So the Gardai, have you lost all respect for the tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I've had nothing but good experience with the Guards.

Many a time have I been stopped at checkpoints only to produce a provisional license with no L plates or fully licensed driver present and they've always just told me to go on.

Yesterday afternoon I was stopped beside two guards in traffic and I was really nervous so I just looked straight ahead and could feel my face tensing up, I could see them through the side of my eye looking at me. So because I was so nervous I took out my ipod to change song and their light went green so they began to drive off and as they did I turned my head 90degrees to look at them and they both waved at me with two big smiles on their faces (while i had my ipod in my hand). I like the guards they're sound enough once you're polite to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Offy wrote: »
    And thats the problems with the tits, they have no respect for us. Did they ever respect the public?

If you don't respect them they won't respect you. That's the way of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I've had nothing but good experience with the Guards.

Many a time have I been stopped at checkpoints only to produce a provisional license with no L plates or fully licensed driver present and they've always just told me to go on

tbh though, that just highlights an inconsistency in how things are done.

Well the way I see it is...

Well spoken polite girl (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is told to drive on.

Skangery girl with attitude (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is fined on the spot.

I really do think it's how you talk to them

Well spoken polite girl (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is told to drive on.

Skangery girl with attitude (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is fined on the spot.

Sure, but the point is that they are not consistent when they should be.. if a law is broken then it shouldn't really matter who is breaking it. Would you have the same respect for them if for every time you were stopped, you were fined and had penalty points applied to your licence?

Would you have the same respect for them if for every time you were stopped, you were fined and had penalty points applied to your licence?

As far as I have been made aware of though apparently it's their prerogative as to whether they want to fine you or not.

I could be wrong but that's what I've been told :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The classic Irish attitude: "It doesn't matter if I break the law, so long as the other people who do it are caught"

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Slightly off topic but I've a question about Crime Call (RTE 1) - is it not a huge waste of money having the gardai answering the phones surely somebody else could do that.

28064212 wrote: »
    The classic Irish attitude: "It doesn't matter if I break the law, so long as the other people who do it are caught"

I'll do wha i wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Everyone I've ever heard go on about the Gardai being scumbags have invariably been caught breaking the law numerous times and are bitter about it. Many people who call the Gardai "scumbags" I tend to find are scumbags themselves.

It's a very Irish attitude, it's never my fault, it's someone else's fault for catching me or not stopping me from making a mistake.

deelite wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but I've a question about Crime Call (RTE 1) - is it not a huge waste of money having the gardai answering the phones surely somebody else could do that.

They are Gardaí involved in the cases being discussed. They are more likely to know what information is important and what isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Any interaction I have had with them has left me somewhat underwhelmed.

Their whole set up seems a bit 1952.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

A few weeks ago a friend of mine, who is a nurse by trade, came upon a car accident. Single vehicle with two lads both of whom had fairly bad leg injuries. She was the second person to arrive on the scene and rang the Gardai who were already on the way to say both lads needed an ambulance asap. One had already gone into shock.

The two Gardai arrived. She asked was an ambulance on the way. Garda replied no. She explained situation. So young Garda walks over to the van and asks the two lads "do ye need an ambulance lads?" :confused::rolleyes:

She said she lost a lot of respect for the Gardai that morning. I'd tend to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

I have. I lost all respect when they put vast amounts of energy and time into being the proxy tax collectors. Any old excuse will do. I have no respect for them anymore, whatsoever. What little respect I had for them has gone out the window. Why can't they go away and fight some real crime instead of acting as money grubbing bailiffs for the IMF?.

not in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

seamus wrote: »
    Everyone I've ever heard go on about the Gardai being scumbags have invariably been caught breaking the law numerous times and are bitter about it. Many people who call the Gardai "scumbags" I tend to find are scumbags themselves.

It's a very Irish attitude, it's never my fault, it's someone else's fault for catching me or not stopping me from making a mistake.

