Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Taxi - 9 year rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Once the car situation is sorted they need to lok at the personel hygiene of some of the drivers, smelly gits some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭CabanasBoy

billyboy01 wrote: »
    9 years rule my eye, I saw a queue of taxi's today at a rank registered all in the early 90's. The oldiest being 93 D.

But they cannot renew their licences on these vehicles so it'll happen over the next 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

VolvoMan wrote: »
    What's the story with the Avensis then, has that not been your replacement?

Nah after years of driving anicent Toyota about the kip i'm gonna treat myself to a Merc or Lexus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I Was VB wrote: »
    Here is what im currently driving, its licenced untill September

Despite age and looks it drives great, and lots of room for the customers, I drove a immaculate 1996 Carina before this and it was my pride and joy but due to the licence expiry it had to be taken off the road, so im looking for the aboves replacement. Looking at either a GS300 or a E-Class.
    Are you going to be selling it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,818 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Nah after years of driving anicent Toyota about the kip i'm gonna treat myself my customers to a Merc or Lexus.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭maidhc

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    Exactly Mick,, a passenger getting into VB's taxi has to pay the very same as they would getting into a brand new taxi.

It is an open market. The public can tell the base operator they only want x car, and they don't have to get into the first car in the rank.

I'm not a taxi driver and don't know any taxi driver personally, but I think it is a stupid stupid rule and I cannot see one good reason for it. I agree the car should be roadworthy, but the NCTS are there to look after than side of things already.

The routemaster lasted in london for over 40 years, and even a lot of our public buses in Ireland are over 9 years old, so the fact a vehicle is a PSV should not have any bearing.

mickdw wrote: »
    FYP

No, a customer is sitting in my car for max 20 mins. I'm sitting in the car for 12 hours, which do you think i care about more?? My comfort or the customers??

I buy a car for me not the customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

TBH the main crux is the way that the rule was brought forward by a year, I purchased a mid year 2002 car 2 years ago on the basis of when the rules were due to change, I now find that the calculated change over date is 12 months ahead of that budgeted for.

If people are given a timeframe to work to then it shouldn't be changed at the whim of some non answerable bureaucrat

Thats unreal.

Imagine a bus driver with this attitude? Its laughable. You are providing a service & should remember that.

This is even more stunning as you appear to be one of the few that keep the car well maintained etc. Im just trying to imagine the attitude of some of the other drivers to their customers,the guys who dont even keep the car clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,828 ✭✭✭✭unkel

That's a bit harsh, Mick. I'm sure most taxi drivers have no problem to keep their car compliant with the rules and regulations. To keep it clean, safe and well maintained.

Within those regulations, would you not try and have a comfortable place to work? As VB said, he works up to 12 hours a day. A decent comfortable seat is a minimum requirement. Nobody is gonna pay a (self-employed) taxi driver any sick leave if he injures himself from sitting on a substandard seat for too long.

No, a customer is sitting in my car for max 20 mins. I'm sitting in the car for 12 hours, which do you think i care about more?? My comfort or the customers??

You've never sat in your car for 12 hours ye chancer, borderline part timer MPO.:D

Thats unreal.

Imagine a bus driver with this attitude? Its laughable. You are providing a service & should remember that.

This is even more stunning as you appear to be one of the few that keep the car well maintained etc. Im just trying to imagine the attitude of some of the other drivers to their customers,the guys who dont even keep the car clean.

Eh?? bus drivers have ZERO input on the buses they drive, never mind buy the things and bus drivers don't give two hoots about their pax comfort or safety so don't don't try that road. I agree with VB, the vehicle should be bought for the drivers comfort primarily, regulations take care of the customers needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

There's a 1993 battered Toyota at Ballyfermot SC rank that I won't miss.

At the same time I've been in 1990's Mercs and the drivers treated them like children, their pride and joy. Kept immaculately. And they'll be taken off the road the same as our friends in battered Toyotas.

Catch all rules have their flaws.

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    Eh?? bus drivers have ZERO input on the buses they drive, never mind buy the things and bus drivers don't give two hoots about their pax comfort or safety so don't don't try that road. I agree with VB, the vehicle should be bought for the drivers comfort primarily, regulations take care of the customers needs.

I was referring not to dublin bus type setup, more the local owner driver setup that is the common setup in country places like here in mayo. I can tell you the guy who starts operating with old dirty coaches instantly loses the business.
    The fact remains, the taxi driver should respect the customer, offer an ever improving service, an safe new vehicle & the driver should be clean & well presented. Smoking in the car is not nice either.
    Sure Id love if all the taxis were new EClass but for the drivers to be complaining about having to fork out about 5k for a car that meets the regs for maybe 3 years is sickening when your average private car owner is spending more than that on depreciation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Most bus companies have good gear now. A lot of old yokes are gone of the road. Havent Treacys a good fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

The fact remains, the taxi driver should respect the customer, offer an ever improving service, an safe new vehicle & the driver should be clean & well presented. Smoking in the car is not nice either.
    Sure Id love if all the taxis were new EClass but for the drivers to be complaining about having to fork out about 5k for a car that meets the regs for maybe 3 years is sickening when your average private car owner is spending more than that on depreciation.

what about the customer respecting the taxi ?
    iv seen the results of passangers defacateing,urinateing,vomiting inside cars if that happend the driver could be out a nights pay at least + the cost of cleanup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

And I've seen customers reverse into brand new cars on the garage forecourt and then drive quickly away hoping that no one saw them.

Does that mean that every garage should only display junkers just in case some one damages one?

Rubbish!

But if you had 10 customers reverse into the same car, you might think differently and park a junker there instead of a new one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'd certainly think about putting the car on display somewhere else, just like you'd think about not stopping to pick up someone who's obviously incredibly drunk.

I wouldn't put a junker on display anywhere on the forecourt. It would reflect badly on the business and the rest of the stock.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Max Power1 wrote: »
    So, as a TLDR of the last post:

Taxi drivers have no regard for their customers, and expect them to sit in to 15 year old corollas.

Good point, though I won't mind sitting in a well kept older Merc or Lexus.
    And I'm sure there are 6-7 year old crappy taxis out there, but they're going to be OK.
    Should be condition, not age.
    This regulation is a "one size fits none" solution that won't achieve much

-Chris- wrote: »
    I'd certainly think about putting the car on display somewhere else, just like you'd think about not stopping to pick up someone who's obviously incredibly drunk.

I wouldn't put a junker on display anywhere on the forecourt. It would reflect badly on the business and the rest of the stock.

The drunkards have to be taken home to, or you'd have people complaining that they can't get a taxi home and then people on boards.ie saying we need even more taxis

Spook_ie wrote: »
    The drunkards have to be taken home to, or you'd have people complaining that they can't get a taxi home and then people on boards.ie saying we need even more taxis

The drunks will have to ride with him:

worst-taxi-rides-01-d.jpg

@mickdw, i buy a car for me as in; i want somthing thats comfy, reliable, somthing that i like driving, somthing that i like to look at and look out at 12 hours a day.

Due to licenceing laws my ''baby'' is now off the road i mollycoddled it since i got it took great pride in it. Buy it was like trying to boil water in a chocolate teapot, passangers dont have any respect for taxis. Ever have someone get sick in a car?? Full on down the back of the neck job?? Ever get your car kicked by drunks?? Ever have wimmen leaving fake tan streaks on your seats?? Ever have blood being sprayed over your car?? Ever have a ''lady'' piss herself in your car and say nothing?? Didnt think so. All of which has happend to my beloved Carina.

I'm driving a 1994 Corona at the min, and its too good for the passangers. Thats not to say i dont treat my passangers with respect, but i've found if i'm nice to my passangers and dont bore the bollix off them about football / dem black / bertie was a wanker. And have a nice chat and a laugh its more important than what im driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

We've been here before, we'll be here again. Very old basic cars without airconditioning

What do we need that here for?. This is not Saudi Arabia or Australia, there are very few days when it is actually of any use. I have no problem with old taxis as long as they are clean, well maintained and don't smell like arse.

Yoke im driving is 17 years old and it has Aircon!!!!!

What do we need that here for?. This is not Saudi Arabia or Australia, there are very few days when it is actually of any use. I have no problem with old taxis as long as they are clean, well maintained and don't smell like arse.

Exactly.
    Pretty sure there are plenty of 5 year old sheds out there that do smell like arse, but according to the regulation they are fine.
    Condition, not age.
    Inspections should be done on that basis.
    If someone rolls up in a new enough car that has sh*t, piss and puke in it, fail.
    If someone rolls up in a 10+ year old car that is in good nick, pass.
    What in the name of all that's holy is so difficult there?
    But it's much sexier to bash your chest and come out with "strong man regulation" that shows the voters what a "tough guy" you are and that you "get things done".
    Only morons are impressed by that.

Due to licenceing laws my ''baby'' is now off the road i mollycoddled it since i got it took great pride in it. Buy it was like trying to boil water in a chocolate teapot, passangers dont have any respect for taxis. Ever have someone get sick in a car?? Full on down the back of the neck job?? Ever get your car kicked by drunks?? Ever have wimmen leaving fake tan streaks on your seats?? Ever have blood being sprayed over your car?? Ever have a ''lady'' piss herself in your car and say nothing?? Didnt think so. All of which has happend to my beloved Carina.

