Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

RAH1 wrote: »
    im to lazy read all the post but i want to make a point.its any wonder the gaurds come out with that ****e because they would let any donkey be a gaurd now adays.i tell ya if you saw the lads i went to school with that ended up as gaurds you would have zero faith in them.thats a fact.they wouldnt spell rape not to mind say it.and thats a tip on the ice burg.you get out what you put in .ie theres proably more ****s thats going on that will explode down the line like the catholic church etc.i hope not but hard think other wise when ya see the quality of people going in

What's the matter? Didn't get accepted yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

jay93 wrote: »
    SO what if they loose their career they should not have been joking about rape at all its a very serious matter and coming from a group of cops who are supposed to actually catch rapists .

I don't care if they were ''joking'' or not rape is not a thing to joke about end of !

When I was 10 I stole a cadburies cream egg from the newsagents and ran out of the shop. The shop keeper shouted at me "if i catch you doing that again, i'll kill ye".
    Murder is not a thing to joke about. He should have lost his shop over that. There's family that know someone that was killed, they can never go into a newsagents again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

im to lazy read all the post but i want to make a point.its any wonder the gaurds come out with that ****e because they would let any donkey be a gaurd now adays.i tell ya if you saw the lads i went to school with that ended up as gaurds you would have zero faith in them.thats a fact.they wouldnt spell rape not to mind say it.and thats a tip on the ice burg.you get out what you put in .ie theres proably more ****s thats going on that will explode down the line like the catholic church etc.i hope not but hard think other wise when ya see the quality of people going in

The ironing in that post is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 hectorh

SO what if they loose their career they should not have been joking about rape at all its a very serious matter and coming from a group of cops who are supposed to actually catch rapists .

I don't care if they were ''joking'' or not rape is not a thing to joke about end of !

Well we're going to have to disagree on that one. We don't have the thought police yet- any subject's not off limits once your in the company of friends. Do you want them to talk about nothing but police work? Anyway, this wasn't just a joke that came out of thin air. It wasn't like they just said "Let's rape 'em, HAHAHA". These girls knew exactly what they were doing. Resisting arrest, shouting at guards and suggesting they would be abused if left alone. They were purposely provoking and that's why they decided to record. They then hit the jackpot when a guard privately joked to a colleague about the nonsense she was spewing. They got exactly what they wanted. I just wish people would see their motive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

Yeah you stole something from the shop of course he's going to say that:rolleyes:

Everyone will say ill kill ye and never do?
    My point is a GARDA joking about RAPE is not something that should have happened.

Imagine in the middle of dublin city you want to have a joke about a just start shouting at a person ill rape you if you dont give me your address and a garda heard you saying it you would be seen as a rapist and locked up for it would you not?

But somehow everyone here on boards seems to think since they were Garda that its ok for them to say these things well its not to be honest:mad::mad:

Imagine in the middle of dublin city you want to have a joke about a just start shouting at a person ill rape you if you dont give me your address and a garda heard you saying it you would be seen as a rapist and locked up for it would you not?

No you wouldn't. Just like you can't be locked up for murder for simply threatening to kill someone. The most you could possible get is arrested under Public Order Act. Then again, totally different to threaten a stranger with rape than to be joking with people you know.

Post of the thread, IMHO.

It's a pity that after a very long thread with many points and different angles raised. The blame for any impact this might have on reporting is still being 100% pushed to the silly exchanges between the guards.

There is a serious issue with how this was (or wasn't) reported to authorities, and how the media have done a dreadful job with it.

It's a shame though, that the only people that will be highlighted are the ones that made a silly mistake.

The ones that sat down and decided how to proceed and the ones who recklessly create horrible "Garda rape threat" headlines are seemingly not in any way at fault for that impact.

hectorh wrote: »
    Well we're going to have to disagree on that one. We don't have the thought police yet- any subject's not off limits once your in the company of friends. Do you want them to talk about nothing but police work? Anyway, this wasn't just a joke that came out of thin air. It wasn't like they just said "Let's rape 'em, HAHAHA". These girls knew exactly what they were doing. Resisting arrest, shouting at guards and suggesting they would be abused if left alone. They were purposely provoking and that's why they decided to record. They then hit the jackpot when a guard privately joked to a colleague about the nonsense she was spewing. They got exactly what they wanted. I just wish people would see their motive.

They were protesting which last time i checked is perfectly leagal ?
    And would you blame her for getting smart with them they were dragging out of her trying to force her into their car and to make a sick joke like that is uncalled for .so what if they were resisting arrest who wouldnt if you were holding a peacful protest it was the Garda who turned these protests into fights ..

No i dont expect them to talk about police work all day but to joke on the matter of rape is just stupid who knows how many other sick remarks the Garda have made over the years that has never been recorded for the public to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's a pity that after a very long thread with many points and different angles raised. The blame for any impact this might have on reporting is still being 100% pushed to the silly exchanges between the guards.

There is a serious issue with how this was (or wasn't) reported to authorities, and how the media have done a dreadful job with it.

It's a shame though, that the only people that will be highlighted are the ones that made a silly mistake.

The ones that sat down and decided how to proceed and the ones who recklessly create horrible "Garda rape threat" headlines are seemingly not in any way at fault for that impact.
    Expecting the press to act responsibly is as naive as expecting people to stop being people once they put on a uniform.

They were protesting which last time i checked is perfectly leagal?

It's not legal to climb on somebody else's vehicle so that they can't drive it and cause an obstruction on the road. Want someone to climb on your bonnet when your on your way to work? Thought not. You wouldn't be too quick to defend it then I'd imagine.
    ...so what if they were resisting arrest who wouldnt if you were holding a peacful protest it was the Garda who turned these protests into fights ..

Presumably then you won't care how long I stay on your car or bike or standing on your doorstep stopping you from leaving or entering, and you would never think of getting someone to remove me. Good to know.

prinz wrote: »
    It's not legal to climb on somebody else's vehicle so that they can't drive it and cause an obstruction on the road.

LOL i know the Garda were prob just really annoyed at these people and maybe thats why they felt the need to make such a joke but still like they really got caught out by not noticing that she was still recording them :eek::confused:

They sure did. Whoever had it/brought it into the car is going to have a red face. Can't imagine the others are best pleased with whover that was.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Expecting the press to act responsibly is as naive as expecting people to stop being people once they put on a uniform.

Unfortunately that is true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 hectorh

They were protesting which last time i checked is perfectly leagal ?
    And would you blame her for getting smart with them they were dragging out of her trying to force her into their car and to make a sick joke like that is uncalled for .so what if they were resisting arrest who wouldnt if you were holding a peacful protest it was the Garda who turned these protests into fights ..

No i dont expect them to talk about police work all day but to joke on the matter of rape is just stupid who knows how many other sick remarks the Garda have made over the years that has never been recorded for the public to see

It was just a joke- not a sick remark. It was also taken totally out of context by the media. Most people won't watch the video and will just read the headlines. That's what annoys me.

Of course they can make a peaceful protest all they want. They can't prevent a business from operating though. I think it's a bit naive to think they weren't causing hassle as usual- they have constantly disrupted works on the pipeline and harassed workers. These people are trying to make a living. In the video (if you've watched it) it can be heard that they are blocking the road with tractors, are told to move on and then later get back on the tractors- that's when they're arrested. They've already wasted an unbelievable amount of government money with the amount of garda resources required for this crap. Even if they hadn't done a thing wrong you can not resist arrest. They were treated very fairly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

why do you all care, surely there is better things to discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

So you think its fine for them to joke about this?
    When so many people get raped every day these are supposed to be catching the rapists not making jokes about it!!!

Are you really trying to imply that rapists don't get caught because the cops are telling jokes instead of searching for the suspect?

I have work with lots of people who never reported being raped, however, I still have to work with one who never reported it because they believed that the police would not take the case seriously. I have encountered many reason for not reporting sexual violence, but never because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭RAH1

What's the matter? Didn't get accepted yourself?

