Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭sharkie66

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Here ya go again with the links to all the notorious anti-republican newspapers in the country! Ah c'mon and give us CREDIBLE links not the usual crap spewed out by so called journalists whose paymaster is an associate of the ruling class elite in Britain. Guess who is taking the queen's shillings? Ye will have to do better than that all you FG/pro-Franco dictator/Hitler Party people!

Still voting for Sinn Fein myself....only crowd to put it up to those fuddermucking IMF/EU robbing Fc...ers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

sharkie66 wrote: »
    You should be happy that democracy is the real winner as when Sinn Fein hound the robbing, thieving, Blueshirt, pro Nazi/Franco party i.e F.G.

Looks like David Mc Cullough is being heeded.

Yes Enda Kenny is widely believed by the Irish electorate to have the blood of innocents on his hands. Hound away.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭davydoc

I'll be voting Sinn Fein too, am actually out helping with the canvassing, and we're getting a good reception on the door steps..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    The difference is we are told we have to reduce the budget deficit, how we reduce it is up to us.
    http://www.sinnfein.ie/the-issues
    2. Sinn Féin would reverse cuts to public services and social welfare introduced in Budget 2011. We are the only party to clearly state that we would do this.

From the Manifesto
    Part 2 – The People’s Services

A new universal public health system for
    Ireland that provides care to all free at
    the point of delivery, on the basis of need
    alone, and funded from general fair and
    progressive taxation.

A return to free education.

The creation of 500 new teaching posts
    and the reduction of class sizes to 20
    pupils per teacher.

There is a lot of extra spend there, where is tall this money coming from and if you say the Pension, then where is it going to come from next year ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

caseyann wrote: »
    I heard lab are down again in polls and fianna fail on the radio.
    What about a Sinn Féin fianna gael government?

SF are also down in those poles. Zero chance of a FG/SF government. No one wants to go into government with SF and it's because there policies are ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

Yes Enda Kenny is widely believed by the Irish electorate to have the blood of innocents on his hands. Hound away.

sure everybody knows that irish goverments since the 1970's have spent most of the gardai budget pursuing the ira when the fact is there would have been a hundred times more people killed in road accidents than the ira. plus the irish goverments cowardice in the face of british oppression left irish nationalists with only one choice and prolonged the armed struggle so you could say that the yello bellied blue shirts in fine gael indeed have blood on their hands

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Meanwhile, Sinn Féin launched its election manifesto, which contains proposals to reduce ministerial salaries by 40 per cent and TDs' salaries by 20 per cent.

Some nice numbers floating out of there,how much would that save us :D
    I'd doubt that would even pay for the 500 extra teachers never mind what you'd need to spend to reduce class sizes to 20

It's just a populist move , and TBH benchmarking would probably reduce TD's salaries by more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

http://www.sinnfein.ie/the-issues

From the Manifesto

There is a lot of extra spend there, where is tall this money coming from and if you say the Pension, then where is it going to come from next year ??

just out of interest where are the other parties going to get the money from next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

LordSutch wrote: »
    A well overdue bit of humour :D:) :pac:

Thank you i aim to make a smile sometimes in such serious times.:D

New thread?:p

The republican movement has funded itself from drugs, cigarette smuggling and diesel laundering.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/conviction-shows-sf-is-still-linked-to-ira-crime-despite-new-bid-for-power-131919.html
    Blackmail - 2006 I grant you it's definitely not a positive for Sinn Fein, but the statement posed was "IRA are still around selling drugs? The provisionals are gone, and the republican movement has always been against drugs, and still is." Nought to do with drugs, also 5 years ago.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cigarette_smuggling
    I never count wiki as a "reliable source" - Sorry, but the source for wiki is here - http://www.ncpa.org/pub/ba423/ - And the direct quote is "The Irish Republican Army has long been implicated in cigarette smuggling in Europe" Key word being implicated. Not proof.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0222/1224264939173.html
    "A number of former members of the Provisional IRA based in Co Louth who are now centrally involved in the Real IRA were heavily involved in cigarette smuggling for years, and remain so." This is from an article that uses the word former a lot. We're talking about the present.

http://www.economist.com/node/3536143
    Another article from 6 years ago... But interesting opinion piece, nonetheless.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/sf-worker-linked-to-fatal-quinn-beating-1241734.html
    This is a sick sick story, and to this day I can only think what that family went through. It is repulsive that Sinn Fein had the gall to say, "There was no republican involvement with the killing" Here's another article on the killing:
    http://www.nuzhound.com/articles/Sunday_Tribune/arts2007/oct28_attack_on_Quinn_ordered_by_IRA__SBreen.php

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1509280/IRA-fuel-smuggling-drove-oil-giants-to-abandon-Ulster.html
    Another story from 2006. Where it was "claimed" once again, not proof.

