Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So the Gardai, have you lost all respect for the tits.

• 04-03-2011 3:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

I have. I lost all respect when they put vast amounts of energy and time into being the proxy tax collectors. Any old excuse will do. I have no respect for them anymore, whatsoever. What little respect I had for them has gone out the window. Why can't they go away and fight some real crime instead of acting as money grubbing bailiffs for the IMF?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Talk to a gardai ... he is alright.
    Talk to a bunch of them ... they're scumbags.

When did they become bailiffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Talk to a gardai ... he is alright.
    Talk to a bunch of them ... they're scumbags.

Its a club, a fraternity you could say. They have a certain way to act around each other. An elitist mindset. They think they are important.

I am sure people with the same mindset policed the peasants back in feudal times. Nothing changes really.

When did they become bailiffs?

Is overseer a better word?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'm not a Gaurd, but I could never lose respect for tits.

Is overseer a better word?.

I've genuinely got no idea.. What have they done? Check my location to see why I'm curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭TT09

You're right Jimmy there really is a lot of sado's in the gardai, it's getting worse every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Glad you got the obligatory irrelevant IMF reference into your rant OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I have. I lost all respect when they put vast amounts of energy and time into being the proxy tax collectors. Any old excuse will do. I have no respect for them anymore, whatsoever. What little respect I had for them has gone out the window. Why can't they go away and fight some real crime instead of acting as money grubbing bailiffs for the IMF?.
    Let me guess, you broke the law and you got caught?

Why is it that criminals always insist that the law they broke isn't really serious?

"I wasn't robbing the bank, I was taking my part of the bail-out"

Victor wrote: »

Acts are not law.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Acts are not law.;)

I disagree. They are a big part of the law: http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/oireachtasbusiness/billslegislation/acts/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I read the title as 'So gardai, have you lost all respect for the tits?'. Me - 'Surely they haven't!'

If I had a pair I could do tit jobs. But, that is not the point. Irish sheriffs are beyond tit jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

they do the job theyre told to do by those in charge, just like anyone else in any other job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

Acts are the law of the sea, not the law of the land, which is common law (cause no harm, no loss and no fraud).

People have accepted a consensus reality in regard to legislation, which is seperate from law.

The Guards are supposed to enforce the law ie common law, the law of the land, and not enforce, or act as agents for the state in regard to commercial law (maritime law).

In short, Guards are supposed to keep the peace.

Edit; Maritime jurisdiction applies here since the High Court of Admiralty Act of 1859, and the Judicatare Act of 1877, when common law crimes were brought into the commercial courts.

A statute, according to Blacks Law dictionary, is...
    a rule created by a representative governing body of a society designed to create common goals, which carries the force of law by the consent of the governed.

By contracting with the state, you consent to be governed by these statutes. They are not law.

To put it in maritime terms, the state contracts you by creating a legal fiction, initially via your birth certificate, the equivalent of press-ganging you. You are now a sailor, governed by the statutes.

If you break the contract, you can be hauled in to the dock and thrown in the brig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

its ok. after that, we have no respect for you either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Blah de blah no respect blah....

But who is the first person you would call (not chuck Norris or ghostbusters) if your house was burgled or your car robbed.

People complain about them but without them there'd be mayhem.

In my experience there are good and bad, like everything really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So the Gardai, have you lost all respect for the tits.

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

The Gardaí doing the tax collecting are obviously assigned to do that role, I imagine. They are probably young guards.
    As for fighting 'real crime' -- as avoiding tax is a crime as well -- it takes more than just the guards. It takes detectives and a load of inside work to solve a case. Experienced guards do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Stupid thread. Revenue agents collect taxes not gardai. Op probably just got caught for having no car tax. Even Garda cars have to be taxed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

You must always respect the tits!

The Celtic Tiger was a bad time for the AGS, loads and loads of really sh1t candidates got in. Pity they are not doing some serious recruiting now as they could take their pick from loads of good candidates. No offence to the folks who are good Gardai and got in during the boom but loads of bottom of the barrel people got in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I respect the fact that their job can be very difficult. But to be honest I've had nothing but bad experiences with the lot of them. Theres also an authoritarian attitude that I've found many gardai have, which I have a strong aversion to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Why is it that criminals always insist that the law they broke isn't really serious?

"I wasn't robbing the bank, I was taking my part of the bail-out"

'Tis my money. I just didn't want to fill out the forms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I thought from the thread title, the OP's wife/partner tried to get out of a ticket by flashing her tits and it didn't work.
    Thread disappoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Blah de blah no respect blah....

But who is the first person you would call (not chuck Norris or ghostbusters) if your house was burgled or your car robbed.

People complain about them but without them there'd be mayhem.

In my experience there are good and bad, like everything really.

If my house was burgled I don't know if they're be any point in calling them, based on many friends exepriences they going do f**k all. There isn't peace in this country because the gardai are holding back the savages at the gates. This country is peaceful because the overwhelming majority of its citizens are decent law abiding people. We appoint the gardai to maintain this peace. The problem is when laws become a cash cow for the government then a certain amount of hypocrisy begins to creep into their role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

audidiesel wrote: »
    its ok. after that, we have no respect for you either.

And thats the problems with the tits, they have no respect for us. Did they ever respect the public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I've had nothing but good experience with the Guards.

Many a time have I been stopped at checkpoints only to produce a provisional license with no L plates or fully licensed driver present and they've always just told me to go on.

