Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

2 stroke wrote: »
    I do not accept that what an on duty Garda says about a prisoner, while that prisoner is in Garda custody, is private.

Well what about if they are on their break? Or after work?

You see, Gardai can't win here because they are always on duty and carry their badges all the time.

And if this was a recording of the gardai in a pub there would be the same typical reaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

It does not matter whether it was made in the form of a laugh or a joke among themselves. They are meant to act like professionals they have been caught on tape, repercussions must follow.

Sick to death of this endemic Irish mentality of "sure we are only taking the piss lads", throughout the entire system. From the leaders, to bankers, to senior civil servants, right on down to the lads on ground. No accountability whatsoever.

Cops making jests about rape???? Flipping cretins.

I do hope the Garda Commissioner has the decency to extend a formal apology to the women involved. But knowing this place they will charge them with disturbing the peace and hope it goes away.
    The irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    also the speed at which rape was thrown into the conversation. Like it's something they continuously joke about. If a male friend of mine ever said 'jokingly' "i'd like to rape her" I'd clatter him and never speak to him again.

It's sick and shows very little mental maturity

Wow Ill bet your a barrell of laughs. Ever heard of satire? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

K-9 wrote: »
    There is over reacting and under reacting going on to be fair.

I don't think they should be sacked but I can see why a rape victim who has gone through the courts and guards might feel a bit crappy!

bull****. they should be sacked immediately.

there is no place for these sick ****s in the garda force, they should be removed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Two businessmen are in the boardroom of the company they work, and have just had a aggravated meeting with an external female customer. Afterwards, annoyed, they discuss jokingly how they would love to punish her by raping her, not realising they'd left their conference phone on.

Is their privacy and the fact they thought they were alone sufficient reason to defend them? Some people here seem to think so.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Newsflash - People joke about worse things. Catholic Priests, Animal Porn, Negrophelia etc come to mind

Switch on Comedy Central some time Ireland.

If the cop had said it to the people they may have a case.

Ive alot of issues with the way the cops do their thing, but its not their fault that the government (past and present) sell out our souls to Shell. They have an oath to protect the state regardless of their own views so must enforce this.

If your protesting, the Dail is in Dublin, not Mayo. Go there, start a march and make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    so the consensus is it's all ok because they were having the craic and a bit of a laugh? Maybe AH is not the right place for this thread..
    That does not appear to be the consensus at all.

But it seems you want that to be the consensus so you can get riled up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

oceanclub wrote: »
    Two businessmen are in the boardroom of the company they work, and have just had a aggravated meeting with an external female customer. Afterwards, annoyed, they discuss jokingly how they would love to punish her by raping her, not realising they'd left their conference phone on.

Is their privacy and the fact they thought they were alone sufficient reason to defend them? Some people here seem to think so.

P.

Said female customer would have just won the lottery there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Regardless of whether it was said in private as a joke or them standing on the 6:01 news with a microphone blurting it out. They got caught. While the hundreds of similar jokes said daily in the work place around Ireland never made it into the public domain on tape.

If this was a private company and 2 employees were caught on tape talking about raping another worker or a client they would be fired. Whether it was a joke or not wouldn't matter. The comments in this thread would probably be a lot different if they were 2 Microsoft employees that were caught. Too much defense of the Guards on this forum. Also if you remember Andy Gray and Richard Keyes. They were joking among themselves but got caught. They lost their jobs. Same should be done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

It was said between two Gardai alone in their car with no-one else present including the women in question. It was never intented imo to go beyond that.

I agree with most of the above statement, but I understand it wasn't their car but a Garda car. If they made these comments in their own car, while off duty, then it would be in private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Look no-one's defending them, far from it. No-one disagrees that they made a stupid mistake or that they should recieve some form of reprimand.

But honestly that's all it was, a stupid distasteful mistake.

But if you listen to the recording, and I strongly suggest you do, you'll hear not malice but two men making jokes, albeit distasteful ones.
    I have. I don't believe there was malice. I don't think any of the three of them would actually rape someone.

But there's also a complete lack of awareness of how totally inappropriate it is for those to whom the victims of rape must perforce turn for help and justice to be "joking" in this manner at any time and especially on duty. Three of them, and not one of them so much as muttered "ah now, lads ..." in protest.

