Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

ebixa82 wrote: »
    If the two cops were heard joking about car crash victims would you be more reluctant to contact them if you were involved in a car crash?
    Would you feel they wouldn't take the crash seriously because they might have joked about it in private?

I wouldn't. I wouldn't give two fcuks...as long as they arrive on the scene and act in a professional manner.

These dumb fcuks told some vulgar jokes and probably should be disciplined but this is being alll blown out of proportion by the media.

That girl darkened out on Prime Time and the camera focusing on her trembling hands...that was an insult to actual rape victims.

This is the most revolting part of the whole saga. All the drama to further their own cause by damaging and demeaning real victims everywhere. If I thought they were capable I'd say they should be ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

How often have we seen 'professionals' pay the price after a recorded indiscretion has been publicised.

Unacceptable and stupid comments which most likely will have severe consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

this idiot on fm 104 is trying to take up for the so-called guards in relation to these rape remarks. he should be sacked as well. any guard that says anything like this even if it is so-called banter should be sacked and never to wear a gardai uniform again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Negrophelia = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negrophilia

Necrophelia = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Necrophilia

There is quite a difference in meaning..

Just saying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

oceanclub wrote: »
    Currently there's 401 votes - over 50% - saying it's a storm in a teacup or just lads throwing off stress. Both options suggest no consequences.So, in answer to your question, them..

Again as I have said before the options are poor. Even it you do call it a storm in a teacup, does not neccesarily mean you don't agree with the gardaí being disciplined. Even if t is lads having an unprofessional conversation to blow of steam or whatever else, does not preclude you from also agreeing they should be disciplined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

Currently there's 401 votes - over 50% - saying it's a storm in a teacup or just lads throwing off stress. Both options suggest no consequences.

So, in answer to your question, them.

P.
    Voting 'storm in a teacup' does not mean 'no consequences'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

just after hearing the conversation there.
    Ye fuppin' eeeeeeeeeeejits cop lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

zenno wrote: »
    this idiot on fm 104 is trying to take up for the so-called gaurds in relation to these rape remarks. he should be sacked as well. any gaurd that says anything like this even if it is so-called banter should be sacked and never to wear a gardai uniform again.

Complete over-reaction tbh.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I stand over my remarks about Frankie Boyle, his jokes about Jordan's disabled son were horrendous. I been to alot of Tommy Tiernan shows and while he has pushed the boat out his material has never IMO been as offensive as Frankie Boyle's.

Maybe not to you but I am sure he has offended some people. This doesn't address my point though. Is it the material, or the person who delivers it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

drkpower wrote: »
    Voting 'storm in a teacup' does not mean 'no consequences'

Of course it does, the whole point of the idiom meaning that something is a trivial event.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Complete over-reaction tbh.

there is no over-reaction on my part i mean what i say and so do many others. there is no place for these people.

I notice people defending the Gardai - who were working, in uniform, and in a State vehicle - still haven't answered my point. If workers in an office environment did the same thing, should they now be defended also?

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Of course it does, the whole point of the idiom meaning that something is a trivial event.

P.
    It was a stupid and ugly thing to say, every single person on this planet has made a similar mistake (saying something you really shouldn't have). You learn from it and move on.

I notice people defending the Gardai - who were working, in uniform, and in a State vehicle - still haven't answered my point. If workers in an office environment did the same thing, should they now be defended also?P.

If you are asking should they be disciplined in house and have it on their employment record for promotions, references etc. Absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭hamlet1

It never ceases to amaze the absolute hyper hysterical reaction topics involving the Gardai (even remotely) get on Boards.

The usual high horse brigade are out I see weeping and gnashing their teeth and hoping somebody will please think of the children.

A couple of Gardai blowing off steam among themselves leads to faceless holier than thou, morally superior plebs condemning them as monsters who should be all but hung, drawn and quartered. The fact that those same Gardai receive some of the most hateful bile you can imagine being thrown at them daily up there has no bearing on it. Who remembers the "documentary" by Paul Williams. Drivel that it was it none the less showed some of the sh!te the Gardai had to deal with. One memorable quote "they did not kill half enough of ye fu@kers up there" being screamed by a purple faced lunatic, which referring to the IRA killing members of the Gardai.

I don't remember seeing any of you Joe Duffy apostles on here defending the Gardai after that. That right there makes you a Hypocrite or does it just suit your particular political slant of things to have a go at the Gardai over a non issue like this while turning the other cheek when its the reverse situation?

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD GET A GRIP PEOPLE.
    Well said Fozzie Bear,couldnt have put it better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I notice people defending the Gardai - who were working, in uniform, and in a State vehicle - still haven't answered my point. If workers in an office environment did the same thing, should they now be defended also?

P.

I would say that they deserve a good bollocking for being stupid..

But as I said pages back.. this was a private conversation..

I believe it was lads talk..It was a joke imo, not a great one, but I don't think any badness was meant.

I took it in context of the whole of the recording.. it was three lines (I think) of a long discussion.

EDIT: Forgot to answer your question..

If in an office environment and inappropriate remarks were made in what was presumed to be a private conversation then became public..

My opinion would be the same..

