Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

golfball37 wrote: »
    Family farms do not come under SF's wealth tax proposal.

Yeah right - you'd want to be off your head to believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭insight_man

PauloMN wrote: »
    Lol, can't believe people thought Adams was good on that "debate"!! Showed himself and SF up for what they are, no substance, and living in fantasy land. No cuts? Aye right Gerry, course not.

Those who thought he was good last night were already Shinners, I think SF will have lost votes rather than gained any after that when people scratch the surface and see that there's nothing there.

Kenny was at least honest when he said that everyone will be affected by cuts. I think people will see that everyone taking their share is the only way forward out of this mess. Adams and his mob not only want to retain 2010 welfare levels, they want to increase welfare and bring back the welfare Xmas bonus!!!! In a f**king recession!!! You couldn't make it up! :D Thankfully SF will never be behind the reigns of power in this country.

The cuts won't affect everyone. The FG/FF/Lab leaders won't be suffering at the hands of cuts so lets be clear about that. Nor did any of the bank guys who got big payoffs and bonuses after ruining the banks and the country.

And if I'm understanding you properly your happy to pay the price for all their 'mistakes'... you need to wake up and stand up for yourself and your family and friends or maybe your one of the wealthy group who benefit from FG/FF/Lab crap policies while dumping the burden on the rest of us long suffering people. Your views as articulated here smells of self interest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

danbohan wrote: »
    ok , i am not a believer in sinn feins economic plan in any form , i am also not a believer in any of the spin /bs been offered by the other party's either

let me ask you

do you believe you have been told the full truth in this election campaign by fine gael ?
    do you believe mr kenny and or mr gilmore wont come out a few weeks after the election and say things like we were mis led or things are worse than we feared
    do you think they will be ,a create employment , b , stop emigration , c not increase income taxes and other taxes in next 5 years ?

Typical Shinner response, just ignore the fact that their plans can not work. At least the other parties policies are based in reality, SFs are based on fantasy. Forget all the crap about SF looking after the poor, they will not be able to look after anyone because we will have no money left by the end of this year if we were to follow their plan. Anybody voting for SF has their head in the sand refusing to accept the reality of the situation we are in and are using the populist bullsh*t Adams was spouting last night as an excuse to delude themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭bergkamp10

you know gormless was a impressive last night if a bit ropey as usual , which says all that needs to be said about Ireland and its political leaders

yes he was and if i may back up your final comment further by pointing out that micheál martin soundly thrashed eamon gilmore in the previous bout?

PauloMN wrote: »
    Lol, can't believe people thought Adams was good on that "debate"!! Showed himself and SF up for what they are, no substance, and living in fantasy land. No cuts? Aye right Gerry, course not.

Those who thought he was good last night were already Shinners, I think SF will have lost votes rather than gained any after that when people scratch the surface and see that there's nothing there.

Kenny was at least honest when he said that everyone will be affected by cuts. I think people will see that everyone taking their share is the only way forward out of this mess. Adams and his mob not only want to retain 2010 welfare levels, they want to increase welfare and bring back the welfare Xmas bonus!!!! In a f**king recession!!! You couldn't make it up! :D Thankfully SF will never be behind the reigns of power in this country.

kenny saying everyone being affected by cuts is like saying everyone needs air in order to breathe. (except the top tier, who live off our air) hmmm, politicians make strange bedfellows. Who saw the greens getting in the scratcher with FF last time round? Not bloody Trevor Sargent anyway !!! i'm just saying, never is a very very long time dude... (what was the name of that crappy sean connery comeback james bond film....?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

was Gerry Adams in IRA at time ,was sf political party for IRA at the time
    yes or no
    Where did I say that I didnt believe that?

I am simply wondering why the poster, and people in general seem to believe that she was simply a housewife and Adams ordered her death, despite the fact that the source for these claims, ie Adams ordered it, come from Brendan Hughes who also said she was not a housewife but a paid British agent.

It is not consistent to claim Hughes is correct in saying Adams ordered it and is a liar in saying she was a British agent. Thus it is at best disingenuous to say that Adams ordered the death of a simple housewife. If you believe he ordered her death I see no reason why you wouldn't believe that McConville was a British informer who received money for passing on information to the British war machine. Unless of course there are sources which I am unaware of, hence why I am asking for them.

In the absence of such sources to present the facts as that poster did, amounts to little more than a blatant smear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Typical Shinner response, just ignore the fact that their plans can not work. At least the other parties policies are based in reality, SFs are based on fantasy. Forget all the crap about SF looking after the poor, they will not be able to look after anyone because we will have no money left by the end of this year if we were to follow their plan. Anybody voting for SF has their head in the sand refusing to accept the reality of the situation we are in and are using the populist bullsh*t Adams was spouting last night as an excuse to delude themselves.

why dont you answer the questions instead of reverting to type , answer your not able too , continue your ranting

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

I am simply wondering why the poster, and people in general seem to believe that she was simply a housewife and Adams ordered her death, despite the fact that the source for these claims, ie Adams ordered it, come from Brendan Hughes who also said she was not a housewife but a paid British agent.

