White elephant planned for Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

i am an abff,i do not live any where near this do i detect quite a bit of jelousey here, is it a case of wtf tipperarey how come not somewhere nearer the capital, a guy wants to spend enough of his own money to start a mini boom and he has people knocking his efforts, the website only in dublin springs to mind.

I don't know about anyone else, but I'm sick to the back fucking teeth hearing expressions with the word 'elephant' in them.

Apart from this one, I can't really remember any.

But hten again, my memory's no el.........oh, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Too many people here have watched the Simpsons Monorail episode more than once...

The begrudery at it being built outside of the pale never ceases to bring a big smile to my face.

I'm in Ballinasloe, I'm laughing at it too.

But hey, *shrug* let 'em off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I remember from some time back there was a report comissioned in Galway as to what would be the best way to regenerate the Salthill resort area, the report recommended eight to ten 1,000 bedroom hotels all with casinos.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

galwayrush wrote: »
    I remember from some time back there was a report comissioned in Galway as to what would be the best way to regenerate the Salthill resort area, the report recommended eight to ten 1,000 bedroom hotels all with casinos.:D

Which property developer/bank funded than report? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Tipperary people hate salty bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Ah, the gombeen talk. Pull a Gregory Deal in Dublin and you a hero, do it outside Dublin and you are a gombeen. ;)

Would that be the same Dublin that wanted the Bertie Bowl to honour their beloved. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Tipperary people hate salty bacon.

i loooooove salty bacon!! :D:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Dempsey wrote: »
    Which property developer/bank funded than report? :pac:

Probably all of them...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

cremeegg wrote: »
    noddy

Good comeback, ehm, big ears.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

latenia wrote: »
    The fact is that Richard Quirke (a former Garda) has bribed the police and/or councillors to be allowed to stay open.

Presumably you have more proof of this than "I seen it on tv".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

flas wrote: »
    shannon airport will be about 40 minutes away from this project if it goes ahead, and i dont think it takes a rocket scientist to see that a link will be built to the motorway that runs not a couple of miles from this venture if it gets the go ahead.

40 minutes from Shannon??
    Good luck to you.

More like an hour and a half drive, mate.

I drive Thurles-Limerick city regularly and even using the shortcuts it takes me 45 minutes to get to Castletroy from Thurles.
    Then you've got to navigate your away around (or through) Limerick City and then out to Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

OP, it is a private venture creating jobs. You say it's the height of stupidity but the investors here are not getting State money. Where is the corruption?

I think this part worries some people, there have been problems keeping private and state debt separate in the past. Whether it's a legitimate fear or not is another issue altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭echter

fuck this casino, I'm still waiting for that theme park that was supposed to be built in Lusk or rush or whatever it's called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Do you honestly think it is going to be funded by private savings when it could just be paid for by a bank loan in which case if it fails it the burden can be passed to the taxpayer.

Ya know, one of the smaller irritants of the whole financial crisis, is that people now think all they have to do to win an argument is to make reference to NAMA or the guarantee. It's the new Godwin's Law. Mention NAMA, and not matter how tenuous the link, or how shoddy the argument, and you automatically win. Did I mention it was annoying?
    And make no mistake, this will fail, its not even open for discussion.

Well why didn't you say so?? You could have saved us all a lot of time posting! Anyone would have thought that this was a discussion site!!
    Our farming industry is booming at the minute yet they want to use land for this farce? And create a lot of gambling additions in the process. If you are going to invest in something at least make sure it is viable and sustainable.

If private enterprise wants to invest in a project, or even if it wants to literally flush money down the toilet, who are you or I to stop them? And how can you be sure that this project is going to fail? I'm pretty certain that the people investing the money will be at least as concerned about its viability as you, and might just have undertaken due diligence before investing. Just a thought mind...

As for farming, be serious. Do you really think the Irish agri sector is going to suffer because of the loss of a few hundred hectares in Tipperary? Seriously? Next thing you'll have us planting spuds in Stephen's Green, and converting the Phoenix Park to pasture. You're really doing your best to live up to your avatar...
    Pauleta wrote: »
    I think its a great idea but i think it will be executed poorly. It should be a major party venue but it will be an overpriced corporate venue and with the current drink licensing laws its pointless. I would like to see it get a 24 hour license and be filled with boozers, strip clubs, fast food and night clubs. Its in the middle of nowhere as well. Its perfect for it to become a major indigenous tourist venue, an alternative to money going out of the economy with lads weekends away in Britain and Europe. The venue should also be secured tightly from any sort of anti social behavior.

