Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭RAH1

prinz wrote: »
    Look at what the Big 4 have done over the last few years. Lot's of years well spent studying alright. At least the gardaí in Mayo knew what due diligence means.

HaHa.so after they did their due diligence they regarded the women to be such a threat that they arrested them and let them go after an hour?when you say big 4 i persume you mean the accountancy firms.the banks were the bigger issue there and im sure again there was lack of care on all parts but that still doesn't excuse letting any tom dick or harry join the gaurds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

RAH1 wrote: »
    HaHa.so after they did their due diligence they regarded the women to be such a threat that they arrested them and let them go after an hour?when you say big 4 i persume you mean the accountancy firms.the banks were the bigger issue there and im sure again there was lack of care on all parts but that still doesn't excuse letting any tom dick or harry join the gaurds

They were arrested because they wouldn't give a name. They were released when they gave their details (without having to rape them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

HaHa.so after they did their due diligence they regarded the women to be such a threat that they arrested them and let them go after an hour?

The due diligence had nothing to do with arresting them, it had to do with getting them safely off the tractor.
    when you say big 4 i persume you mean the accountancy firms.the banks were the bigger issue there and im sure again there was lack of care on all parts but that still doesn't excuse letting any tom dick or harry join the gaurds

It's called audit for a reason chap. I thought years of education thought you that? How a major firm of auditors missed huge amounts being transferred in and out, just before and just after the year end to bump the balance sheet. Yeah auditors were on top form. I come to the conclusion that they'll let any Tom Dick and Harry get an accountancy qualification these days. Must be some education they get.

See how easy that is to draw conclusions about thousands on people on the actions of a few?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭RAH1

The due diligence had nothing to do with arresting them, it had to do with getting them safely off the tractor.

It's called audit for a reason chap. I thought years of education thought you that? How a major firm of auditors missed huge amounts being transferred in and out, just before and just after the year end to bump the balance sheet. Yeah auditors were on top form. I come to the conclusion that they'll let any Tom Dick and Harry get an accountancy qualification these days. Must be some education they get.

See how easy that is to draw conclusions about thousands on people on the actions of a few?

Clearly that was retarded with what happened with anglo. im not here to defend auditors and I said in other threads that there are plenty of good gaurds but my main point is that the gaurds is an accident waiting to happen if perspective members are not vetted properly and meet high standards of entry requirements for a job that is so sensitive and important to the country and the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Clearly that was retarded with what happened with anglo. im not here to defend auditors and I said in other threads that there are plenty of good gaurds but my main point is that the gaurds is an accident waiting to happen if perspective members are not vetted properly and meet high standards of entry requirements for a job that is so sensitive and important to the country and the people

They are. It doesn't mean people don't mistakes, or have a lapse of judgement. You train people for 10+ years and they could still make a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's being blown out of all proportion in any case, whether people see it as acceptable or not, and that can't be changed now. Have you seen the headline that the Belfast Telegraph ran with today?
    Garda rape probe: Young women tell of terror during arrest

Of course Gardai should be granted the same graces as regular citizens and allowed to exercise free speech but the problem has gone beyond what jokes were made at this stage. It's the reaction to the whole thing that is more damaging. AGS need to act quickly for the simple reason that if they don't save face now then it won't be healed by the next time something like this happens.

The guys making the jibes were in uniform and the video managed to make it into the public realm.. it's unfortunate but it's too late to change that now.

The best thing would be for the lads in question to be made to issue a statement of apology and for the Garda Commissioner to reiterate that such behaviour is not seen as acceptable in a professional context within the organisation. The amount of arguing that's taking place over this is pointless, and trying to justify why no action should be taken only exacerbates the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Locked Messed Monster

Thank fuk some of the things I say when I hang up the phone from customers isn't heard. :o

I'd be fuked by this threads standards :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Ozzie

How in the name of God is there 1400+ posts on this. Jesus, the country is on its knees here and ye're preoccupied with this!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

They are. It doesn't mean people don't mistakes, or have a lapse of judgement. You train people for 10+ years and they could still make a mistake.

Well I agree that it was a lapse of judgement but the effects of women wanting to report rape could be exceptional so hopefully a full and frank apology is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

k_mac wrote: »
    Good post. There are many people commenting on this without a proper understanding of or experience with the issues involved.