It is not consistent to claim Hughes is correct in saying Adams ordered it and is a liar in saying she was a British agent. Thus it is at best disingenuous to say that Adams ordered the death of a simple housewife. If you believe he ordered her death I see no reason why you wouldn't believe that McConville was a British informer who received money for passing on information to the British war machine. Unless of course there are sources which I am unaware of, hence why I am asking for them.

In the absence of such sources to present the facts as that poster did, amounts to little more than a blatant smear.

indeed, my fellow drog-ledyte. May i indulge for a moment, if i was to be equally disengenuous, couldn't we in an equally 2+2=almost5 way argue that the Queen ordered the murder of, or at least approved the murders of 13 (forgive me if that number is wrong feel free to correct) innocent ordinary people and a priest in derry one sunday morning. For certain, Did she not personally pin medals on the soldiers responsible for the atrocity, who pretended they shot at IRA activists when the whole world could see they opened fire on a peaceful local march, attended by nationalists, loyalists, mothers with buggies, workers, clergy, organised by a derry local councillor? In fact, one could argue that the IRA could have awarded the queen a medal of their own for doubling their ranks in derry overnight

Ps re the queen and the pinning of the medals, 2 and 2 definitely equalled exactly 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭sharkie66

Gypsies wrote: »
    What worries me is the amount of people in this country who seem to have chosen to forget what happened to Mrs Janet McConville, a woman whose only crime was to show some decency & kindness towards a man in his dying moments. The Herald ran an article yesterday, reminding us all that Gerry Adams gave direct orders for that innocent mother of 10 to be murdered. I am very nervous to be living in a country where such an atrocity can be forgotten & forgiven by so many people and those same people are now voting for the man who gave these orders, to lead our country. I wonder what the family of Janet McConville must think of all this.

For the umpteenth time can you please support your hearsay with CREDIBLE evidence not the usual FF/FG BullSIHT from such a rag some would define as a newspaper but I certainly wouldn't!

Where is your proof regarding Gerry Adams? This is getting really tiresome!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

i dont know if gerry adams did or not,but im sure some research
    would show either way,gerry adams has a a way of not answering questions put too him ,its no different here in the election,only people who know no better will vote sf,gerry adams i dont believe has lost his connection with the terrorist side and either does anyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

why dont you answer the questions instead of reverting to type , answer your not able too , continue your ranting

The answers to your questions are yes, yes and yes.

Now please explain to me where SF are going to get the money to run the country in the absence of the IMF money, the bond markets and the NPRF.

only people ranting here ,are sf supporters club
    you get as much straight answers as was not given by there leader gerry ads last nite
    the title of this thread is about voting for sf or not
    answer
    is
    NO

would show either way,gerry adams has a a way of not answering questions put too him ,its no different here in the election,only people who know no better will vote sf,gerry adams i dont believe has lost his connection with the terrorist side and either does anyone else

So you are backtracking now and you now presume Adams innocent?

We have returned to your rubbish claims of PIRA still being "non active" and dealing drugs? Or SF being involved with a handful of ex PIRA men who have committed crimes?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

bergkamp10 wrote: »
    kenny saying everyone being affected by cuts is like saying everyone needs air in order to breathe.

I disagree. Nobody else had the balls to say it, because the others want to keep some group or other sweet, even if its bull****. None of the other parties answered that question except Kenny, and of course Adams went off on his "tax the rich and burn the bondholders" diatribe.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    The answers to your questions are yes, yes and yes.

Now please explain to me where SF are going to get the money to run the country in the absence of the IMF money, the bond markets and the NPRF.

take off your anti sinn fein glasses and read my earlier post , you will see i was not defending sinn feins economic policys . thank you for your answers it makes it very clear where your coming from , its that type of answers and blind support that allowed fianna fail to wreck the country , interesting in how the more you look into fianna fail and fine gael the more the seem to be different roots of the same tree .

So you are backtracking now and you now presume Adams innocent?

We have returned to your rubbish claims of PIRA still being "non active" and dealing drugs? Or SF being involved with a handful of ex PIRA men who have committed crimes?

ADAMS ISNT innocent
    Hes so dirty ,its not even funny
    nice change of tak by sf supporter,like gerry ads does

ADAMS ISNT innocent

really , you mean he does not wash ? god

yawn.

There are 2 facts.
    It looks like 60% of the electorate are opting for FG/Labour in Dublin and countrywide and close to 80% going for non extreme left wing/socialist parties.

