If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

You will be grand. Some of these fellas do be like gordon ramsey going around the course. Cough "Eamonn" Cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

menoscemo wrote: »
    I'll be like one of them women from de Mini Marathon!!
    Cans of Lilt and a bag of sandwiches then? :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    just took a few gels yesterday and i was grand. Does anyone ever not eat in conn ultra?

I take a handful of jelly babies and a few sips of lucozade sport. Then I don't fulfill my potential either. I would highly recommend having a nutrition plan.
    Salt and vinegar crisps and flat coke go down a treat.

Went down the gym to do a few k at recovery pace. Got on a treadmill and felt poxy. Decided to do 10 mins on the crosstrainer. Felt ok so decided to do a few fastish kms. Set the treadmill to 15.1kph and went until i could go no more.
    10km in 19.41.
    After the first km when the stiffness went i felt fantastic. Good decision to slow down the last couple of miles yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

W Set the treadmill to 15.1kph and went until i could go no more.
    10km in 19.41.

Wow. Congrats on the new world record.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Wow. Congrats on the new world record.

Haha that was a typo should be 39 not 19. I was looking at it and saying what is he on about:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

You will be grand. Some of these fellas do be like gordon ramsey going around the course. Cough "Eamonn" Cough

I think I only had 4 fig rolls and some gels for Connemara last year. I even only collected two drop off points, because they left the wrong bins at the 32M point.

Now for Conn100 this year, I'll have a personal chef, bartender and desert trolley on standby :p

Aimman wrote: »
    I think I only had 4 fig rolls and some gels for Connemara last year. I even only collected two drop off points, because they left the wrong bins at the 32M point.

Now for Conn100 this year, I'll have a personal chef, bartender and desert trolley on standby :p

Id need an icu bed and a priest after 100 miles:D

13.1 miles in 1.36.22
    Still running down the gym because i didnt know how my legs would react after sunday. No probs, legs are perfect. Run was easy.

Back out on the road. Plan was 3 x 5km. Small warm up and 5 km in 19.53, jesus that was hard, wanted to give up after 1k. Hung on in there. 2 mins rest got a drink from a shop.
    Next 5km in 21.15, this was alot more comfortable. 2 mins rest.
    Final 5km handy in 22.45. Small warm down.
    ~10 miles
    3.1 in 6.23 a mile
    3.1 in 6.48 a mile
    3.1 in 7.19 a mile

8 miles handy. Something wrong with my right quad. Very sore.

16.2 miles in 7.18 a mile.
    Had more left in the tank could have got to 20 at a struggle. Couple of weeks more training and then taper i think its on. Struggled early in this run but settled in and although it wasnt comfortable it wasnt brutal. Happy with that.
    Last 7 days 81 miles:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Hope the quad is okay now. What time you aiming for in Donadea or is it not a target race for you?

Not running in donadea. Giving the lads a hand, counting laps ect..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

16.2 miles in 7.18 a mile.
    Had more left in the tank could have got to 20 at a struggle. Couple of weeks more training and then taper i think its on. Struggled early in this run but settled in and although it wasnt comfortable it wasnt brutal. Happy with that.
    Last 7 days 81 miles:D

youre flying oisin - just keep an eye out for injury, lot of hard sessions in there. 3'10 or faster def looks on.

10K at 6.23 a mile split into 2. 8.5km and 1.5km. felt the hard week in my legs today.

Went out do 10 with 5 or so at pmp.
    8.27 w/u
    8.10 water break in here
    7.30 more water
    7.19 average for 13 miles, half of them into a headwind.
    3 miles to get home, got carried away trying to avoid hills and had run them anyway
    16 miles for the day.

Blisters on the soles of both feet and both feet are killing me near the outside of the arches. Need new runners asap:P

Tues-rest
    wed-rest
    niggle with my right foot enforced 2 rest days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Giving the lads a hand, counting laps and applying vaseline,,,,, ect..

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Ill get into all the hard to reach places:D

RAL3 wrote: »
    Yeh I'm going to head down and give it a blast but I dont know about 67!

You're putting in some great sessions going by your log - great mile pb,especially as it was after 9 others.

I'm still on for giving you the 5 mile rematch someday, only difference is that this time I'd need a 1 mile headstart.............
    Told you, you were good for 67:D

7 Miles @ 7.57 after a long day at work.
    Big session tomorrow, watch this space:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Told you, you were good for 67:D

Fair play to you - good call there all right, managed to finish strong with a 6 08 last mile so happy enough.

Keep up the good work yourself - when is the 3 10 attempt?

RAL3 wrote: »
    Fair play to you - good call there all right, managed to finish strong with a 6 08 last mile so happy enough.

Keep up the good work yourself - when is the 3 10 attempt?

4 Weeks mate. some days i think things are falling into place and other days i think no chance. Im about 50/50 at the moment.

In the gym treadmill @15.1kph, 1% incline
    30 mins, 7.56km
    20 mins, 5.03km
    10 mins, 2.52km
    5 mins, 1.26 km
    Just over 10 miles, 1 min break between sets.

.2@ 1.16
    26.2 miles
    8.25 a mile, guess a few fast miles at the end dropped the pace below 8.30.
    3h40m36s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

26.2 miles
    8.25 a mile, guess a few fast miles at the end dropped the pace below 8.30.
    3h40m36s

ahahahaha im so glad you are on here buddy - becuase every time I think I might be overdoing it, you come up with a beauty like that.

Good running - but we are quite close to the race now, youve been doing good speedwork, please go easy on the feckin training marathons :)

Sub 3'11 (and BQ) def on so look after yourself!

ahahahaha im so glad you are on here buddy - becuase every time I think I might be overdoing it, you come up with a beauty like that.

Good running - but we are quite close to the race now, youve been doing good speedwork, please go easy on the feckin training marathons :)

Sub 3'11 (and BQ) def on so look after yourself!

Last one mate. Small to medium runs this week and next and then taper.

Sun, mon rest:D
    Today
    10km treadmill 39.30
    6 x 1km @ 3.42 a km with 1 min rest
    ~10 miles