Never had anyone sick in my car.
    Never had my car kicked by drunks
    Never had a woman leave tan streaks on the seats
    Never had blood sprayed over my car
    Never had a lady piss herself in the car.

But I dont have my car out for hire so I should hope not. Saying that, I have never been sick in or kicked a taxi, left tan streaks, blood or piss in a taxi.
    Sure cleaning sick is a pain in the hole but cleaning nice car or crap car is much the same.
    It doesnt change the facts. If a taxi driver cannot spend 2 to 3 grand a year on depreciation, he is either a tight git or running a poor business.

Never had anyone sick in my car.
    Never had my car kicked by drunks
    Never had a woman leave tan streaks on the seats
    Never had blood sprayed over my car
    Never had a lady piss herself in the car.

But I dont have my car out for hire so I should hope not. Saying that, I have never been sick in or kicked a taxi, left tan streaks, blood or piss in a taxi.
    Sure cleaning sick is a pain in the hole but cleaning nice car or crap car is much the same.
    It doesnt change the facts. If a taxi driver cannot spend 2 to 3 grand a year on depreciation, he is either a tight git or running a poor business.

A the fact that you dont know what a taxi goes through on a daily basis (like most of the public) your not really somone who i'd heed when it came to choice of cars. I remember when i got my Avensis you put up a fight because of the miles. You come across as a person who will never be happy with any taxi you get.

Simple fact is my cars are kept in good condition (picture i posted was after a weekend in Kerry) clean, with a polite driver that knows his way around Dublin, doesnt smoke, is clean shaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

First of all i'd like to thank Boards.ie for giving me the chance to air my opinion on the 9 year taxi'hackney rule. Just to make things a little bit clearer for everybody,, the taxi regulator has never given a reason for the new rule, and also it has never offered monetary help (such as a grant) to any taxi/hackney owner who would have to obey the new rule... For those who say fair play to the taxi regulator, I say to you! what do you think the reason for the new rule is? because i've been driving a hackney for 8 years now and i cant figure it out. I drive a 2001 vw passat,, it is regularly serviced it is spotless inside and out,, my NCT shows clearly it's emissions are way below the NCT fail level,, not to mention air bags and safety overall. So why next April or May must i spend 6,000 or 7,000 euro (dont worry Kathleen I'll find it somewhere) on a 05 or 06 car, which will only last me another few years,, in those few years I'll be saving for my next car while also maintaining that one. The regulator has approached all the money lending institutions to ask for leniancy towards taxi/hackney owners in the coming years,, is that not what got this (once great) wee country in the recession it is in at the moment. Look without getting too nasty, maybe I'd like to go on a wee holiday in the next couple of years, rather than worrying about where I'm gonna find money for my next car. To you Kathleen Doyle, I say it's none of your business if I can afford a new car every 3 or 4 years or not, none of your business at all.

ardle1 wrote: »
    First of all i'd like to thank Boards.ie for giving me the chance to air my opinion on the 9 year taxi'hackney rule. Just to make things a little bit clearer for everybody,, the taxi regulator has never given a reason for the new rule, and also it has never offered monetary help (such as a grant) to any taxi/hackney owner who would have to obey the new rule... For those who say fair play to the taxi regulator, I say to you! what do you think the reason for the new rule is? because i've been driving a hackney for 8 years now and i cant figure it out. I drive a 2001 vw passat,, it is regularly serviced it is spotless inside and out,, my NCT shows clearly it's emissions are way below the NCT fail level,, not to mention air bags and safety overall. So why next April or May must i spend 6,000 or 7,000 euro (dont worry Kathleen I'll find it somewhere) on a 05 or 06 car, which will only last me another few years,, in those few years I'll be saving for my next car while also maintaining that one. The regulator has approached all the money lending institutions to ask for leniancy towards taxi/hackney owners in the coming years,, is that not what got this (once great) wee country in the recession it is in at the moment. Look without getting too nasty, maybe I'd like to go on a wee holiday in the next couple of years, rather than worrying about where I'm gonna find money for my next car. To you Kathleen Doyle, I say it's none of your business if I can afford a new car every 3 or 4 years or not, none of your business at all.

Well Ardle, congrats on being a Hacker, why don't you go the whole hog and drive/own a proper taxi? Hackneys have escaped regulation and metering (ah sure we'll just think up any price we like, fuel gone up? ah sure, stick another euro on the fare) for far too long so welcome to the real world of Kitty Kat examining your poo (nearly) to make sure it complies with the latest regs. As to your comment about it being none of her business about your vehicle? If you want to earn a living driving people around in a SPSV it's entirely her business so get used to it or get out of the game.