Ummm, did you fall alseep in between typing those two sentences?
    Two career criminals want to build a casino. Casinos are synominous with crime in the states. I suspect half the people here are FF voters, supporting crime within Ireland since ............ a long time anyways.

I suspect anyone who asserts such a thing is none too bright. In America, as in Ireland, banks are pretty much synomonous with crime at the moment. Perhaps we should abolish them while we're at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

echter wrote: »
    fuck this casino, I'm still waiting for that theme park that was supposed to be built in Lusk or rush or whatever it's called.

Lusk is getting a superdump instead :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Originally Posted by Pauleta View Post
    I think its a great idea but i think it will be executed poorly. It should be a major party venue but it will be an overpriced corporate venue and with the current drink licensing laws its pointless. I would like to see it get a 24 hour license and be filled with boozers, strip clubs, fast food and night clubs. Its in the middle of nowhere as well. Its perfect for it to become a major indigenous tourist venue, an alternative to money going out of the economy with lads weekends away in Britain and Europe. The venue should also be secured tightly from any sort of anti social behavior.

Ummm, did you fall alseep in between typing those two sentences?

You do realise it is possible to have bars, and fast food joints open after 10pm without anti-social behaviour occurring???

Alot of idiots in here somehow thinking it's their money building it..? It may be a stupid business plan but it's jobs and tourism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Will it be a long to this casino?

:D Its along way to tipperary its a long way to go all together now...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Imo I think the casino is a good idea as has been said it would bring lots hundreds of jobs in constructing and hundreds more when finished not to mention the spin offs to the local economy,and when you see the thousands of people and millions of pounds spent going to this weeks cheltenham it seems obvious to me that there is already a market (as in gambling) here for this type of development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

White elephant planned for Tip.

Don't you think 'I hate new stuff - I'm very negative' would have been a more accurate title for this thread?

Give it a bloody chance ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I couldn't give a fcuk where the build it as long as you can get a divorce organized in two weeks. :p

I'm with Chuck on this.

While I find it funny, I do wish them the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

bijapos wrote: »
    And when you do build it you can close down the trackis in Thurles, Clonmel and probably Tipperary as well. Count in the loss in jobs and revenue from racing days in these towns when you do the calculations.

Aren't these courses all subsidized by the government any way? The amount of permanent jobs generated by this complex (most of which will be Tipp residents) if it does go ahead will vastly more beneficial than the few permanent jobs and the temporary jobs generated by the above courses.

Also there is a difference between dirt track racing and grass racing so there will be a market for both. All the major races in this part of the world are run on grass so these tracks will still be important in developing the future racehorses of Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

syklops wrote: »
    You do realise it is possible to have bars, and fast food joints open after 10pm without anti-social behaviour occurring???

Not in Ireland it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

latenia wrote: »
    The problem is that this is being funded from the proceeds of crime and is being promoted by a criminal politician. I was surprised that RTE put it so plainly last night, but Dr Quirkeys is an illegal gambling operation and all money made there is no different to a mafia bookie or numbers racket.

+1 can't believe there's people on here willing to support career criminals in another attempt to get one over on us. People want a couple hundred jobs to be created on the back of a crime gang. FFS people, will you ever learn!

Till they stand in court, they're not criminals, only alleged criminals.

Presumption of Innocence in the Eyes of the Law and all that....

I don't give a feck what they do, if it creates jobs all power to them, if you want to do something about it I suggest placarding the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Till they stand in court, they're not criminals, only alleged criminals.

Presumption of Innocence in the Eyes of the Law and all that....
    Mr Lowry's overall liabilities, including that of his company Garuda Ltd, amounted to €1.45m and related to matters uncovered by both the McCracken and the Moriarty tribunals into payments to politicians.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0925/tax.html

touche.

What do you suggest, we break into his home, citizen arrest him, force him to spend that money on the State at gunpoint?

Let him build his casino and employ some folks who'll pay taxes. Better then letting that money sit in his bank doing sweet FA.