Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Papa Smut wrote: »
    It's to do with your understanding of the term "ex"

Was Sinn Fein connected to non active IRA members

and

Is Sinn Fein connected to non active IRA members

Are two incredibly different questions.

It's the same as asking me

Was I six foot tall when I was seven

and

Are I six foot tall now?

One is in the past, one is in the present, I really can't explain it any clearer.

for you,they may be ex,but for me as i know ,none of these non active ira members will never consider themselves ex ira,thats a fact
    so maybe the better term if you want too do battle of words,then they are non active ira members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

caseyann wrote: »
    Why are you saying they have good politics :confused:

I will call the IRA of latter years rebels and freedom fighters of their country.No i dont agree with them bombing innocent civilians.But i heard a rumour once that British got the warnings and they did not act on them till to late.

Well Cuba and Venezuela couldn't be accused of having poicies that "cater the rich and the government wealthy and no one else". That you accuse all governments worldwide of having and which you describe as s***e.

I don't honestly see how you can call the actions of the British (or Irish for that matter) security forces as terrorism whilst describing the IRA as "rebels and freedom fighters".

So blowing up children in Warrington was freedom fighting while shooting armed soldiers of the IRA was terrorism?

Shooting civilians in Derry was terrorism but blowing them up in Birmingham or Enniskillen was freedom fighting. I don't follow your logic.

Murder by our side good, murder by their side bad?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

they off the record connected,if you need proof,go too a city or town known where you get all the answers
    Care to rephrase that I dont understand what you are trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 riskyOz

sharkie66 wrote: »
    If the Sf were to do as you suggest above they would so find out that FG and FG had beaten them to it!
    Ahem, the banks have already been cleaned out by those fuddermuckers Fianna Fail. Fine Gael are guilty on the basis that the party did nothing to undo the FF agenda while it was the main opposition party!

While the current goverment are incompetent, SF could write their economical policies on a postage stamp. Gerry Adams was asked if he knew what the corporate tax rate in ROI is currently. "i dont know" was his answer. I would have to question any person who even thinks about voting for SF!

KELTICKNIGHTT: The charter specifically says;

When offering an opinion, please state so. Please do not present an opinion as "fact" - it only leads to flaming and a moderator may demand further evidence.

If you want to present something as opinion, please feel free, but please desist in using the term "fact" when it clearly is not as you cannot back it up.

Our charter is located here, I suggest you have a read of it.

\mod

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Or there can be an informed view where one points out that the IRA didnt do what they did for no reason.

they did it for there own reasons but not for the people as a whole in ireland too kill people who had nothing too do with it,there still family's who loved ones bodys haven tbeen found and ira where asked too give info so these familys can bury there bodys

for you,they may be ex,but for me as i know ,none of these non active ira members will never consider themselves ex ira,thats a fact
    so maybe the better term if you want too do battle of words,then they are non active ira members
    So people used to be in the IRA, you say they still think they are, and they are criminals and are acting on the instructions of the Army council/SF?

Just what are you on about?

If you want to present something as opinion, please feel free, but please desist in using the term "fact" when it clearly is not as you cannot back it up.

\mod

if you want fact,go too a city or town where theres plenty of facts
    not everything in life in black and white
    and you very well know why the reasons it cant be made public

So people used to be in the IRA, you say they still think they are, and they are criminals and are acting on the instructions of the Army council/SF?

Just what are you on about?
    your not going too pull that reason,are you,
    was in primetime 2 years ago about it and its know localy if you close too it as i am,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭CLARiiON

To be fair its a sad state of affairs that this question is even appearing here ... for instance a few years ago, we all would have laughed at the fact sf that someone would be voting for this crew. Now, after what ff have done to this country, (imo) the ordinary person is looking at a change - looking at things from a different perspective.
    Their policies might not be up to scratch on some instances, but at least they would fight Europe on the interest rate from the bail out. ff wouldn't - fg couldnt!
    regarding gerry's interview - i seen it and granted it did look bad that he didn't know the answer to the roi corporate rate, but he didn't bull sh*t the interviewer - he said it as it was...and fair play. A lot, of current TD's would have skipped around the question - example joan berton.
    Long story short, I am seriously considering voting for sf

your not going too pull that reason,are you,
    was in primetime 2 years ago about it and its know localy if you close too it as i am,
    This is pathetic, it really is, just spit it out and back it up or stop making wild claims

as i said ,it a public forum ,anything i know was told in private
    and thats as much as i can say
    i dont care weather you believe or not
    as its not the end of the world if you do or not,
    will leave it at that

as i said ,it a public forum ,anything i know was told in private
    and thats as much as i can say
    i dont care weather you believe or not
    as its not the end of the world if you do or not,
    will leave it at that
    Well you shouldnt have said anything in the first place!

It isnt on for someone to come on and make wild claims and when asked for proof to say "Its a secret!!!!"

Wolfe Tone: If you have a problem with a post use the report (report.gif) button. You are fully aware back seat modding is frowned upon in this forum.

Well you shouldnt have said anything in the first place!

It isnt on for someone to come on and make wild claims and when asked for proof to say "Its a secret!!!!"

i have said why i cant say,but that doesnt take from why like other i wont ever vote sf,and sf wont be in any government in near future

Apologies chara.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

derrybhoy wrote: »
    For a political party to come through interment,assassination,censorship it is some achievement to hopefully be the biggest party in ireland after these elections.The old guard just like in egypt is crumbling that is great the sooner the better.
    Gerry and Mubarack both became vice presidents in the 1970's and later presidents of SF and Egypt respectively.

