Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Itziger wrote: »
    Great stuff. I've had a peak at your race progress and the following makes fantastic reading - the position you were in at 5 k intervals.

Sweet. Improved your race position every single marker. I know that's not why we run but it's still nice to see.
    Yeah there were alot of people suffering. Nice and steady and you cut through the field like a knife. Myself and brian were going through huge groups of 20+ at a time. I think i was only passed by 1 or 2 people after 10 miles.

Got over to Barca on saturday and seemed to have problems everywhere. Problems with the flights my mate ken booked, he had me down as ms so i had to queue to get a name change in the airport. Hotel made me wait for 3 hours+ to check in even thought a premiem had been paid for an early check in. My phone didnt roam when it should have so i had no phone and to cap it all off my garmin was bonked.

Had agreed to run with briantherunner so agreed to meet him under the big pillars just before the start. Meet himself and jackyback around 30 mins before the race and brian looked very nervous. Had a **** sleep myself the night before so i was feeling ok but not great. Myself and brian were due to start off in different pens so i decided to drop back a pen to start with him. Some spanish midget had other ideas and wouldnt let me in the next pen. We tried to explain to him i could drop back as many pens as i wanted but he had no english so it was pointless and i went to the top pen. It was like being in a showroom for sweeping brush handles. Some super skinny guys in there. Funny thing was just before the start they moved the barriers and i could walk back into the next pen so it was all pointless anyway not letting me in.

Race started and it only took me and brian a min to meet up so that was grand. Took me a while to settle in and we lost about 30 secs off our pace in the first 5 km as it was mostly a long grag but i intended going out a little slow so all was going to plan. First 5km 23.02.
    We decided to gain the 30 secs we had last over the next 5 or 10km and try to gain a little buffer of maybe a min so we slightly increased the pace. The little drags and downhills kept coming as we went by the nou camp and i was feeling the pace on the little ups but was grand on the downhills and we were gaining time on them also. The water stations are amazing over there to be honest and i started hydrating from the first one. Bottle of water and bottle of powerade. Drank both at 5k and 10k and then as much as i needed from then on. Went through a little rough patch on a drag at about 10 miles were the breathing got a little quicker but the next little downhill sorted that out. Second 5km was 22.10 so nearly back on pace. Third was 22.34 so status quo there and nearly bang on pace.

It was around 11 or 12k i think we started noticing the baloons we thought were the sub 3 baloons were coming back to us. We were running 7.15 miles so it was very peculiar to be honest. We caught them between 10 miles and half way and realised it was the 3.15 pacers that had done of way to face and were about 5 mins up on the pace they should have been doing. It took us about 2 km to get by them as they had the whole road taken up with there group. We left them behind and soon put a big gap between us. 4th 5km was 22.23 which put us 2 secs up on pace i think:D
    It was at this stage we could see the faster runners going through half and i seen theboyblunder and mcarni looking good going through half.
    When we approaching half oursleves i saw jackyback looking stroung and on course for sub 3.20. We went through half a few secs under 1.35 so spot on pacing. The littles ups and downs kept coming and the 5th 5km came in at 22.15 which gave us a little buffer but not much. We turned for an out and back at this stage and another chance to see the faster boys on the other side but much futher away so i didnt recognice and one. We turned and we had some beautiful shade from some big buildings, i think they were factories. We passed the 30k mat and we were both feeling really good The 6th 5km was 22.09 and the fastest ofthe day. There was banter about how good we both felt and it agreed that we had both never felt this good at 30k in a marathon. Brian muted the idea of speeding up and 3.08 , 3.09 were started to become his new target. I advised him to keep a bit in reserve as we were just about to turn onto the coast for about 5k were we would hav no protection from the heat and the last few k were up hill.
    The heat on the coast although not a killer was very unwelcome and you could see alot of walkers at this stage. I think it was about 33k brian stated to up him pace an i matched it. I think we were doing about 7 min miles at this stage and i decided to drop back and let him o for it. The 7th 5km camp in at 22.49 so i did suffer a little from the heat and lost a good chuck of my time in hand. You can see on my 35km video im about 20 metres behijnd brain but still in ok nick i think. We finally got out of the sun and brain was slowly but surely pulling away from me.Id say at a guess he was going about 20 secs a mile faster. I started feeling rough this stage and the sponge and water stations and the support was a great boost. Brain had about a 150 metre lead on me at this stage and he was looking good from what i could see but i turned a corner about 38k and he was standing still. The increase in pace had made him cramp. I said best of luck and ploughed on The 8th 5km camp in at 23.14 and the slowest of the day. I knew at this state i wasnt getting under 3.10 but could get 3.10 itselfs if i dug deep. At 40km you pass so close to the finish you can nearly see it which is a boot in the bollox if your suffering and i think at this stage everybody was. Saw racoonqueen at 41k and she roared push it for the last 1km. This was it i thought to myself im going no faster than this. My stomach was started to feel bad but i had at least 1 more km in me easy. We turned towards the finish and i saw what i though was the finish line ad i got picked up a little speed i didnt think i had left to find it wasnt the finish and it was about 500 metres away. I was gutted but got to the finish but was in bits. You can see me with hands o hips and my tongue sticking out.

