Most racist thing you seen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

FatherLen wrote: »
    the most racist thing i have seen is tom and jerry. that cat is trying to KILL that mouse just because it is a mouse. its a disgrace.
    Species...... race........ not the same........:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

In Thailand they have a racist system known as Farang Pricing, went to visit a park one day, the locals were getting charged 60bt (€1.50) and I as a non-Thai was charged 300bt (€7.50), I knew about it but is pissed me off no-end, imagine charging Black or Asian tourists over here extra because of their nationality; it would be a libtards wet dream come true.

I had a fierce interesting conversation with a young educated and English speaking Thai girl one evening and the perception in their country is that all people in the west are absolutely loaded and that they see it as fair game. I had a little difficulty explaining that less than 5% of people are truly loaded and that about 25% of people are very comfortable and the rest are only managing to survive or are literally broke.

The racism shown towards White people in the world far outweights the racism of past white peoples and whites are the least racist and most welcoming race on Earth with black Africans and Arabs being the most hate filled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Stinicker wrote: »
    I had a fierce interesting conversation with a young educated and English speaking Thai girl one evening and the perception in their country is that all people in the west are absolutely loaded and that they see it as fair game. I had a little difficulty explaining that less than 5% of people are truly loaded and that about 25% of people are very comfortable and the rest are only managing to survive or are literally broke..

The one's who go to Thailand for pleasure/recreation are plenty well off to handle a little uplift in local pricing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭smugchik

glenjamin wrote: »
    One time a load of Chinese people moved to where I lived and thought I was racist because there was a piece of square dirt on my window and as I was waving it at them from inside it looked like I had a Hitler moustache. We all went on the piss afterwards so it was all good in the end.
    I saw that episode of Father Ted too...

enda1 wrote: »
    Why immediately jump to the racist card?

Perhaps the priest is not a nice guy and had a run in with one or more of them? Maybe they find him completely non-understandable and are expressing their annoyance in an over the top manner by calling him a bastard. Black is just an adjective (and forms easy alliteration in this case) which could just as easily be small, fat, tall, blonde, etc. etc.

Its not so easy to judge whether or not they are racist sentiments unless you know the motive behind the statements. If they are calling him a bastard because he's black/because of his race then fine label them racists. While if they are calling him a bastard because of another reason then "black" is only an identifier.

Don't be ridiculous. That is the very definition of racism, using race to insult someone. Why should it even be an issue? If the guy is a bastard, he's a bastard. Calling him a black bastard makes it racist. Please don't insult our intelligence by suggestion it's a descriptive term. Why would you need to use a descriptive term to someone's face? Do you think the priest didn't know he was black? There's a world of difference between someone saying 'the black guy who works in Tescos' to clarify who they're talking about and calling someone a black bastard in an argument.

And yes, this also applies to calling someone a white bastard, a fat bastard or a blind bastard. Using someone's physical appearance as part of an insult is a pathetic, low and plain kunty thing to do and I'd be embarrassed to see a grown adult behaving like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

In Thailand they have a racist system known as Farang Pricing, went to visit a park one day, the locals were getting charged 60bt (€1.50) and I as a non-Thai was charged 300bt (€7.50), I knew about it but is pissed me off no-end, imagine charging Black or Asian tourists over here extra because of their nationality; it would be a libtards wet dream come true.

I had a fierce interesting conversation with a young educated and English speaking Thai girl one evening and the perception in their country is that all people in the west are absolutely loaded and that they see it as fair game. I had a little difficulty explaining that less than 5% of people are truly loaded and that about 25% of people are very comfortable and the rest are only managing to survive or are literally broke.

The racism shown towards White people in the world far outweights the racism of past white peoples and whites are the least racist and most welcoming race on Earth with black Africans and Arabs being the most hate filled.
    If you're broke, don't go to Thailand.

Thailand and other countries in that region (or at least certain areas of those countries) are stuck in a kind of poverty we can't really comprehend so to hold them to the same standards would be a bit ridiculous IMO. Also remember that they don't have anything like the EU to enforce standards or equality in pricing.

That last paragraph of your post is probably the stupidest thing I have read on boards in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Years ago I was sharing a house with a woman who was also not Irish and had become a good friend.

She had to take two buses to get to where she worked in Tallaght and told me that one day some old Irish guy got on and wanted to pass through the crowd to the back of the bus. In front of him, standing up was a black guy and he said 'get out of the way, n*gger'.

My friend was horrified and asked him who the f*ck did he think he was to speak to the guy like that etc etc. The old dude turned to her and said 'I don't have to listen to some British a-hole', to which she replied 'i am not a British a-hole, I am a French a-hole'.

The bus all cheered her and she ended up getting off at the next stop and walking to work, she was that mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

If you're broke, don't go to Thailand.