And I'll remind you that the party down here did not come through that and almost all the elected representatives left to become Sinn Fein The Workers Party.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

caseyann wrote: »
    Brave women and men who paved the way for the freedom of this country and gave them the freedom to vote and own land
    WTF are you talking about are you disputing the result of the 1918 general election ?
    Call my great grand father a terrorist and i will pop you in jaw:D
    Taking the violence out of politics :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

As a turkey, I will not be voting for Christmas.

sure everybody knows that irish goverments since the 1970's have spent most of the gardai budget pursuing the ira when the fact is there would have been a hundred times more people killed in road accidents than the ira. plus the irish goverments cowardice in the face of british oppression left irish nationalists with only one choice and prolonged the armed struggle so you could say that the yello bellied blue shirts in fine gael indeed have blood on their hands
    It's easy to understand where SF's economic policies come from when this sort of doublethink is considered normal. "It's not our fault, we had no choice, they were doing it too"

100 times more killed in accidents - I'm going to have to see links to back that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Mario Daniel

Honestly, there's enough threads that delve into the History of Sinn Fein, the title of this thread is

"anyone here going to vote sinn féin?"

So lets keep it to that please. No more derailing please.

I agree. My first pref. will go to SF for the first time ever. Not only have they made this election happen much sooner (by-election order, Ó Caoláin questions to Cowen in the Dáil about meeting more than one person at the golf outing) but they are really well qualified people with much community experience.

sollar wrote: »
    Sinn Fein want to increase the dole. Its hardly a good time to do that!!

Are you on the dole?

LordSutch wrote: »
    I should have clarified, that I was refering to the Politics forum as a whole, and not just the General Election threads. My fault for not being 100% clear, but my point still stands that Sinn Fein threads are popping up all over the place, willy-nilly.

A lot of the threads are anti-Sinn Féin and started by people who either are wondering whether they are alone in considering voting SF for the first time OR by people who can't contemplate SF gaining more seats and therefore try to bring back SF's past to scare voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

sure everybody knows that irish goverments since the 1970's have spent most of the gardai budget pursuing the ira when the fact is there would have been a hundred times more people killed in road accidents than the ira. plus the irish goverments cowardice in the face of british oppression left irish nationalists with only one choice and prolonged the armed struggle so you could say that the yello bellied blue shirts in fine gael indeed have blood on their hands

So is your point that because the Irish gov allocated Garda resources to tackle the IRA robbing banks and organising cross border attacks instead of on traffic enforcement that the Irish government are responsible for the deaths that would have been prevented if the IRA were not active and Garda resources could have been used to prevent road deaths?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

\mod
    To be fair,I don't know anyone in real life that doesn't believe that Sinn Féin and the IRA are one and the same,the latter having been it's active military wing for decades.
    It is a fact that a lot of people and certainly a multiple times the number of SF voters find that scarey enough still not to vote for them.
    Their position on Garda mc Cabe's killers and the fact that many victims and families are still alive being the biggest problem to that end.

I find at this stage the constant argey bargey between republican and non republican posters on at this stage to be tiresome and unnecessary.
    It's better to argue on policies.

The troubles don't anymore factor at all in my sizing up of Sinn Féin or most for that matter.
    What matters is their poor grasp of maths sadly.
    But as said many times at this stage,they are being populist amongst their own mainly and the angriest in spite of the fact that anyone should know that most of their ridiculous policies if they were in government wouldn't have a hope of being implemented,they're so unrealistic.

Thats something their supporters will see maybe at the election after this one but probably the one after that when theres a better hope of them being asked to join a coalition.
    It's at that point that the sinn Féin voter will see how much rhetoric is in their proposals too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Weyhey

I have voted for them before and would consider voting for them again. At this stage though my No.1 vote lies elsewhere.

By the way I am against violence of any sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 berireland

I have always voted FF, this time I man switching to SF. I live in Longford Westmeath constituency.

Reasons:
    Strong Stand anti-bank bailout
    Not part of main party consensus
    Candidate good worker on thge ground

Most political parties came from a violent past. We ought to commend SF for bringing thier Communities along with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 wharf9

I will vote for SF and so will my wife,daughter and grandkids,not least because everything bar the kitchen sink has been thrown at Gerry Adams.I read the Irish(east brit)mail on sunday and also had to laugh at the headline about SF renting a premises from a reputable international company based in the North and North East.If the owner has served his punishment for smuggling diesel,that should be final.Prisons in this state hold people that could not pay a tv licence or a household bill.Does that mean SF MUST NOT RENT THEIR PREMISES IF THEIR LUCK CHANGES?Some FF ex TDs unconvicted SO FAR of perjury or and tax evasion are actually running campaigns to get reelected.I await to see their names on the front page of Mail on sunday next week.,along with a few more of the gangsters who held high offices in Government.If their names do appear I will continue to buy that paper and the Daily Mail.Cormac McQuinn (the reporter) needs to get a life.I appreciate criticism on a level playing field,and I am sure most sensible people will.I do have a spare kitchen sink for Cormac if he does run out of brain cells.His emblazoned headlines has lost sales to his company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

It's easy to understand where SF's economic policies come from when this sort of doublethink is considered normal. "It's not our fault, we had no choice, they were doing it too"

100 times more killed in accidents - I'm going to have to see links to back that up.

you dont need a link 300+ people die on roads in the republic of ireland every year say in 30 years (1970-2000) that would be 9000 one hundreth of that would be ninty now you tell me the ninty people killed by the ira in the republic of ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

so a small percentage of criminals or ex ira so by simple maths a large percentage or f. g f.f or lab