I spent seven and a half years studying .id hardly waste it by applying for the gaurds. im not interested in early retirement. im still fairly young.
    Im sure there’s plenty of fine gardi but it’s to easy get in there and that’s going to create big problems in the future. For example the church. How many priests had they that should never have joined. its happening again. maybe its just the gaurds i know but I doubt it.

i spent seven and a half years studying...

Hope you got a guarantee with that. Money back could be on. You realise that gardaí study too yeah?

mikom wrote: »
    You think you can put yourself in the mind of someone who has just been raped?
    You're a better man than me if you can

Yes if you are informed around the subject and have the capacity for empathy it is possible to empathise with victims of traumatic events. I have also worked with people who have commited sexual violence and the same thing applies I can understand what life is like for them too.

Education, empathy and experience if you have the capacity for those and are willing to explore your own mind, you can understand a lot about the various experiences that other human beings experience.

Rape can be terrible experience for either sex, however, you do not need to have been raped yourself in order to understand the difficulties and destruction it can bring to someone life.

Hope you got a guarantee with that. Money back could be on. You realise that gardaí study too yeah?

Harmless study id say they (you) do. look up you tube for David Mcsavage skit on templemore.more like it id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Odysseus wrote: »

Education, empathy and experience if you have the capacity for those and are willing to explore your own mind, you can understand a lot about the various experiences that other human beings experience.

Rape can be terrible experience for either sex, however, you do not need to have been raped yourself in order to understand the difficulties and destruction it can bring to someone life.

Please deliver to: Belmullet Garda Station.
    Overnight delivery.

Harmless study id say they (you) do. look up you tube for David Mcsavage skit on templemore.more like it id say

Would you? Good man. By the way I am not a garda. I'd say you have no clue what it is they study and do.

mikom wrote: »
    Please deliver to: Belmullet Garda Station.
    Overnight delivery.

I'm not sure if I'm picking you up correctly, but I posted today that base solely on that tape, I could not make a judgement that those members of AGS do not possess the capacity to work with those who have experienced sexual violence; and equally based solely on that tape I would not be able to make a judgement that they where capable.

However, I would not base a negative opinion about these guys capabilities just on that tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Donald_ducked

After listening to it for the first time there I have to say it is being blown well out of proportion. Yes, it was an absolutely stupid thing to say but there was no malice or badness meant in that at all. I've worked in loads of places over the years and the conversations men have can be far worse than this. You'd be very surprised what even well respected members of society would say when joking in private, very fooking surprised!

When men get together it does become a little boys club and people say things that they don't mean just to be ''part of the lads''. I'm not condoning what they said but it seems harsh that these gardai will probably lose their liveleyhood over a silly comment

Would you? Good man. By the way I am not a garda. I'd say you have no clue what it is they study and do.

look at the gaurds that bet the young fella.the gaurd that was helping the drug dealers in dublin a few years back.few gaurds that have been found in possession of drugs.donegal case of gauda corruption and now this rape mayo incident.hardly what you would call great examples of training and education.

Look at what the Big 4 have done over the last few years. Lot's of years well spent studying alright. At least the gardaí in Mayo knew what due diligence means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Odysseus wrote: »
    Yes if you are informed around the subject and have the capacity for empathy it is possible to empathise with victims of traumatic events. I have also worked with people who have commited sexual violence and the same thing applies I can understand what life is like for them too.

Good post. There are many people commenting on this without a proper understanding of or experience with the issues involved.

One of the political comments today mentioned that rape should not be trivialised. For some people that is the only way to deal with the issue, be they Gardaí, counsellors or victims.

I think I heard Joe Higgins said something about the comments making it feel like a dangerous occupational force was in charge. I think the media coverage and comments from people like him and the so called "vicitm" will do more to insult and demean the real victims than anything those Gardaí said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

naturally you will get some bastards on the force as well who give the rest of the garda a bad name sure ya get it in every job...

the Nuremberg defence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

mike kelly wrote: »
    the Nuremberg defence

i thought that was "I was just following orders"

mike kelly wrote: »
    the Nuremberg defence

Your right everyone is a scumbag, because somebody in every single line of work ever has done something stupid and criminal. ffs.