Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Really?

I got raped by my mother last night for not sending her a mothers day card?

Nah, don't quite get you.
    Here's a better example: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71533074&postcount=41

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

humanji wrote: »
    It would have to be a fairly sh*te relationship for something that small to break it up.

Evidently you don't live in small town Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

I don't see the big deal.

It's a simple joke that arose from the demand for details under the Public Order Act. It's in the format of a "give me x or else" joke, and I can think of any one of a hundred different things you could insert for "or else".

Careless, childish even but I mean come on, it's in an entirely different context than dealing with a victim of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

JonJoeDali wrote: »
    Yeah, women love rape. Especially in small towns down the country.
    Here he is Mr 250euro Christening:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

k_mac wrote: »
    Where have you been? Rape is the new Atari Jaguar in Ireland. It's being used as a replacement verb for everything from a telling off to a tax audit i.e. "Got raped by the taxman".

Yes, that's a figurative use of the word. They used it in a literal sense of the word. There's a big difference. I get gallows humour, especially in a job where you deal with raw emotions, of the people they come into contact with and of the guard's themselves. But this wasn't gallows humour, it wasn't making light of a tough situation, it was just them being idiots. And idiots in relation to their power, which should be a big no-no for them. Slap them on the wrist and make them listen to someone talking about raping their sister/girlfriend/daughter for an hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Because I criticise a member for doing a piss poor job, doesn't automatically mean I have a problem with them all. Why would you even think that?

Maybe because your first contribution to the thread was "Are all gardaí boggers?".... and it went from there. Btw aside from the stupid remarks made in private, could you elaborate on just how the gardaí in question did a "piss poor job"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

is them two lassies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

I think if all guards didnt know they were being recorded you would see the full truth of how disrepectful they really can be towards people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I do and it is a bullshìt reason to end a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That has nothing to do with it. It was a throwaway joke. If someone breaks up witha person because of a tiny, silly joke, then they've got bigger issues. Honestly, would you break up with someone because you didn't like a joke they told? It doesn't matter what the joke is about, would you just break up with them because you didn't like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Buceph wrote: »
    Yes, that's a figurative use of the word. They used it in a literal sense of the word. There's a big difference. I get gallows humour, especially in a job where you deal with raw emotions, of the people they come into contact with and of the guard's themselves. But this wasn't gallows humour, it wasn't making light of a tough situation, it was just them being idiots. And idiots in relation to their power, which should be a big no-no for them. Slap them on the wrist and make them listen to someone talking about raping their sister/girlfriend/daughter for an hour or two.

Most Gardaí have dealt with rape victims and have listened to their stories over and over while they write it all down. They have seen the damage done. Humour is how many choose to deal with this to avoid an emotional effect on themselves.

I think if all guards didnt know they were being recorded you would see the full truth of how disrepectful they really can be towards people
    Seriously, they've to deal with you, not love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Reading between the lines, it was deliberate that the video tape was left on by the S2S protesters. Smaller portable cameras can record with the viewfinder closed and no discernable visual warning (blinking red light) to show that this it recording.

All this has done is illegally captured a private conversation (regardles of who they were) and has chalked one up for the crusties and their "protest" (the original protesters were residents with legimate concerns about the effects/safety risks a high pressure gas line close to residential areas - wonder where these two women live?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

FFs they didn't offend anyone, they just got busted talking bollox on a video. They are human and I'm sure the same guys if they came in contact with an actual rapist would do whatever they could to get a conviction. Its our judges who release these dirty ****ers back into society that piss me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,223 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

humanji wrote: »
    That has nothing to do with it. It was a throwaway joke. If someone breaks up witha person because of a tiny, silly joke, then they've got bigger issues. Honestly, would you break up with someone because you didn't like a joke they told? It doesn't matter what the joke is about, would you just break up with them because you didn't like it?

of course it matters what the joke is - I probably would break up with that guard if i was dating him

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Someone should really do a dubstep version of this..

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    of course it matters what the joke is - I probably would break up with that guard if i was dating him

What?! A gay Garda! I don't think that's possible. They weed 'em out before they ever set foot in Templemore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Johnnymcg wrote: »

They'd be better off without you so.

And best of luck finding a new partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

If they spoke like that to a member of the public or a victim they should indeed be fired. Like I already said though, they need to desensitise themselves to the crime in order to do their job properly. That's a necessary step for most working in the emergency services. People do it in different ways. Many use humour.

