Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning other drivers about speed traps

• 18-02-2011 06:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭

There was a Garda speed trap on a local road earlier when I was on my way home. Over a 2 mile stretch of road, about 90% of the cars passing in the other direction flashed their lights at me (obviously as a heads up)..

Do you guys do the same to warn other motorists of speed traps?

Personally I never have.. don't really see the point in giving an advantage to some stranger who may be driving erratically or dangerously.. if they get caught speeding then tough, imo.

What say you?

As a rule, do you warn other drivers? 207 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    69% 144 votes
    Depends (on what?)
    30% 63 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I hope you get caught speeding every time you drive.

I would always warn other drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I have never done it just because i couldn't be arsed but i do appriate other drivers doing it for me so maybe i'll take it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

You know I could argue with you!

But the law is clear, it's an offence to warn oncoming traffic of a speed trap. If caught, prosecution and a fine follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

hondasam wrote: »

Maybe he doesn't speed? :confused:

I voted no because the rossers on here will quickly find more prosecutions from motorist warning of the traps ~ be warned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

This happened to me yesterday on my way out to Tramore,about 3 cars coming towards me flashed the lights so i knew there must have been a van ahead i wasn't speeding anyway,and i was on the opposite side of the road,so i flashed a few cars on my way,it is something i do and im glad other drivers do it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why thank-you.

I have been caught speeding once btw, so I'm in no way trying to preach to people about not speeding.. I just don't see the point in warning strangers that they're about to be caught. It's nothing to me whether they are or not.

gbee wrote: »

But the law is clear, it's an offence to warn oncoming traffic of a speed trap. If caught, prosecution and a fine follow.

I'm not sure it is an offence. It cannot be proven.

Why thank-you.

I have been caught speeding once btw, so I'm in no way trying to preach to people about not speeding.. I just don't see the point in warning strangers that they're about to be caught. It's nothing to me whether they are or not.

maybe if someone was kind enough to warn you, you would not have got caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Speed traps are there to make motorists slow down, flashing your lights to warn that there's a speed trap will also slow down traffic.

I don't see a problem.

I'm not sure it is an offence. It cannot be proven.

You might have a point, have not heard of any in court recently.

does that go for rapists/murderers/thieves as well? or do you just pick and chose what laws you think people should be found guilty of breaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

So it's only breaking the law if you're caught?

Huh.

Well lads, I'm away raping.

EDIT: Snap Crasp, glad I'm not the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

For me it depends where they are set up. I've seen speed traps in areas where the speed limit changes suddenly from 100 to 50km/hr and there the cops were waiting for some poor sucker who couldn't get their speed down fast enough.

Crasp wrote: »
    does that go for rapists/murderers/thieves as well? or do you just pick and chose what laws you think people should be found guilty of breaking?
    So it's only breaking the law if you're caught?

Huh.

I thought this was about speeding ?

how did it change to rape ?

I thought this was about speeding ?

how did it change to rape ?

would you warn a rapist that the gardaí are down the road stopping people?

It's a very simple question....

If not, why not?

TheZohan wrote: »
    Speed traps are there to make motorists slow down, flashing your lights to warn that there's a speed trap will also slow down traffic.

I don't see a problem.

I dunno tbh.. if someone is caught speeding then that's a deterrent against doing it again. If they begin to rely on the 'kindness' of others then what incentive is there to stop speeding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

x2

If not, why not?

It is a simple question the thread is either about

Speeding or Rape but not both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

If not, why not?

I'd flash at him, to let him know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 west20s

You might have a point, have not heard of any in court recently.

It is an offence to signal another vehicle using your lights.... ................ Always signal others and am greatfull of those who signal me.Some speed restictions ,on certain stretches, are unpractical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

For me it depends where they are set up. I've seen speed traps in areas where the speed limit changes suddenly from 100 to 50km/hr and there the cops were waiting for some poor sucker who couldn't get their speed down fast enough.

To be honest I think some of the locations of the speed traps are ridiculous, and in my opinion are set up as a means of revenue. There's a spot like you describe on the N3 that I've been caught at before.

OT, I warn other drivers if I know there is a speed trap up ahead and I wouldn't apologise for it either.

It is a simple question the thread is either about

Speeding or Rape but not both.

By your lack of answer it's safe to assume you have been enlightened by the flaws in your argument.....

Those who don't flash at oncoming drivers, because they abhor speeding, should flash at random intervals when they haven't seen a speed trap, in order to slow other drivers down.

A subversion of speed-trap flash.

By your lack of answer it's safe to assume you have been enlightened by the flaws in your argument.....

what do you want me to answer?

about this thread which is about speeding ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I doubt that.

Warning someone about a speed trap =/= allowing rape. No logical person could honestly compare the two. And no court would either.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I doubt that.

Warning someone about a speed trap =/= allowing rape. No logical person could honestly compare the two. And no court would either.

There's nothing like a good straw man argument to get the juices flowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I dunno tbh.. if someone is caught speeding then that's a deterrent against doing it again.

Well according to AGS speed traps are there to make people aware of the dangers of speeding in a given area, not to make money. Certainly if you pass through an area renowned for speed traps and you're aware of it you'll slow down.