One of the political comments today mentioned that rape should not be trivialised. For some people that is the only way to deal with the issue, be they Gardaí, counsellors or victims.

I think I heard Joe Higgins said something about the comments making it feel like a dangerous occupational force was in charge. I think the media coverage and comments from people like him and the so called "vicitm" will do more to insult and demean the real victims than anything those Gardaí said.

I concur, for me there would be a lot of posts where "the lady doth protest too much methinks". Don't get me wrong rape is a terrible crime, and the actual destruction that it can cause should never under-estimated. However, I don't think I have seen such mass hysteria since Lady Di's death, and I have avoided most of the media reporting on the topic for that very reason, as I don't believe we are getting a balanced perspective on it.

I will openly acknowledge that there are problems in how some members of AGS effect their duties, however, do I see this as representative of the entire force? No.

As I have said I have a good bit of experience around sexual violence, but my job brings me into contact with a lot of difficult situations, I lose a few clients to ODs every year, work with people who have HIV and basically a significant amount of my patients have experienced horrific life’s. However, I also work with people who carry out criminal activities, and a fair amount of them would be the type that often carries public outrage.

The clinical team I would work with covers a wide range of various disciplines, I heard staff make comments and have made them myself which would provoke the same type of outrage as we are seeing here. However, the big thing would be that they are made out of reach of patients, and are often a way of dealing with the impact that dealing with such topics have on the human psyche. Burn out can be a significant issue in my area, and such remarks are a way of working through that.

Whereas I have worked with people who are just not suitable to work in the area, for most of the staff I have worked with over the past 15 years; making such remarks/jokes etc has never affected the staff member’s ability to work with people in a professional manner. I personally don't care about a person making occasional comments out of earshot of patients; what I care about is the person’s ability to carry out their duty of care to the patient in a respectful and professional manner.

A joke/comment made in private by a person who I know has the ability to perform his/her duties in a professional manner is what I care about, and I would not judge a persons ability to do that based upon what they consider to be a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Thank fuk some of the things I say when I hang up the phone from customers isn't heard. :o

I'd be fuked by this threads standards :/

Are you a Gardai?? - if not then your comment is totally irrelevant:rolleyes:

Ozzie wrote: »
    How in the name of God is there 1400+ posts on this. Jesus, the country is on its knees here and ye're preoccupied with this!!!

Don't look in this forum then!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ozzie wrote: »

It's a current affair in our country right now.

Unless you haven't noticed, there is a million + posts on AH on how our country is on it's knees. Look around, it's not in one tidy thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Well I agree that it was a lapse of judgement but the effects of women wanting to report rape could be exceptional so hopefully a full and frank apology is coming.

Geniune question. Do you really believe that this would stop someone of either sex reporting a rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

smeedyova wrote: »
    a) Making racist remarks while on duty (as evidenced when they refer to one of their victims as a "yank"),

b) Planning the rape of a woman in their custody,

c) Marginalising members of the public who they are supposed to protect (as evidenced in saying that one of the victims is from the "crusty camp"),

d) Abusing their power by planning to "get immigration" on the "yank", even though there was no reason to get immigration involved,

e) Bullying of a colleague (as evidenced when one guard insists that they claim that the road was obstructed, even though it clearly wasn't),

f) Perverting the course of justice (see above).

Anything else?

They should be sacked for gross incompetence, if nothing else.

Sorry but can I have some of whatever you're taking? Because it's giving you some paranoid trip.

You are totally overreacting/misinterpreting jokey baner for malintent. It would be a shocking miscarriage of justice if these Gardaí were sacked.

I was watching Enda Kenny's reaction earlier on, and while he had to give a very political answer I couldn't but think his face was saying "ohh FFS why do I have to deal with this non-story" or some such.

I cannot believe this thread has 1,400+ replies. Just shows some people have nothing better to do than moan about the Gardaí. I made the point that when this blows over, there'll be another thread about bankers or something. It's nothing more than a storm in a fúcking teacup and most of the begrudgers here know that and just refuse to let it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Geniune question. Do you really believe that this would stop someone of either sex reporting a rape?

It's an unnecessary contribution to existing dissuasive pressures.

As for why I'm reluctant to let it go, as dismaying as I found the Garda's remarks, I found the reaction to them even more depressing. It's one thing to argue about how serious the problem is - it's quite another not to even recognise the right problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

I think this is being blown all out of proportion, because it was a conversation amongst themselves. Gang of lads in a car talking very un pc.

