Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nurofen and Bloody Chemists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

dibs101 wrote: »
    Its complete bull****. Either they are prescription or they are not!

If the are for sale over the counter and I am a paying customer then I am entitled to buy them.

This government may have ****ed up this country but they sure as hell arent gonna tell me how to manage my pain.

Now give me the tablets bitch!

you should really count yourself lucky you don't need cannabis for pain relief!!

they might have fcuked the country but funnily enough yes they will tell you how to manage your pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Compak wrote: »
    "She was a fecking Chemist, not a bloody medical consultant"

No, she was a pharmacist. Not only can she refuse in her full right to sell you nurofen plus she can also refuse to sell it to you even if you are a 'medical consultant' or get a prescription from a medical consultant. Pharmacists are deemed society's experts on medicine -not doctors- and the sale and consequences of medicines rest with them even if prescribed, if abuse is suspected she can refuse simple as.
    Eh no, in Boots you get your painkillers from plain old chemists.

Anyway, on topic.

If I get a bad headache, I take a solpadene. It works, so I take it. Same with period pain. I'm not addicted to it, I have no interest in codiene if I feel good. You can all preach your "but it's not the codiene" bollox all you like, but it works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Compak

phasers wrote: »
    Eh no, in Boots you get your painkillers from plain old chemists.

No sorry, You shop in Boots the Chemist however the provision of certain medicines is illegal unless sold under a 'pharmacists' supervision. this includes sopladeine and nurofen plus. It is a pharmacy degree, not a chemistry degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

I had this problem with the Gripe water supply drying up when I was about 6...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Not in your chemist

No, but next door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

"She was a fecking Chemist, not a bloody medical consultant"

No, she was a pharmacist. Not only can she refuse in her full right to sell you nurofen plus she can also refuse to sell it to you even if you are a 'medical consultant' or get a prescription from a medical consultant. Pharmacists are deemed society's experts on DISPENSING medicine -not doctors- and the sale and consequences of medicines rest with them even if prescribed, if abuse is suspected she can refuse simple as.

Corrected your post for you. Are you a first year pharmacy student?

Thanks, but no thanks, my first post was correct. It is the "provision" not "dispensing".

Appreciate it though

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Lightshow wrote: »
    These rules weren't introduced as a result of lobbying by Pharmacists. In fact they were dead against them from the start due to the effect they would have on their profits.
    +1.
    of course they are taking addictive drugs seriously, are you seriously wondering why they are not letting people just walk in off the street and buy these addictive drugs? the only reason you could before is because it only emerged recently these were extremely addictive. they are now trying to remove peoples dependency on them hence reluctance to hand them out.
    "emerged recently"? Are you having a laugh? As you say pharmacists are very highly educated and trained individuals and as you also say know more than doctors as far as drugs go. Yet they only discovered that an opiate might be addictive? yea, pull the other one KG.

This attitude with some of them is a good example of reformed whore syndrome. Before this was imposed on pharmacists, many of them had big displays of these added codeine drugs, right behind(or sometimes in front) the counter at eye level. Then they even started stocking generic versions for your more money conscious suburban junkie. they also knew hang well people were chucking them back for non medical reasons. If they didn't they were blind, dumb or just plain greedy.

Because of an elderly rellie and a housebound friend, I've reason to be in a chemist on a fairly regular basis and when these things were unregulated you would see the same faces stocking up. They were big sellers. My local independent chemist told me as much and fair play to him he had a policy of keeping an eye on sales and had them out of sight.

Whatever about the supply of codeine(and that's another debate), I can't fúcking abide hypocrisy. And when it's mixed in with amnesia and holier than thouism it truly grates and I'm smelling a fair bit of it from some in the pharmacy biz.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Its really amazing that people advocate tight control of these "addicitve drugs" because they're arn't socially appecpted. Yet alchohol & cigarettes, which are known to be highly addicitve, carcenogenic, organ rotting chemicals arn't given a second thought. Are people saying that tight controls need to be taken on codeine based painkillers, because their effects on society & lives are more so than the above? Some people need to cop the fugg on tbh, & accept if they want to be technical, there's more fundamental issues to be discussed here.

