Warning other drivers about speed traps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 damoh111089

id drive a van every day of the week countless miles and yes people warnme about speed traps more so other van men and truck men that would warn me,and if i happen to come across one id warn them back its nice to be nice but then again that my opinion,the gards might actually do some other work and cath proper crinimals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Mister men wrote: »
    I'd warn other drivers alright once they are'nt driving an Audi.

any particular reason ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Be careful if you are doing this. A few years ago I passed a Garda checkpoint, and was helpfully flashing all the cars coming toward me, when I inadvertently flashed an unmarked squad car that was driving toward me.

The Guard turned his car around on the road and came after me with his lights flashing, pulled me over and gave me an almighty bollocking. Never heard any more about it, but it did put me off warning people in the future......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Wrong.

The speed traps are a deterrent because you don't know where they will be, and so keep to the limits.

The flash warning warn you of the speed trap so you can adjust your speed, not get caught, then continue to speed.

And you should see the amount of arseholes that jam on the stoppers when someone flashes. That's the kind of stuff that causes accidents.
    PaulKK wrote: »
    I said speed traps are a deterrent to speed, and you just agreed they are. How am I wrong?

Just because speeding is illegal does not mean some speed limits are too low and driving over these limits is dangerous.

Most modern cars are well capable of travelling at realtively high speeds safely, in the correct environment (e.g. motorways).

In my opinion a lot of accidents blamed on speed have other factors to blame, e.g poor maintenance of tyres and brakes for a start.

IF you are going to quote me, quote me properly.

I agreed with you that speed traps are a deterrent to speeding.
    I disagreed with the fact that warning people of speed traps is a deterrent to speeding.

I never once made my position on whether I agree with speed limits or not.

This isn't (well wasn't) a discussion on whether speeding is good bad or indifferent.

Modern cars are well fit for speeds greater than those limits. Most modern drivers however are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

how can you get caught if they are behind you,

i would def flash to warn others, they are usually in places that are easy targets, not nesscessary dangerous areas,

i often get flash back, keep it up, why give them easy money,

i got caught speeding and my ins and gf ins has gone up, so i must behave now grrrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

baldymac wrote: »
    how can you get caught if they are behind you,

i would def flash to warn others, they are usually in places that are easy targets, not nesscessary dangerous areas,

i often get flash back, keep it up, why give them easy money,

i got cauight speeding and my ins and gf ins has gone up, so i must behave now grrrrr.

If you're doing 120kph on a 100kph road & they are behind you then all they have to do is look at their speedometer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭loopyloulilly

Oh i always do, maybe its the superstitious side of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

I've never approached a checkpoint without almost every car I met flashing their lights, It seems to be the same with the new speed vans. I think it's an established road etiquette. Personally I think it's for the worst and defeating the purpose of these measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Sempai

Modern cars are well fit for speeds greater than those limits. Most modern drivers however are not.

Totally agree!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

Flashing your lights at people as a warning is quite common. Could be an accident around the corner, or in nordie land (back in the day) a check point up ahead.

yet to flash my light in reference to a speed trap yet but do it every day to let spanners know they can pull into the lane in front of me every morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I heard of somebody failing their driving test because of this.

what if you flashed knowing there was no checkpoint

and they slowed down how long would you think they would know
    you were only joking, at least that would keep them the speed limit and guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

what if you flashed knowing there was no checkpoint

and they slowed down how long would you think they would know
    you were only joking, at least that would keep them the speed limit and guessing

This could be a new Garda initiative, if everyone went around flashing their lights ALL the time everyone would slow down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

PaulKK wrote: »
    Just because speeding is illegal does not mean some speed limits are too low and driving over these limits is dangerous.

But it is still illegal. If it isn't as dangerous as it's made out to be then why isn't there any concerted effort to have the speed limits increased? Surely doing such a thing would be the logical approach since it would save both time, money and resources.