I have been present and engaged in many group conversations that I would be absolutely horrified if the recording was released. Because what would be missing is context.

Us men, we talk about some terrible things and have a laugh at it in the process. why, I don't know, we just do

The fact that they were wearing uniforms while they did it is.....I don't care. I'm a man, I know how we roll.

The guards in this country aren't the worst. I'm no fan, but they took the women away and let them go after an hour. That's sound enough of them.

In a lot of states if your taken in by the police, you are gone for the night as a minimum, sometimes longer.

This reminds me of the Dog bites man....Not News
    Man bites dog..........News

Guys talking about doing terrible things.........Not news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Odysseus wrote: »
    I concur, for me there would be a lot of posts where "the lady doth protest too much methinks". Don't get me wrong rape is a terrible crime, and the actual destruction that it can cause should never under-estimated. However, I don't think I have seen such mass hysteria since Lady Di's death, and I have avoided most of the media reporting on the topic for that very reason, as I don't believe we are getting a balanced perspective on it.

I will openly acknowledge that there are problems in how some members of AGS effect their duties, however, do I see this as representative of the entire force? No.

As I have said I have a good bit of experience around sexual violence, but my job brings me into contact with a lot of difficult situations, I lose a few clients to ODs every year, work with people who have HIV and basically a significant amount of my patients have experienced horrific life’s. However, I also work with people who carry out criminal activities, and a fair amount of them would be the type that often carries public outrage.

The clinical team I would work with covers a wide range of various disciplines, I heard staff make comments and have made them myself which would provoke the same type of outrage as we are seeing here. However, the big thing would be that they are made out of reach of patients, and are often a way of dealing with the impact that dealing with such topics have on the human psyche. Burn out can be a significant issue in my area, and such remarks are a way of working through that.

Whereas I have worked with people who are just not suitable to work in the area, for most of the staff I have worked with over the past 15 years; making such remarks/jokes etc has never affected the staff member’s ability to work with people in a professional manner. I personally don't care about a person making occasional comments out of earshot of patients; what I care about is the person’s ability to carry out their duty of care to the patient in a respectful and professional manner.

A joke/comment made in private by a person who I know has the ability to perform his/her duties in a professional manner is what I care about, and I would not judge a persons ability to do that based upon what they consider to be a joke.

Mass hysteria? Touch of the hyperbolics there. Maybe even a bit of hysteria, ironically.

Lot of tosh and piffle in this thread and elsewhere on Boards about this being little more than a private joke.

The point is that such comments remain private and (perhaps) unproblematic unless and until they become public, whether through unforeseen events or because someone behaved carelessly.

Then such an apparent lack of professionalism causes upset and controversy because it tends to undermines public confidence in the service.

It's not hard to grasp what is causing the upset. To quote Susan McKay (I think): "these are the people women are supposed to report rape to".

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Are you a Gardai?? - if not then your comment is totally irrelevant:rolleyes:

That's the umpteenth comment of that sort that I've seen on this thread that appears to hold what Gardaí say privately to a higher standard than anyone else.

Is it more inappropriate for a Garda to say something derogative on public record than it is for a private citizen to do the same thing? Yes.

Is it more inappropriate for a Garda to make a distasteful joke privately amongst colleagues than it is for a private citizen to do the same? Absolutely and unequivocally not.

Please folks, wise up and think about that.

Bottom line is this comment is not inappropriate (opinion) and was not meant to be heard (fact) and if not accidentally recorded and then released by sneakt, vengeful scumbags that call themselves peaceful protesters it would not have had any effect on anyone.

This video has had ill effect only on the Gardaí and the state. Nobody else. And that is EXACTLY what the people who released it wanted. They felt no more threatened than I do by a bluebottle.

hatz7 wrote: »
    I think this is being blown all out of proportion, because it was a conversation amongst themselves. Gang of lads in a car talking very un pc.

I have been present and engaged in many group conversations that I would be absolutely horrified if the recording was released. Because what would be missing is context.

Us men, we talk about some terrible things and have a laugh at it in the process. why, I don't know, we just do

The fact that they were wearing uniforms while they did it is.....I don't care. I'm a man, I know how we roll.

