Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Is Ireland Such A Sh!thole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    You would have to sterilize some people though surely? Or else all the skangers will have even more kids.

No need to do that, just limit child allowance to two children, it will have the same effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

good idea in "theory" however if thats was to happen vast area's would be turned into proper ghettos new orleans style.
    what would you rather?
    option 1.get jeered by 15yo's at spar(current system)
    option 2.introduce your system and risked being car jacked every time you stop at a red light

It wouldn't need to be at a level that would impoverish people, just enough to make them think about what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Computer Sci

Just got back from traveling and as soon as I arrived, the first thing I seen were primitive skangers - it's good to be home etc.. Now, I've put some thought into this and I've come to the conclusion that it's our social system letting these "couldn't be bothered to do a days work when theres free money" maggots walk the same streets as regular folk.

Think about it.

The reason Ireland is such a sh!thole is because the burden of society in this country are given the means to live at a similar level as the rest of us, meaning, they are in a good position to impose their values or even their presence in our everyday lives.

People complain that these scumbags are hanging around their neighbourhoods. The reason they're hanging around your neighbourhood for christ sake is because they're given the money to live like you! If not, these sh!t-for-brains (honestly, basic intelligence needs to be beat into certain people) would be living in estates far far away from you.

If there was no social welfare, these people would soon find out how jolly it was to live in a wonderland.

Let me guess, you're the sort who bases his views of the world on travelling to the Manhattan's / Westminster's / Hollywood's of this planet, and not the Bronx' / South London's / South Central-Compton's etc, and then comes home only to base his views of Ireland in opposition to the places he travelled to (which are actually more than likely just the nice parts - the parts advertised in the brochures) on the appearance of a few individuals he meets on his journey from the airport?

Next time, why don't you do a bit more in-depth exploration on your 80 days around the world excursions. Just a piece of advice though, watch out, because in some parts of the world the "skangers" happen to be armed. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Nolanger wrote: »
    Because they'll go to the Health Board and get money.

The CWO's can see how much dole people are on and would know why they were down some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I think you are missing the point. If there was no welfare, you wouldn't be able to walk the streets - at all.

Plenty of countries have no dole for the work shy. For example, Italy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

previously a lot poorer people carried ourselves a lot better i know that much.. modern architecture is pretty ****ing ghastly too just look at tallaght for instance - but i think that sort of thing is built with a view to dissembling it in the very near future. its not made of stone

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Thequite an

How it can be put right in Ireland I don't know,for years I was naive to believe our politicians were beyond reproach,now I realize I was the only that thought this,we have people running our Country and getting well paid for it and screwing our people,we have women in jail for not paying a fine,there are villains that even the dogs in the street know who killing our citizens as well as their opponents with impunity and yet we can fill five or six pages on the forum if we mention work,it can't go on

• Registered Users Posts: 24,009 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

How it can be put right in Ireland I don't know,for years I was naive to believe our politicians were beyond reproach,now I realize I was the only that thought this,we have people running our Country and getting well paid for it and screwing our people,we have women in jail for not paying a fine,there are villains that even the dogs in the street know who killing our citizens as well as their opponents with impunity and yet we can fill five or six pages on the forum if we mention work,it can't go on

The durty bastards, have they no shame?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

They're badly dressed, and exhibit generally intimidatory behaviour.

Well, Gok. You should go up to them and tell them how to dress fabulously next time you see 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Just got back from traveling and as soon as I arrived, the first thing I seen were primitive skangers - it's good to be home etc.. Now, I've put some thought into this and I've come to the conclusion that it's our social system letting these "couldn't be bothered to do a days work when theres free money" maggots walk the same streets as regular folk.

Think about it.

The reason Ireland is such a sh!thole is because the burden of society in this country are given the means to live at a similar level as the rest of us, meaning, they are in a good position to impose their values or even their presence in our everyday lives.

People complain that these scumbags are hanging around their neighbourhoods. The reason they're hanging around your neighbourhood for christ sake is because they're given the money to live like you! If not, these sh!t-for-brains (honestly, basic intelligence needs to be beat into certain people) would be living in estates far far away from you.

If there was no social welfare, these people would soon find out how jolly it was to live in a wonderland.
    Your brain typed out exactly whats going on in my brain.For this I thank you.Ireland is a wasters paradise.The less you do the more you get.FACT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I can understand the OPs view.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Well, Gok. You should go up to them and tell them how to dress fabulously next time you see 'em.

here look yer wan, Gok wan! ^^ gerrup ya big girls blouse fitter

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭Tomtata

Look at other counties that have no social welfare system, one that I have direct experience of is Thailand - Spend over a year living in Bangkok.

One benefit is the stall culture - Stalls on every street selling everything possible.
    People either live by selling or die (That’s the law abiding citizens)

The Negatives -> Shanty towns - there everywhere - This causes a whole host of other issues, health, sanitation - People washing their clothes & themselves in the Chao Phraya River
    CRIME -> just watch the news, some seriously fooked up stuff going on. It tends to be local news (Thai Speaking)
    Mafia -> Its riff - When you have large groups of unsupported, uneducated people group together its inevitable.

The list goes on......