The hippocracy & begrudgery in this country is astonishing at times.

EnterNow wrote: »
    Its really amazing that people advocate tight control of these "addicitve drugs" because they're arn't socially appecpted. Yet alchohol & cigarettes, which are known to be highly addicitve, carcenogenic, organ rotting chemicals arn't given a second thought. Are people saying that tight controls need to be taken on codeine based painkillers, because their effects on society & lives are more so than the above? Some people need to cop the fugg on tbh, & accept if they want to be technical, there's more fundamental issues to be discussed here.

The hippocracy & begrudgery in this country is astonishing at times.

It's a good point and one made a lot by the pro cannabis advocates I believe, also.
    What do we do though, legalise everything below a certain threshold for ready sale or do we ban or restrict cigarettes and alcohol sales.

I for one don't have the answer.

It's a good point and one made a lot by the pro cannabis advocates I believe, also.
    What do we do though, legalise everything below a certain threshold for ready sale or do we ban or restrict cigarettes and alcohol sales.

I for one don't have the answer.

Well I'm making it because I'm an open minded, logical, non cannabis user. The answer starts, with letting people who have a toothache buy a bloody painkiller.

Why take it out on the pharmacists? I t has already being stated that they did not advocate the change and indeed it has hit their profits in an already tightening climate. Direct your annoyance to those who implemented the change.

Should I give out about my local off licence closing at 10? I cant even get down before 10 most of the time. No point in giving out to/about them, sure they would love to open later. Another regulation/restriction by the government.

I know some pharmacists are uber strict and others quite lax but the fact is the very lax ones just don't want the hassle. The strict ones can be too strict but then again they were thrown into this situation. They are also very conscious of the risk of reprimanding/licence review if they called up by the pharmaceutical society (this is why you'll generally find the younger pharmacists more restrcitive). Whether it's right or wrong, often their priority is 'first do no harm' to patient and your career

You will also find the same for doctors when looking for painkilers, even if you are in server pain some doctors are very reluctant to hand out the strong opiates despite the fact you may genuinely need it.

I know if I still worked in pharmacy, I wouldn't give a dam. There's a generic codeine warning sticker and as long as I don't see your face everyday the fact is I simply would not care.

But the thing is that is a bad trait, and a reason I moved to a different area. The take what you want it's only a minor ailment anyway is not the best attitude for a community pharmacist to do their job.

Why take it out on the pharmacists? I t has already being stated that they did not advocate the change and indeed it has hit their profits in an already tightening climate. Direct your annoyance to those who implemented the change.

Show me where I gave out about any Chemist...it's the regulation I've a prolem with.
    Compak wrote:
    Should I give out about my local off licence closing at 10? I cant even get down before 10 most of the time. No point in giving out to/about them, sure they would love to open later. Another regulation/restriction by the government.

Agreed, but a good one.
    Compak wrote:
    I know some pharmacists are uber strict and others quite lax but the fact is the very lax ones just don't want the hassle. The strict ones can be too strict but then again they were thrown into this situation. They are also very conscious of the risk of reprimanding/licence review if they called up by the pharmaceutical society (this is why you'll generally find the younger pharmacists more restrcitive). Whether it's right or wrong, often their priority is 'first do no harm' to patient and your career

I agree, they were thrown into the situation. But the same ones that hassle over giving out Neurofen Plus also distribute Methodone continually, which was only meant to be a short term solution to the Heroin problem. So it's more a case of the left arm not knowing what the right arm is doing..or not wanting to know.
    Compak wrote:
    You will also find the same for doctors when looking for painkilers, even if you are in server pain some doctors are very reluctant to hand out the strong opiates despite the fact you may genuinely need it.