Either way you argue it people flashing will slow you down and that's the purpose of the speed trap.
    If they begin to rely on the 'kindness' of others then what incentive is there to stop speeding?

Or rely on there being a speed trap?

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I doubt that.

So what's the logic behind warning them, then? Other than if the trap is in a questionable spot.

Why should speeding be viewed as something which is ok? If it was something else which led to an increased risk of causing an accident then people wouldn't look so kindly at it. I just can't wrap my head around it.
    TheZohan wrote: »
    Either way you argue it people flashing will slow you down and that's the purpose of the speed trap.

It's not the sole purpose though is it? People caught speeding are admonished for doing so, and are less likely to do it again in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

they so ****ing stupid, the guards go out and set them up in the morning or afternoon and catch people going only a little bit over the speed limit, when they should be out trying to catch boy racers in the middle of the night who are putting themselves and others in danger, or how about they go out and catch some drug dealers, guards are ****ing useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

No, **** them - if you cant drive at the limit you deserve the fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

Sometimes I flash boy racers to see if they will slow down! (with my lights that is!)

what do you want me to answer?

about this thread which is about speeding ?

ok since you're being so evasive, I'll phrase it (again) about speeding: why is it ok to warn people about speed traps?

why is it not ok to warn people about speed traps ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

An emphatic NO!!

If you're willing to do the crime you should be able to do the time

Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

exactly sure when you warn people they are going to slow down, what do the guards want people to slow down or catch as many people as possible and hand them speeding points or worse???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

An emphatic NO!!

If you're willing to do the crime you should be able to do the time

Simple as.

I'm willing to do the crime and pay the fine. It's well worth it. I love speeding down empty bus lanes giving the finger to the law abiding chumps sitting in traffic!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I think it's complete bull to be honest. I noticed a bunch of my friends giving a heads up to their friends on facebook about a speed trap a while back. All I could think was, if they were driving safely in the first place, then they'd have no need to worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭nosey rosie

Don't leave it up to others... install a speed camera detector on your dashboard. I live in the UK and I've seen quite a few taxi drivers with them.

By doing so, you may prevent a nasty accident...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/2212479.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

deathrider wrote: »
    I think it's complete bull to be honest. I noticed a bunch of my friends giving a heads up to their friends on facebook about a speed trap a while back. All I could think was, if they were driving safely in the first place, then they'd have no need to worry.

Someone speeding does not mean they are driving dangerously.

As an example, there are many roads that were 60mph(100km/h) before we changed to km that are now 50mph(80km/h).

Are you saying that someone doing 20km/h over the limit on one of these roads is driving dangerously?

Everyone knows plenty of roads with an 80 km/h speed limit that you could quite safely do 120km/h on.

I for one am always glad when I get a warning, speed traps are deterrents to speed, which is exactly what the warning will do too.

deathrider wrote: »

lol great point Deathrider! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Don't leave it up to others... install a speed camera detector on your dashboard. I live in the UK and I've seen quite a few taxi drivers with them.
    Gardai just love seeing them on dashboards:rolleyes:

christ it's like trying to get blood from an exsanguinated stone.

I can imagine you trying to chat up a girl:

Hondasam: Hi

Girl: hey, I haven't seen you arround here before, do you come here often?

hondasam: do you come here often?

girl: ...er yes? so... what do you do for a living?

hondasam: that's not what this thread is about, it's about do you come here often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

lcrcboy wrote: »
    they so ****ing stupid, the guards go out and set them up in the morning or afternoon and catch people going only a little bit over the speed limit, when they should be out trying to catch boy racers in the middle of the night who are putting themselves and others in danger, or how about they go out and catch some drug dealers, guards are ****ing useless

A significant proportion of road fatalities are in the morning! People rushing to work etc!

IF theres four gardai on each shift in a station do you want the two in the morning and afternoon shifts to ignore traffic offences? or do you want all guards in at night - but what if theres an emergency during the day - wait till they come in for the boy racers at Xpm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭nosey rosie

Gardai just love seeing them on dashboards:rolleyes:
    Allright somewhere discrete then :) Also, how may times do the police stop you to look at your dashboard?

christ it's like trying to get blood from an exsanguinated stone.

I can imagine you trying to chat up a girl:

Hondasam: Hi

Girl: hey, I haven't seen you arround here before, do you come here often?

hondasam: do you come here often?

girl: ...er yes? so... what do you do for a living?

hondasam: that's not what this thread is about, it's about do you come here often.

Thanks but I'm not a lesbian so chatting up girls is not my thing.

I do not see any problem warning other drivers to slow down.

serious crime such as rape etc is a different thing.

Allright somewhere discrete then :) Also, how may times do the police stop you to look at your dashboard?

It's usually suckered to the window though, it has to be able to detect you see!

They're illegal afaik though. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I only warn bikers. Feck the rest of ya:D

Thanks but I'm not a lesbian so chatting up girls is not my thing.

I do not see any problem warning other drivers to slow down.

serious crime such as rape etc is a different thing.

you know at first I thought you were female, based on your inabilty to answer a simple straightforward fúcking question.

Then i remebered trolls don't have genders :pac: