Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Wow.. Garda Siochana in Shell to Sea sex shocker thread is sizzling!

In my opinion they were joking at work.. end of..

How is this different to joking about "rapeface"?
    Google comes back with 285,000 results on rapeface..

As someone mentioned earlier in the thread, the word rape has become part of culture and is often used in a joke style.. not at all meant to cause offence..

It was a private conversation..

Jaysus, if all we ever said was made public, none of us would ever open our mouths :eek:

I'm sure in all professions joking goes on and often could be very inappropriate if overheard..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I wonder why they haven't made a big deal about the allegations of poor hygiene. If it was me that'd annoy me more than a bad joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

k_mac wrote: »
    I wonder why they haven't made a big deal about the allegations of poor hygiene. If it was me that'd annoy me more than a bad joke.

Or they might by carrying STD's? Lols!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

prinz wrote: »
    No. Did any harm befall them in the squad car they were in?

There you go again with a Blueshirt "law and order" approach to this issue. "Ah sure they weren't raped so it's fine".:rolleyes: Why do you feel the need to defend AGS no matter what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Padkir

Dionysus wrote: »
    There you go again with a Blueshirt "law and order" approach to this issue. "Ah sure they weren't raped so it's fine".:rolleyes: Why do you feel the need to defend AGS no matter what?

Not really an answer at all there is it?? Question was, "Did ANY harm befall them while in the Garda car?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

LOL. More of the nonsensical tripe. Am I "defending" AGS if I say they should be disciplined properly and that the ombudsman should deal with any complaint made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

k_mac wrote: »
    Fine. The fact that there was no actual abuse of power or even discourtesy towards them then.

That is not a fact, it is your opinion, based on nothing but your own prejudices. There is a complaint against the gards, and it will probably form part of the investigation of the matter.

I see. Once again no hint of a prior agenda here.

If you're claiming I have a "prior agenda" on this, then you're simply being paranoid as fúck. Grow up. I've never commented on this issue, and only commented when I realised there is a recording of this. It's no wonder you're feeling so defensive of AGS when you're thinking everybody is out to get you/them/blah blah blah. Blind loyalty is shít, always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

That is not a fact, it is your opinion, based on nothing but your own prejudices. There is a complaint against the gards, and it will probably form part of the investigation of the matter.

What power do you believe they abused?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Having listened to the very beginning of the video, (which interestingly is not in the transcripts printed) it sounded to me like there were 2 female protesters, Gardai were arresting one, and the other (american/canadian accent) kept saying "I'm not leaving her, its not safe". a female garda (I think,) then said something along the lines of "well then you will be arrested too" and the reply is repeated several times "its not safe, im not leaving her"

I wondered was she implying that the gardai would harm the woman in custody, because it sounded like that.

I got the impression that the gardai, once the women had been put into separate squad cars and they got into theirs, that their joking was a follow on from what the american/canadian was saying, as in it was a sarcastic "Oh, yeah, give us your address or we'll rape ya :rolleyes:"

I have to admit, that i have often been sarcastic after dealing with a customer - as in
    Me: "can I have a contact number"
    Caller; " well I dont want you to sell it to a marketing company, I dont want to get any marketing calls"
    Me: " we dont pass on any of your details to a third party etc etc"
    *Customer and I go round in circles here for a few mins*
    Customer finally gives me a contact number.

I get off the phone and joke to my colleague "Yeah, I want your number so I can stick it up in a nightclub toilet offering free Bjs. :rolleyes:"

Unprofessional? yes.
    Should they get fired? No.
    Should they get reprimanded? Yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Mark200 wrote: »
    What power do you believe they abused?

Are you really that stupid?

And another thing I find really disturbing about all of this is about how they were talking in a cavalier manner about how to "get" this woman, how to deport her.

How to pull the legs from under her so she could not exercise her right to protest. Just at the convenience of the gardai. Not in a joking manner, really trying to sabotage her.

****ing assholes, why don't they just go away and kill themselves and the people of Ireland would be better off. How's that for a "joke".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Enlighten me. What power did they abuse?

And another thing I find really disturbing about all of this is about how they were talking in a cavalier manner about how to "get" this woman, how to deport her.

How to pull the legs from under her so she could not exercise her right to protest. Just at the convenience of the gardai. Not in a joking manner, really trying to sabotage her.

