Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Comments said on Boards should be used to remove a person from their job when they say something inappropiate, then?

Since this entire site is so well-spoken, after all...........

Stupid remark but was held within a private conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Comments said on Boards should be used to remove a person from their job when they say something inappropiate, then?

Since this entire site is so well-spoken, after all...........

Stupid remark but was held within a private conversation.

I do not comment on this site while performing my official duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

Whatever the consequences, the loss of a employment or pass over for promotion arising from this would be grossly unfair in my view. But sadly, those involved will now have this hanging over their heads for the rest of their career.

I don't agree with the Gardai in everything they said, but it's seriously a non-issue in the scheme of things. I remember back at the start of all this Shell to Sea business gardai and protesters beating lumps of one another, but no one was concerned then.

At the end of the day, we empower these people to enforce the law and that's what they did on this occasion. We don't always agree with the law or the results which arise from it, but it's not the Gardai's problem. In this case, the law was upheld and the subsequent banter has no impact on that.

In fact, I was actually surprised when I first read the transcript that this was the centre of the "scandal", I thought it was a lot more serious, defamatory, or offensive with Gardai gang raping peaceful activists or something! It turns out to be a mountain out of a mole hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I love this bit....

Garda A: “. . .To get them down safely we’d have to erect a scaffold tower beside them and abseil them down. And and, the, the, taking the common-sense approach, and a common-sense view, it would be impractical to erect a scaffolding tower to get them down off it. And we use whatever safe means at our disposal, as we considered safe protest removal team to take them down, ie, ropes and ladders.”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

They'll be sent to the Garda Information Technology section in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

How disengenuine did those women sound while being arrested.
    They were up to mischief from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Solair wrote: »

The other issue is that vulnerable people who have been victims of sexual assault have to rely on the Gardaí to be their first point of contact in a crisis and to deal with often very personal information and accounts of terrible situations. They also have to rely on them to bring prosecutions against their attackers and also to provide protection to victims.

What kind of twisted message does this "lads talking sh*ite" send out about the Gardaí. Do they find rape to be an amusing topic or something?!

This is excactly why what they did was so incredibly wrong and does nothing to help women/men who have been sexually assaulted in their decision to seek justice through the guards:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

I dont think people are calling them monsters.
    Just calling them unfit for the job.
    The transcript demonstrates an extraordinarily poor standard of English...
    Do you have to pass Leaving Cert English to join the Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

amiable wrote: »
    They were up to mischief from the start

Lol, sure they asked for it. Someone lock this thread FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

k_mac wrote: »
    The women were in a different car with different Gardaí. Only the camera was in the car with the two Gardaí in question.

oh hang on a second! i did NOT realise the women were not in the car with the gardai.i thought they said it to the women to their faces.its complete bollox so a storm in a tea cup.if the camera wasnt there no one woluld ever have known.

and yes i know joking about rape is not good in any sense but it wasnt said to the women.they were just having a conversation albeit a conversation two apes might have but a conversation nonetheless.

they sound like two morons though really and truly.two brain dead morons.

squod wrote: »

Lol, sure they asked for it. Someone lock this thread FFS.
    Thanks for putting words in my mouth and attempting to mod the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Does anyone else find it odd, how he just dropped the word rape into an otherwise mostly professional conversation? Why would someone do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

Those Gardai's careers are over.

Wouldn't be surprised if they lose a wife/girlfriend over it too.

I smell a rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I very much doubt somebody would be dismissed from a private sector position purely for this if it was a private conversation and not actually said to the woman in question. Not that you wouldn't think they were puerile idiots of course.

The fact that they are Gardai doesn't mean much either. It's like saying any off-colour jokes you make from a anonymous account on Boards have a direct bearing on your conduct in your professional life which we all know is not true.
    Does anyone else find it odd, how he just dropped the word rape into an otherwise mostly professional conversation? Why would someone do that?

People on here say rape to describe being nutmegged at football, having their facebook accounts hacked and having their taxes increased.

It's become a desensitized word, usually for men.