Thailand and other countries in that region (or at least certain areas of those countries) are stuck in a kind of poverty we can't really comprehend so to hold them to the same standards would be a bit ridiculous IMO. Also remember that they don't have anything like the EU to enforce standards or equality in pricing.

That last paragraph of your post is probably the stupidest thing I have read on boards in a long time.

If you want to talk about charging foreigners more, look at Cuba. They have two different currencies, one for locals and one for foreigners. All the official shops charge the foreign money. But unofficial restaurants and taxis and the like that charge in the resident's currency often charge foreigners the same nominal dollar value in the foreigners currency which is worth a lot more. Foreigners are often recommended to get some local currency to buy small things with.

I wouldn't begrudge them that if I was there. Any non-state sanctioned, and provided goods are out of their reach if they don't do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

That new billboard littering the city depicting northsiders as pyjama wearing goujers, certain places on the southside are equally as bad. www.kissd4.ie is the website its on. If anybody knows the meaning of it i'm all ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭DUB777

Was in Parnell st again funnily enough & was collecting a few mates after one of their birthdays. Didnt have money to go out so I said I'd go in collect them & have a few cans at the session back in the house. Anyway, was sitting outside one of the god knows how many Chinese restaurants there & some Irish lad came down the street & kicked one of the windows in. A load of waiters came running out and your man, drunk as a skunk with his balls of steel charged at them. 3 of them ran back inside & left the one tall skinny chap there on his own with this raging piss head. The Irish guy gave him a few slaps, in fairness to the Chinese lad he stood his ground. Anyway the Chinese guy managed to pull his shirt up over his head & gave the paddy a few slaps back. This only infuriated the drunken lout & caused him to rip his shirt off. He was hurling abuse at the poor waiter & next thing this giant sumo wrestler sized chef walked out the smashed door through what was left of the broken glass with a big meat cleaver looking thing. Like the yoke a butcher uses to chop up a steak & the lout shat himself and ran down the road. But the 3 lads that had run in, not only did they call the chef out for back up but there was 5 waiters coming down from another Chinese restaurant down the road. The lout ran straight into them & they gave him a hiding & sumo & his four waiters ran down to give him some to. The poor bloke was getting danced on by 9 waiters & a huge sumo sized chef layed into him when he caught up. The lout deserved every slap tho, he'd brought it all on himself. Read on teletext news the next day he ended up being hospitalised the @sshole.

I've been refused service in some places.. And some hotel receptionists wouldn't even acknowledge that I was standing in front of them. I haven't seen much racism in my life so that's probably the worst for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

DUB777 wrote: »
    Was in Parnell st again funnily enough & was collecting a few mates after one of their birthdays. Didnt have money to go out so I said I'd go in collect them & have a few cans at the session back in the house. Anyway, was sitting outside one of the god knows how many Chinese restaurants there & some Irish lad came down the street & kicked one of the windows in. A load of waiters came running out and your man, drunk as a skunk with his balls of steel charged at them. 3 of them ran back inside & left the one tall skinny chap there on his own with this raging piss head. The Irish guy gave him a few slaps, in fairness to the Chinese lad he stood his ground. Anyway the Chinese guy managed to pull his shirt up over his head & gave the paddy a few slaps back. This only infuriated the drunken lout & caused him to rip his shirt off. He was hurling abuse at the poor waiter & next thing this giant sumo wrestler sized chef walked out the smashed door through what was left of the broken glass with a big meat cleaver looking thing. Like the yoke a butcher uses to chop up a steak & the lout shat himself and ran down the road. But the 3 lads that had run in, not only did they call the chef out for back up but there was 5 waiters coming down from another Chinese restaurant down the road. The lout ran straight into them & they gave him a hiding & sumo & his four waiters ran down to give him some to. The poor bloke was getting danced on by 9 waiters & a huge sumo sized chef layed into him when he caught up. The lout deserved every slap tho, he'd brought it all on himself. Read on teletext news the next day he ended up being hospitalised the @sshole.

I love a good comeuppance story :)

Dotsey wrote: »
    That new billboard littering the city depicting northsiders as pyjama wearing goujers, certain places on the southside are equally as bad. www.kissd4.ie is the website its on. If anybody knows the meaning of it i'm all ears.
    It's probably part of some marketing strategy that you're vindicating by talking about the billboard and linking everybody to the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Most racist thing ive seen lately was a black woman calling a white bus driver a racist because he asked he to give move and make room for a woman with a baby

If he was really a racist he wouldn't have let the black woman on the bus in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭double GG

Well thinking back, it happened in my very own kitchen. I was just sitting there watching t.v when there it happened, I couldn't believe it, How the hell could the pot call the kettle black?

Calling someone black isn't racist but anyhow.

double GG wrote: »
    Well thinking back, it happened in my very own kitchen. I was just sitting there watching t.v when there it happened, I couldn't believe it, How the hell could the pot call the kettle black?

