Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Basq wrote: »
    This show has really lost it's entertainment value for me.

i had expected for the last show it'd be a bit better, so far not so good... :(

least the english one will be a good laugh... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

What a song choice .. if he's being ironic :D Doubt he is :pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

Kerri will be on for a while,wont she.

Rick has to be quick the transit is double parked!!

no date for olwyn, thats the end of that then, im off to make coffee before the english one starts...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

xsiborg wrote: »
    im off to make coffee before the english one starts...:rolleyes:

Tomorrow :confused:

edit fail before i got quoted, damn, lol, may as well leave it now, yep, just realised! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I love Alliah, she got a date with the stripper guy, thank Christ she isn't going on another date with him instead she will be coming out with me...............

:(
    Is she on facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

canonball5 wrote: »
    Kerri will be on for a while,wont she.

Rick has to be quick the transit is double parked!!

There was a touch of pikey to him, seemed a tool too.
    Is there another series of this coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

STIG83 wrote: »
    Is there another series of this coming?
    Hopefully not.

And if they decide to do one, please, please God TV3, take notes from the U.K. version.

well as one poster said earlier, its only done over four days, which is ridiculous, but explains why it was always so "hurried", it needs a bigger budget, not just an attempt to copy a format. i doubt they're going to change hosts now though. the majority of the contestants (girls and guys) were from dublin, i would have liked to see some other counties better represented, besides just cork!

finally- get rid of this "shifters" nonsense, the contestants aren't 13 years of age, break the budget and send them for a proper dinner date in a nice restaurant and some sort of an activity like go-karting, horse riding, bowling, you get the idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

xsiborg wrote: »
    well as one poster said earlier, its only done over four days, which is ridiculous, but explains why it was always so "hurried", it needs a bigger budget, not just an attempt to copy a format. i doubt they're going to change hosts now though. the majority of the contestants (girls and guys) were from dublin, i would have liked to see some other counties better represented, besides just cork!

finally- get rid of this "shifters" nonsense, the contestants aren't 13 years of age, break the budget and send them for a proper dinner date in a nice restaurant and some sort of an activity like go-karting, horse riding, bowling, you get the idea!

One guy from Waterford was on it, that match was a success for him, took the girl to Paris for Valentines last i heard, the shifters thing did get a bit tiresome near the end, have never seen the english show must look it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

STIG83 wrote: »

It's the different colour eyebrows that made you think it, isn't it?

And I can officially confirm that I am an unadulterated tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

leggo wrote: »
    It's the different colour eyebrows that made you think it, isn't it?

And I can officially confirm that I am an unadulterated tool.

Why would you say that about yourself?
    I thought all the guys on the show on friday were lovely guys,seemed all pretty decent and fun and genuine.And the eyebrow thing didnt notice a thing.
    And no one looked like a pikey on the show,that style of clothes is Huge in other countries.

I'm only messing. Don't worry I learned a long time ago not to take the net too seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

I'm only messing. Don't worry I learned a long time ago not to take the net too seriously!
    Nah, you did well.

I was a little bit embarrassed for the puny Caark lad that took his shirt off. What was that all about. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

caseyann wrote: »
    And no one looked like a pikey on the show,that style of clothes is Huge in other countries.
    Snatch7.jpeg
    So right!!;)

el diablo wrote: »
    Nah, you did well.

I was a little bit embarrassed for the puny Caark lad that took his shirt off. What was that all about. :rolleyes:

Fair play to him to but he did look like he was afraid to move when he was dancing,i bet he was all prepared to go crazy,and then the stage fright got him.:D

rebel10 wrote: »
    Snatch7.jpeg
    So right!!;)

You lost me what you mean :o

caseyann wrote: »
    You lost me what you mean :o

Brad Pitt, :D

While it's on my mind actually lads, some might be interested in the process that goes on behind-the-scenes on Take Me Out. I'm going to give the full story of MY experience, including what the girls said that got edited out, on a new podcast that I'm running on iTunes starting this Tuesday. It's called 'The Weekly Ranto' and it's available to subscribe for free on the below link:

http://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/amt-live/id297369804

Or if you don't like iTunes it'll also be available on our Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/amtherapy

Anyone who's interested in what goes on behind-the-scenes at these shows might learn a thing or two!

That's enough shamelessness to do me one weekend!

^^
    And here i was thinking that all that was behind the scenes of the show were the shocking sheets of mdf holding up the whole set.
    I myself couldn't care less what went on behind the scenes but i'm sure you will find some subscribers, probably those that were on the show.

rebel10 wrote: »
    ^^
    And here i was thinking that all that was behind the scenes of the show were the shocking sheets of mdf holding up the whole set.
    I myself couldn't care less what went on behind the scenes but i'm sure you will find some subscribers, probably those that were on the show.

Haha nah the stuff you saw was just the tip of the iceberg. The whole experience was one massive adventure...for me alone as just one participant! I'm sure the production team and so on have even more scandal and stories but I'll just give my own (I'd like to think somewhat entertaining) side!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Irish girls are fine. They're harsher than other nationalities I've experienced but also much easier to get along with when you get past that shield.

Incidentally, Irish men also tend to be much more cynical and likely to take the piss.

That's who we are: a nation full of messers and piss-takers. And the rest of the world loves us for it.

If you don't 'get' that, or if you approach the dating scene from an insecure perspective with your heart on your sleeve, you'll get ripped apart and think women are bitches or men are arseholes. That's not the case at all.

We're also a nation who suffers from massively low confidence and self-loating though, so we're our own worst critics.