Wow great excuss there I wonder if their union rep will be using that one :rolleyes:

I think they should be fired - straight message, clear and simple, to show that behaviour like this is not acceptable.

I think if I was raped I wouldn`t go to the garda in this country. I already lack faith in their ability to deal with something like this professionally, I have a previous experience with just how corrupt and unprofessional the Garda can be, this just affirms the lack of change in attitude.

Judging by the number of comments defending them I think there is a cultural problem thats much deeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Most Gardaí have dealt with rape victims and have listened to their stories over and over while they write it all down. They have seen the damage done. Humour is how many choose to deal with this to avoid an emotional effect on themselves.

Yes, I know what gallows humour is, I said I know what gallows humour is in my post. The thing about gallows humour is that it generally needs a gallows to qualify. So I have used my intuition and experience to determine that this wasn't a case of gallows humour. There was nothing that prompted it, there was no reference to a case that would have inspired such a reflection and it wasn't in anyway related to a traumatic or emotional experience. Now, I can't say I know what was going through the minds of the guard who started with the rape-jokes. Maybe the desperation in the protester's eyes reminded him of some horrific case he had to deal with. But having read the conversation, I don't think that to be the case for the reasons I outlined. I think it was just guards being thick about rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Remmy wrote: »
    Someone should really do a dubstep version of this..

Are'nt there enough ****e dubstep tracks out there already?

The ould gardeeys have the best legal representation that taxpayer money can buy, I'm sure they'll get a fair crack of the whip if it goes to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It will be interesting to see what the official Gardai line on this is. Whether or not it is expectable for on duty Gardai to make jokes like this, even if in private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Can't believe people are defending the Gardaí here,not even a case of playing devils advocate but full on,ignorance of how vile this is

it's not about the semantics of they were alone in the car,or they were in uniform,or it was a covert recording and those women were out for trouble (which is bull**** tbh)

This is about the contempt shown for the public that they are meant to serve,simple as that

I know a lot of people who work on the medical side of the Emergency Services.yes they use humour to try and rationalise horrific events they witness,bodies they recover that are bloated and rotting for being in the sea
    things that would reduce any normal person to tears,it's a stress reliever to try and take some of the shock out of what they see daily
    but this was not a case of "gallows humour" after witnessing a horrific event
    this was Gardaí forgetting that they serve us,not themselves

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Plazaman wrote: »
    Reading between the lines, it was deliberate that the video tape was left on by the S2S protesters. Smaller portable cameras can record with the viewfinder closed and no discernable visual warning (blinking red light) to show that this it recording.

All this has done is illegally captured a private conversation (regardles of who they were) and has chalked one up for the crusties and their "protest" (the original protesters were residents with legimate concerns about the effects/safety risks a high pressure gas line close to residential areas - wonder where these two women live?)
    This is something I've noticed as well. I'm not a garda and don't have any axe to grind with the protesters, but have an interest in the issue from a political perspective.

However, the most recent influx of protesters tend to be outsiders, and by that you could say, outside of Ireland even. The community was included in submissions and reviews over the last two years, and I believe an agreement was reached which dealt with a lot of the genuine issues.

The current protesters tend to be coming from an hardline position, they want all or nothing, so for them it's force Shell offshore and if possible out of the project.

In fact, as Plazaman has mentioned, it is a recognised tactic to leave recording devices on if arrested during a protest for the exact reasons outline here. I'm sure we'll see this happen a lot more in future, with individual criminal arrests being secretly recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If that was Brian Cowen or Ivor callaly joking about they would be lynched by now.

But if it was Eamonn Gilmore he wouldnt. Picking 2 people that everyone is giving out about anyway doesnt make your attempt at a point any stronger, in fact it weakenes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

theg81der wrote: »

Judging by the number of comments defending them I think there is a cultural problem thats much deeper.

That sums up my feelings quite well. We have an attitude in this country of "ah sure, it was only a joke" that really needs to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

punchdrunk wrote: »
    I know a lot of people who work on the medical side of the Emergency Services.yes they use humour to try and rationalise horrific events they witness,bodies they recover that are bloated and rotting for being in the sea
    things that would reduce any normal person to tears,it's a stress reliever to try and take some of the shock out of what they see daily
    but this was not a case of "gallows humour" after witnessing a horrific event
    this was Gardaí forgetting that they serve us,not themselves

The other emergency services "serve us" too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Why are foreign people feeling the need to protest there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

Forget the rape jokes, can we stop them being on facebook all day? :D