I am no Sinn Fein apologist nor fan, but I am a believer that if you make a point or statement, you must back it up when asked for proof.

Why you brought the horrible, sickening murder of an innocent man into a post that was about, "The republican movement has funded itself from drugs, cigarette smuggling and diesel laundering." I do not know. I'm looking to see where the Sinn Fein worker was charged instead of being just a suspect, because as far as I'm aware, no-one (unfortunately) has been charged with that heinous crime.

sharkie66 wrote: »
    Here ya go again with the links to all the notorious anti-republican newspapers in the country! Ah c'mon and give us CREDIBLE links not the usual crap spewed out by so called journalists whose paymaster is an associate of the ruling class elite in Britain. Guess who is taking the queen's shillings? Ye will have to do better than that all you FG/pro-Franco dictator/Hitler Party people!

Still voting for Sinn Fein myself....only crowd to put it up to those fuddermucking IMF/EU robbing Fc...ers

As I said before regarding the articles on the Gerry Adams Child abuse cover up. All of these "anti-republican" newspapers can be sued if their articles are unflounded, just like Sinn Fein GE candidate Maurice Quinlivan
    did in relation to Willie O' Dea's comments in the Limerick Leader.

I don't think your arguments questioning the veracity of the articles has any credibility, I think "you will have to be better than that".

Anyway Sir Anthony and the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead may have more in common than you think.

I do like the mental image of, as you put it the "Hitler party people". I have an image of drunken Bavarians in liederhosen dancing to Kraftwerk.
    Thanks for that.

SF are also down in those poles. Zero chance of a FG/SF government. No one wants to go into government with SF and it's because there policies are ridiculous.

For the last fourteen years the policies of all governments all over the world are ****e. :D They cater the rich and the government wealthy and no one else.And fg and lab and ff are still doing it,but people are blind.

did the greens not rule out going into power with f.f at the last election did labour not say the same before making up a goverment with f.f pre election promises or made to be broken.....renegotiate the bailout deal .............just like that.....or with a nordy accent its the way you tell 'em

Incorrect. Trevor Sergeant said he would not lead the party into a coalition with Fianna Fail. Which he upheld by resigning and letting Gormley become leader.

Just getting the facts straight here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

For the last fourteen years the policies of all governments all over the world are ****e. :D They cater the rich and the government wealthy and no one else.And fg and lab and ff are still doing it,but people are blind.

lol, cater for no one else? Take a look at social welfare rates and the minimum rate for the last few years and think again.

sure everybody knows that irish goverments since the 1970's have spent most of the gardai budget pursuing the ira when the fact is there would have been a hundred times more people killed in road accidents than the ira. plus the irish goverments cowardice in the face of british oppression left irish nationalists with only one choice and prolonged the armed struggle so you could say that the yello bellied blue shirts in fine gael indeed have blood on their hands

You are absolutely right wee truck big driver. Every political death in Ireland since the 70's can be directly attributed in one way or another to Fine Gael and more specifically to Enda Kenny. I will now use the sarcasm smiley becasue there is no smiley to represent throwing up a little in your mouth.:rolleyes:

lol, cater for no one else? Take a look at social service rates and the minimum rate for the last few years and think again.

Ah yes give a dog a bone and shut up kind of attitude isnt it.:D

No one ever mentioned Enda. In fact I have met the man and he is actually a pleasant chap, full of witty banter. The day I met him he didn't have any blood on his hands so maybe he was on a day off? The hounding lark is an awful lark all together.

The Fine Gael Party has the blood of innocents on its hands and there is no escaping that fact. Actually if one were to take a body count one would find that FG is way in front of Sinn Fein on that front! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

did the greens not rule out going into power with f.f at the last election did labour not say the same before making up a goverment with f.f pre election promises or made to be broken.....renegotiate the bailout deal .............just like that.....or with a nordy accent its the way you tell 'em

theres a big difference between sf and greens,sf are still supporting IRA with there website ,plus they have only put on solution forward,the pension fund,

Oh good lord...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2008/sep/03/northernireland.northernireland

Supporting who? The Provos are still around then?

interesting doe,ira section of sinn fein website been removed sense yesterday

Papa Smut wrote: »
    Oh good lord...