This show (and equally the reactions to it) has been great for examining Irish attitudes to dating, if nothing else. Single lads should be taking notes and single gals should see aspects of themselves they mightn't like in the girls on the show and work on getting rid of them.

(Btw, I'm on this Friday. Check it out </cheapplug>)

taking notes?

are you having a laugh?

i wouldn't go near the vast majority of girls on the show, not just their looks, some of their comments show them up to be a bit immature, mean-spirited or just a bit dim to be honest

the english show is better, they are obviously screening the contestants more closely and the result is the women on it, at least in my view seem to be more interesting/funny/articulate/attractive/nice

maybe it's to do with editing/lighting too

and the nature of the show means that the ladies are going to have to act like right bitches at times, to be honest and i've made this point before i don't understand why any girl would want to appear on it other than to say they've been on tv because it doesn't paint a flattering picture of them (not completely their fault, the show makes them look bad)

a lot of women say it was a bit of craic and all that but you can use that excuse for anything

I used to be a pimp and a drug-dealer and it was a bit of craic (no i'm not comparing appearing on the show to pimping and drug-dealing, i'm merely pointing out that the "bit of craic" justification doesn't carry a lot of water)

I'm just saying I don't really get why ladies apply to go on a show that generally makes then look bad, i'm sure they won't lose any sleep about that

Irish women aren't asbad-looking as a ot of people say, w ehave plenty of decent-looking women, dark-haired beauties with a twinkle in the eye, it's just that sometimes and this applies to men too, we have quite a smalltime, immature, insecure attitude to dating and sex and that is deeply unattractive, we need to get sloshed to express ourselves and that is very unattractive particularly on women......generally continental women have a more mature attitude to sex and dating and have a strong sense of femininity and elegance that Irish women are sometimes lacking, but then again the Irish woman can compensate for that by being a better laugh, by being witty or funny or easier to banter with, youze can't have your cake and eat it lads

so what's it to be lads , the continental classy ice-queen or the tipsy Irish burd who'll laugh at your dirty jokes instead of slapping you in the face?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

One thing that does get me about Irish women is the amount of times I've seen an Irish girl with a killer figure swamp it under a huge, masculine hoodie and/or trackies with uggs. Why? Why not make the best of your great figure?

And don't get me started on fake tan.

I don't think the getting sloshed thing is particularly attractive on either sex, TBH, let's not put that all on the females! :)

But one thing I think is great about Irish people, male and female, is our world-weary cynicism. Maybe some people don't like it, but I do. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

One thing that does get me about Irish women is the amount of times I've seen an Irish girl with a killer figure swamp it under a huge, masculine hoodie and/or trackies with uggs. Why? Why not make the best of your great figure?

I don't think the getting sloshed thing is particularly attractive on either sex, TBH, let's not put that all on the females! :)

But one thing I think is great about Irish people, male and female, is our world-weary cynicism. Maybe some people don't like it, but I do. :)

i'd agree with all of that

I will tell you exactly why they hide under a huge amount of clothes and make no effort.Because they dont think they are good looking or arent happy in themselves as people.Some are lazy again because not overly joyed with their lives.So many hundreds of reasons why.
    I know men who do exact same.They wear sloppy clothes and look awful and dont care because they dont feel attractive or arent happy.

The fake tan thing i dont know where you people are living,but i never ever see this mad fake tan syndrome that everyone is talking about.
    And the girls i do see wearing it,are very lightly done.
    Also the ones who hide behind make up and huge amounts of fake tan,obviously feel very concise of themselves and dont feel attractive without it.

Women wear how they feel.

But all of them girls on that show dressed lovely and their make up was nice even if you didnt fancy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

donfers wrote: »
    taking notes?

are you having a laugh?

i wouldn't go near the vast majority of girls on the show, not just their looks, some of their comments show them up to be a bit immature, mean-spirited or just a bit dim to be honest

the english show is better, they are obviously screening the contestants more closely and the result is the women on it, at least in my view seem to be more interesting/funny/articulate/attractive/nice

maybe it's to do with editing/lighting too

and the nature of the show means that the ladies are going to have to act like right bitches at times, to be honest and i've made this point before i don't understand why any girl would want to appear on it other than to say they've been on tv because it doesn't paint a flattering picture of them (not completely their fault, the show makes them look bad)

a lot of women say it was a bit of craic and all that but you can use that excuse for anything

I'm just saying I don't really get why ladies apply to go on a show that generally makes then look bad, i'm sure they won't lose any sleep about that

so what's it to be lads , the continental classy ice-queen or the tipsy Irish burd who'll laugh at your dirty jokes instead of slapping you in the face?

Perhaps women like us didnt actually know what way the show would turn out. I will make one point and sideline productions edited that show something terrible and you will notice that a certain number of girls were the ones talking ALL the time. This show did not reflect half of the attitudes and positivity we had during recordings. I am glad that i didnt get to speak much as i would hate to have been edited and made look like a "bitch" as you have said. They clearly edited the show to suit a type of audience. They did it for entertainment value and sadly it has not reflected well on us. they made some of us look like fools and those who they left out, got tarred with the same brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Yeah that's a good observation and like other posters have said it's mainly down to lack of confidence, which effects Irish people as a whole.

Btw fake tan looks absolutely ridiculous on most Irish girls and is a real turn off IMO. I really don't know why they still insist on using it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Don't get the hoodie obsession at all. My name was always being put down for class hoodies in college and my answer would always be "If you get me that hoodie, it will fester at the back of my wardrobe". The most unfeminine clothing you could wear. And believe me, it wasn't lack of confidence that had some of the class wearing them.