That may be, but doctors are doctors...they'll solve the problem in some way as opposed to saying "No you can't have it...next."
    Compak wrote:
    I know if I still worked in pharmacy, I wouldn't give a dam. There's a generic codeine warning sticker and as long as I don't see your face everyday the fact is I simply would not care.

Well that's not what I'm saying should be done, but it doesn't need to be like a CIA interrogation every time you've a toothache.
    Compak wrote:
    But the thing is that is a bad trait, and a reason I moved to a different area. The take what you want it's only a minor ailment anyway is not the best attitude for a community pharmacist to do their job.

Agreed, but again, common sense is needed here. Not over the top stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Husk

Happened to me before as well, and usually it's a lot more hassle in boots than a regular chemist. I wonder though why did they change the legislation when products like nurofen plus had been available as over the counter painkillers for so long? Was there a hike in codeine addiction cases or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

i really do not understand? how is allowing people who make a decision to take an addictive drug responsible? how can someone be called responsible when they decide to take an addictive substance?

It's called taking "responsibility" for your own actions. As a grown adult I should be informed of the dangers and then be allowed to decide myself. I should also be fully responsible if I end up addicted to the stuff afterwards.

I hate this fuking crap where no one is responsible for their own actions.

Show me where I gave out about any Chemist...it's the regulation I've a prolem with.

Agreed, but a good one.

I agree, they were thrown into the situation. But the same ones that hassle over giving out Neurofen Plus also distribute Methodone continually, which was only meant to be a short term solution to the Heroin problem. So it's more a case of the left arm not knowing what the right arm is doing..or not wanting to know.

That may be, but doctors are doctors...they'll solve the problem in some way as opposed to saying "No you can't have it...next."

Well that's not what I'm saying should be done, but it doesn't need to be like a CIA interrogation every time you've a toothache.

Agreed, but again, common sense is needed here. Not over the top stupidity.

Sorry, I was not directing the "get angry with the pharmacist" point at you and thus can't show where you gave out about them. It is however applicable to a lot of people angry about this situation.
    All I can ask them is to remember that pharmacists themselves don't want this hassle. They don't want to go on powertrips. Many would prefer this legislation to be taken further and for these drugs to be made prescription, not for health reasons, just to stop the confusion and the anger directed at them. Plus it is time consuming and distracting to be called out of dispensary each time to conduct this sale when there may be plenty of prescriptions waiting.

Secondly, someone may have a genuine toothache but you have to realise the word has spread that these appear to be successful stories. One pharmacist I know swears the dentist will be a multimillionaire soon as it appears the whole town has toothaches. So now they are getting annoyed with this tale and are stopping sales, not fair on you with a genuine complaint, for sure, but they feel like they are getting taken for mugs otherwise.
    When it comes to period pain excuse that women seem to think is bullet proof, they know about this also. What I find humorous is when the pharmacist asks them for further details of the pain and the smugness is wiped of their face as they now become the ones all embarrassed (Note: this is me that finds it humorous when I hear of it- Ive a Jimmy Carr sense of humor-, not the pharmacist who is just doing his job)

Thirdly don't get me started on methadone. It is well known its purpose is to faciliate society not the users themselves.

I guess I agree with all except just the dr comment. The Dr will indeed solve the problem in some way -by prescribing another drug he deems adequate, which however wont be as strong as the opiate you need/feel you need. He will ensure the weaker ones are tried first even if you know they are not enough.
    However because he is a doctor people will listen and follow him. When a pharmacist recommends an alternative to try first over solpadiene they get metaphorically lynched. That's the difference.

Sorry, I was not directing the "get angry with the pharmacist" point at you and thus can't show where you gave out about them. It is however applicable to a lot of people angry about this situation.
    All I can ask them is to remember that pharmacists themselves don't want this hassle. They don't want to go on powertrips. Many would prefer this legislation to be taken further and for these drugs to be made prescription, not for health reasons, just to stop the confusion and the anger directed at them. Plus it is time consuming and distracting to be called out of dispensary each time to conduct this sale when there may be plenty of prescriptions waiting.

