Man who threw friendly snowball at policewoman charged with common assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Kiera wrote: »
    What on earth are you spouting on about? :confused:

What was that you said about respect?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Star Bingo wrote: »
    was with the banger brigade that used to occupy the steps of central bank; zippy went around the side out of sight so its no surprise i missed. saw no garda til i was face down with a knee in my back.. a week of already overcrowded prison time, for that.

Are they the 14 year old EMO's who think Kurt Cobain is cool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

What was that you said about respect?.

Read back and you'll see. He hasnt earned my respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Epic fail on the Joe Duffy type moral crusade, OP.
    If that chav skanger threw a snowball at you, you would be on here whining about it. Guaran-fookin-teed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

bonerm wrote: »
    Are they the 14 year old EMO's who think Kurt Cobain is cool?

no; twas 1993. whats emo.. 2008 n beyond? more gorefest/lawnmower deth n the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Read back and you'll see. He hasnt earned my respect.

lol..

Right Kiera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

MEDIC.....Humour transplant needed stat....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

That's bullshít! I've met a handful on knobs but most guards I've met are sound and very helpful!

Snigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

lol..

Right Kiera.

Dont you have some dog walking/gym crap to do, Mairt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

They shouldn't be so an*l about it!

heh heh heh, you said 'anal'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

He is the most evil man who has ever lived.

Andrew42 wrote: »
    No such thing as a friendly policewoman/female garda, they all seem to have serious issues.

Well, by that logic, then my sister-in-law has serious issues. Honestly couldn't say a bad word about her. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭10belowzero

Nevore wrote: »
    Looks like a scumbag. Lock him up. Rape his dog. Shoot his mother.
    , hell i'd pop a cap in his ass , hell momma , n'd i'd rob his tv remote , n pop a cap in it's ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭davetherave

If I threw a friendly punch at a Guard I'd expect to be arrested under Section Two(at least), Non-Fatal Offences Act.

What is the difference between me throwing, for example, a glass bottle and a snowball at a member of the Gardai. In both cases I have knowingly aimed and fired a projectile at the person and both are going to impact on him/her.

If the PC did throw a snowball back at him she would have, likely in the times we are in now, found herself at the end of a police brutality/harassment claim and the guy would have had claims in against any authority figure he could find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

They are above us when on duty as they are there to look after us not get belted out of it with snowballs!
    Did I fall asleep and wake up in Nazi Germany? This is a republic - nobody is above us.

Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

However, if the CPS decides to drop the charge the defendant will receive a caution and will not have to appear in court again
    'If they do decide to caution me I expect an apology for wasting all this time.'
    That's a pretty stupid thing to say to a national newspaper. The police know now that if they drop the charges he'll be looking for an apology.

As far as I'm concerned throwing an object at anyone is assault. A 'friendly' snowball isn't any different than an 'unfriendly' one. I doubt it was actually meant as a joke anyway. He probably said to his girlfriend "watch me hit this pig" before he threw it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

If I threw a friendly punch at a Guard I'd expect to be arrested under Section Two(at least), Non-Fatal Offences Act.

What is the difference between me throwing, for example, a glass bottle and a snowball at a member of the Gardai. In both cases I have knowingly aimed and fired a projectile at the person and both are going to impact on him/her.

If the PC did throw a snowball back at him she would have, likely in the times we are in now, found herself at the end of a police brutality/harassment claim and the guy would have had claims in against any authority figure he could find.
    That's fair enough, but I presume if I go to the Gardaí and tell them that someone threw a snowball at me, they would take it equally seriously? Or are we operating different laws for different people? (well, we've already seen that with the Fianna Failure bailout for developers, but that's another story)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Anybody see the Christmas episode of the Office last week? Snowballs are terrifying. They can traumatize people.
    Did I fall asleep and wake up in Nazi Germany? This is a republic - nobody is above us.

Jesus Christ.
    When you go to work you have a Superior; your elected officials, while elected by the people, are Superiors. In the same fashion Gardai are given legal powers beyond that of a citizen and should accordingly be treated with a modicum of respect. In all my years thats all it takes. Give them that and you will be given that same level of respect which then causes them to be just as respected as you. It's a subtle concept, but its worked for me. In doing this I've joked around and been joked around with a few beat cops.

I don't think I would have opened by hitting them with a snowball though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Seriously? a bottle and a snowball are comparable now? ones a deadly weapon ones just frozen water that disintrigates on impact, 4 year olds have snowball fights, if youre a guard thats going to be "impacted" by getting hit by a snowball you shouldnt be in the line of duty,simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Look at the guy, he isn't some kid who threw the snowball at the police woman to engage in friendly banter. He clearly did it to antagonise the police woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

I ask you, do the police have nothing better to be doing that arresting people like this, harrassing them and hassling them?
    Perfect. That how it's supposed to work. I'm tired and sick of people who act there were wild, like idiots who have never seen snow. Fine the pr*ck 500£ and maybe more idiots think twice next time before they throw a snowball.

Fookin ridiculous. Snow should be banned in this country as well as in the UK, people go nuts when they see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Are you sure it wasn't his snowy balls he wacked her with? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Deserves to be arrested just for that stupid tattoo .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Anyone else find it odd that the policewoman didn't ask his details there and then but yet the police knew where he lived? He must have been known to the police already for this to happen.

krudler wrote: »
    Seriously? a bottle and a snowball are comparable now? ones a deadly weapon ones just frozen water that disintrigates on impact, 4 year olds have snowball fights, if youre a guard thats going to be "impacted" by getting hit by a snowball you shouldnt be in the line of duty,simple as.

I didn't mean impact in terms of emotional impact. *Oh noes, a snow ball :eek::( *
    I meant it as in hit you impact.

That's fair enough, but I presume if I go to the Gardaí and tell them that someone threw a snowball at me, they would take it equally seriously? Or are we operating different laws for different people? (well, we've already seen that with the Fianna Failure bailout for developers, but that's another story)

I don't know, was there any malicious intent behind it? Did it cause any bodily harm?

*Below is not directed at you Monty.*

Do any of you work in an environment where having a snowball at you is acceptable. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Some kids threw some snowballs at me today. I threw some back. They threw some more. Told the little ****es to bugger off cos i was going inside my mates gaff, and they said i deserve more cos of that remark. So i got some more in the back, and i threw some more back and they were laughing and having fun. Then i went into my mates front garden, they went away. I knocked on his door and went inside...

then a broke down and fúckin wept :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Throwing a snowball at a stranger or even worse a police officer is a dangerous passtime.

Would he go around slapping random strangers or police officers.

Getting hit with a snowball in the face is like getting a slap.

This fella is lucky he ended up in court and not in A&E.

Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I saw a couple of teen-aged girls getting in trouble with the guards last night for throwing snowballs.

Seriously, don't they have better things to be doing?

I saw a pick up driving through balinteer a couple of weeks ago millign snowballs at people. Pensioners, women , kids all got snowballs to the head and face.

sure its all a bit of fun. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

bonerm wrote: »
    Lucky for Deano he didn't try such japes in the US.

Jesus those people were annoying.

Anyway, this will start with this guy in the OP getting away with it. Then kids will start throwing the odd snowball at police claiming "it was only a bit of fun" then it snowballs :D from there were police are being pelted with snowballs everytime people feel like it and they can't do their jobs.