a while to fall off. @ mithril i think my splits were something like 1.52, 1.51, 1.47.
    @ krusty see you at the starting line although you'll surely be aiming for at least sub 5 so not for long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I know this will sound disgusting but if it is hanging off your probably just best to pull it off as it will heal up quicker. It is not painful at all unlike when you snag the loose nail as you are putting on your socks....now that is sore!! I should be in the secret police that Mithril mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

@ mithril i think my splits were something like 1.52, 1.51, 1.47.
    I was hinting beforehand that negative splits were something exceptional for Connemara, and it was not a good idea to factor them into a race plan, but that's exactly what you ran - an exceptional race. The marathon length training runs you were knocking out consistently probably made the difference on Sunday.

mithril wrote: »
    I was hinting beforehand that negative splits were something exceptional for Connemara, and it was not a good idea to factor them into a race plan, but that's exactly what you ran - an exceptional race. The marathon length training runs you were knocking out consistently probably made the difference on Sunday.
    Yeah your right about the marathon lenght runs i think. Also 3 weeks before i did 3 longs runs of ~20 thatn week.
    No matter how hard you train when you go beyond a distance you have never done its a leap into the beyond. When 29 came i felt strong as an ox. Partly training and partly my nutrition strategy i think. I think i could have taken about 5 mins off that time without blowing up i think.
    Shocking news about eddie has brought the euphoria of finishing storng into perspective though.
    Let my toe heal up then the 100k in portumna i think, gotta get my thinking cap on for that 1 and work out a strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Well done again on Sunday! Don’t mind the others, I didn’t think your report was sh1te…your salsa dancing on the other hand...! Ha. Running is easy! :)

claralara wrote: »
    Well done again on Sunday! Don’t mind the others, I didn’t think your report was sh1te…your salsa dancing on the other hand...! Ha. Running is easy! :)
    Yeah it was a great night. Its a pity that jobsworth wouldnt serve you in the residents bar. As for my dancing, im self thought, although you think i was profesionally trained:D

Mixed day today. Said i would do a long run with 3 lads out of the job. Im know im not 100% over conn yet but im about 90% id say so no hassle. First mile was feeling grand. Met the lads and we startd and i had a heavy heavy fall over a little dip in the ground. Hands andright leg cut to absolutebits. Took me a while to get ok enough to start again. Took in a monster climb around 13 miles. It felt like a monster anyway. Finished in good nick.
    20.05 miles. Just a few short 1s between now and limerick.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/79322235

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Mixed day today. Said i would do a long run with 3 lads out of the job. Im know im not 100% over conn yet but im about 90% id say so no hassle. First mile was feeling grand. Met the lads and we startd and i had a heavy heavy fall over a little dip in the ground. Hands andright leg cut to absolutebits. Took me a while to get ok enough to start again. Took in a monster climb around 13 miles. It felt like a monster anyway. Finished in good nick.
    20.05 miles. Just a few short 1s between now and limerick.

You're out doing 20 milers already :eek: Thought your toe was f***ed?

i had a heavy heavy fall over a little dip in the ground. Hands andright leg cut to absolutebits. Took me a while to get ok enough to start again.

You talking about your salsa dancing again? You said you were self taught.

Aimman wrote: »
    You talking about your salsa dancing again? You said you were self taught.
    No skill involved in this fall, superman style:D
    menoscemo wrote: »
    You're out doing 20 milers already :eek: Thought your toe was f***ed?
    Its grand now, it was killing for a couple of days but i was cleanng and dressing it and its grand now:D

5 miles last night. Took it handy. 1 mile around 8.40 and 3 around 8.15 and last 1 7.43 i think. Right leg was fcuking killing me from the fall i had on friday oh and my bigtoe nail came off finally so its grand now.