Yesterday afternoon I was stopped beside two guards in traffic and I was really nervous so I just looked straight ahead and could feel my face tensing up, I could see them through the side of my eye looking at me. So because I was so nervous I took out my ipod to change song and their light went green so they began to drive off and as they did I turned my head 90degrees to look at them and they both waved at me with two big smiles on their faces (while i had my ipod in my hand). I like the guards they're sound enough once you're polite to them

Offy wrote: »
    And thats the problems with the tits, they have no respect for us. Did they ever respect the public?

If you don't respect them they won't respect you. That's the way of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I've had nothing but good experience with the Guards.

Many a time have I been stopped at checkpoints only to produce a provisional license with no L plates or fully licensed driver present and they've always just told me to go on

tbh though, that just highlights an inconsistency in how things are done.

Well the way I see it is...

Well spoken polite girl (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is told to drive on.

Skangery girl with attitude (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is fined on the spot.

I really do think it's how you talk to them

Well spoken polite girl (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is told to drive on.

Skangery girl with attitude (provisional license) gets pulled over - Is fined on the spot.

Sure, but the point is that they are not consistent when they should be.. if a law is broken then it shouldn't really matter who is breaking it. Would you have the same respect for them if for every time you were stopped, you were fined and had penalty points applied to your licence?

Would you have the same respect for them if for every time you were stopped, you were fined and had penalty points applied to your licence?

As far as I have been made aware of though apparently it's their prerogative as to whether they want to fine you or not.

I could be wrong but that's what I've been told :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The classic Irish attitude: "It doesn't matter if I break the law, so long as the other people who do it are caught"

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Slightly off topic but I've a question about Crime Call (RTE 1) - is it not a huge waste of money having the gardai answering the phones surely somebody else could do that.

28064212 wrote: »
    The classic Irish attitude: "It doesn't matter if I break the law, so long as the other people who do it are caught"

I'll do wha i wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Everyone I've ever heard go on about the Gardai being scumbags have invariably been caught breaking the law numerous times and are bitter about it. Many people who call the Gardai "scumbags" I tend to find are scumbags themselves.

It's a very Irish attitude, it's never my fault, it's someone else's fault for catching me or not stopping me from making a mistake.

deelite wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but I've a question about Crime Call (RTE 1) - is it not a huge waste of money having the gardai answering the phones surely somebody else could do that.

They are Gardaí involved in the cases being discussed. They are more likely to know what information is important and what isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Any interaction I have had with them has left me somewhat underwhelmed.

Their whole set up seems a bit 1952.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

A few weeks ago a friend of mine, who is a nurse by trade, came upon a car accident. Single vehicle with two lads both of whom had fairly bad leg injuries. She was the second person to arrive on the scene and rang the Gardai who were already on the way to say both lads needed an ambulance asap. One had already gone into shock.

The two Gardai arrived. She asked was an ambulance on the way. Garda replied no. She explained situation. So young Garda walks over to the van and asks the two lads "do ye need an ambulance lads?" :confused::rolleyes:

She said she lost a lot of respect for the Gardai that morning. I'd tend to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

not in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

seamus wrote: »
    Everyone I've ever heard go on about the Gardai being scumbags have invariably been caught breaking the law numerous times and are bitter about it. Many people who call the Gardai "scumbags" I tend to find are scumbags themselves.

It's a very Irish attitude, it's never my fault, it's someone else's fault for catching me or not stopping me from making a mistake.

I was never arrested,I dont like guards.
    Someone should'nt be given a position of authority based on who there father was.Guards should be nominated by people to show they are of good character 10 or 15 votes and you get an interview ect.A lot of the younger guards i find today are pri**s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

SeaFields wrote: »
    A few weeks ago a friend of mine, who is a nurse by trade, came upon a car accident. Single vehicle with two lads both of whom had fairly bad leg injuries. She was the second person to arrive on the scene and rang the Gardai who were already on the way to say both lads needed an ambulance asap. One had already gone into shock.

The two Gardai arrived. She asked was an ambulance on the way. Garda replied no. She explained situation. So young Garda walks over to the van and asks the two lads "do ye need an ambulance lads?" :confused::rolleyes:

She said she lost a lot of respect for the Gardai that morning. I'd tend to agree.

well if she was a nurse and there was people injured, she surely would have known to call an ambulance first then the gardai. any dip **** would no that. your story is dubious, or your friends an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

well if she was a nurse and there was people injured, she surely would have known to call an ambulance first then the gardai. any dip **** would no that. your story is dubious, or your friends an idiot

Second person on scene (as described in the post)
    Gardai already on the way (as described in the post)
    Rang them to confirm an ambulance was on the way (as described in the post)

But thanks for your contribution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

SeaFields wrote: »
    Second person on scene (as described in the post)
    Gardai already on the way (as described in the post)
    Rang them to confirm an ambulance was on the way (as described in the post)

But thanks for your contribution.

Your post appears to say 'she rang the Gardai' to say 'both lads needed an ambulance', which does seem a little odd as the other poster said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I was never arrested,I dont like guards.
    Someone should'nt be given a position of authority based on who there father was.Guards should be nominated by people to show they are of good character 10 or 15 votes and you get an interview ect.A lot of the younger guards i find today are pri**s
    So we can get the likes of Jackie Healey-Ray heading up the Gardaí? No thanks.

Tahuti wrote: »
    Your post appears to say 'she rang the Gardai' to say 'both lads needed an ambulance', which does seem a little odd as the other poster said.

The Gardai were already called by the first person on the scene presumably, so why is it odd that the nurse would phone them to see if an ambulance was en route?

Surely if you come across an accident and call the Gardai, then it's not unreasonable to assume that they would call out an ambulance once injuries had been reported to them?