I think it all has to be taken in context..

I don't believe harm was meant..

ScumLord wrote: »
    It was a stupid and ugly thing to say, every single person on this planet has made a similar mistake (saying something you really shouldn't have). You learn from it and move on.

Er, no, I've never in a professional capacity ever made "jokes" about raping someone in that environment. I imagine that most people have either experienced rape, or know someone who has been raped, and therefore wouldn't particularly find the idea of me joking in the office about rape as a punishment that funny. But hey, guess I'm just a fuddy duddy, and that's it perfectly OK for people taxpayers employ to deal with victims of rape to think it's a big old laugh.

I mean, what's the funniest bit about rape, exactly? Is it the terror of being assaulted? Having your vagina or rectum badly bruised or torn? The nauseous and suicidal feelings after? The feeling of betrayal if done by someone you love or were dating?

Hey, fill me in here, gagmeisters, I need a chuckle.

P.

Er, no, I've never in a professional capacity ever made "jokes" about raping someone in that environment.
    That is not what I said, re-read the post and include the bit in the brackets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

P.

I'm pretty sure if I was caught joking about raping staff or customers, I'd be hauled in front of human resources and offered the opportunity to have another person of my choosing present.

P.
    Dont be ridiculous. And desperate.

It usually means an event that has been blown out of all proportion. It does not mean that the event is not punishable.

Wayne Rooney saying 'fcuk' or whatever he said is a 'storm in a teacup'; he should still be punished though.

ScumLord wrote: »
    That is not what I said, re-read the post and include the bit in the brackets.

Yeah, and there's scales of things here. Not everything said in a work environment can be just explained away as "oop, silly me". I suggest trying telling racist jokes in front of non-Irish colleagues, then using free speech as an argument.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

ebixa82 wrote: »
    I think it has some relevance. These krusties have been causing trouble for years and everyone is sick of them. They have the respect of absolutely nobody bar themselves and the cops are fed up of them and their antics.

This probably contributed to such vulgar comments made against them. Albeit in jest.
    Firstly, where does it say in the Constitution that people who "everyone is sick of" have less rights?

But you know what, that isn't even the point, and that's why I say that it's irrelevant whether it was in Mayo or Dublin or Slane.

The point is that these are members of AGS, on duty, and they think this is an appropriate conversation to be having in that context.
    I'm in complete agreement, context is important. Read the full transript and see how much of their rather long conversation was dedicated to this tasteless joke. A few seconds, and then moved swiftly on to discuss the best way in which to do their job. Neanthertals is unfair if you read the whole thing, a few fellas who made a stupid joke and need to be told to cop the f*ck on but in the grander scheme of things it meant little. Context as you say.
    The context is that these are members of AGS, the body to whom women must turn for recourse when sexually assaulted, and they are on duty ... and they feel this is an appropriate way to behave / converse.

I really don't care if they proceeded to discuss the finer points of Irish Bardic poetry for the next two hours.

If workers in an office environment did the same thing, should they now be defended also?
    And you still dont get the point....;)

The vast majority of people are not 'defending' them per se; most have called them idiots, crass, obnoxious. Most of us are also saying that calls for them to be sacked - or something comparable - is entirely disproportionate.

I suggest trying telling racist jokes in front of non-Irish colleagues, then using free speech as an argument.

P.
    I've seen it done, of course it was said to non-Irish that got the joke and unsurprisingly had a torrent of Irish jokes on hand.

These guards didn't say the joke in front of anybody but themselves though so it's not really relevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I remember when I was a youn lad playing cops and robbers I used to say "stop or I'll shoot". Did I mean it? No. Did I intend to do it? No. Did I insult murder victims everywhere? No. Should I be prevented from holding a firearm licence because of it? No.

I remember in the FCA one of the lads spent the day telling dead baby jokes. Was he a child killer? No. Should he be have his children taken off him because he clearly has no respect for the responsability of taking care of a child? No.

Not too long ago I played GTA and ran over a load of hookers in my car. Does this mean I hate hookers? No. Should I lose my licence? No. Do I harbour homicidal tendencies? No. It wasnt real.

This morning I listened to the recording of the two gardai with my girlfriend, who was once the victim of an attempted assault. Did she get hysterical? No. Was she offended? No. Did it bother her in the slightest? No.

Just thought I'd put some context on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Did they say this to the women or were they talking sh1t to each other in the patrol car?

Yeah, and there's scales of things here. Not everything said in a work environment can be just explained away as "oop, silly me". I suggest trying telling racist jokes in front of non-Irish colleagues, then using free speech as an argument .

What if your non-Irish colleagues shared the joke with you and some third party completely unrelated to the conversation became aware of it?

Did they say this to the women or were they talking sh1t to each other in the patrol car?

Talking to each other in a squad car with only gardaí (two or three) present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Anyone else notice the video "silence" around the 14:02 mark. I'm not confident that is silence, it may just be me but if you listen closely it would appear that the chatter is being faded out for some reason.

Edit : nm realised that was my own playback sytem...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

They were joking amongst themselves after spending about 10 minutes discussing safety procedures. Then they went on talking about other stuff.