I wouldn't say what those Gardai said, not even in jest but it's not a sacking offence to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Where have you been? Rape is the new Atari Jaguar in Ireland. It's being used as a replacement verb for everything from a telling off to a tax audit i.e. "Got raped by the taxman".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

JonJoeDali wrote: »

If a wife or girlfriend leaves over that comment then they are better off without them. An awful lot of men would be in trouble if that was grounds for divorce. Don't be ridiculous.

Oh well, if people have there way that's two more vacancies for the Garda Recruitment forum to mull over.

k_mac wrote: »
    Where have you been? Rape is the new Atari Jaguar in Ireland. It's being used as a replacement verb for everything from a telling off to a tax audit i.e. "Got raped by the taxman".

Really?

I got raped by my mother last night for not sending her a mothers day card?

Nah, don't quite get you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Rape jokes are a part of popular culture.. This is stupid that anyone could lose their jobs over it.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    oh hang on a second! i did NOT realise the women were not in the car with the gardai.i thought they said it to the women to their faces.its complete bollox so a storm in a tea cup.if the camera wasnt there no one woluld ever have known.

and yes i know joking about rape is not good in any sense but it wasnt said to the women.they were just having a conversation albeit a conversation two apes might have but a conversation nonetheless.

they sound like two morons though really and truly.two brain dead morons.

Joking about rape (especially when your a guard who deals with rape and it's devastating effects on the victim) is not good in any sense and here this statement should end..............:(

I don't believe they should be fired but at the same time I do believe they should really evaluate their joking attitude towards rape and seriously think before they make light of certain issues again........

What if one of the protesters had "down syndrome" or something and they proceeded with jokes of that nature????

It was wrong and extremely unprofessional to speak and joke in the manner in which they did and to say otherwise is a load of "you know what"...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

samsemtex wrote: »
    If a wife or girlfriend leaves over that comment then they are better off without them. An awful lot of men would be in trouble if that was grounds for divorce. Don't be ridiculous.

Yeah, women love rape. Especially in small towns down the country.

I thought the same thing:confused:

Very odd!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Really? Nah, don't quite get you.

Simply put, because you don't want to. Grind the axe away, for it's claer to see that is what is going on. What happened? Get a ticket over the weekend or what?

Stupid throwaway remarks in what should have been a private conversation. Rap the knuckles, be more professional in future, case closed. The drama and shít-stirring by some on this thread is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Joking about rape (especially when your a guard who deals with rape and it's devastating effects on the victim) is not good in any sense and here this statement should end..............:(

I don't believe they should be fired but at the same time I do believe they should really evaluate their joking attitude towards rape and seriously think before they make light of certain issues again........

What if one of the protesters had "down syndrome" or something and they proceeded with jokes of that nature????

It was wrong and extremely unprofessional to speak and joke in the manner in which they did and to say otherwise is a load of "you know what"...........

If they spoke like that to a member of the public or a victim they should indeed be fired. Like I already said though, they need to desensitise themselves to the crime in order to do their job properly. That's a necessary step for most working in the emergency services. People do it in different ways. Many use humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Well that's how a lot of jokes work, in fairness. You take a statement that people will assume will go in one direction and you drag it off into an unexpected route. You know, "Man walks into a bar, 'Ouch!'". I'm not saying that it's particularly funny, but it's how it works.

The gard wasn't intending to rape the women, he slipped the word in there because it's something that really doesn't fit in there. And that's where they find the humour in it. It's not the word, it's how inappropriately it fits in.
    JonJoeDali wrote: »

Why would their careers be over? All they really deserve is a slap on the wrist and a bit of tact training.

And why would a wife/girlfriend leave someone over a stupid little joke? It would have to be a fairly sh*te relationship for something that small to break it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Have a look at the transcript again. They were talking about one lady being from America or Canada. She refused to give an address and was told she would be arrested, then someone said "and deported" (worse than arrested) and someone again "and raped" (way worse than arrested and deported).

It's just an attempt at humor.

prinz wrote: »
    Simply put, because you don't want to. Grind the axe away, for it's claer to see that is what is going on. What happened? Get a ticket over the weekend or what?

I have no axe to grind with the Gardai. Infact I think they mostly do a great job considering the resources they have.

Because I criticise a member for doing a piss poor job, doesn't automatically mean I have a problem with them all. Why would you even think that?