I repeat: Neanderthals who shame their uniform and indeed their gender.

Regardless of whether it was said in private as a joke or them standing on the 6:01 news with a microphone blurting it out. They got caught. While the hundreds of similar jokes said daily in the work place around Ireland never made it into the public domain on tape.

If this was a private company and 2 employees were caught on tape talking about raping another worker or a client they would be fired. Whether it was a joke or not wouldn't matter. The comments in this thread would probably be a lot different if they were 2 Microsoft employees that were caught. Too much defense of the Guards on this forum. Also if you remember Andy Gray and Richard Keyes. They were joking among themselves but got caught. They lost their jobs. Same should be done here.

Have you listened to the full recording?
    Or have you read the full transcript?

Three silly, obviously absurd lines, out of a long conversation on how best to do their jobs with regard to safety for both themselves and the protestors and they are described as monsters. They were talking sh*te like lads often do in private. There was no malice or intent.

Justice is meant to be proportionate and to those calling for dimissal etc, your sense of proportion is akin to Fr Dougals with his small/faraway cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Last time I checked he wasn't a garda.

Eh hang on, first you said it was the subject matter that makes people "sick", which is exactly how you described Frankie Boyle. Now you are saying it's not the joke at all but the profession of who said it. Can you make up your mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Disgracefull, the Rape Crisis Centre has allready stated the problem with women unable to report attacks to Gardai - now how are women
    who have been attacked and hear this be able to report it to the same force who joked about this ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I have. I don't believe there was malice. I don't think any of the three of them would actually rape someone.

But there's also a complete lack of awareness of how totally inappropriate it is for those to whom the victims of rape must perforce turn for help and justice to be "joking" in this manner at any time and especially on duty. Three of them, and not one of them so much as muttered "ah now, lads ..." in protest.

I repeat: Neanderthals who shame their uniform and indeed their gender.

That sums it up for me, that's the thing about "dark" humour, I like it too but it runs the risk of back firing on you! That's why it's dark.

I didn't think the transcript was that bad initially but the "name or address or I'll rape you" was a bit sinister, in a "we know were you live" type way.

Again, I'm sure the guys would act appropriately in a rape case.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

oceanclub wrote: »
    Is their privacy and the fact they thought they were alone sufficient reason to defend them? Some people here seem to think so..

Please, please, please, please I have asked this must be of a dozen posters now, but who here has defended them and thinks there should be no consequences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

I don't blindly love the Gardaí by any means, nor am I one, but it's clear these "jokes" go on in every walk of life every day of the week. Though the Gardaí confirm the partisan nature of their policing via their discussion they do generally discuss the situation rationally.

On the "rape" comment. Mindless? Yes. Should they be lifted out of it and warned about their stupidity, maybe sent on a sensitivity course? Yes. Should they apologise? Yes.

However I wouldn't want to see them put out of a job and left for dead by their superiors to satisfy some equally mindless militant feminist herd frenzy where a thoughtcrime, even though there's a 99.99% chance they weren't serious, is punished so severely. It's a storm in a teacup really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

If the two cops were heard joking about car crash victims would you be more reluctant to contact them if you were involved in a car crash?
    Would you feel they wouldn't take the crash seriously because they might have joked about it in private?

I wouldn't. I wouldn't give two fcuks...as long as they arrive on the scene and act in a professional manner.

These dumb fcuks told some vulgar jokes and probably should be disciplined but this is being alll blown out of proportion by the media.

That girl darkened out on Prime Time and the camera focusing on her trembling hands...that was an insult to actual rape victims.

the_monkey wrote: »
    Disgracefull, the Rape Crisis Centre has allready stated the problem with women unable to report attacks to Gardai

Yet some lady from the RCC was just on the TV3 news confirming that the vast, vast majority of experiences they have come across with AGS have been positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Newsflash - People joke about worse things. Catholic Priests, Animal Porn, Negrophelia etc come to mind
    *I* joke about worse things, and I'm honest enough to admit it. But context is hugely important, and the context here is the killer.
    Ive alot of issues with the way the cops do their thing, but its not their fault that the government (past and present) sell out our souls to Shell. They have an oath to protect the state regardless of their own views so must enforce this.

