Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Hey I'm afraid you will have to pass maths. I done my aptitude test in 2008 and passed it but when I had to fill out form B I had to submit my educational qualifications and they told me regardless of college qualifications, Cert, Degree etc.. You will have to pass maths I was absolutely gutted! Of course I went back and got my maths!

It's only November you could still go into a local secondary school and apply to do maths for the duration of the year. Bit of maths grinds and you will be flying.

To answer your question plain and simple you HAVE to pass maths!

Oh the thoughts sicken me!!!
    Did you have to go back and do the aptitude again? Oh no wait... I suppose your waiting to do it again lol what's the story anyway, it's up on boards to show an interest but still no recruitment! I hope it's held off until this time next year, I know that doesn't help you though!! Iv applied for the reserves since 2008. Still not in. I was waiting 18months alone on back ground checks, now waiting for them to approve my educational exemption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

That's all it is at the moment "Registering to show an interest" I think it's been up on Publicjobs since June of this year! Not looking good at the moment and if you pick up today's newspaper it seems more likely that were going to accept this bail-out! There wont be any investment throughout the public sector. You might not see another recruitment drive for years!

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    That's all it is at the moment "Registering to show an interest" I think it's been up on Publicjobs since June of this year! Not looking good at the moment and if you pick up today's newspaper it seems more likely that were going to accept this bail-out! There wont be any investment throughout the public sector. You might not see another recruitment drive for years!

That's a disgrace!! That's all I can say. Sickens me. All I can do is motor on with the reserves and hope for the best. Have you considered joining the reserves??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

That's a disgrace!! That's all I can say. Sickens me. All I can do is motor on with the reserves and hope for the best. Have you considered joining the reserves??

In fairness, there doesn't have to be new investment.
    Eventually the mass exodus of retirments etc will have to be filled.

Anyway, doesn't it cost near the same to train a reserve as it does a regular Garda?

In fairness, there doesn't have to be new investment.
    Eventually the mass exodus of retirments etc will have to be filled.

Anyway, doesn't it cost near the same to train a reserve as it does a regular Garda?

Yeah they'll eventually have to. I don't think it costs as much and lack of funds makes the process really slow. Iv been waiting 2years for reserves, 18months of that was background checks alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

I rang publicjobs and the lady I got on the phone said that the recruitment campaign was supposed to kick off last Autumn, they were told to prepare for it and since then have had no direction given to them from justice dept and have had very little contact with them regarding the new campaign.
    As it stands staff were transfered back to the garda recruitment section but they still don't know when the campaign will start.

itsallgood wrote: »
    I rang publicjobs and the lady I got on the phone said that the recruitment campaign was supposed to kick off last Autumn, they were told to prepare for it and since then have had no direction given to them from justice dept and have had very little contact with them regarding the new campaign.
    As it stands staff were transfered back to the garda recruitment section but they still don't know when the campaign will start.

That sounds likely to me.
    The govt. have been bipolar when talking about all financial policies thus far.

I wonder will they attempt to fill the void with unpaid, reserve Gardaí?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

That sounds likely to me.
    The govt. have been bipolar when talking about all financial policies thus far.

I wonder will they attempt to fill the void with unpaid, reserve Gardaí?

I don't think thats even an option, you cant replace that many Gardai with reserves.
    Reserves are more less just a visual effect to have it look like there are more gardai on street.
    They couldn't possibly expect a reserve to do the work of a fully qualified garda, but then again this government will abuse and take advantage of everyone they can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭garrycann78

just told that it will be 4 years before the next intake

Lads 4 years get real do you know how many retirements, resignations, deaths etc will come upon the force within the 4 years! Think about it AGS is averaging an exodus of just over 400 a year. Thats a net loss of over 1,600 Guards plus the fact this budget is coming up and the may have to reconsider the croke park deal as every single body monitoring our economic situation has consistently said we CAN'T afford it. Top this all off with a staggering statistic 42% of the force is eligible for retirement!....4 years? I think a picture will be painted in less than 4 weeks! BUDGET DAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Garry youre a raincloud over our already muggy horizon. . . We're waiting on a rainbow with a big fat pot of gold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭garrycann78

unfortunately i cant say where i've been found out this for obvious reasons but in 4 years time when you discover i'm right then....well lets just see. All i say is that see what december brings and that will be a indication of where the recruitment process stands

Lad I actually don't know if you are messing but it's an absolute surety that it wont be 4 years before the next recruitment drive! I just stated Facts your basing your statement on hear-say! I'm not having a go I'm just stating that it will NOT be another 4 years before an intake into the Garda College!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

As stated previously, if you are not willing to cite your source, flippant opinion being portrayed as fact should not be posted. Further posts like this will be treated as trolling and met with infractions and/or bans.