****ing assholes, why don't they just go away and kill themselves and the people of Ireland would be better off. How's that for a "joke".
    No they weren't. They were talking about the incident that had just occurred. Not about any possible future incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

mrskinner wrote: »
    In view of the unguarded! comments from the boys in blue! was the woman not proved correct in expressing her fear of being taken away in a squad car by members of the force?

so...........you think they did plan to rape them?

interesting:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

foxinsox wrote: »
    Wow.. Garda Siochana in Shell to Sea sex shocker thread is sizzling!

In my opinion they were joking at work.. end of..

How is this different to joking about "rapeface"?
    Google comes back with 285,000 results on rapeface..

As someone mentioned earlier in the thread, the word rape has become part of culture and is often used in a joke style.. not at all meant to cause offence..

It was a private conversation..

Jaysus, if all we ever said was made public, none of us would ever open our mouths :eek:

I'm sure in all professions joking goes on and often could be very inappropriate if overheard..

The difference has been explained ad-nauseum at this stage. The problem is that people are less likely to want to report cases of rape if there is a sense that those charged with investigating such claims will not treat the allegations with the seriousness they deserve.

Rightly or wrongly, when the Gardai are seen to joke about such things; people will be reluctant to confide in them over such matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

They didn't know much about ladders either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Neyite wrote: »
    Having listened to the very beginning of the video, (which interestingly is not in the transcripts printed) it sounded to me like there were 2 female protesters, Gardai were arresting one, and the other (american/canadian accent) kept saying "I'm not leaving her, its not safe". a female garda (I think,) then said something along the lines of "well then you will be arrested too" and the reply is repeated several times "its not safe, im not leaving her"

I wondered was she implying that the gardai would harm the woman in custody, because it sounded like that.

I got the impression that the gardai, once the women had been put into separate squad cars and they got into theirs, that their joking was a follow on from what the american/canadian was saying, as in it was a sarcastic "Oh, yeah, give us your address or we'll rape ya :rolleyes:"

I have to admit, that i have often been sarcastic after dealing with a customer - as in
    Me: "can I have a contact number"
    Caller; " well I dont want you to sell it to a marketing company, I dont want to get any marketing calls"
    Me: " we dont pass on any of your details to a third party etc etc"
    *Customer and I go round in circles here for a few mins*
    Customer finally gives me a contact number.

I get off the phone and joke to my colleague "Yeah, I want your number so I can stick it up in a nightclub toilet offering free Bjs. :rolleyes:"

Unprofessional? yes.
    Should they get fired? No.
    Should they get reprimanded? Yes

But would you say "Yeah, I want your number so I can come to your house and rape you"?

No, of course not. Now I want to admit something (for transparency and to show I'm not a prude), but I've made some similar sort of jokes before online, but never would I dream of doing it in a setting like that, about such a serious and sensitive issue as the pipeline!!! And also the girl I was talking about was there.

Totally different thing altogether. A strawman's argument is to prove something else, some totally innocuous example, and refute it or say it's not so bad. This time it is.

Fired, if anything these gardai should be thrown in prison.

As someone mentioned earlier in the thread, the word rape has become part of culture and is often used in a joke style.. not at all meant to cause offence.

Just what sort of "culture" are you/they hanging around. Larry Murphy? I, for one, have never talked about "rape" in a jocular fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

If you're claiming I have a "prior agenda" on this, then you're simply being paranoid as fúck. Grow up. I've never commented on this issue, and only commented when I realised there is a recording of this. It's no wonder you're feeling so defensive of AGS when you're thinking everybody is out to get you/them/blah blah blah. Blind loyalty is shít, always.

blind outrageous outrage is shít, always

They didn't make any official complaint. They just posted it on the internet. There has been no complaint made as yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

So. . . joking about raping a child in your care is a no-no, but joking about raping a woman about in your care is fine.

But . . . since neither breaks any law, as long as the joke is confined to a squad car/ teacher's lounge, at the end of the day it's a joke, so Teacher who joked about raping little Johnny in senior infants keeps his job, and Garda who joked about raping the handcuffed "blondy" in the "fanny wagon" keeps his too. Good times.
    sdonn wrote: »
    Exactly!

Because a joke in private is TOTALLY harmless unless you're a psycopath that want's to go through with it. Joking in public is a different matter entirely. For example, if I had made my joke about my cutomer getting hit by a bus, in the middle of the shopping centre in a loud voice...well, I;d be looking for a job wouldn't I, and rightly so for being so stupid.