Say if an 80 km/h zone was increased to 100 km/h, would that mean that people wouldn't still speed? Does it mean that other motorists will not forewarn the driver? I'm guessing not on both counts.

At what point does it become a bad idea to have everyone warning each other about speed traps? You can dress it up with all the logic you want, but at the end of the day flashing and warning won't be the most logical way to deal with the issue.
    In my opinion a lot of accidents blamed on speed have other factors to blame, e.g poor maintenance of tyres and brakes for a start.

All of which can be exacerbated by higher speeds.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I heard of somebody failing their driving test because of this.

that's funny post of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

that's funny post of the day

yep,

flashing complete strangers to warn them about a garda checkpoint - while sitting your driving test;)

well after my 4th attempt of passing, i was getting lesson, by test center,

this woman was taking her test, she got out of the car an came over to us, and asked if one of us could reverse her car in the the parking space

Nah wouldn't warn them, knowing my luck, they'd slow down and not get stopped and I'd get done for warning them. Feck that. I'll look after no.1 ta very much!!

But cheers to anyone who flashes me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

The most annoying thing about driving IS other drivers- so they can feck off! If they're not driving like a pratt they don't need to be warned anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

hondasam wrote: »
    I'm not sure it is an offence. It cannot be proven.

Colleague of mine got a fine for it last year. Serves him right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Bikes, Vans and Trucks Only...
    Pheck the rest of ye!!!!!

Bikes just because I drive one myself, Vans and Trucks because they don't need the hassle when most of them are out trying to make a living and often working to somebody elses schedule.
    Same applies to some cars I suppose but they can be hard to identify!

The fella tearing the arse out of his '92 Fiesta or Micra NEEDS to be caught IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

But it is still illegal.

As mentioned, flashing your lights at another driver is illegal. So have those that argue against warning other drivers ever flashed their lights at someone to let them out of a parking space or to turn right etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Actually, I find it quite insulting when people flash at me about speed traps. You see, they are assuming that I, like them, drive recklessly, putting other peoples lives at risk. Not all of us are stupid on the road (although most people are)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

The high percentage of Yes votes may also have something to do with the anti-authoritarian Irish mindset, a left-over from our anti-imperialist days.

Sticking it to the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 damoh111089

Bikes, Vans and Trucks Only...
    Pheck the rest of ye!!!!!

Bikes just because I drive one myself, Vans and Trucks because they don't need the hassle when most of them are out trying to make a living and often working to somebody elses schedule.
    Same applies to some cars I suppose but they can be hard to identify!

The fella tearing the arse out of his '92 Fiesta or Micra NEEDS to be caught IMO.

good post imo:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ShooterSF wrote: »
    As mentioned, flashing your lights at another driver is illegal. So have those that argue against warning other drivers ever flashed their lights at someone to let them out of a parking space or to turn right etc.?

Ah now, c'mon! You can make the distinction between the two surely?

I could say that you have no moral obligation to protect any thief from the actions they decided to take, but would you feel comfortable in doing so or even try to justify why people should?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Colleague of mine got a fine for it last year. Serves him right.

I don't flash my lights anymore because of this, now I just wave frantically instead:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

The high percentage of Yes votes may also have something to do with the anti-authoritarian Irish mindset, a left-over from our anti-imperialist days.

Sticking it to the man.

Yes, we have a great tradition in this country of true republican anti-imperialism. We value civic virtue highly, and we respect the rule of law for the greater good of all citizens. We don't like monarchs or autocrats and we would never ever choose a corrupt jumped-up squireen to be head of government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

I would warn other road users about a Gatso van, Speed checking, BUT I would not give any warning for a checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Ah now, c'mon! You can make the distinction between the two surely?

I could say that you have no moral obligation to protect any thief from the actions they decided to take, but would you feel comfortable in doing so or even try to justify why people should?

I guess I was being as obtuse as the guy comparing it to rape to prove a point. Point being that we all divide laws into degrees of severity and judge whether we agree with the way they are enforced/punished. Speeding falls into this category.