Waited for brian to finish and he did about a minute behind me. Jackyback finished in 3.19 so did chsisteb. We waited for menoseco to finish but didnt know he had already finished in 3.24 and had passed us. I had to wait a while for my time as i didnt have watch andthe finish clock was runing on the elite times so no use to me. During the race i took gels at 9k, 18k, 27k and 35k and water and powerade at every station.

Have to say im absolutly delighted with that. The finish was tough but i hung in ther and was always passing people till the end. Meet up with all the boards people after a showe and a bite to eat and a great night was had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Great stuff well done. Promise me you won't be reminding me about how stupid i was every time you see me again. :pac:

You learn a little bit every race mate. One day one will go perfect:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Great run and report Frank. You forgot to mention its a BQ as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Well done Frank... It was a pleasure to meet u for a beer and finally put a face on the name ( u mad Ba!!ard ) :D

Great run and report Frank. You forgot to mention its a BQ as well :)
    Yeah it wouldnt get me in under the new system when speed merchants like you are finished:D

10 miles today at 8.45. Some leg pain starting off but grand by the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Congratulations on a fantastic time, well done.

Hard day at the office. Am kinda sick that i cant run with the lads the weekend so ecided since im of work till friday ill do the damage today. I know ill never do 30 on my own so planned 20 today and with some fatigue from barca it would mimick some of the conditions in conn.

8.55 vrooooooooommm
    Ended up doing 24 on a very flat course with some little incines. The slower mies apart fo th first one were into a decent headwind and vise versa the fast ones were with it at my back
    Tired butin good nick. Bring on conn:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

You're a sicko doing 34 miles in the last 2 days after Barca. I struggled to do 10 in the same time, though hopefully should be good for 30 by saturday :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

menoscemo wrote: »
    You're a sicko doing 34 miles in the last 2 days after Barca.
    Was thinking exactly the same thing. I was going to chance 3 after the Spurs game...

You're a sicko doing 34 miles in the last 2 days after Barca. I struggled to do 10 in the same time, though hopefully should be good for 30 by saturday :pac:
    Yeah thats the thin i wont getto do another 30 i dont think.

13.1 miles
    8.22 average
    Wanted to do another 20 but hadnt got the time. In work so dont have mile splits as my watch is at home.
    Thats 47 miles since barca. Plan 15 for Sunday so hopefully 62 over 4 sessions for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,528 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Jaysus, look after yourself. You must be bullet-proof.

Ive got the conn ultra and a 5 in 5 and a double marathon so ive got to make the miles feel easy i think. Still 3 rest days this week so im feeling fine. All the miles handy.

Was going to do 15 today and 10 tomorrow. Decided to take an extra rest day today and do them all tomorrow. Think ill do 30 miles maybe 50k. Going to be a long one:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Nice to meet up with you in Barca, and well done in the marathon.

That's some amount of miles run since!

Long day.
    Didnt get out till 5.30 so knew id be running in the dark before long.
    Decided to change watch to km to see if it had any effect mentally. Found the kms great in barca. Plan was to run a marathon jnd finish strong and then stop for 1 min rest and reset the watch and run another 6.2 km.
    200 metres 57 @4.45 pace.
    5.02 Average and 3.33.02 for the maathon ad a litte negative split:D
    Last 3 km up a medium size hill thats why the pace dropped a little.
    Stopped and drank a can ofcoke and ran 6.1 km slower
    100 metres in 30 secs
    30 miles for the day and im ****ed:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

You can't be outdone eh? And Marathon in 3:33 :eek: I think it took us 4:10 on saturday. That's like faster than goal pace in Conn?

What route did you take? I bet you ran the marathon distance with no water too?

You can't be outdone eh? And Marathon in 3:33 :eek: I think it took us 4:10 on saturday. That's like faster than goal pace in Conn?

What route did you take? I bet you ran the marathon distance with no water too?
    Very flat except for thelast 2 or 3 k. Basically up and down the coast from sutton to clontarf taking in all the detours like the wodden bridge ect..
    If you use all of these 1 lenght is nearly 10 miles
    Can of coke and a bottle of club energise and a mars bar after the marathon, nothing before. Yeah its way faster thn goal pace but no hills so it all averages out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Fair play getting that distance in on a school night and at a decent click!! you are flying.

Great night for running. Really still with no real breeze. Not working today or tomorrow so its grand:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Great night for running. Really still with no real breeze. Not working today or tomorrow so its grand:p

Yeah i was out myself tonight for a short little jaunt compared to your session:)

You probably swam 10 miles before your run and cycled 100:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    You probably swam 10 miles before your run and cycled 100:D

I was thinking more along the lines of this tbh :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I was thinking more along the lines of this tbh :pac:

Hmmmm...any swimmers fancy a relay? :pac:

Tues-nothing
    Weds-nothing
    Thurs-nothing:eek:
    Today
    300 metres in 1 min
    2.47 for 32.2km in 5.13 average

First 6km on my own and next 21ish with 2 lads from the job and the last 5km on my own.
    2 runs for the week and 50 miles, strange week:D

Aborted run yesterday. Left hammer very very tight:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Blimey! It took me a second to realise you have gone metric. I thought you had suddenly speeded up to warp speed after all your recent training. :D

Haha yeah i find the kms easier mentally for some reason.
    250 metres in 1.14
    1h23m09s
    5.07 average
    out at 4am, great morning for running, pity i have to go to work or id have done at least another 10 miles.