Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should After Hours be disbanded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

It is a bit silly now alright, but without it where would Frada and starbelgrade do their thanks whoring?

I dont think it needs to be disbanded, but incorporating it into Atheism and Agnosticism would be a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Heh, and starbelgrade is one of those on my list :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Basically, OP doesn't like that Michaela Harte threads turn to much by about 4 posts in, and thinks the only solution is to dismantle After Hours? What is this, America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

It'd cause more problems than it would solve. At least here the trolls are easily located. Without ah we'd be scattered to the winds tormenting the "normal" in every forum instead of just one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Renn wrote: »
    Pretty much agree with the OP...possibly the worst forum out of the lot of them, devoid of humour/decent posts and my ignore list contains posters from AH only. I just come here to remind myself that I've made the right decision.
    Why don't you just not come to AH. Some of us have decent things to post in other fora.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

keano_afc wrote: »
    It is a bit silly now alright, but without it where would Frada and starbelgrade do their thanks whoring?

I dont think it needs to be disbanded, but incorporating it into Atheism and Agnosticism would be a good start.

Oh hell no...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Pretty much agree with the OP...possibly the worst forum out of the lot of them, devoid of humour/decent posts and my ignore list contains posters from AH only. I just come here to remind myself that I've made the right decision.

I'd wager €50 that you will come back here & read this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

What frustrates me is the lack of threads on cars and guitars in After Hours.

Also we should be allowed to talk about dogs, pregnancy and World of Warcraft and archery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

After Hours is an Anagram of "Rare of Tush".

Certainly explains the lack of women around here.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

To anyone who just hates the place all that much, please drop me a PM and I will remove your access. No charge or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Always find those who whinge about "meanness" - on Boards or anywhere else - still seem more than willing to take personal pot shots...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

DrumSteve wrote: »
    After Hours is an Anagram of "Rare of Tush".

Certainly explains the lack of women around here.

Ye should be nicer to the few women that listen to ye. :pac:

To anyone who just hates the place all that much, please drop me a PM and I will remove your access. No charge or anything.

we could all send you one name and you could ban them :pac:

hondasam wrote: »
    Ye should be nicer to the few women that listen to ye. :pac:

Women listen to me?

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Women listen to me?

we do the odd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,613 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I doubt itll ever be disbanded.... where would all the trolls go?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Vicxas wrote: »

They usually get sitebanned.
    But then they frequently re-register...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Vicxas wrote: »
    And where would all the tedious fucking paranoid whingers go with their "Wah, wah, thanks whores Mommy!", "I'm obsessed with the MODS!" moans?

hondasam wrote: »
    we do the odd time.

Bad choice that.

Meh you get them on every forum.... its a power thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

40 posts in & the OP wants the most popular forum on Boards to be disbanded.

Feckin newbs.

starbelgrade, this comment is the sort of thing I'm talking about. Your post was the first reply to this thread. And you expressed your opinion on it. However a few minutes you decided to change you entire post. Take out your opinion. Insert smartarse response in a bid to get as many thanks as possible as it was the first reply to a thread...

That, in my opinion is a bit sad and pathetic. Some people seem more concerned with recieving 'Thanks' and trying to be a smartarse than actually expressing an opinion on a subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Did you learn nothing from the three musketeers OP? If you disband them, they only come back stronger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

JohnP199 wrote: »
    starbelgrade, this comment is the sort of thing I'm talking about. Your post was the first reply to this thread. And you expressed your opinion on it. However a few minutes you decided to change you entire post. Take out your opinion. Insert smartarse response in a bid to get as many thanks as possible as it was the first reply to a thread...

That, in my opinion is a bit sad and pathetic. Some people seem more concerned with recieving 'Thanks' and trying to be a smartarse than actually expressing an opinion on a subject.

It's been said before, but if you don't like the 'smartarse responses'* you get in AH

> There's the door

*AKA the reason AH is the most popular forum on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

JohnP199 wrote: »

In my opinion this is the same type of synical attitude you claim to be arguing against in your OP.

Your OP is stupid and AH posters are awesome.

From my understanding AH is off topic meaning crap is discussed at length and people can be themselves.... albeit some are dicks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

I agree with some of the other posters about the pub analogy.

OP, if there was a pub in your local town where all the eejits (in your opinion) who talk sh1te all the time went, why would you go there? And because that pub exists you want it closed down - even though it's really popular?

That's called facism or good old-fashioned grumpiness. Sorry, I don't know what age you are, but I'm making a guess that you're gettin a bit older and you're thinking "young people these days ..." etc. etc.

On the other hand, is your complaint that there used to be a pub/forum around here which was a bit of a laugh, but where the bar-man kept an ear out for any really bad comments and told people to tone it down a bit when he heard them? And now, the quality of the discourse has completely detiorated and th'oul barman/mod doesn't seem to be doing his "toning-down" job anymore?

If that's the case, then you have three choices - do the job yourself unofficially (backseat modding - and no, don't do this), apply for the job to do it officially, or just don't come here any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

I've read through eight pages of crap to tell you...

It's 'there'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

After Hours is for a bit of banter and a bit of craic. Some people don't enjoy that kind of fun. Horses for courses.

newmember? wrote: »
    I've read through eight pages of crap to tell you...

It's 'there'.

Shaun ryder eat your heart out.