I was never arrested,I dont like guards.
    Someone should'nt be given a position of authority based on who there father was.Guards should be nominated by people to show they are of good character 10 or 15 votes and you get an interview ect.A lot of the younger guards i find today are pri**s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

SeaFields wrote: »
    A few weeks ago a friend of mine, who is a nurse by trade, came upon a car accident. Single vehicle with two lads both of whom had fairly bad leg injuries. She was the second person to arrive on the scene and rang the Gardai who were already on the way to say both lads needed an ambulance asap. One had already gone into shock.

The two Gardai arrived. She asked was an ambulance on the way. Garda replied no. She explained situation. So young Garda walks over to the van and asks the two lads "do ye need an ambulance lads?" :confused::rolleyes:

She said she lost a lot of respect for the Gardai that morning. I'd tend to agree.

well if she was a nurse and there was people injured, she surely would have known to call an ambulance first then the gardai. any dip **** would no that. your story is dubious, or your friends an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

well if she was a nurse and there was people injured, she surely would have known to call an ambulance first then the gardai. any dip **** would no that. your story is dubious, or your friends an idiot

Second person on scene (as described in the post)
    Gardai already on the way (as described in the post)
    Rang them to confirm an ambulance was on the way (as described in the post)

But thanks for your contribution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

Your post appears to say 'she rang the Gardai' to say 'both lads needed an ambulance', which does seem a little odd as the other poster said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Someone should'nt be given a position of authority based on who there father was.Guards should be nominated by people to show they are of good character 10 or 15 votes and you get an interview ect.A lot of the younger guards i find today are pri**s
    So we can get the likes of Jackie Healey-Ray heading up the Gardaí? No thanks.

Tahuti wrote: »
    Your post appears to say 'she rang the Gardai' to say 'both lads needed an ambulance', which does seem a little odd as the other poster said.

The Gardai were already called by the first person on the scene presumably, so why is it odd that the nurse would phone them to see if an ambulance was en route?

Surely if you come across an accident and call the Gardai, then it's not unreasonable to assume that they would call out an ambulance once injuries had been reported to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tahuti wrote: »
    You generally only ring one emergency service to avoid cross-reporting these things.

For road accidents, you contact that Gardai who in turn are supposed to contact the ambulance (if there are injuries) and fire brigade.

That said, I always take anecdotal stories with a dash of salt. Chinese whispers and that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

So all the acts of crime that carry a € penalty should be not looked at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

The Gardai were already called by the first person on the scene presumably, so why is it odd that the nurse would phone them to see if an ambulance was en route?

Surely if you come across an accident and call the Gardai, then it's not unreasonable to assume that they would call out an ambulance once injuries had been reported to them?
    You generally only ring one emergency service to avoid cross-reporting these things.

For road accidents, you contact that Gardai who in turn are supposed to contact the ambulance (if there are injuries) and fire brigade.

That said, I always take anecdotal stories with a dash of salt. Chinese whispers and that.

I had always assumed separate phone calls were necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Some Gardaí are dicks, most are ok, its fun to sit in a district court and watch them lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Had no real respect for them in the first place to lose tbh!

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Mr Jinx

Yes lose respect for 14,000 odd people after talking to one :rolleyes:
    She was a nurse and at the scene of the accident and was more in a position to call an ambulance rather than someone who is no where near the scene and has no knowledge of the accident or injuries. When you ring ambulance control the require all these details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Mr Jinx

For serious traffic accidents the first people that should be called are Ambulance and Fire brigade ( preservation of life and all that) after that the Gardai can be called. Fire brigade will always inform Gardai anyway if its serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I'm only assuming here but I have this image of the OP. ....

I'm thinking you didnt pay tax on your car/got a fine for some minor offence and you proceeded to start mouthing off to the gardai saying they should be out catching the real criminals and that there were drug dealers roaming the streets. Then I reckon you went on a rant about the IMF and the bastard bankers just to top it all off.

Textbook guilty Irishman trying to blame everyone else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Here's another contribution.
    If someone was injured get your priorities straight.

In future call 999 / 112. The nice man will send an ambulance. The exact same nice man will also send guards if required, but that is of secondary importance where people are injured.