The guards in this country aren't the worst. I'm no fan, but they took the women away and let them go after an hour. That's sound enough of them.

In a lot of states if your taken in by the police, you are gone for the night as a minimum, sometimes longer.

This reminds me of the Dog bites man....Not News
    Man bites dog..........News

Guys talking about doing terrible things.........Not news.

You know how you roll. And now we do too.

By the way, the poll basically has three options in favour of the Gardaí not being at fault, and one in favour of them basically getting the sack. The author of the poll, the OP, has cunningly seperated these replies (intentionally or otherwise) so that it looks like most people want them sacked.

In reality, more than 100 fewer people (484) think they were in the wrong than the 596 people who think they were in the right or should be left alone.

Just clearing that up.

sdonn wrote: »
    That's the umpteenth comment of that sort that I've seen on this thread that appears to hold what Gardaí say privately to a higher standard than anyone else.

Is it more inappropriate for a Garda to say something derogative on public record than it is for a private citizen to do the same thing? Yes.

Is it more inappropriate for a Garda to make a distasteful joke privately amongst colleagues than it is for a private citizen to do the same? Absolutely and unequivocally not.

Please folks, wise up and think about that.

Bottom line is this comment is not inappropriate (opinion) and was not meant to be heard (fact) and if not accidentally recorded and then released by sneakt, vengeful scumbags that call themselves peaceful protesters it would not have had any effect on anyone.

This video has had ill effect only on the Gardaí and the state. Nobody else. And that is EXACTLY what the people who released it wanted. They felt no more threatened than I do by a bluebottle.

I thinks its you and the other apologists for this type of disgusting behaviour that need to wake up - especcially to the reality of the type of policing inflicted on locals and others in this part of Mayo. Tomorrows Daily Mail highlights the fact that this was not an isolated incident in this part of Mayo:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

sdonn wrote: »
    By the way, the poll basically has three options in favour of the Gardaí not being at fault, and one in favour of them basically getting the sack. The author of the poll, the OP, has cunningly seperated these replies (intentionally or otherwise) so that it looks like most people want them sacked.

In reality, more than 100 fewer people (484) think they were in the wrong than the 596 people who think they were in the right or should be left alone.

Just clearing that up.

Agreed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Dunno if anyone has posted this, but this is a video recorded in Athlone of Gardai arresting a 14 year old girl.

MOD Snip: Off topic vid removed.

smeedyova wrote: »
    a) Making racist remarks while on duty (as evidenced when they refer to one of their victims as a "yank"),

b) Planning the rape of a woman in their custody,

c) Marginalising members of the public who they are supposed to protect (as evidenced in saying that one of the victims is from the "crusty camp"),

They should be sacked for gross incompetence, if nothing else.

The entire nation is f*cked if the term 'yank' is considered racist, it couldn't be is it???

They didn't make plans to rape anybody.

How are those women victims? I'm hoping your using that term loosely, like uber loosely, In my opinion a victim is somebody who goes through something traumatic,
    Jews that survived the Shoah, they were victims.
    That poor American politician shot in the head and surviving, she is a victim,

The women we speak of, if they are victims, are really only victims in the loosest sense possible, I don't think they are though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I initially would have voted that it was unacceptable behaviour but, having listened to it, I voted for the storm in a teacup option.

I was more concerned at the statements in the Dail from Joe Higgins that there are no royalties coming our way from this gas field. Considering the state of finances & hassle involved that is a scandalous situation, made even worse that it was presided over by a government that have paid themselves multiple millions in pensions.

dixiefly wrote: »
    I initially would have voted that it was unacceptable behaviour but, having listened to it, I voted for the storm in a teacup option.

Hypothetical question: if a rape victim were to listen to the same recording and then respond to the same poll, which option do you think they would choose?

dixiefly wrote: »

Maybe you might change your mind again as similiar stories from this part of Mayo are uncovered as is the case with some of the papers tomorrow - this is no "storm in teacup" its the ugly reality of policing in this part of Mayo:(

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    You know how you roll. And now we do too.

What! Do you know how groups of men hold conversations?
    or do you just like to type posts, so that people read them and go, oh this person is great!

Can't beat honesty, I don't your being honest here.
    Have you never uttered a single thing that could be construed by somebody else as offensive?
    You have never said anything malicious in your entire life?
    Are you a liar?