If SF's ideas or the ula are so believable,why isn't it the other way round?

I'm bored with this was gerry in the ira,did he sanction this or that or was he aware of this that or the other... balance of probability is yes.
    Arguing about it is pointless.
    It's already factored in to peoples opinions one way or another.

ADAMS ISNT innocent
    So you are accusing Adams of ordering Jean McConvilles death then? Will you be consistent in saying that it was not the death of a simple housewife he ordered but that of a paid British agent? Or is Brendan Hughes an unreliable source? If so you have no basis to claim Gerry Adams ordered her death.

really , you mean he does not wash ? god

maybe that too,who know,dont really care

So you are accusing Adams of ordering Jean McConvilles death then? Will you be consistent in saying that it was not the death of a simple housewife he ordered but that of a paid British agent? Or is Brendan Hughes an unreliable source? If so you have no basis to claim Gerry Adams ordered her death.

i think if you check my post,you might read i never said he ordered Jean McConvilles death but i did say hes dirty with what he did as political wing of IRA and was show not too long ago too have being involved in terrorist activity's of some sort,am i going too waste my time too prove it too you,im not going too waste my time,you can use google if you like too check for your self
    but back on thread again
    NO vote for sf

why didnt Caoimhin O Caoghlain speak for sf,as it was clear that gerry adams didnt have a clue what he was talking about , specially about there policy and how they would fund the country too get 16 billion and of course the 50 billion figure that was put out at the debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭golfball37

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Yeah right - you'd want to be off your head to believe that.

Thats what the policy document says and Adams repeated it again last night. The family farm will not be a factor in this proposed wealth tax.

Whether politicians are trustworthy enough to keep their promises is another argument altogether but if we were to take them on their word, thats what it is currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭insight_man

you know the sf supporters club here will tell you different, be same 6 or 5 supporters,you never get a straight answer too all these questions,only smart ones,alot of us dont forget what sf stands for and how they operate
    they get votes from people who know no better,that the way it is,on positive side,they never be in goverment at least not for the next 100 years:D

the very same can be said for FF. Getting votes from people who know no better as you say.

Still hope springs eternal. Maybe they'll cop on eventually before our country goes completly down the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Gerry Adam's has been party leader since 1983, 28 years at the helm. Despite this there have been no heaves, no votes of no confidence, something seen much more frequently in other mainstream parties.
    At this stage, Adams is a well known figurehead. Getting rid of him will ensure SF loose votes.
    as for the ira
    Killing gardai
    was that worse than the irish goverment robbing the irish people to give to the banks
    Yes.
    caseyann wrote: »
    There is significant support in Great Britain for Ireland to reunify as a political entity.
    NI got over £16billion in 2008-2009 from Great Britain. If Ireland became 32 county republic, that'd be £16bilion saved by GB.

Now, Gerry has mentioned how much a wonderful job he did up north, but what sort of a job he'd do if England and Ireland stopped paying NI any money is another story altogether. Just ask FF how easy it is to look like you're doing a "good job" if money is coming in. It's when the money stops coming in that you see how much of a f**k up the party in power really is, whomever they may be.

If SF wants a trial run of telling the IMF to f**k off, get GB and RoI to cut all money going to NI, and sit back to see what happens.

would show either way ##..... hmmm, 'dont know',... 'some' research,... Gerry... is that you??? (ps , sf is my number one vote because it suits me and my kids locally)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 GFJD

Sinn Fein house here this time.

Never mind the knockers.

Jaysus , were gonna be an even bigger laughing stock than we already are with Enda Kenny as Taoiseach.
    Hes got as much character and presence as a plank in Pat Kennys 2nd house.
    GlEnda always has that look about him that hes just farted too.

Gerry handled himself very well in the leaders debate somuchso that I personally feel he came up on top between them so I'll be voting with the lid a me grannies bin.

GFJD wrote: »
    Sinn Fein house here this time.

Never mind the knockers.

Jaysus , were gonna be an even bigger laughing stock than we already are with Enda Kenny as Taoiseach.
    Hes got as much character and presence as a plank in Pat Kennys 2nd house.
    GlEnda always has that look about him that hes just farted too.

Gerry handled himself very well in the leaders debate somuchso that I personally feel he came up on top between them so I'll be voting with the lid a me grannies bin.

if i may, enda in actual fact has the look of someone who just farted, loud AND smelly, and knows that everyone knows it was him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 GFJD

bergkamp10 wrote: »
    if i may, enda in actual fact has the look of someone who just farted, loud AND smelly, and knows that everyone knows it was him

Whenever borders are overcome , enda and big ian , whose parties will merge , will sit high on the stage , both redfaced and windswept. The question on everyones lips will be - Who farted?