And barr just arguing the point they dont like their policies they keep bringing it up.

1. Sinn Féin has shown that there is a better way. We were the only party not to sign up to the government’s consensus for cuts and instead put forward a real costed alternative for economic recovery.

2. Sinn Féin would reverse cuts to public services and social welfare introduced in Budget 2011. We are the only party to clearly state that we would do this.

3. Unlike the other parties Sinn Féin would stand up to the IMF and EU. Sinn Féin is an Irish republican party. We are a United Ireland party. We believe in the sovereignty, independence and freedom of the Irish people and the right of our people to build our own society.

4. Every TD elected for Sinn Féin will mean a stronger voice for working families, the unemployed and all those struggling to survive. The more Sinn Féin TDs elected the louder the voice for those they represent in the Dáil.

5. Sinn Féin stands up for ordinary people. Over the last year it is our party, which confronted this government and demanded higher standards. For us, actions speak louder than words. Sinn Féin was the only party to oppose the Lisbon Treaty, pointing out the dangers for our sovereignty. Sinn Féin forced the government to hold the Donegal SW by-election, exposed the Taoiseach’s contacts with leading people in Anglo, is the only party not to sign up to the Fianna Fáil / Green Party / Fine Gael / Labour consensus for cuts and instead put forward a real alternative for economic recovery. Sinn Féin TDs only take home the average industrial wage.

6. Sinn Féin will change politics and put an end to cronyism. Reform must start with the Dáil. That means cutting TD’s wages and expenses. It means changing how the Dáil business is done so the Government can be held to account. We would abolish the Seanad in its current form

Oh good lord...

so its in the paper,they handed over arms back then,
    yes they not killing people
    so you know they not into crime now or have been sense,ex ira or ira which ever way you want too word it

I like facts. And backed up claims.

Fact.

As I said before regarding the articles on the Gerry Adams Child abuse cover up. All of these "anti-republican" newspapers can be sued if their articles are unflounded, just like Sinn Fein GE candidate Maurice Quinlivan
    did in relation to Willie O' Dea's comments in the Limerick Leader.

I don't think your arguments questioning the veracity of the articles has any credibility, I think "you will have to be better than that".

Anyway Sir Anthony and the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead may have more in common than you think.

I do like the mental image of, as you put it the "Hitler party people". I have an image of drunken Bavarians in liederhosen dancing to Kraftwerk.
    Thanks for that.
    Yeah, at least you acknowledge that Fine Gael as a party has its founding roots in Nazi and Franco Fascist ideology. How many of innocent people died due to this failed ideology? If people harp on about SF then be prepared for the skeletons from the other parties to fall out of the bloodied cupboards.

Fact. Today Sinn fein has put this terrible history behind them and wants to move forward. Most people are prepared to accept this move but it appears others cannot. Pity really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Incorrect. Trevor Sergeant said he would not lead the party into a coalition with Fianna Fail. Which he upheld by resigning and letting Gormley become leader.

Just getting the facts straight here.
    I thought that was quite sneaky, they got many protest votes on the back of not going into govt with FF.

Oh good lord...

Its hard to understand his posts, but I think he is referring to some of the memorabilia they sell. "Undefeated Army" shirts and what not.

I like facts. And backed up claims.

Fact.

i live in a city which is well know too whats going on with these ex provos,
    and its in several towns and citys around ireland as a whole,thats where the facts is,hasnt been long enough sense sf did the peace deal but they still hold same views ,if they ever too be considered in any government,they will for sure have too prove themselfs, would also help too have more better policy's with facts and how they going too make it happens
    these views have been put here by supporters to stands too reason,theres more change need in sf party

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Its hard to understand his posts, but I think he is referring to some of the memorabilia they sell. "Undefeated Army" shirts and what not.

seems the items they where selling have being brought too there attention but there more too it than there website

What?

So what if they sell republican memorabilia?

i live in a city which is well know too whats going on with these ex provos,
    and its in several towns and citys around ireland as a whole,thats where the facts is,hasnt been long enough sense sf did the peace deal but they still hold same views ,if they ever too be considered in any government,they will for sure have too prove themselfs, would also help too have more better policy's with facts and how they going too make it happens
    these views have been put here by supporters to stands too reason,theres more change need in sf party

And bringing about peace and working along side British is not proving themselves :confused: