PL: Liverpool v Manchester United. 6/3/2011, KO 1330.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator
    knife maker

tought Suarez was amazing today , also nice to see Hernandez scoring too , well done liverpool we were shocking.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,852 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

thebhoy wrote: »

didn't talk to the media, no man u players did, fergie could be given a touchline ban.

Although you mightn't be able to read this if you get the urge to go running again, runman.

interestingly, MOTD2 pointed out that Man Utd had officially told the media Yesterday that they would not be talking to anybody today, I had presumed it was Fergie acting the Bollix in the dressingroom after the pool taught them a lesson - sour grapes etc, but it wasn't so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Two things from that picture. First of all, what's that big black stripe down his leg and more importantly, why isn't he wearing shinguards?

A common tactic to aid muscle injuries to use tape like that. Many footballers and other sports people have worn them over the years. I'm surprised you have never seen it before.

How do you know he hasn't taken off the shinguard to have a look at his leg?

This thread is about as idiotic as I imagined it would be. Liverpool played well and deserved to win. Although they should have played the second half with 10 men, which obviously would have had an impact on the game. United had a few moments throughout the game where they threatened a breakthrough but a combination of bad luck and poor play prevented them getting into the lead or later in the game, getting back into things.

Liverpool fans should enjoy the win, but lets be realistic, it is one game. The "we'll be swapping places with you next year" BS is the definition of letting one result go to your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Mister men wrote: »
    Really how embarrassing for United as a football club. Nobody talking to the media at all today. Fairly pathetic tbh.

I can assure you the vast majority of United fans aren't embarrassed by the media ban. Maybe embarrassed by the performance alright, but I personaly couldn't give a sh*t if Fergie never gave an interview after a match again. When he does speak his mind he gets banned, when he doesn't its just a boring charade played out to appease Sky Sports.

In this instance I bet all hes doing is trying to galvinise the troops by battoning down the hatches and creating a bit of a siege mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Mister men wrote: »
    Really how embarrassing for United as a football club. Nobody talking to the media at all today. Fairly pathetic tbh.

That was funny! Point well made.

Liked the subtle reference to Phelan too.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Overheal wrote: »
    They would have to be pretty skilled fakes to have been generated within a couple hours. No less at multiple angles.

didnt watch the match, dont know who's leg im looking at, but to say this is a photoshop is a bit of a joke.

Indeed, I myself was joking too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

A common tactic to aid muscle injuries to use tape like that. Many footballers and other sports people have worn them over the years. I'm surprised you have never seen it before.

This thread is about as idiotic as I imagined it would be. Liverpool played well and deserved to win. Although they should have played the second half with 10 men, which obviously would have had an impact on the game. United had a few moments throughout the game where they threatened a breakthrough but a combination of bad luck and poor play prevented them getting into the lead or later in the game, getting back into things.

Liverpool fans should enjoy the win, but lets be realistic, it is one game. The "we'll be swapping places with you next year" BS is the definition of letting one result go to your head.

Ten against ten? Still think we would have hammered you's. You's were never winning that match today.

almanu wrote: »
    tought Suarez was amazing today , also nice to see Hernandez scoring too , well done liverpool we were shocking.

Hernandex is the best header of a ball I've ever seen. He'll beat Cahill in that regard!

I think a couple of Pool fans are winding you up! :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Ten against ten? Still think we would have hammered you's. You's were never winning that match today.

Nah, apparently if Carra had got red, Rafael would never have put in that "tackle", donchaknow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Are you actually mocking people for stating the obvious? If Carragher had been sent off, it would have been a different game because something pretty massive would have changed. It is not a line like the "he's not that kind of player", it is an actual fact. It literally could not have flowed in the same way because the same people would not have been on the pitch, so it is an impossibility for the same things to happen.

Sometimes I have to wonder about the things posted on here.

Are you actually mocking people for stating the obvious? If Carragher had been sent off, it would have been a different game because something pretty massive would have changed. It is not a line like the "he's not that kind of player", it is an actual fact. It literally could not have flowed in the same way because the same people would not have been on the pitch, so it is an impossibility for the same things to happen.

Sometimes I have to wonder about the things posted on here.

Right, so the ref is why you lost? Fair enough!!!

Where exactly did I say that? Reply to what is said, not what you imagine.

Thats not what he said. But a red card at that stage would undoubtdedly have changed both sides' approach to the game from thereon in.

Also, whilst it doesn't really need to be said, Rafael couldn't have been sent off for a tackle that would not have happened.

Go back to my earlier post and you'll see what I think about the game.

Yeah, we'd have parked the bus and won two nil. We were still winning today, no matter what.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Well played United fans. Mask the ineptness of your teams perforance by bleating on about Nani's 'injury' and Carragher should get sent off and Raphael and what not, all the time stifling talk about how poor United were today.

One gets a sense of deja vu with the whole 'But David Luiz should have been sent off' debacle of last Tuesday night.

Ye're a clever and well organised bunch I'll give ye that. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Yeah, we'd have parked the bus and won two nil. We were still winning today, no matter what.

What are next weeks lotto numbers there actually?

Oh and while your at it, can you tell me when Liverpool will win their first Premiership trophy?:rolleyes:

What are next weeks lotto numbers there actually?

Oh and while your at it, can you tell me when Liverpool will win their first Premiership trophy?:rolleyes:

He should hedge his bets and stick to the lotto tbh. No point in taking silly punts like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Also, whilst it doesn't really need to be said, Rafael couldn't have been sent off for a tackle that would not have happened.

coulda,shoulda,woulda!

Get over it!

Well played United fans. Mask the ineptness of your teams perforance by bleating on about Nani's 'injury' and Carragher should get sent off and Raphael and what not, all the time stifling talk about how poor United were today.

One gets a sense of deja vu with the whole 'But David Luiz should have been sent off' debacle of last Tuesday night.

At least we're able to spell:rolleyes:

No seriously I've lost count of the amount of people spelling his name wrong.:mad::mad:

Good man your exact knowledge of what may happen in hypothetical situations astounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,256 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

so, my 2 cents.

i've not gone through the thread yet, but here goes...

absolutely fúcking delighted with that. the application of the players was flawless. from the 1st minute, we were pressing, making it difficult for Utd to properly get into their stride, never letting them settle, and never letting them get in behind. wonderful discipline from the lads.

Utd had 2 periods of possession: 1 from about the 15th minute until our first goal, and another 15 minute period after half time. we weathered both very well. Utd kept possession expertly during that time, but never looked threatening. it was a pity Aurelio went off, but The Greek was awesome when he came on; clearing anything that came near him.

firstly, us. Lucas, again, had a stormer against a top team. he really is turning into a bit of a lynchpin for these games. he seemed to even have a good effect on Gerrard, who, for him, was extremely disciplined. it was funny listening to Souness on Sky after claiming Stevie didn't play well and we still won. i thought Gerrard actually did very well along with the Brazilian. they rarely wasted possession when they got it, and lead from the centre.

but, how fúcking handy is it when you have someone like Suarez ahead of you? fúcking hell. the man was an absolute gem today. nevermind the dribble for the first goal (which Carrick embarrassed himself for), but his all-round forward play was epic. absolutely epic. he knows how to find space, has pace, has trickery, and just looks the real deal. he could turn into a proper, proper player for us. looks an absolute bargain.

Dirk, as I kind of knew he would, had another stormer in a big game. him and Lucas are our old reliables when it comes to these games. never mind his 3 tap-ins, all round he was energetic, lead from the front, kept the ball well, kept it simple, and was a thorn in Smalling and Brown's behinds for the entire game.

also, wonderful to see Carroll get on. he's going to be a huge asset; absolutely huge (no pun intended).

it's worth noting, that we still needed some defensive frailty on Utd's behalf to get the goals, but our pressure for much of the game meant it was thoroughly deserved.

Utd, shorn of Vidic and Ferdinand, looked a shadow of themselves. no leadership from a defensive point of view, with our runners getting in behind all too easily, it was just so apparent what the bedrock of their success has been - that defence. without it, the midfield was shown up for the lethargic unit it all too often is, especially away from home.

Rooney was completely anonymous really, though he was better when on the left of the front 3; much more involved strangely enough.

the sendings off were obvious. Carra's tackle was an absolute disgrace, but Nani was a joke. i understand the anger, but crying?! fúck off.

Rafael is a nutjob. he may not have made that tackle if Nani hadn't been nailed a couple of minutes previously, but still no excuse, he also should have gone.

all in all, a wonderful performance from us, but this is only the start of this run-in. Europa Cup win please; and an absolute minimum of 6th in the league; hopefully even 5th if one of those big 5 fúck up enough.

Happy Birthday Kenny.

(the Kop singing 'happy birthday', with Kenny's reaction, was one of my favourite football moments of the recent past. awesome stuff)

You could say the same about Liverpool fans being more interested in getting embroiled defending Carra and criticising Rafael than enjoying their win. Depends on your perspective I guess.

coulda,shoulda,woulda!

Get over it!

I've already said Liverpool deserved to win in 2 different posts.

As for the "get over it" stuff, I mean it is not as if Liverpool fans complained at all about the United penalty or Gerrard's red card in the FA Cup game in January? Nah wasn't a hint of complaining there.

We are in a match thread. It should be perfectly OK to discuss major moments in the game and say that a red card would have changed the game. That is a reasonable comment. I didn't say it cost United the game or any other guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

flahavaj wrote: »
    You could say the same about Liverpool fans being more interested in getting embroiled defending Carra and criticising Rafael than enjoying their win. Depends on your perspective I guess.

Who's defending Carragher? Horrible tackle and should have been a red.

Still, mildly amusing watching a grown man crying because of a little gash.

I get what your saying.

You can only deal with what actually happened. Often fans will argue, if that penalty was awarded or that offside wasn't given, the game would have been different. Who knows unless we have a TARDIS!

I've already said Liverpool deserved to win in 2 different posts.

As for the "get over it" stuff, I mean it is not as if Liverpool fans complained at all about the United penalty or Gerrard's red card in the FA Cup game in January? Nah wasn't a hint of complaining there.

We are in a match thread. It should be perfectly OK to discuss major moments in the game and say that a red card would have changed the game. That is a reasonable comment. I didn't say it cost United the game or any other guff.

Relax Parker, let them have their day.

Some of them are just intent on being smug and insulting, which is fairly embarresing given the positions of the two sides in the table, not to mention the points gap and being in the champions league.

Not all are like this, K-9 for example. Plenty of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

What a load of crap.
    I'm a United fan.
    United were awful today, no United fan would contest that, we gifted Liverpool three daft goals and played like a pub team with a hang over.

The discussion went in the direction of the injury to Nani because everyone here initially thought Nani was acting the eejit but after finding out what actually happened the subject became a lot more interesting.

In reality Carragher should have been sent off for that foul, and Rafael should have been sent off shortly after for his stupid rash tackle.

I struggle to see what point your trying to make here.
    Are you suggesting that United fans are saying that we only lost because Carragher didn't get sent off? (Liverpool were already 2-0 up at that stage)

Or are you suggesting that United fans are incapable of seeing the flaws in their own team? You should look at the United thread and see just how spectacularly wrong you are on that count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,256 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Still, mildly amusing watching a grown man crying because of a little gash.

the crying was comical, but it wasn't a 'little gash'.

he had to come off, and rumour has it he might be out a while.