Secondly, someone may have a genuine toothache but you have to realise the word has spread that these appear to be successful stories. One pharmacist I know swears the dentist will be a multimillionaire soon as it appears the whole town has toothaches. So now they are getting annoyed with this tale and are stopping sales, not fair on you with a genuine complaint, for sure, but they feel like they are getting taken for mugs otherwise.
    When it comes to period pain excuse that women seem to think is bullet proof, they know about this also. What I find humorous is when the pharmacist asks them for further details of the pain and the smugness is wiped of their face as they now become the ones all embarrassed (Note: this is me that finds it humorous when I hear of it- Ive a Jimmy Carr sense of humor-, not the pharmacist who is just doing his job)

Thirdly don't get me started on methadone. It is well known its purpose is to faciliate society not the users themselves.

I guess I agree with all except just the dr comment. The Dr will indeed solve the problem in some way -by prescribing another drug he deems adequate, which however wont be as strong as the opiate you need/feel you need. He will ensure the weaker ones are tried first even if you know they are not enough.
    However because he is a doctor people will listen and follow him. When a pharmacist recommends an alternative to try first over solpadiene they get metaphorically lynched. That's the difference.

Jeez, it's worse than the tv license "They've heard all the excuses" Also making them presciption only means you'd have to pay a doctor, & a subscription fee for a small pack of painkillers? It really is some mess of a situation, why the chemists can't be told to just use their own judgement/initiative is beyond me. If you look legft, you can have a pack, provide ID or something & that's it. There's a copy of the tranaction on file & you can't buy more than a certain amount in a given time - simple.

But legit people walking in, & being told no? I wouldn't be surprised if people just started buying them off street corners to save the hassle...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Usuallly clueless bullsh.it by the general public here...

Firstlyl, Pharmacists can refuse to sell you whatever the fu.ck they want. If they don't want to sell you a bottle of shampoo they don't have to, let alone solpadeine.

These regualtions have been in over 6 months and people still don't understand that codeine is a highly addictive drug and cannot be bought without good reason. People who come up with all these elaborate excuses are more than likely addicts. They just don't know it.

You can be a drug addict without being a full out junkie. Anybody who is in continuous need of codeine based painkillers (as few as a box or two a week) are addicted.

A phamacist friend says the amount of addicts out there is scary. Highest demograph would be office girls between 20-30 years of age. Seem to be having their period 4 weeks of the month. The problem is they don't realise they are addicted.

He personally is sick of having to ask the same questions due to the ignorance and abuse he received. Everyone knows what answers to give at this stage.
    Fu.ck them if they're addicted, they will get the drugs eventually somewhere else, we're in a recession, gotta think of the cash in the till. I'm sure he's not the only Pharmacist who thinks like that.

Usuallly clueless bullsh.it by the general public here...

Firstlyl, Pharmacists can refuse to sell you whatever the fu.ck they want. If they don't want to sell you a bottle of shampoo they don't have to, let alone solpadeine.

These regualtions have been in over 6 months and people still don't understand that codeine is a highly addictive drug and cannot be bought without good reason. People who come up with all these elaborate excuses are more than likely addicts. They just don't know it.

You can be a drug addict without being a full out junkie. Anybody who is in continuous need of codeine based painkillers (as few as a box or two a week) are addicted.

A phamacist friend says the amount of addicts out there is scary. Highest demograph would be office girls between 20-30 years of age. Seem to be having their period 4 weeks of the month. The problem is they don't realise they are addicted.

He personally is sick of having to ask the same questions due to the ignorance and abuse he received. Everyone knows what answers to give at this stage.
    Fu.ck them if they're addicted, they will get the drugs eventually somewhere else, we're in a recession, gotta think of the cash in the till. I'm sure he's not the only Pharmacist who thinks like that.