Back on topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 upthekingdom

I've been following this tread since the last recruitment so its been a while...:mad: Il ask the infamous question any word on recruitment soon?!!.... You could listen to thunder:rolleyes:,however, ive "heard" by a couple of guards a recruitment campaign kicking off in december... anybody else hear the same??.... :confused:....as with everyone else im sick of "waiting" but i thought it was nice to hear a bit of positivity for a change... :p regardless if its true or not...!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

There is NO news regarding recruitment. No members of AGS know.. not even management.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

hadn't heard that, upthekingdom, but i suppose any rumour keeps the hopes up anyway, so no harm!! we might have a better idea after the budget...it really seems to be put on the backburner for now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Hey everyone, is signing up to the public jobs.ie Garda job alerts and waiting for word back all you have to do? Or is there more to it?

Can anyone answer this please? I signed up to the job alerts months ago but is there more I need to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Can anyone answer this please? I signed up to the job alerts months ago but is there more I need to do?

no sit tight and get used to waiting....practise aptitude tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Some posts have been deleted for being off topic and others moved to The Waiting Room where they are more suited.

This thread is for discussion on Applying to Join An Garda Siochana. If the content of your post does not fall under that heading, it's not for this thread.

Back on Topic Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Well, have been reading up on the recent news and posts on boards.....really does make for depressing reading, the state the country is in:(:(

I used to post regularly enough in here before I headed off abroad on my travels!Its now the end of November, 7 months after Ahern's announcement and no change....and to be honest I cannot see any recruitment for the foreseeable future. I have put any thought of a Garda career firmly out of my mind for the next 2/3/4 years, no point wasting time putting life on hold!or driving yourself crazy thinking about it!

So for anyone considering going travelling or working abroad for a year or 2, I know a few have mentioned it in here,GO FOR IT, seriously you won't look back!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 hey its me

I suppose this it out of date

Recruitment of Garda Trainee 2010

A Garda Trainee recruitment campaign will commence in the coming weeks. Further information in this regard, including eligibility requirements, the selection process and application form will be available at that stage. In the meantime, to ensure you receive an e-mail alert inviting you to apply, you should register on www.publicjobs.ie.

feel like i have wasted the past 6 months of my life

hey its me wrote: »
    feel like i have wasted the past 6 months of my life

And then some.

I've been waiting over two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

hey its me wrote: »
    I suppose this it out of date

Recruitment of Garda Trainee 2010

A Garda Trainee recruitment campaign will commence in the coming weeks. Further information in this regard, including eligibility requirements, the selection process and application form will be available at that stage. In the meantime, to ensure you receive an e-mail alert inviting you to apply, you should register on www.publicjobs.ie.

I just see that the announcement is finally removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Geansai wrote: »
    I just see that the announcement is finally removed.

you can kiss goodluck to that for awhile..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Gardagirl?

I know i cant really be surprised with everything that's going on in the country right now... but what exactly do they think is going to happen to the country if there's physically not going to be enough guards to police the state...Personally its crushing as this is all iv ever wanted to do, I feel like all the effort in preparing in the last while is completely wasted...on the other hand its actually scary that were heading straight into what's probably going to be the toughest period the country's faced since the 20's if not ever and there cutting Guards... its absolutely bonkers....Im lucky enough ill still be young enough to apply in 4 years but i feel sorry for anyone who was led on by the minister only to be so severly let down! :( Hopefully they'll see sense before it becomes a problem and we'll all be taking about stage two interviews in a few weeks...I hold out hope :)

Gardagirl? wrote: »
    but what exactly do they think is going to happen to the country if there's physically not going to be enough guards to police the state...:)

They will fill the streets with reservists.

Which is funny, because I'll bet the reservists want to be Gardaí too and don't realise that joining the reserves has the opposite effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Which is funny, because I'll bet the reservists want to be Gardaí too and don't realise that joining the reserves has the opposite effect.

Please explain this ridiculous statement.

I for one have had enough of your smart comments regarding Reserves. We are not called 'reservists', we are Garda Reserves btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭2wsxcde3

eroo wrote: »
    Please explain this ridiculous statement.

I for one have had enough of your smart comments regarding Reserves. We are not called 'reservists', we are Garda Reserves btw.
    He's worried about not joining the reserves if he wants to be a guard. He knows on the day of his interview he's going to be asked if he really wants to be a guard - how come he didn't join the reserves?
    I'm not saying that being a reserve guarantees you a place in the full time, but you better have a good reason for not joining the reserves especially as recruitment to the full time has been stopped for so long. And seeing how the reserves hours are only 4 hours per week, it's not like you can say well you just didn't have time for it. You didn't join because...you were lazy. Thats being blunt about it but you know it's the truth.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Warning issued for this remark. You do not know the poster, so you are not entitled to make unsubstantiated remarks of a personal nature.

No further comment on this post.

Back on topic please and thanks.

2wsxcde3 wrote: »
    You didn't join because...you were lazy.