If your protesting, the Dail is in Dublin, not Mayo. Go there, start a march and make a difference.
    Tbh, the fact that this happened at a Shell protest is totally irrelevant.

If it was after the All-Ireland Final in Croke Park, or at Oxegen, what difference would it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

prinz wrote: »
    Eh hang on, first you said it was the subject matter that makes people "sick", which is exactly how you described Frankie Boyle. Now you are saying it's not the joke at all but the profession of who said it. Can you make up your mind?
    I stand over my remarks about Frankie Boyle, his jokes about Jordan's disabled son were horrendous. I been to alot of Tommy Tiernan shows and while he has pushed the boat out his material has never IMO been as offensive as Frankie Boyle's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

*I* joke about worse things, and I'm honest enough to admit it. But context is hugely important, and the context here is the killer.

Tbh, the fact that this happened at a Shell protest is totally irrelevant.

If it was after the All-Ireland Final in Croke Park, or at Oxegen, what difference would it make?

I think it has some relevance. These krusties have been causing trouble for years and everyone is sick of them. They have the respect of absolutely nobody bar themselves and the cops are fed up of them and their antics.

This probably contributed to such vulgar comments made against them. Albeit in jest.

I'm in complete agreement, context is important. Read the full transript and see how much of their rather long conversation was dedicated to this tasteless joke. A few seconds, and then moved swiftly on to discuss the best way in which to do their job. Neanthertals is unfair if you read the whole thing, a few fellas who made a stupid joke and need to be told to cop the f*ck on but in the grander scheme of things it meant little. Context as you say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Susan McKay is on Primetime right now talking about Gardai laughing at rape victims behind their backs...this and the nonsense being spouted by the Rape Crisis Centre demean women and rape victims.

I despise Susan McKay and pretty much everything the woman stands for but that is not what she said at all. Her point was pretty much that this sends a bad message to future rape victims of just what attitude they might encounter should they report a rape and I would have to agree with her.

I think it sends a bad message of the Gardai overall tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

prinz wrote: »
    Please, please, please, please I have asked this must be of a dozen posters now, but who here has defended them and thinks there should be no consequences?

Currently there's 401 votes - over 50% - saying it's a storm in a teacup or just lads throwing off stress. Both options suggest no consequences.

So, in answer to your question, them.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

We've spent thousands of Euros and hours training these guys in to be guards, I think it would be a complete waste to throw all that away over one comment. They need to be reprimanded to appease the public and warn the rest of them, anything more would be a waste of state assets.

.. and the context here is the killer.

..and in the context there was a terrible lapse of judgement, a few unprofessional remarks, and they should be disciplined and instructed again in professional conduct at all times on duty. I can see it standing against them in terms of promotion, as it should be. I just don't see the pitch-fork style BS for getting them sacked, or as earlier mentioned hope for the ruin of their marriages or relationships, press charges (although no-one has suggested what charges actually apply) especially since not long ago we had a TD openly admitting breaking other laws and the vast majority of people thought it was great and no bearing on the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I despise Susan McKay and pretty much everything the woman stands for, but that is not what she said at all. Her point is pretty much that this sends a bad message to future rape victims of just what attitude they might meet should they report them and I would have to agree.

I think it sends a bad message overall anyway tbh.

So why did she send this video to the papers so it got maximum coverage?

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I despise Susan McKay and pretty much everything the woman stands for but that is not what she said at all. Her point was pretty much that this sends a bad message to future rape victims of just what attitude they might encounter should they report a rape and I would have to agree with her.

I think it sends a bad message overall anyway tbh.

I agree it does. But I wouldnt go too hard on the lads because it's rather difficult to assume anything you say to a friend is going to end up in the public domain for scrutiny. They obviously wouldn't want such a bad impression going out a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Propaganda jackpot for Indymedia
    The same website group that labelled gardai as murderers after joyrider and all round general scumbag Terence Wheelock from Summerhill in Dublin was arrested after being seen in a stolen car and then hanged himself in Store St garda station

Ok for indymedia to create conspiracy theories and claim young Wheelock was beaten and killed and label gardai as killers.

But a few lines out of a recording and the majority of it was on safety procedures and all hell breaks loose and over 900 posts on this thread