Before we're all tagged clueless bullsh1tters here, I don't think anyone has a problem with the above. The problem is when you do have good reason to want them. Funny, there's never an issue being served a pint...whether your liver is about to explode or not doesn't seem to matter for that particular highly addivitve chemical...then again, it's socially accepted, not to mention the taxable revenue it generates.

Yes, but what a person thinks is good reason and what actually is good reason are two completely different things.

The two most common examples are dental and period pain. People looking for solpadeine for these is wrong. The correct drug of choice is Nurofen.

If you go to a dentist for dental pain or a Doctor for period pain they will never prescribe paracetamol based analgesics first line. It will always be a N.S.A.I.D. (ibuprofen, mefenamic acid, diclofenac).

Comparing the sale of medicine to alcohol is pointless. Not comparing like with like. If you think alcohol is sold to easily then your issue should be with those who sell it or the government who allow it. That has nothing to do with pharmacists.

Yes, but what a person thinks is good reason and what actually is good reason are two completely different things.

The two most common examples are dental and period pain. People looking for solpadeine for these is wrong. The correct drug of choice is Nurofen.

Then why did the OP get sorted out 20 yards up the road in a different chemist? Malpractice?

Probably for the same reason I stated in my initial post. Some Pharmacists are sick of taking abuse off the public and are aware people will eventually get their codeine somewhere. They need cash in the till.

Technically i guess it is malpractice but there's not a whole lot that can be done about. A slap on the wrist from the regulatory body at most. Worth the risk considering the demand and profitability of said medicines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Tbh Boots is a fúcking nightmare to get Nurofen Plus. If I could find a chemist that would sell them freely, I'd probably stock to avoid the boots aggro.

Probably for the same reason I stated in my initial post. Some Pharmacists are sick of taking abuse off the public and are aware people will eventually get their codeine somewhere. They need cash in the till.

Technically i guess it is malpractice but there's not a whole lot that can be done about. A slap on the wrist from the regulatory body at most. Worth the risk considering the demand and profitability of said medicines.

So its an ineffective regulation thats a complete waste of time, given thats happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I dont get it, if you say you took paracetamol, followed by a pack of padadol and then they give you the nurofen plus. Is that not overdosing a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

ShooterSF wrote: »
    It's called taking "responsibility" for your own actions. As a grown adult I should be informed of the dangers and then be allowed to decide myself. I should also be fully responsible if I end up addicted to the stuff afterwards.

I hate this fuking crap where no one is responsible for their own actions.

if you read my entire post you would have seen i am all for people taking responsibilities for their own actions, in fact i believe it's a must!

the part you quoted me with was me asking would you consider someone who willingly takes an addictive drug responsible?

oh and no i am not a pharmacist. like i said these points i am making are in my opinions,and just from my inferior knowledge on the subject! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

so has the OP made an appointment with a dentist yet?? if they're in dublin, you can try the swiftcare emergency place in dundrum.

Maybe he can't afford to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Lightshow

Wow. There's a lot for me to catch up on here.

Firstly, I didn't say I tried whole packets of paracetamol, just a couple which had no effect. Nurofen Plus worked a treat before, hence my desire to use them again. If panadol had worked previously I would have bought them.

Secondly, I think it's important to get back to the main point here, namely that the pharmacists HAVE NOT been put in a position whereby they are expected to police the sale of these items. The regulations merely state that they are required to inform the customer of the possible side effects / addiction issues of said products. Some just take it upon themselves to overstep the mark and judge their customers.

As for the poor Pharmacists feeling like their being taken for mugs, perhaps they should take up a sport or some other hobby which would help build their confidence a bit and help them to get over whatever inadequacies they clearly have which are interfering with them doing their job.

Pharmacists can indeed refuse to sell anything you anything they damn well please. But why would they? It's not their place to decide what should and should not be sold to the public. That's the responsibility of the Dept. for Health. If it's not restricted to prescription only then sell the damn thing and get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 KilaWhale

why the chemists can't be told to just use their own judgement/initiative is beyond me.

Isn't this what everyone is giving out about here though?