Calling someone black isn't racist but anyhow.
    Sounds a bit hypocritical to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

The Westerners who can afford to go to Asia on holidays are among the 'very comfortable', which puts them far ahead of most of the people in the region.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

phew!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

For me it's the taxi drivers I'd talked to aat times. Not all of them just a few of them.
    They can't stand the black fellas being taxi drivers. I also heard this lovely delight a few nights ago outside my home: How dare you fu*king yourself a taxi driver ya black bastard when you don't even know where the fu*k (fairly known pub in Dublin 1) is? Probably don't even speak proper English either.
    Poor taxi driver tried to explain things to him and eventually lost his head and said "I'm from America, I speak American English, you and your lady friend were just too drunk to even give me proper directions and that's why I asked a few times to make sure".

There was also a programme I think about racism in the Dublin taxi business and that basically a black taxi driver was assualted by a passagener from another guy's taxi because the black guy refused to bring him somewhere (he didn't get in the black fella's taxi or anything, but the taxi driver said he wouldn't go that far or something). The Irish taxi drivers *yes DRIVERS* let the black fella get his nose broken by the fu*ker and then one of the taxi drivers gave the scumbag a lift home.
    blaze1 wrote: »
    was in a pub for new years 98/99,
    a bloke who was there said to one of the girls who worked there giving it loads "suck my c0ck you black biatch" .

I told him to leave it out, he squared up to me and I ended up gettin booted out?!?!?!?!

I'm guessing that it's because she's black and in the minority.

In fairness, most of the poorer areas were the tourists got for "pleasure" would consider them loaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah the Taj Mahal has the gringo price as well, 20 rupees for the local and 750 for the gringo.

i.e 31c and €11.70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

take the Luas regularly at night and the drivers who occasionally be black are giving horrible abuse of junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

the word racist is bandied about too easily - a lot of what people say is racist is really a case of discrimination - i know racism IS discrimination, what i mean is their race doesnt always come into it.
    it also seems to be a word used as a weapon - the race card. which is unfortunate because it takes away from the impact of the word 'racist' to the point that actual racism is given a shrug and a brushoff.

the only racism ive ever seen myself is verbal. im glad i never saw violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

To be fair, people seem to be excusing the "racist" examples from Asia based on income and poverty which seems mighty weak since the posters did not say whether it was rich/poor asians being racist (actually, one example from Korea was bar owners, so not exactly poor now).

It seems like anti-racism racism where people think asians/africans are so inferior, they don't have the capability or intelligence to be racist and explain/defend racist behaviour with excuses like wealth/history/culture whereas white people, even if in similar conditions, will not get this benefit.

Are Irish people living under a certain wage or in huge debt excused from being racist too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Mate was called a cracker on a greyhound bus going from Vegas back to LA. I burst out laughing at the time, Angry black man was not impressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

To be fair, people seem to be excusing the "racist" examples from Asia based on income and poverty which seems mighty weak since the posters did not say whether it was rich/poor asians being racist (actually, one example from Korea was bar owners, so not exactly poor now).

It seems like anti-racism racism where people think asians/africans are so inferior, they don't have the capability or intelligence to be racist and explain/defend racist behaviour with excuses like wealth/history/culture whereas white people, even if in similar conditions, will not get this benefit.

Are Irish people living under a certain wage or in huge debt excused from being racist too?

Something that I would like to add to your post: is it just people that aren't Thai/Korean/member of said country that aren;t being discriminated against or is it people of a difference race? If it's the former than it isn't racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Oranage2 wrote: »
    take the Luas regularly at night and the drivers who occasionally be black are giving horrible abuse of junkies.

Are they occasionally white too? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Are they occasionally white too? :D

I'm not too sure, I have to ask the driver what race/color he or even she is because everybody looks the same to me -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

biko wrote: »
    Yesterday I heard a 3yo from a "deprived background" calling a black 10yo ni6ger.
    Wonder where the 3yo picked that word up?

A 50 cent CD maybe :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Something that I would like to add to your post: is it just people that aren't Thai/Korean/member of said country that aren;t being discriminated against or is it people of a difference race? If it's the former than it isn't racist.

I don't really know. You would have to ask the poster who wrote it.

My point is that when you read this thread, examples of racism from asian or african peoples are defended and excused a lot of times and comparing them to the Irish white examples of racism on this thread, they are much worse. The Irish examples seem to be a few idiots might yell or say something race related but overall, it is extremely tame and we should be very proud in Ireland that racism is extremely limited. Some people just like to blow it out of proportion.

1-Scumbag One walks down a street, he meets an old man
    "you old f**er, get out of my way"
    2-next he meets a long haired male
    "f**king dirty hippie"
    3-next he meets an overweight girl
    "state of you, fat f**K"
    4-next he meets an African
    "go home ******"

Now all these are annoying as hell and I wish none of it happened, but I have no idea why one of these is deemed more important or significant then the others