Okay, thanks for clearing that up. I must say, I really didn't expect you to say that a teacher joking at work with his colleagues in the teacher's lounge about raping a particular child in his class was TOTALLY harmless and should keep his job. I doubt there are many who would agree with you on that.

If you're claiming I have a "prior agenda" on this, then you're simply being paranoid as fúck. Grow up..

Right...
    I'm glad we all have a better idea now of how the protesters in Mayo are being treated by the police force of this republic.
    If this is a sample of the rightwing neo-fascist treatment the Garda Síochána has been dishing out to the Shell-to-Sea campaigners for the past number of years then the Irish state is acting deeply shamefully here. If this recording didn't exist, you can be sure the same old rightwing Blueshirt "law and order" morons would be denying it ever happened. That's the truly sickening part.
    The recording exists - ergo, the latter two are fúcked when they try their usual dismissive tactics. As are all the apologists for the pig-ignorant element of AGS. "Busted", as the Yanks would say.
    Why you feel the need to defend the indisputably sexist, pig-ignorant, neo-fascist thicks of AGS on this issue is inexplicable..

Yeah, it totally seems this doesn't fit you pre-established attitude towards AGS at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

calm down, you're hysterical

A few lads were making a tasteless joke, it happens every second of the day. As long as they were doing their jobs properly, and there's no reason to believe they weren't, then it isn't a major issue. A rap on the knuckles will suffice

In contrast they appeared to be very serious about their job where, if any of the hysterical bothered to read the full transcript, the majority of the conversation was about how to do their job properly and in a safe manner, for both themselves and the protestors

I find it laughable that they a lot of people who are complaining about what the gardai said, privately, and calling for their dismissal are the very people who would complain about authority when it isn't directly in their favour. Yet here they call for the harshest punishments for a relatively minor, albeit stupid, lack of foresight on the part of the young gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

Very late into the thread, but has it been proven that the video is legit?

seanor3 wrote: »
    Very late into the thread, but has it been proven that the video is legit?

Not yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

The difference has been explained ad-nauseum at this stage. The problem is that people are less likely to want to report cases of rape if there is a sense that those charged with investigating such claims will not treat the allegations with the seriousness they deserve.

Rightly or wrongly, when the Gardai are seen to joke about such matters; people will be reluctant to confide in them over such matters.

I honestly think that if anyone does have the courage to go to a Garda station to report a rape that they would be treated with the upmost respect.

I understand what you are saying though..

I honestly think these lads were just joking..no harm meant.

btw - I'm only going by the transcript I read and what I heard on the news. If the story develops further I may change my mind.

If anybody was to seriously joke about rape in front of a rape victim it would be totally out of line. This doesn't seem to be what happened here.

From anything I have ever heard it seems that the Garda or any rape crisis centres treat victims with total respect and do everything they can to help.

I don't have figures to hand, but I believe that a large amount of rape goes unreported, which I don't think has anything to do with this situation.

I do understand what you are saying, but if there was no recording there would be no issue.

Right...

Yeah, it totally seems this doesn't fit you pre-established attitude towards AGS at all.

Is English your first language? So now it seems we can't even talk about the "sexist, pig ignorant thicks of AGS" - which is precisely what the gardaí in question are by any civilised standard - without some uber-defensive poster getting paranoid and saying this (explicitly very qualified) section of AGS means, after all, that all members of AGS have those qualities. Well done on the irrational front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This could have been a recurring joke where they have had someone make the accusation completely off hand to them in the past and the rape comment is a rolleyes to the nonsense people accuse the guards of just to make them seem bad for arresting them.

I don't know though, this is a media storm now. This happens in every industry though, you think the waitress has anything nice to say about the customers she doesn't like?

I honestly think that if anyone does have the courage to go to a Garda station to report a rape that they would be treated with the upmost respect.

Exactly. Nothing in this recording would indicate that faced with an actual complaint or vitcim they wouldn't be 100% on the job, professional, caring, helpful, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

No Garda up there is treated with respect at all. They are abused and insulted and spit on and assaulted.

Oh right, and this makes their comments ok does it? Pulease get a life.

Is English your first language? So now it seems we can't even talk about the "sexist, pig ignorant thicks of AGS" - which is precisely what the gardaí in question are by any civilised standard - without some uber-defensive poster getting paranoid and saying this (explicitly very qualified) section of AGS means, after all, that all members of AGS have those qualities. Well done on the irrational front.

So how does what they said qualify them as neo-fascist? How does this incident square up to "usual tactics" and "number of years of treatment"?