Man who threw friendly snowball at policewoman charged with common assault.

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

FoxT wrote: »
    But I wouldn't walk up to a policewoman & give her one....

Unless she was hot??
    the_syco wrote: »
    What and where are they? The full tear under the eye usually symbolizes that you were in prison, having come from Russia, where it meant you were someones b|tch in prison. Having any tattoo on your face can go against you when getting a job, but having a prison or gang related tattoo on your face is daft. If it's just the outline, you have sworn to kill someone and if it's filled in, that you did kill that someone. In the past in Australia, other inmates, upon finding out that an inmate was doing time for a paedophile related offence, would forceably put a tear under the paedophiles right eye to mark them.

So having such a tattoo as a tear, although small, is a big sign.

All jokes aside, this was really interesting. I knew about the tear symbolising a kill but never about the symbolism in a prison in Australia. Cheers, gives me something to "google" today. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Phrenology? Seriously? Cop the **** on. Listen to yourself, that's sickening carry on. It's not a joke. That's as bad as saying all black people should be locked up in jail because that's all they're worthy of.

It's amazing how much Phrenologists we have around here so far ("looks like a mog, he's a mog") but you just take the biscuit. I hadn't realised I'd went back to 1810.

Many people have that kind of tough look about them who are law-abiding, decent members of society. The "sloping brow" can be an indicator of poor health, poor nutrition/diet through their life, possible alcohol or drug addictions.... you cannot seriously saying that he "looks like the type of guy that's bad so he MUST be bad". What a joke.

It might be okay to say that about him if he was dressed in chav-type close, a skinhead, and did things to make himself look tough. But just taking a look at him and saying that is IMHO sickening.

As for "figureheads of authority"... don't make me laugh. Police men or women have no right to expect any sort of "preferred" treatment over the public that they are supposed to protect.

People need to get over their nanny complexes. The police officers work for us, they are supposed to implement the law.... I just don't understand where this extra "respect" should come in.

As for "Keira", I apparently have to "earn" her respect, but a police officer has her respect and her knee is bent automatically. Is it any wonder that the country is in the state it's now in when people invest so much of their trust into a supposed authority? In actual fact, a lot of policemen were criminals themselves or heading that way, working with the police is often seen as a lucrative way out of poverty for people in backward areas.

did you ask Santa for a sense of humour? I really hope he delivers.

What is it if you hit someone with a snowball?.

Attempted Murder? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'd be pissed off if I was pelted with a snowball in the face by a stranger but arresting someone is a tad excessive in my humble opinion.

I mean what would a garda who witnessed me getting hit with a snowball say to me if I asked him to arrest that person? He'd probably laugh at me and make a sarcastic comment.

I don't see why there should be different rules just because you're wearing a uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭positron

Well done to the Garda for dealing with the idiots professionally!

You can have "fun" with people you know. With strangers, it's an assault, and all of them who mess with others by throwing snow at them, blocking cars, pushing cars around etc should all be arrested / fined IMHO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I'd be pissed off if I was pelted with a snowball in the face by a stranger but arresting someone is a tad excessive in my humble opinion.

I mean what would a garda who witnessed me getting hit with a snowball say to me if I asked him to arrest that person? He'd probably laugh at me and make a sarcastic comment.

I don't see why there should be different rules just because you're wearing a uniform.

Becase assaulting a police officer is a more serious offence than a regular assault. Always has been. Same way as murdering a police officer is more serious than murdering a civilian. Attacking the uniform is considered to be an attack on the state.

k_mac wrote: »
    Becase assaulting a police officer is a more serious offence than a regular assault. Always has been. Same way as murdering a police officer is more serious than murdering a civilian. Attacking the uniform is considered to be an attack on the state.

Assault eh, fair enough. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Would you consider the assault to be so serious that you'd agree with this poster?;
    Originally Posted by Chief---

This fella is lucky he ended up in court and not in A&E.

Do i think that assaulting a random person you don't know can leave you in an A&E? Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Kiera wrote: »
    I didnt say it was that particular police officer. I said guards on duty should get respect.

Well, same thing. What have they done to earn your respect? They could be complete d1ckheads for all you know.

Do i think that assaulting a random person you don't know can leave you in an A&E? Yes

Thats not the question I asked you, and the other poster tried to twist out of it the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭derra

Reconstruction of what happened....

Thats not the question I asked you, and the other poster tried to twist out of it the same way.

Well you didn't link the post only one part. I can only reply on what you show me.

Naos wrote: »
    Well, same thing. What have they done to earn your respect? They could be complete d1ckheads for all you know.

Aye, the uniform doesn't automatically earn respect. I've met some absolute class acts that are gardai and who conduct themselves so well, now they are the ones who have earned respect. Then there are the ***** who think you should be kneeling before them and treat you as such. They shouldn't be given respect IMO, respect is a two way street.

Well you didn't link the post only one part. I can only reply on what you show me.

'Come on, you know well in what context he mean't his post..

But its cool, because first off I think it was an off the cuff remark and The Chief wouldn't for a moment condone the police beating the guy up, and neither do I believe you would.

I also think if the guy in the link didn't look like a gouger the matter wouldn't have been reported upon, and the people here wouldn't have been so quick to rush to judgement either.

I'm sure our prisons are full of people who'd prior to their convictions would have been described as pillars of their communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

I'm sure our prisons are full of people who'd prior to their convictions would have been described as pillars of their communities.

Like a few priests..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I can see this case snowballing out of control if this goes to court...

boom boom....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Stupid thing to do on the part of the snowball thrower.

Total overreaction to charge him.

On the issue of ball-breaking Bean Gardai: I've always found it to be the case in my experience but I also know a Bean Guard and she's a lovely person so I would assume they have to put on a far bigger front because they might not get as much respect from the public, especially men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Andrew42 wrote: »
    No such thing as a friendly policewoman/female garda, they all seem to have serious issues.

Without a doubt.

What is it if you hit someone with a snowball?.

A good shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

I'm the guy.

I'm starting to regret every throwing a snowball more, or swimming in a canal lock, playing 'nick nack', kiss chasing, scutting on lorries/buses, not following the green cross code and all the other sh*t I knew as part of growing up more!.

Some people here would wanna get a bloody life and live it ffs.

Look I wasn't trying to offend you but a swastika tattoo is a bit more then all that, not trying to guilt trip you either and I'm sure its a an interesting story, and ironically the comparisons you undoubtedly get to that American history x character are even more fitting in that he too comes to regret his old views.

You always come off as a solid bloke to me, so I imagine if you held the views such a tattoo gives the impression of, you'd be off posting on storm front instead.

superspark wrote: »
    as long as it wasn't a yellow snow ball he threw :D

He`d definitely be takin the p1ss then

In the first snow a few weeks ago i seen a lad throw a snowball at a garda car. They stopped, garda got out and dragged him into the car like he was a terrorist.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    In the first snow a few weeks ago i seen a lad throw a snowball at a garda car. They stopped, garda got out and dragged him into the car like he was a terrorist.

Seriously though, if you decide to throw a snowball at the back of a policewomans head or at a police car what is the best you are hoping for?