All my niggles are deffo gone now after conn. The 2 nails are off and healing nicely and no more pain from the right foot.
    Went out for a small un to test the legs. Felt very strong near the end.:D
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/80243251

Weds 7.3 miles at 7.45 a mile. Very very hot, didnt have garmin but had a look at kens stats afterwards.
    Today 10 miles @ 7.30 a mile started off very very easy and put a bit of effort in towards the end. Enjoyed this run.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/80645334
    Oh yeah looks like ill be doing the conn 100 mile race. Say a prayer for me:D
    Edit #2 haha, first run tonight in my new lunarglides, nice:D

100 miles you mad bstd. Just noticed from the garmin link you posted that i used to live close by.

yesterday after work, just a small run to get over 40 for the week.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/81179585

Great day today. A west of Ireland marathon that the lads had kindly agreed to dedicate to eddie murphys memory. Stayed last night in Eamonns dargan partners (Ally) house in longford and we were treated like kings. I broke all my rules reagrding post race eating. I ate big and spicy. It was all absolutly beautiful and home made. Up early this morning for the drive to Galway
    A few words by ray o connor and some lively banter among the group and we were off.These sort of marathons are always kinda strange at the start, no1 bolts out to the front. Handy few miles in a group with pat (Fast starter:D) o keefe and Eamonn . It was around mile 5 the stomach started playing up and i needed the toilet. Borrowed 20 cent off pat and went to the first public toilets. Out of order, noes. Losing time hand over fist didnt impress me even though i was taking it very handy today. Got to the second set of toilets and only 1 of 4 was working and there was a queue. Noes.
    All in all i lost about 4 mins. I caught meno and mitril and i ran with them for 4 or 5 miles till meno needed the toilet bad and we lost him. We got to half in a super slow time and mitril asked me if i fancied running the second half in 8 min miles. Why yes sir i would:D
    We did 4ish miles just under 8 mins when pat stopped at his car to get some water and forgot to lock it and had to go back. I Didnt reconnect with him after this and ran at a pace that felt comfortable till the end. I could have broke 3.20 on that course today no problem but time is irrelevent today to be honest. I did really enjoy the second half though as i worked up a sweat and earned my dinner.
    Back to the Galway bay hotel with the masses for a lovely dinner included in the race price btw. Drive home took less than 2 hours.
    Ill be down to 1 or 2 more of these before the year is out i reckon if i can bum a lift of 1 of the dublin lads going down:D
    Good day, great weather.
    Special shout out to the girl who did her first marathon today, jesus christ what a dousie to pick. Also to finn who pb,d again.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/81523263

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Stomach problems the order of the day I think. :rolleyes: I put it down to the pre-race road trip that took place at the time of normal pre-race activites that prevent such things. :pac:

Just signed up for the 100k in portumna. cant wait:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I might see you there, might go for the 50k and give up at 43k just to wreck everyones heads. :D

Ill drag you the last 7k:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

becuase marathons are just too damn easy....:)

Fair play frank - will be following the log with interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Fair play Oisin.. Serious step up but it will b no problem 2 u.....Was going to sign up myself but unfortunately it clashes with the Dunshaughlin 10k :D:eek:....All joking aside maybe in 2012 I might give it a lash....

Best of Luck with the training...

I can see the 100k being no bother to you, plenty of endurance to call on.

Got off work a bit early so decided after a nap to do 10 miles handy. Great night for running.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/81996805

10 miles easy enough. Another great day for running.
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/82301293

Stayed last night in Eamonns dargan partners (Ally) house in longford and we were treated like kings. I broke all my rules reagrding post race eating. I ate big and spicy. It was all absolutly beautiful and home made. Up early this morning for the drive to Galway

Just to alleviate any fears, it wasn't the home made cooking. Ally and Clo were fine the next day. Think is was just the big feeds, ultra early start and lack of available "conveniences" at the start line.

We'll eat lighter in Portumna before the 100k. Bonus that we'll have the kitchen etc to use. We can scale down the food so that you only eat like a Prince or a Duke ( Not referencing the fact that they are popular dog's names:D)