Paying losers to be losers is a pain but usually the alternative is worst.
    Also read up on Rio de janeiro - Same scenario.

Good points from Computer Sci.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I live in a council estate and everyone's lovely. Back to the drawing board OP?

Tomtata wrote: »

That pretty much sums it up.

(I'd introduce a "work for the dole" scheme for the long term unemployed though, e.g. greater than 12 months on the dole you have the sweep the streets, or something like that).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Star Bingo wrote: »
    here look yer wan, Gok wan! ^^ gerrup ya big girls blouse fitter

No... now fair is fair. You look at a skanger in their grey tracksuit bottoms tucked into their white nike socks and runners. Look at their jackets and haircuts. Everything, from head to toe is an absolute travesty. I'm no Gok Wan (hate that scum) but at least I don't look like somebody who hasn't washed in a month. Skangers are just the pits, with the heads on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭Quiet you

It's not a council estate or social welfare issue. It's a durtbags getting money from the people they hassle and steal from issue.

If help or support is needed it's needed but why waste it on people that provide nothing to society but problems? The money would be better spent on the community then on the people that caused the need for it to be spent on the community in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

That pretty much sums it up.

(I'd introduce a "work for the dole" scheme for the long term unemployed though, e.g. greater than 12 months on the dole you have the sweep the streets, or something like that).

ARGHGHGHAGHGHR If I see this IDIOTIC argument one more time I'm going to rape someone.

If there's a job that needs to be done then it follows, LOGICALLY, that we have to PAY SOMEONE TO DO THAT JOB. If it's a job that doesn't need to be done THEN IT MAKES NO SENSE TO PAY SOMEONE TO DO THAT JOB. Therefore, why would you have someone do it? Because it makes YOU feel better?

Oh, and it's never going to happen either.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Ireland is a backwards country. Theirs nothing specialised here. If your a talented musician you have to go abroad, if your an amazing photographer you have to go abroad etc.

This country is so dull its not funny, an education system that fails to train your strong points, instead they try to fit everyone into the same catagory. Like sheep.

Why are there so many scumbags? Because from a young age they have **** all to do other than cause problems. Introduced to alcohol at a young age because really what else is their to do?

"Lets go down to the basketball court" - Oh wait, theirs no fcuking hoops to throw the ball into.

"Lets go for a game of soccer in our local pitch" - The guards are called because they are wrecking the pitch or some old fart is getting woke up from he's afternoon napl

"Lets go swimming" - no swimming pool

"Lets go shoot pool" - No kids allowed in the pub and no pool hall.

I could go on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Thats a bit extreme.

I'd settle for no social welfare. The only people who should receive state aid should be those with illnesses, children and the elderly.
    Are you a wind up?

ARGHGHGHAGHGHR If I see this IDIOTIC argument one more time I'm going to rape someone.

If there's a job that needs to be done then it follows, LOGICALLY, that we have to PAY SOMEONE TO DO THAT JOB. If it's a job that doesn't need to be done THEN IT MAKES NO SENSE TO PAY SOMEONE TO DO THAT JOB. Therefore, why would you have someone do it? Because it makes YOU feel better?

They do it in Australia. It has been a major success.

In a nutshell, because the jobs people are forced to do (for the dole) are so ****, most people end up looking for and accepting a better/proper job.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭Quiet you

I agree and just to further it a little I'm unemployed and do stuff like that just for something to do. I don't want some tracksuit wearing junkie asking me for coppers while I'm keeping busy.

Come back snow, you gave me full days of shovelling fun.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

They do it in Australia. It has been a major success.

In a nutshell, because the jobs people are forced to do (for the dole) are so ****, most people end up looking for and accepting a better/proper job.

IF jobs were around to be had. Some people think we are still back in the 90's when business was booming and any tom, dick and harry could get a job. :rolleyes:

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    IF jobs were around to be had. Some people think we are still back in the 90's when business was booming and any tom, dick and harry could get a job. :rolleyes:

There are still plenty of jobs out there, just not the tens of thousands there used to be.

http://www.dole.ie/search/basic/category/all/exagencies/1/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Still not nearly enough to go around though...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭amacca

Tomtata wrote: »

seriously, you reckon we can come up with no better alternative to paying losers to be losers?...thats it thats the zenith of civilization....sorry John Boy, I know it aint right but you jus gonna have to put up with dis **** boy....thats it?

call me ridiculously optimistic but I think if we put our minds to it we could at the very least come up with some humorous/ironic solutions to the "loser" problem involving pain rather than payments for them

disclaimer: I dont think everyone that gets welfare payments (of the unearned/non stamp) variety is a loser btw....I'm sure most of them are not....by loser I mean the anti social be-tracksuited thug ones that make you feel intimidated in broad daylight, damage property and would rob the eye out of your head.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭annieire

I love Ireland and speaking Irish when im abroad. Generally its a great place...except when TV3 start playing those ads at 1am about that Mop!! Drives me crackers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think Ireland's grand - pretty mediocre and not without problems, but hardly a sh1t-hole. People who churn that line out don't seem to put much thought into it...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

BickNarry wrote: »
    Where you on your 'gap yah'?
    thanks, saves me.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Maybe we should just shoot them all?

Apt username. :D