Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

15 miles in 7.24 average but first mile of 7.27 was about 1.1 miles at least, was something wrong with garmin at the start and it didnt register distance for about a min. Went way way beyond even the futhest marker for 1 mile on my usual route.
    So id say take 2,3 seconds off the average.
    Average 8.43
    Fought into the wind for about half of those miles, im absolutly wrecked.

Recovery run, wanted to ditch after 1 mile. I felt desperate. Yesterdays run in horrible weather and no grub before and no gels and water during run. Drained me bigtime.
    Average
    10k tomorrow and 5 miles sunday and monday and rest rest rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

take it nice and easy oisin - rest up, all the hard work is done now.

Yeah that run on tuesday was mostly into a horrible wind as well. Was more like 7 min mile effort most of the time. Just a few small runs left now. Might do a fast 5k in the morning on the donadea course if anto lets me and there is time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Might do a fast 5k in the morning on the donadea course if anto lets me and there is time:D

If you're running without a number, there's a steward that will drag you off the course, watch out! :)

Aimman wrote: »
    If you're running without a number, there's a steward that will drag you off the course, watch out! :)
    They will have to catch me :D

I can hear the Benny Hill theme music playing in the background already :cool:

Helping out at the Donadea 50k today. Managed two 5 k laps. First one with joe crawley. 3.1 miles in 6.42 average. Second with the winner as a warmdown for him. 3.1 miles in 6.51 a average.

The words warmdown and 6.51 shouldn't be used together after a 50k race. :eek:

Aimman wrote: »
    The words warmdown and 6.51 shouldn't be used together after a 50k race. :eek:
    I know mate. someone told me he was heading off to do another 50k:D
    I dont think hes human:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Did you tie those laces for the second 5k? Those new tyres didn't deserve those muddy conditions;)
    Jaysus was that his pace for a warm down? F... me.

Best luck in Spanard land next week ..and enjoy.
    Good meeting you

Abhainn wrote: »
    Did you tie those laces for the second 5k? Those new tyres didn't deserve those muddy conditions;)
    Jaysus was that his pace for a warm down? F... me.

Best luck in Spanard land next week ..and enjoy.
    Good meeting you
    I actually forgot about the lace. The new runners got some punishment alright. That guy that beat you is a savage. When he finshed he took and drink and time for more miles. Savage running from yourself joe. Would have done another lap with you but didnt wanna exert myself to much, trying to keep as much juice for barca as i can:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Thanks for the drinks yesterday Frank, what was in the plastic cups? Was it just sugared water, or an electrolyte drink? Really hit the spot, whatever it was.

It was sis energy drink mate. I hate slowing down myself when im running so i filled a few each lap for the weary runners:D

10 miles at recovery pace.
    Average of 8.38, couldnt go any slower to be honest. No problems to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

I thought it was yum too. Which flavour was it ?
    It was lovely to come around each lap and have your encouraging face on , holding out drinks. Super support Oisin. thanks buddy.

I thought it was yum too. Which flavour was it ?
    It was lovely to come around each lap and have your encouraging face on , holding out drinks. Super support Oisin. thanks buddy.
    Lemon i think, your welcome by the way. last woman standin congrats an a big pb to. Turnng out to be a great few months for you lets hope it continues to te comrades:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Thanks for the drinks, what was in the plastic cups? Was it just sugared water, or an electrolyte drink? Really hit the spot, whatever it was.

it was SPORT IN SCIENCE powdered energy drink,kindly supplied by jb-ski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

ultraman1 wrote: »
    it was SPORT IN SCIENCE powdered energy drink,kindly supplied by jb-ski

Wish i had taken some of that drink off Oisin now. When i had my little 'moment' after the race a cup of that brought me right back round. I was just too wary about taking anything I hadn't tried in training before. I have to say it tasted great, very similar to 'aquarious' which you can buy on the continent.

Dont know how it happened i distictly remember booking them but i have no flights to barcelona. Nightmare.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Dont know how it happened i distictly remember booking them but i have no flights to barcelona. Nightmare.

Are you sure? I'm sure one of you mentioned flights in the spring marathons thread?

I remember booking them and i remember how much they cost but apparently i didnt:(

Can you double check your credit card statement? and your inbox for confirmations? I thought I hadnt booked my flights last year and eventuallly found them where I woudnt have thought of looking.

Fingers crossed if you have to buy now that you will get a good rate , after the strike caused so many to cancel and book elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I remember booking them and i remember how much they cost but apparently i didnt:(

You should get fixed up judging by the amount of people over on the event forum thread not travelling. Did you ever get a confirmation emial/confirmation number in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Thats **** Frank, there is one seat left going out on the Friday and back on the Monday with Ryanair for €224 return, not ideal but at least it gets you over.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'd double check. Can you search your inbox for the confirmation email from the day you booked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I've a flight out on the Sat, back on Sunday, that I won't be using, if you want it, not ideal, but its there if you can't get anything else. Don't know what it costs to change name these days though.

Sat, 05/March/2011 Flight 6395 Depart DUB at 1340 and arrive BCN at 1720 (SwineAir)

EI0565 - Sun 06 Mar 2011
    Departs: Barcelona-Terminal 2 (BCN) 21:55
    Arrives: Dublin (DUB) 23:35 (Aer Lingus)

No e-mail, if i got one origionally i either deleted it or didnt book the tickets. Always book them when i registering for the race and i remember doing it because i remember telling people on here how much they cost me. I booked it on a 3v but the transactions are not showig up because it was more than 3 months ago. Ill give them a buzz in the mornngand see what the score is.
    If i didnt book flights im going to throw myself off a tall buildig:F
    Thanks for the offer pul but if i di forgot im going to cut my losses and regroup.

Can we have a collective prayer for Oisin. The sub 3:10 has to come his way after such a hard training period. He cant be done out of his reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

No e-mail, if i got one origionally i either deleted it or didnt book the tickets. Always book them when i registering for the race and i remember doing it because i remember telling people on here how much they cost me. I booked it on a 3v but the transactions are not showig up because it was more than 3 months ago. Ill give them a buzz in the mornngand see what the score is.
    If i didnt book flights im going to throw myself off a tall buildig:F
    Thanks for the offer pul but if i di forgot im going to cut my losses and regroup.

first off all thats crappy luck oisin

second of all.....you must be mad: take Pauls flights! He's not running.....think of all that speedwork wasted.

See you on the line Oisin.

Fair play to you paul.